Marine Investigation Report M96M0002

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Loss of life of a crew member on board
"CSL ATLAS"
Belledune, N.B.
8 January 1996

Summary

While working in No. 2 cargo hold of the self-unloading bulk carrier "CSL ATLAS" at Belledune, N.B., on 08 January 1996, at approximately 0955, a seaman was overcome by a fall of fine coal. Treatment, before and while at hospital at Bathurst, was unsuccessful in restoring life to the injured man.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name "CSL ATLAS"
Port of Registry Nassau
Flag Bahamian
Official Number 5548
Type Bulk Carrier (self unloader)
Gross Tonnage 41,173
Built 1990, at Verolme, Brazil
Propulsion 6 cylinder Sulzer 11,995 kW.
Owner(s) Canada Steamship Lines
St. Catharines, Ontario

"CSL ATLAS" has five cargo holds beneath which are fore-and-aft tunnels containing three fore-and-aft cargo conveyor belts, with the middle belt above the centre line of the vessel. Crew accommodation and the navigating bridge are aft. Immediately forward of the accommodation block is the discharge boom which is fed by opening the gates at the bottom of the cargo holds and allowing the cargo to fall onto the conveyor belt/belts. Vibrators are fitted beneath the holds to shake loose any compacted cargo which has become rigid and non-flowing (hung-up) while in the cargo holds.

"CSL ATLAS", with a crew of 23 including the master, had arrived at Belledune on 05 January 1996 with cargo of 58,544 tonnes of steam coal consigned to the New Brunswick Power Corporation. As supplied by the shippers, some of the specifications of this cargo of steam coal are as follows, Moisture content: 11.30%, Top size: 5cm (2.0 inches) and Angle of repose: 37o.

During the days of 06 and 07 January, cargo had been discharged from No. 2 cargo hold, utilizing the three conveyor belts.

During the night of 07 January and early morning of 08 January, when the air temperature was -14oC to -17oC, a pile of coal, approximately 4.6 m (15 feet) to 5.5 m (18 feet) high was left above the centre belt. The coal pile extended from the forward bulkhead aft to hopper (gate) No. 7, which was one of 16 such gates. Despite the use of vibrators beneath the hold, the pile of coal remained immobile. At approximately 0900 on 08 January, two deck hands were instructed to activate the downward movement of the coal pile by poking and agitating it with poles approximately 2.5 m (8 feet) to 3 m (10 feet) in length.

The gates to the conveyor belts, as was normal in that operation, were closed while the men were working at the after face of the coal pile some of which, after being disturbed, slid into and filled No. 7 hopper. When the men were clear, No. 7 centre gate was opened and the coal in the hopper fell on to the centre line conveyor belt.

After No. 7 hopper was emptied, those gates were closed and then the two men, approximately 1.5 m (5 feet) apart, stood on the coal lying on top of No. 6 gates.

It had been previously agreed by these two seamen that if the face of the coal pile started to slide excessively, they would each turn and run before it. That plan was made with the understanding that one man, the deceased, would turn to port while the other man turned to starboard.

When the face of the coal pile started to slide, the deceased, instead of turning, stepped back and apparently tripped or stumbled. He fell on his back and was buried in the down-flowing coal. The other crew man, overtaken by a wave of coal, was trapped by his legs and partly immobilised.

The entire incident was witnessed by the officer of the watch (00W) who, by means of a remote control switch, stopped the discharge operation. Using a walkie-talkie radio, the 00W alerted the master and other officers regarding the accident, after which a rescue operation was then commenced.

The deceased, buried under the coal to a depth of approximately 1m, was located, dug out and lifted by stretcher to the main deck. Despite the best efforts of the crew, the ambulance attendants and the staff at the hospital, the man did not respond to treatment.

The deceased was classified as an able-bodied seaman and had been on this vessel since September 1995. He had served as a seaman since 1982 and was well experienced on self-unloaders and knowledgeable of their peculiarities. He was well rested prior to starting work on the morning of 08 January. Neither drugs nor alcohol were contributory factors.

According to the TSB data bank there have been 111 reported accidents involving 9 fatalities or 105 injuries on board self-unloaders since 1975. Of these accidents, the vast majority involved crew members. Only one other occurrence involving an injury sustained during cargo handling on self unloaders was found.

Analysis

Bulk cargoes, generally, have a tendency at some stage in the discharge operation to cease flowing and become hung-up. If the dedicated under-hold vibrators are unable to loosen the resulting residual piles of cargo, the piles are attacked by the crew using poles, spades, picks or, in extreme conditions, pneumatic drills.

When dealing with fine coal cargoes, the crew have predetermined escape routes so that, in the event of a rapid evacuation of the area, their paths do not cross. The deceased and the other crew man had each agreed on, and had told the 00W of, their plan to deal with the coal pile.

On this vessel such hang-ups of cargo are not unusual. A predetermined procedure to minimize risk is in place when men are sent to dislodge the hang-ups.

Even though the procedure was observed before and during the placement of the men in No. 2 hold, neither of the two men was able to get completely free from the down-flowing coal when the cargo started to move. The fatality occurred because the predetermined procedure to minimize risk was not followed. The fatality emphasises the need for constant vigilance when men are working in potentially dangerous areas, and for ongoing research to find safer procedures.

Findings

  1. Many shipboard operations are dangerous or hazardous but are dealt with by risk management, complemented by safe procedures and by well-trained officers and ratings.
  2. The predetermined procedure to minimize risk was not followed.
  3. It is not known why the deceased did not turn and run away from the downrush of coal.
  4. Low ambient temperatures may have caused a crust to form on the face of the coal pile, which may have caused a steeper angle of repose than 37o and hence a greater down-rush than would normally be expected.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The deceased was overcome by a sudden fracture and down-flow from the face of the coal pile. Instead of turning and running from the wave of small coal, he backed away, apparently stumbled or tripped, fell on his back and was overcome and buried under the coal.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson, Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 14 August 1996.


[1]  All times are ADT (Coordinated Universal Time Minus 3 Hours).

Rapport d'enquête maritime M96M0002

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Décès d'un membre de l'équipage
à bord du «CSL ATLAS»,
à Belledune (N.-B.)
8 janvier 1996

Résumé

Vers 9 h 55 [1], le 8 janvier 1996, un matelot qui travaillait dans la cale à marchandises n° 2 du vraquier auto-déchargeur «CSL ATLAS» à Belledune (N.-B.) a été enseveli sous un éboulement de fines de charbon. Il est mort malgré les soins qu'il a reçus à l'hôpital de Bathurst et ceux qu'il avait reçus auparavant.

Autres renseignements de base

Fiche technique du bateau

Nom « CSL ATLAS »
Port d'immatriculation Nassau
Pavillon Bahamas
Numéro officiel 71599
Jauge brute 41 173 tonneaux
Type Vraquier (auto-déchargeur)
Construction 1990, Verolme, Brésil
Propulsion Sulzer 6 cylindres, 11 995 kW
Propriétaire Société maritime CSL Inc.
St. Catharines (Ont.)

Le «CSL ATLAS» possède cinq cales à marchandises sous lesquelles on retrouve des tunnels longitudinaux où passent trois courroies transporteuses longitudinales; la courroie du milieu se trouve sur l'axe longitudinal du navire. Les logements de l'équipage et la passerelle de navigation sont à l'arrière. En avant des emménagements se trouve le mât de déchargement qu'on alimente en ouvrant les vannes au fond des cales pour permettre à la cargaison de se déverser par gravité sur les courroies transporteuses. Des vibrateurs sont installés entre les cales pour désagréger et détacher les masses de vrac qui se sont agglutinées et figées dans les cales.

Le «CSL ATLAS» est arrivé à Belledune le 5 janvier 1996 avec un équipage de 23 personnes dont le capitaine et une cargaison de 58 544 tonnes de houille maigre destinée à la Société d'énergie du Nouveau-Brunswick. D'après les renseignements fournis par les expéditeurs, la cargaison de houille maigre avait les caractéristiques suivantes : teneur en eau de 11,30 %; dimension supérieure de 5 cm (2 pouces) et angle de repos de 37°.

Au cours des journées des 6 et 7 janvier, la cale n° 2 avait été vidée à l'aide des trois courroies transporteuses.

Pendant la nuit du 7 janvier et les petites heures du matin du 8 janvier, un tas de charbon de 4,6 m (15 pi) à 5,5 m (18 pi) de hauteur a été laissé au-dessus de la courroie du milieu. La température de l'air était de -14 °C à -17 °C. Le tas de charbon s'étendait de la cloison avant vers l'arrière jusqu'à la trémie (vanne) n° 7, qui était l'une des 16 vannes. Malgré la mise en marche des vibrateurs sous la cale, le tas de charbon ne s'est pas désagrégé. Vers 9 h, le 8 janvier, on a demandé à deux matelots de piquer et de brasser le tas de charbon avec des perches de 2,5 m (8 pi) à 3 m (10 pi) de long pour accélérer les choses.

Comme c'est l'usage pour ce genre d'opération, les vannes alimentant les courroies transporteuses étaient fermées pendant que les hommes travaillaient sur la paroi arrière du tas de charbon dont une partie, après avoir été brassée, a glissé, emplissant la trémie n° 7. On a attendu que les hommes s'éloignent avant d'ouvrir la vanne centrale n° 7, et le charbon qui se trouvait dans la trémie est tombé sur la courroie transporteuse centrale.

Une fois la trémie n° 7 vidée, on a fermé les vannes. Les deux hommes, qui se tenaient à environ 1,5 m (5 pi) l'un de l'autre, se sont dirigés vers le charbon de la vanne n° 6.

Les deux matelots s'étaient entendu que si la paroi du tas de charbon commençait à glisser de façon excessive, ils feraient tous deux demi-tour pour aller se mettre à l'abri. Il était entendu que l'un d'entre eux (la victime), tournerait vers bâbord tandis que l'autre pivoterait vers tribord.

Lorsque la paroi du tas de charbon a commencé à glisser, la victime, au lieu de faire demi-tour, a sauté en arrière et aurait trébuché. L'homme est tombé sur le dos et a été enseveli sous le charbon. Son camarade, rattrapé par une coulée de charbon, a eu les jambes coincées et a été partiellement immobilisé.

L'officier de quart (OQ) a été témoin de la scène. Il a arrêté le déchargement grâce au commutateur de commande à distance. Il a signalé l'accident au capitaine et aux autres officiers avec un walkie-talkie, et des mesures ont aussitôt été prises pour venir en aide aux victimes.

Après avoir dégagé l'homme qui se trouvait sous 1 m de charbon, on l'a amené sur une civière sur le pont principal. Malgré les efforts de l'équipage, des techniciens médicaux et du personnel hospitalier, il a été impossible de le ranimer.

La victime est un matelot de première classe qui travaillait sur le navire depuis septembre 1995. Marin depuis 1982, il avait beaucoup d'expérience sur les auto-déchargeurs et en connaissait bien les particularités. Il était frais et dispos quand il s'est présenté au travail le matin du 8 janvier. Ni la drogue ni l'alcool n'ont contribué à l'accident.

La banque de données du BST révèle qu'il y a eu 111 accidents signalés à bord de navires auto-déchargeurs depuis 1975; ces accidents ont fait 9 morts et 105 blessés. La vaste majorité de ces accidents impliquait des membres d'équipage. Un seul autre accident ayant fait des blessés et qui est survenu pendant la manutention de cargaisons sur des auto-déchargeurs a été dénombré.

Analyse

Les cargaisons en vrac ont tendance à s'agglutiner et à se figer pendant les opérations de déchargement. S'il arrive que les vibrateurs spéciaux placés sous les cales ne réussissent pas à désagréger les tas résiduels, l'équipage doit utiliser des bâtons, des pioches ou des pics pour les disloquer, et, dans des conditions extrêmes, il faut se servir de perforatrices pneumatiques.

Lorsqu'ils manutentionnent des fines de charbon, les membres d'équipage ont des voies de retraite désignées pour ne pas se nuire les uns les autres si une évacuation rapide devenait nécessaire. La victime et l'autre membre de l'équipage avaient tous deux convenu d'un plan pour attaquer le tas de charbon et en avait fait part à l'OQ.

Sur ce bâtiment, il n'est pas rare que la cargaison s'agglutine ainsi. Il existe une méthode de travail permettant de réduire les risques lorsque des hommes sont envoyés disloquer les tas figés.

Cette méthode de travail a été suivie avant et pendant la prise de position des hommes dans la cale n° 2, mais aucun des deux hommes n'a réussi à échapper complètement à l'éboulement lorsque le charbon a commencé à glisser. L'accident s'est produit parce que la méthode de travail permettant de minimiser les risques n'a pas été suivie. Cet accident mortel souligne la nécessité d'être constamment vigilant lorsque des hommes travaillent dans des zones dangereuses, ainsi que l'importance de continuer à essayer de trouver des méthodes de travail plus sûres.

Faits établis

  1. De nombreuses opérations à bord de navires sont dangereuses et nécessitent une gestion des risques judicieuses. Les officiers et les matelots doivent être bien entraînés et des méthodes de travail sûres doivent être suivies.
  2. La méthode de travail permettant de réduire les risques n'a pas été suivie.
  3. On ne sait pas pourquoi la victime n'a pas fait demi-tour et n'a pas couru pour se mettre à l'abri.
  4. Les températures ambiantes basses ont pu provoquer la formation d'une croûte sur la paroi du tas de charbon, permettant la création d'un angle de repos supérieur à 37o et par conséquent, une vitesse d'éboulement plus élevée.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

La victime a été ensevelie sous le charbon à la suite d'un éboulement provoqué par la rupture soudaine de la stabilité de la paroi du tas de charbon. Au lieu de faire demi-tour et de courir pour échapper à la coulée de fines de charbon, l'homme a fait un bond en arrière, aurait trébuché, est tombé sur le dos et a été enseveli sous le charbon.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 14 août 1996 par le Bureau, composé du président, Benoît Bouchard ainsi que des membres Maurice Harquail et W.A. Tadros.


[1]  Les heures sont exprimées en HAA (temps universel coordonné moins 3 heures).