Marine Investigation Report M96M0038

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Incident
Involving the Ferry "WOODSIDE I" and the Tug/Supply Vessel "MAGDELAN SEA" in
Halifax Harbour, Nova Scotia
26 April 1996

Summary

At 1001 on 26 April 1996, the "MAGDELAN SEA", inbound in Halifax Harbour under the conduct of a pilot, was approaching the normal route followed by the Halifax/Dartmouth ferries. At approximately 1003, the ferry "WOODSIDE I" departed the Dartmouth Ferry Terminal, bound for Halifax. The "WOODSIDE I" crossed ahead of the "MAGDELAN SEA" at about 1006, with approximately 93 metres between the vessels. The pilot of the "MAGDELAN SEA" considered that a dangerous situation had been created by the "WOODSIDE I"

Ce rapport est également disponible en français..

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessels

Name "MAGDELAN SEA" "WOODSIDE I"
Port of Registry Nassau, Bahamas  Halifax, N.S.
Official Number 720801 805165
Flag Bahamian  Canadian
Type Tug/Supply vessel Passenger ferry
Gross Tonnage 1,328 tons 256 tons
Propulsion SACM, 9,600 kW Two Voith-Schneider, 362 kW
Built 1977, Belgium 1986, Pictou, N.S.
Owner(s) Secunda Marine
Dartmouth, N.S.
Metro Transit
Halifax, N.S.

On the morning of 26 April, weather conditions in Halifax Harbour were good, with visibility of 8 to 10 miles, a light southerly breeze, and a smooth sea.

The "MAGDELAN SEA" was inbound with a licensed pilot on board who had the conduct of the vessel. After the pilot had boarded the vessel, some information was exchanged between himself and the master. The master had no formal card with the vessel's characteristics, but he did advise the pilot of the vessel's extremely good manoeuvring ability. The pilot had previous experience on this type of vessel.

The pilot had declined the services of a helmsman and was altering course himself using the automatic steering device, whose control is mounted on the steering-position gyrocompass repeater. In addition to steering the vessel, the pilot was also keeping a look-out and operating the very high frequency radiotelephone (VHF R/T).

The master was in the wheel-house, mainly at the main engine controls, and the officer of the watch (OOW) was sometimes in the wheel-house and sometimes below performing other duties.

The vessel's two radars were switched on, but they were not being used by the bridge team.

One VHF R/T was dedicated to channel 12, the calling and working frequency required to be used in the Halifax Harbour area. This frequency is monitored, recorded and timed continuously by the Vessel Traffic Services (VTS).

The VTS also monitor by radar vessel movements, which are videotaped and timed. Some of the information in this report was derived from both VTS audio and video recordings.

There was no large-scale chart of Halifax Harbour on display in the wheel-house of the "MAGDELAN SEA". The officers were not monitoring the vessel's progress other than by eye.

At approximately 1001, the pilot of the "MAGDELAN SEA" advised another vessel that he was approaching the ferry track and would keep to the Dartmouth side. About nine seconds later, the pilot reported to Halifax Traffic that his vessel was at the ferry track. According to VTS videotapes, the vessel was about 0.55 mile south-east of the ferry track at 1001.

The pilot later remembered that, at that time, the course was probably 315°(T) and the speed approximately five knots. The course of the vessel, as recorded on videotape, was between 314° and 318°.

At peak periods, ferry departures between Halifax and Dartmouth are every 15 minutes, commencing on the hour. Because another ferry was out of service, the "WOODSIDE I" was operating on the Dartmouth/Halifax run and not on her normal Woodside/Halifax run.

At approximately 1003, the "WOODSIDE I" called on VHF channel 12 to say that she was departing Dartmouth. The call from the "WOODSIDE I" was recorded by VTS and heard by the master of the "MAGDELAN SEA", but not by her pilot. The OOW did not hear the broadcast but, as he was attending to other duties, he may not have been in the wheel-house at the time.

At approximately 1006, the pilot of the "MAGDELAN SEA" called the "Ferry Dartmouth Three" on VHF. The OOW of the ferry responded by indicating that the ferry's name was "WOODSIDE I".

According to VTS audio recordings, the pilot of the "MAGDELAN SEA" called the ferry by VHF to let the ferry know that she was going across his vessel's bow and causing a dangerous situation. The OOW of the "WOODSIDE I" replied: "I don't think so, I'm on the right side". This message, conveyed in non-standard vocabulary, was intended to mean that the ferry was on the starboard bow of the "MAGDELAN SEA".

At 1006, the pilot of the "MAGDELAN SEA" broadcast that, as the ferry had passengers on board and was crossing close ahead of his vessel, she should pay close attention to what she was doing. The "WOODSIDE I" crossed ahead of the "MAGDELAN SEA" at a distance of about 93 m.

Although the radars on both vessels were operational, they were not used between 1000 and 1006.

No whistle warning signals were sounded by either vessel as they approached each other.

The certificates of both vessels were in order, and the qualifications of the officers involved were adequate or in excess of regulatory requirements.

The officers of both vessels had years of experience in the positions held, and the pilot holds a Class A licence issued by the Atlantic Pilotage Authority (APA).

Neither the master nor the OOW of the "MAGDELAN SEA" had attended a recognized Bridge Resource Management (BRM) course. While there is no regulatory reqirement for pilots to have BRM training, the APA, in conjunction with the Marine Division of the Community College at Port Hawkesbury, prepared a BRM course designed specifically for of pilots. The pilot on board the "MAGDELAN SEA" had not attended such a course.

All Metro Transit ferry officers attended a bridge procedure course in 1993. This course, which has not been repeated, was specially adapted to the requirements of the ferry operation and incorporated some aspects of BRM.

On the "WOODSIDE I", the OOW had the conduct as well as the steering of the vessel during the passage from Dartmouth to Halifax. Both hands are necessary to control the two-directional propulsion units. After departure from the terminal, the master joined the OOW in the wheel-house where he played a passive role. Metro Transit upholds the concept that whoever has the conduct of the vessel steers the vessel, handles the VHF and, in fine weather, also acts as look-out.

The International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea (COLREGS) state, in part:

"When two power-driven vessels are crossing so as to involve risk of collision, the vessel which has the other on her own starboard side shall keep out of the way and shall, if the circumstances of the case admit, avoid crossing ahead of the other vessel."

"Every vessel which is directed to keep out of the way of another vessel shall, so far as possible, take early and substantial action to keep well clear."

"Where one of two vessels is to keep out of the way the other shall keep her course and speed."

"The latter vessel may however take action to avoid collision by her manoeuvre alone, as soon as it becomes apparent to her that the vessel required to keep out of the way is not taking appropriate action in compliance with these Rules."

In 1995, the Board conducted A Safety Study of the Operational Relationship Between Ship Masters/Watchkeeping Officers and Marine Pilots to identify safety deficiencies in communication and teamwork among pilots and ship personnel, and made several recommendations. In view of the chronic absence of effective communications on the bridge, the Board recommended that:

  • The Department of Transport require that, when a pilot commences duty in compulsory pilotage waters, there be a formal exchange of information between the master and the pilot with mandatory briefing elements for planned navigational procedures, local conditions and ship's characteristics.

(M95-06, issued October 1995)

Transport Canada (TC) indicated that, in conjunction with pilotage authorities, it will promote procedures for the formal exchange of information between masters and pilots. TC also intends to promote the inclusion of relevant training during Simulated Electronic Navigation (SEN) and Bridge Resource Management (BRM) training courses.

Further, in view of safety deficiencies in the effectiveness of current bridge team management practices in compulsory pilotage areas, the Board recommended that:

  • The Department of Transport require that all pilots demonstrate skills in Bridge Resource Management before the issuance and/or renewal of a pilotage licence; and

(M95-11, issued October 1995)

  • The Department of Transport, through the International Maritime Organization, actively promote the provision of formal training in Bridge Resource Management to all ship officers and marine pilots and the benefits of such training.

(M95-12, issued October 1995)

TC indicated that it intends to promote the development and the provision of BRM training courses, and plans to phase in such requirements starting with higher-level certificates.

It was also indicated that TC and pilotage authorities intend to promote the inclusion of a BRM training course for applicants and holders of pilot licences and pilotage certificates. So far, TC prefers to include such a requirement in the certificates of competency and continued proficiency endorsements.

Analysis

The master of the "MAGDELAN SEA" heard the "WOODSIDE I" broadcast by VHF R/T as she was leaving the Dartmouth Ferry Terminal, and he assumed that the pilot had also heard it, but he had not. This may have been due to the fact that the pilot was preoccupied with navigating, steering, and making collision avoidance arrangements with another vessel by VHF. Because there was no pre-established regime to ensure that all the members of the bridge team were kept informed, communication between the pilot, the master and the OOW broke down in this regard. The available bridge resources were not optimized.

The pilot of the "MAGDELAN SEA" maintained that the "WOODSIDE I" should have altered course to port to pass astern of the "MAGDELAN SEA", and he considered that the ferry had created a dangerous close-quarters situation by crossing ahead of his vessel. However, as the vessels were approaching each other, the "MAGDELAN SEA" had the "WOODSIDE I" on her starboard bow. The "MAGDELAN SEA" was the give-way vessel and was required by the COLREGS to keep out of the way.

The pilot stated that, as the vessels closed, he altered the course of the "MAGDELAN SEA" 10 to 15 degrees to starboard to give the "WOODSIDE I" a wider berth. On the VTS videotape, the course of the "MAGDELAN SEA", while approaching the ferry track, varies between 314° and 318°. The VTS video recording of the vessel's automatic radar plotting aid (ARPA) vector does not indicate that course was altered to starboard. However, because the vectors displayed on ARPA radar are derived from historical data, a course alteration made by a target vessel may not be displayed immediately after course is altered.

Because performance standards for ARPA radars require that a tracked target present, in a period of not more than one minute (from the alteration), an indication of the target's motion trend, it is not considered likely that an alteration of 10 to 15 degrees would have gone undetected and unrecorded by VTS radar.

The difference in headings between 314° and 318° recorded by VTS radar is most likely due to a 2° yaw on either side of the course steered. A yaw of this magnitude is not unusual for a vessel proceeding at slow speed and being steered automatically.

Knowing the ferry schedule, the pilot must have been aware that a ferry was scheduled to depart the Dartmouth Ferry Terminal for Halifax at 1000, but he would not necessarily have known of the substitution of one ferry for another. The presence of a ferry in the area was to be expected at the time of the incident.

The close-quarters situation developed about three to four minutes after the ferry's departure from the terminal. The incident could have been avoided if the "WOODSIDE I" had contacted the "MAGDELAN SEA" by VHF immediately after she had cleared the Dartmouth Ferry Terminal. Then there would have been ample time to establish an order of crossing. The ferry did not do so.

Both the master and the OOW of the "WOODSIDE I" were aware of the approaching "MAGDELAN SEA" because both vessels were in full sight of each other immediately after the ferry cleared the terminal. The OOW was of the opinion that the "MAGDELAN SEA" had increased speed by approximately three knots in the minutes before the "WOODSIDE I" crossed ahead of her. There is no evidence to support this opinion. The VTS videotape indicates a reduction in speed by the "MAGDELAN SEA" from 5.5 to 4.6 knots, and the master and pilot of the "MAGDELAN SEA" also confirmed that the speed of the vessel had not been increased.

Apart from the slight reduction in speed of the "MAGDELAN SEA" detected on the VTS ARPA video playback, no detected alteration of course or change of speed was made by either vessel.

Both vessels are very manoeuvrable; however, although the bow thruster on the "MAGDELAN SEA" was ready for use, its effectiveness at five knots would have been minimal.

Findings

  1. On the "MAGDELAN SEA", the master heard the departure message broadcast by the "WOODSIDE I" on VHF R/T, and he assumed that the pilot had heard it also and understood its implication. He did not direct the pilot's attention to the message.
  2. The pilot was preoccupied performing multiple tasks to the extent that he did not hear the "WOODSIDE I" informing VTS of her departure.
  3. The available bridge resources were not optimized, especially with regard to communication and the division of tasks.
  4. The pilot became aware of the "WOODSIDE I" approximately two minutes after the ferry had departed the Dartmouth Ferry Terminal and was approaching his vessel in such a way that the "MAGDELAN SEA" was the give-way vessel.
  5. The pilot of the "MAGDELAN SEA" believed that a close-quarters situation and a risk of collision existed when the vessels passed each other, but this opinion was not shared by the officers of both vessels.
  6. Neither the "WOODSIDE I" nor the "MAGDELAN SEA" contacted the other in good time to establish a passing or crossing precedence to eliminate any doubt on both vessels.
  7. The master of the "WOODSIDE I" did not discuss the traffic pattern with the OOW, or issue any order regarding the course and/or speed of the vessel, and he did not take charge of the VHF conversation with the "MAGDELAN SEA".
  8. Metro Transit considers that the ferry officer who is steering has the conduct of the vessel and is expected to perform the duties related to this task. The other officer in the wheel-house not only plays a passive role but, in fine weather, does little or nothing to assist the helmsman.
  9. Although the ferry officers attended a modified bridge resource management course three years ago, BRM principles on the division of tasks were not being implemented on the "WOODSIDE I" at the time of the incident.
  10. The small-scale chart of Halifax Harbour displayed in the wheel-house of the "MAGDELAN SEA" was not suitable for accurate plotting and monitoring of the vessel's progress.

Causes and Contributing Factors

This incident occurred because the pilot of the "MAGDELAN SEA" did not hear the departure broadcast by the "WOODSIDE I" as he was assuming multiple responsibilities and had not maximized the deployment of officers and crew available to him. The fact that the master of the "MAGDELAN SEA" did not alert the pilot to the VHF R/T departure message from the "WOODSIDE I" contributed to this occurrence. A further contributing factor was that the "WOODSIDE I" did not make her intentions clear by calling the "MAGDELAN SEA" on VHF channel 12 after departing the berth, and assumed that any action necessary would be taken by the "MAGDELAN SEA".

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 23 July 1997.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M96M0038

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Événement impliquant
le traversier « WOODSIDE I » et le remorqueur/ravitailleur « MAGDELAN SEA »
dans le Port de Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse)
le 26 avril 1996

Résumé

À 10 h 01, le 26 avril 1996, le « MAGDELAN SEA », qui entrait dans le port de Halifax sous la conduite d'un pilote, approchait de l'itinéraire normal des traversiers faisant la navette entre Halifax et Dartmouth. Vers 10 h 03, le traversier « WOODSIDE I » a quitté la gare maritime de Dartmouth à destination de Halifax. Le « WOODSIDE I » a croisé la route du « MAGDELAN SEA » à 10 h 06 environ, à quelque 93 mètres devant celui-ci. Le pilote du « MAGDELAN SEA » a estimé que le « WOODSIDE I » avait créé une situation dangereuse.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Fiche technique des navires

Nom « MAGDELAN SEA » « WOODSIDE I »
Port d'immatriculation Nassau, Bahamas  Halifax (N.-É.)
Numéro officiel  720801  805165
Pavillon  Bahamien   Canadien
Type Remorqueur/ravitailleur Traversier
Jauge brute  1 328 tonneaux 256 tonneaux
Propulsion SACM, 9 600 kW Deux Voith-Schneider, 362 kW
Construction  1977, Belgique 1986, Pictou (N.-É.)
Propriétaires  Secunda Marine
Dartmouth (N.-É.)
Metro Transit
Halifax (N.-É.)

Le matin du 26 avril, les conditions météorologiques étaient bonnes dans le port de Halifax : la visibilité était de 8 à 10 milles, avec une légère brise du sud et une belle mer.

Le « MAGDELAN SEA » arrivait dans le port, conduit par un pilote breveté. Après être monté à bord, le pilote avait échangé certains renseignements avec le capitaine. Ce dernier n'avait pas de fiche des caractéristiques du navire à lui fournir, mais il l'a informé que le navire était extrêmement manoeuvrant. Le pilote avait déjà l'expérience de ce type de navire.

Le pilote avait refusé les services d'un timonier, et il faisait lui-même les changements de cap au moyen du pilote automatique, dont la commande se trouve sur le répétiteur de gyrocompas du poste de gouverne. En plus de gouverner le navire, le pilote assurait la veille et utilisait le radiotéléphone très haute fréquence (R/T VHF).

Le capitaine se trouvait dans la timonerie, s'occupant principalement des commandes du moteur, et l'officier de quart (OQ) partageait son temps entre la timonerie et l'exécution d'autres tâches en bas.

Les deux radars du navire étaient ouverts, mais l'équipe de passerelle ne s'en servait pas.

Un R/T VHF était réservé à la voie 12, fréquence de travail et d'appel dans le port de Halifax. Les communications sur cette fréquence sont continûment surveillées, enregistrées et chronométrées par les Services du trafic maritime (STM).

Les STM surveillent aussi au radar les déplacements des navires, qui sont enregistrés sur bande magnétoscopique et chronométrés. Une partie de l'information contenue dans le présent rapport est extraite des bandes audio et vidéo des STM.

Il n'y avait pas de carte à grande échelle du port de Halifax dans la timonerie du « MAGDELAN SEA ». Les officiers se contentaient de suivre visuellement la progression du navire.

Vers 10 h 01, le pilote du « MAGDELAN SEA » a prévenu un autre navire qu'il approchait de l'itinéraire du traversier et qu'il resterait du côté de Dartmouth. Environ neuf secondes plus tard, le pilote a signalé à Halifax Traffic que son navire était parvenu à la hauteur de la route des traversiers. Selon les bandes vidéo des STM, le navire se trouvait à environ 0,55 mille au sud-est de la route du traversier à 10 h 01.

Le pilote s'est plus tard rappelé qu'à ce moment, le cap du navire était probablement au 315o(V), et la vitesse, d'environ cinq noeuds. Selon les enregistrements magnétoscopiques, le cap du navire se situait entre 314° et 318°.

Dans les périodes de pointe, il y a un départ de traversier toutes les 15 minutes sur la liaison Halifax-Dartmouth, à partir de l'heure. Comme un autre traversier était hors service, le « WOODSIDE I » assurait la liaison Dartmouth/Halifax et non la liaison Woodside/Halifax comme à l'habitude.

Vers 10 h 03, le « WOODSIDE I » a appelé sur la voie VHF 12 pour faire savoir qu'il quittait Dartmouth. Le message du « WOODSIDE I » a été enregistré par les STM et entendu par le capitaine du « MAGDELAN SEA », mais non par le pilote. L'OQ n'a pas entendu la communication, mais, occupé à d'autres tâches, il ne se trouvait peut-être pas dans la timonerie à ce moment précis.

Vers 10 h 06, le pilote du « MAGDELAN SEA » a appelé « Ferry Dartmouth Three » (Traversier trois de Dartmouth) sur la bande VHF. L'OQ du traversier a répondu que le nom du traversier était « WOODSIDE I ».

Selon les enregistrements audio des STM, le pilote du « MAGDELAN SEA » a appelé le traversier sur VHF pour lui dire qu'il allait créer une situation dangereuse en croisant sa route. L'OQ du « WOODSIDE I » a répondu : « Je ne le pense pas, je suis du bon côté. » Ce message, qui n'employait pas le vocabulaire normalisé, était censé signifier que le traversier se trouvait par l'avant tribord du « MAGDELAN SEA ».

À 10 h 06, le pilote du « MAGDELAN SEA » a envoyé un message radio pour prévenir le traversier que puisqu'il avait des passagers à bord et qu'il allait croiser la route de son navire à peu de distance à l'avant, il devrait être très prudent. Le « WOODSIDE I » a croisé la route du « MAGDELAN SEA » à environ 93 m de distance.

Même si les radars des deux navires fonctionnaient, ils n'ont pas été utilisés entre 10 h et 10 h 06.

Aucun des deux navires n'a fait entendre de signal d'avertissement au sifflet à l'approche de l'autre.

Les certificats des deux navires étaient en règle, et les qualifications des officiers répondaient aux exigences réglementaires ou dépassaient celles-ci.

Les officiers des deux navires avaient des années d'expérience à leur poste, et le pilote était titulaire d'un brevet de catégorie A délivré par l'Administration de pilotage de l'Atlantique (APA).

Ni le capitaine ni l'OQ du « MAGDELAN SEA » n'avait suivi de cours reconnu de gestion des ressources sur la passerelle (GRP). Même si les règlements n'exigent pas que les pilotes aient une formation en GRP, l'APA, en collaboration avec la Division de la marine du Collège communautaire de Port Hawkesbury, a préparé un cours de GRP spécialement destiné aux pilotes. Le pilote du « MAGDELAN SEA » n'avait pas suivi ce cours.

Tous les officiers de traversiers de Metro Transit ont suivi en 1993 un cours sur les modalités de fonctionnement sur la passerelle. Ce cours, qui n'a pas été répété, était spécialement adapté aux exigences de l'exploitation de traversiers, et il englobait certains aspects de la GRP.

À bord du « WOODSIDE I », l'OQ avait la conduite du navire et tenait la barre pendant la traversée de Dartmouth à Halifax. On a besoin des deux mains pour actionner les commandes des unités propulsives bidirectionnelles. Après le départ du terminus, le capitaine a rejoint l'OQ dans la timonerie où il s'est limité à un rôle passif. Metro Transit estime que la personne qui a la conduite du navire doit tenir la barre, s'occuper du VHF et, par beau temps, assurer aussi la veille.

Voici un extrait du Règlement international pour prévenir les abordages en mer (COLREGS) :

« Lorsque deux navires à propulsion mécanique font des routes qui se croisent de telle sorte qu'il existe un risque d'abordage, le navire qui voit l'autre navire sur tribord doit s'écarter de la route de celui-ci et, si les circonstances le permettent, éviter de croiser sa route sur l'avant.

« Tout navire qui est tenu de s'écarter de la route d'un autre navire doit, autant que possible, manoeuvrer de bonne heure et franchement de manière à s'écarter largement.

« Lorsqu'un navire est tenu de s'écarter de la route d'un autre navire, cet autre navire doit maintenir son cap et sa vitesse.

« Néanmoins, ce dernier peut manoeuvrer, afin d'éviter l'abordage par sa seule manoeuvre, aussitôt qu'il lui paraît évident que le navire qui est dans l'obligation de s'écarter de sa route n'effectue pas la manoeuvre appropriée prescrite par les présentes règles. »

En 1995, le Bureau a procédé à une Étude de sécurité portant sur les rapports de travail entre les capitaines et officiers de quart, et les pilotes de navire afin de mettre en évidence les lacunes dangereuses dans les rapports entre les pilotes et le personnel des navires, notamment sur le plan des communications et du travail d'équipe. L'étude a débouché sur plusieurs recommandations. Étant donné l'absence chronique de communications efficaces sur la passerelle, le Bureau a recommandé que :

  • Le ministère des Transports exige qu'il y ait un échange de renseignements en bonne et due forme entre le capitaine et le pilote lorsqu'un pilote prend son service dans des eaux où le pilotage est obligatoire, et que cet échange porte obligatoirement sur les méthodes de navigation prévues, les conditions locales et les caractéristiques du navire.

(M95-06, octobre 1995)

Transports Canada (TC) a fait savoir qu'en collaboration avec les administrations de pilotage, il favoriserait l'instauration de procédures formelles d'échange d'information entre les capitaines et les pilotes. TC compte aussi inciter à intégrer de la formation à cet égard dans les cours de Navigation électronique simulée et de Gestion des ressources sur la passerelle.

En outre, étant donné les lacunes dans l'efficacité des méthodes actuelles de gestion des équipes de passerelle dans les eaux où le pilotage est obligatoire, le Bureau a recommandé que :

  • Le ministère des Transports exige que tous les pilotes fassent la preuve de leurs compétences en gestion des ressources sur la passerelle avant de se voir délivrer un brevet de pilotage ou avant le renouvellement de ce dernier.

(M95-11, octobre 1995)

  • Le ministère des Transports, par l'intermédiaire de l'Organisation maritime internationale, fasse activement la promotion d'un cours de formation en gestion des ressources sur la passerelle en bonne et due forme à l'intention des officiers et des pilotes de navire, ainsi que des avantages d'un tel cours.

(M95-12, octobre 1995)

TC a fait savoir qu'il comptait favoriser la préparation et l'organisation de cours en GRP et qu'il projetait d'introduire progressivement cette exigence pour l'obtention des brevets, en commençant par les brevets supérieurs.

TC et les administrations de pilotage ont aussi manifesté l'intention de demander qu'on inclue une formation en GRP dans les conditions d'admissibilité à l'obtention ou au maintien des brevets ou des certificats de pilotage. Pour le moment, TC préfère inclure cette exigence au niveau des brevets et des visas de maintien des compétences.

Analyse

Le capitaine du « MAGDELAN SEA » a entendu l'appel du « WOODSIDE I » par R/T VHF au départ de la gare maritime de Dartmouth. Il a présumé que le pilote l'avait entendu lui aussi, mais il n'en était rien. Cela peut être dû au fait que le pilote était préoccupé par la navigation, la gouverne, et la prise d'ententes sur VHF avec un autre navire en vue d'éviter un abordage. Comme il n'était pas de règle de tenir l'équipe de la passerelle au courant, la communication entre le pilote, le capitaine et l'OQ a été coupée à cet égard. L'utilisation des ressources accessibles sur la passerelle n'a donc pas été optimale.

Le pilote du « MAGDELAN SEA » a soutenu que le « WOODSIDE I » aurait dû venir sur bâbord pour passer derrière le « MAGDELAN SEA », et il estime que le traversier a créé une situation rapprochée dangereuse en croisant la route de son navire. Cependant, alors que les deux bâtiments se rapprochaient l'un de l'autre, le « MAGDELAN SEA » voyait le « WOODSIDE I » sur son avant tribord. Le « MAGDELAN SEA » était le navire non privilégié et il devait, en vertu du COLREGS, s'écarter de la route du « WOODSIDE I ».

Le pilote a déclaré que tandis que les navires se rapprochaient, il a infléchi le cap du « MAGDELAN SEA » de 10 à 15 degrés à droite, afin de donner au « WOODSIDE I » plus de place pour manoeuvrer. Sur la bande vidéo des STM, le cap du « MAGDELAN SEA », à l'approche de la route du traversier, varie entre 314° et 318°. L'enregistrement vidéo du vecteur de l'aide radar au pointage automatique (ARPA) n'indique pas que le navire soit venu à tribord. Cependant, comme les vecteurs affichés sur le radar ARPA proviennent de données historiques, il est possible que le changement de cap d'un navire-cible ne soit pas affiché instantanément.

Étant donné que les normes de performance des radars ARPA exigent que la cible poursuivie présente, avec un décalage d'au plus une minute (du changement de cap), une indication du mouvement éventuel de la cible, on estime improbable qu'un changement de cap de 10 à 15 degrés ait pu passer inaperçu et n'ait pas été enregistré par le radar des STM.

Les caps différents (entre 314° et 318°) enregistrés par le radar des STM, sont fort probablement attribuables à une embardée de 2° de part et d'autre de la route suivie. Une embardée de cette amplitude n'est pas inhabituelle pour un navire qui fait route à faible allure et qui est gouverné au pilote automatique.

Connaissant l'horaire des traversiers, le pilote devait savoir qu'un traversier était censé partir du terminus de Dartmouth à destination de Halifax à 10 h, mais il n'était pas nécessairement au courant du remplacement d'un des traversiers par un autre. Il fallait s'attendre à la présence d'un traversier dans le secteur au moment de l'accident.

La situation rapprochée est survenue trois ou quatre minutes après le départ du traversier du terminus. Elle aurait pu être évitée si le « WOODSIDE I » avait communiqué avec le « MAGDELAN SEA » sur VHF dès le départ du terminus de traversiers de Dartmouth. Il y aurait alors eu amplement de temps pour s'entendre sur des modalités de croisement. Le traversier n'a pas pris cette précaution.

Le capitaine et l'OQ du « WOODSIDE I » étaient conscients de l'approche du « MAGDELAN SEA ». En effet, les bâtiments étaient parfaitement visibles l'un de l'autre dès que le traversier s'est éloigné du quai. L'OQ a émis l'opinion que le « MAGDELAN SEA » avait augmenté sa vitesse d'environ trois noeuds dans les minutes précédant le croisement du « WOODSIDE I » devant lui. Ce point de vue n'est nullement corroboré par la preuve recueillie. La bande vidéo des STM montre une réduction de vitesse de 5,5 à 4,6 noeuds de la part du « MAGDELAN SEA »; le capitaine et le pilote du « MAGDELAN SEA » ont aussi confirmé que la vitesse du navire n'avait pas été augmentée.

Exception faite de la légère diminution de vitesse du « MAGDELAN SEA » qui a été décelée en visionnant la bande vidéo de l'ARPA des STM, il n'y a eu aucun changement de cap ou d'allure apparent de la part d'un des deux bâtiments.

Les deux bâtiments sont très manoeuvrants; cependant, même si le propulseur d'étrave du « MAGDELAN SEA » était prêt à l'utilisation, il n'aurait guère été efficace à une vitesse de cinq noeuds.

Faits établis

  1. À bord du « MAGDELAN SEA », le capitaine a entendu le message transmis lors de l'appareillage par le « WOODSIDE I » sur R/T VHF, et il a cru que le pilote l'avait entendu lui aussi, et avait compris ce qu'il impliquait. Il n'a pas attiré l'attention du pilote sur le message.
  2. Le pilote était concentré sur l'exécution de tâches multiples, au point qu'il n'a pas entendu le « WOODSIDE I » informant les STM qu'il appareillait.
  3. Les ressources présentes sur la passerelle n'ont pas été utilisées de façon optimale, spécialement en ce qui concerne la communication et le partage des tâches.
  4. Le pilote a pris conscience de l'approche du « WOODSIDE I » environ deux minutes après que le traversier a quitté la gare maritime de Dartmouth; de la façon dont le « WOODSIDE I » était alors placé, le « MAGDELAN SEA » était le navire non privilégié.
  5. Le pilote du « MAGDELAN SEA » estime qu'il y a eu situation rapprochée et risque d'abordage lorsque les deux bâtiments se sont croisés, mais les officiers des deux navires ne partagent pas cette opinion.
  6. Ni le « WOODSIDE I » ni le « MAGDELAN SEA » n'a communiqué avec l'autre navire à temps afin de déterminer un ordre de priorité pour la rencontre ou le croisement, de manière à ce que la façon de procéder soit claire à bord de chacun des deux navires.
  7. Le capitaine du « WOODSIDE I » n'a pas discuté du trafic avec l'OQ, et n'a donné aucun ordre concernant le cap et/ou l'allure du navire, et il n'a pas pris l'initiative de la conversation sur VHF avec le « MAGDELAN SEA ».
  8. L'usage à Metro Transit c'est que l'officier du traversier qui est à la barre assure aussi la conduite du navire et doit s'acquitter des tâches liées à cette fonction. Non seulement l'autre officier présent dans la timonerie ne joue-t-il qu'un rôle passif, mais, par beau temps, il n'a à peu près rien à faire pour aider le timonier.
  9. Même si les officiers du traversier ont suivi un cours adapté de gestion des ressources sur la passerelle il y a trois ans, les principes de la GRP touchant le partage des tâches n'étaient pas appliqués sur le « WOODSIDE I » lors de l'événement.
  10. La carte à petite échelle du port de Halifax affichée dans la timonerie du « MAGDELAN SEA » n'était pas suffisante pour bien reporter et suivre la progression du navire.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'événement est survenu car le pilote du « MAGDELAN SEA » n'a pas entendu le message transmis par le « WOODSIDE I » au moment de l'appareillage parce qu'il était concentré sur de multiples tâches et qu'il n'avait pas optimalisé l'utilisation des officiers et des membres d'équipage présents. Le fait que le capitaine du « MAGDELAN SEA » n'ait pas attiré l'attention du pilote sur le message du « WOODSIDE I » a été un facteur contributif. Un autre facteur contributif a été le fait que le « WOODSIDE I » n'a pas clairement fait connaître ses intentions en appelant le « MAGDELAN SEA » sur la voie 12 du VHF après avoir quitté son poste à quai, et qu'il a présumé que le « MAGDELAN SEA » prendrait toutes les mesures nécessaires.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 23 juillet 1997 par le Bureau, qui est composé du président, Benoît Bouchard, et des membres, Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.