Marine Investigation Report M96M0040

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Man Overboard
from the Fishing Vessel "SEA LEVEL"
Yarmouth Harbour, Nova Scotia
29 April 1996

Summary

While the lobster-fishing vessel "SEA LEVEL" was outward bound from Johns Cove, Yarmouth Harbour, at approximately 0450 on 29 April 1996, a deck-hand fell overboard and drowned.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name "SEA LEVEL" ex-"CAPE RUSTY"
Official Number  393535
Port of Registry Yarmouth, N.S.
Flag  Canadian
Type  Cape Island - fishing
Gross Tonnage  21.1
Length  12 m
Propulsion  GM diesel 671, 157 kW
Built  1980, Clarke's Harbour, N.S.
Owner/Operator  S.N. Ward, Yarmouth, N.S.

The vessel departed her berth at Johns Cove, Yarmouth Harbour, at approximately 0445[1] in darkness on 29 April 1996, with the owner/operator and two deck-hands on board. The vessel was bound for an area where lobster traps had been laid earlier, to harvest any lobsters caught and rebait the traps. The bait to be used was deep-frozen and packed in waxed cardboard containers.

The owner/operator was alone in the wheel-house, hand-steering the vessel. One deck-hand was in the slaughterhouse preparing the bait. The second deck-hand, the victim, handed in the boxes of bait to the inside of the doorway. Having done so, he apparently climbed onto the 21 cm-wide port side decking to make his way forward to coil down the forward mooring rope. At the after end of the slaughterhouse, the top of the bulwark is at the same height as the side decking and is 64 cm above the level of the afterdeck. The handrail is positioned 142 cm above the side decking, on top of the wheel-house. It is essential to hold the handrail to pass safely.

The atmosphere on board was casual and comfortable with the deck-hands carrying out their duties, to which they were accustomed, without specific instructions.

There was no set routine for the deck-hands to carry out their respective tasks. Sometimes, the second deck-hand would stow the mooring lines immediately after leaving the dock, and sometimes, as in this instance, he would perform other work first.

The second deck-hand preferred to use the port side of the wheel-house to gain access to the foredeck. Passage along the starboard side decking is more visible to the owner/operator in the wheel-house as the steering wheel, engine control and electronic equipment are concentrated toward the starboard side of the wheel-house. The windows on the port side of the slaughterhouse and wheel-house are sealed units.

As is typical in this type of vessel, the main engine exhaust pipe passes from the uninsulated engine compartment through the slaughterhouse, creating a high noise level area in the slaughterhouse.

At approximately 0450, the owner/operator turned to look astern, as other fishing vessels located ahead, off to port, and astern were departing at about the same time. Navigation of the vessel and collision avoidance were uppermost in his mind at that time.

When the owner/operator saw only one deck-hand in the slaughterhouse, he asked the whereabouts of the other. He was told that the second deck-hand had gone to the bow, but from his vantage point, he realized that there was no one forward. He turned the "SEA LEVEL" through 180 degrees and shone the searchlight on the boat which was originally astern, approximately 122 m away.

He called that vessel on the very high frequency radiotelephone (VHF R/T) working frequency, channel 68, and advised that a man was lost overboard. The other vessel reported that nothing untoward had been seen. No cry for help had been heard.

Immediately after that conversation, the owner/operator reported the incident to the Marine Communications and Traffic Centre (MCTC) at Yarmouth, on VHF R/T channel 16.

The other deck-hand reportedly had seen the victim some two to five minutes before the owner/operator realized a man was missing.

The weather on the morning of 29 April in Yarmouth Harbour was fine and clear with little or no wind and calm seas. The air temperature was approximately 3C and the water temperature, 4C. In that area, high water was predicted to be at 0519 with a height of 4 m above chart datum. Between 0440 and 0500, the vessel was not rolling, and course alterations were gradual without any induced heel.

The victim, a non-swimmer, had ceased wearing a floater jacket approximately two weeks earlier as he felt the weather was sufficiently warm for him to do his work without it.

At the time of the accident, the victim was wearing good quality rubber boots, purchased approximately two weeks earlier. The manufacturer's literature states, in part, that: "Natural rubber is more flexible" and "the sole pattern provides sure-footed traction on slippery surfaces". His outer garb included a pair of green coveralls, and he was wearing raised-finish vinyl-coated gloves with a soft liner. He had been wearing these gloves while handling the boxes of bait.

In response to the owner/operator's VHF call on channel 68, some 30 to 40 other local fishing vessels joined in the search, and in response to his call on channel 16 to the Yarmouth MCTC, the Search and Rescue (SAR) Centre in Halifax was informed.

At 0515, a Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) helicopter was tasked and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) was requested to organize a shore search. A Canadian Forces Labrador helicopter was also tasked at 0715 to be used as the primary SAR aircraft.

At 1506, the air search was discontinued and the search was handed over to the RCMP as a missing person case.

The RCMP dive team commenced searching the area at about the time of low water, predicted for 1127 that day. Divers found the body of the deceased on the morning of 30 April. An autopsy confirmed that the cause of death was by drowning, and toxicological tests determined that neither alcohol nor drugs were a factor in the occurrence.

The Canadian Red Cross has provided figures which indicate that a person can survive approximately one hour when immersed in water at a temperature of 4C, and has slim chances of survival after one and a half hours of immersion.

In collaboration with the fishing industry and safety equipment manufacturers, the CCG has funded the development of a thermal worksuit suitable for working on deck.

In 1991, the CCG and the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) started a joint initiative to inform the fishing industry of the hazards of cold water exposure and of the advantages of anti-exposure worksuits. DFO distributed information pamphlets on the subject to fishermen seeking to renew their fishing licences.

The Small Fishing Vessel Regulations have been the subject of consultation between the CCG and the fishing industry for a number of years. One proposed amendment was to require small fishing vessels to carry an anti-exposure worksuit or an immersion suit for each member of the complement. This proposed requirement was opposed by some fishing interests because the suits were uncomfortable to wear and costly.

In its report on the sinking of the "STRAITS PRIDE II" (TSB Report No. M90N5017), the Board noted the perennially high risk to Canadian fishermen and recommended that:

  • The Department of Transport expedite its revision of the Small Fishing Vessel Safety Regulations which will require the carriage of anti-exposure worksuits or survival suits by fishermen.

(M92-07, issued in March 1993)

In its response, Transport Canada acknowledged the utility of the recommendation. It further indicated that, in the proposed revised Small Fishing Vessel Regulations ultimately agreed to by the fishing industry and the CCG, anti-exposure worksuits are provided for as alternative equipment, and that the CCG would continue to actively promote the voluntary carriage of the worksuit.

Analysis

As no one witnessed the deck-hand falling overboard, the precise cause of his fall cannot be established. However, it would appear that he lost his footing or his handhold, or both, as he attempted to make his way from the afterdeck to the foredeck via the comparatively narrow side decking on the port side of the slaughterhouse and wheel-house.

Since there is no noise barrier between the engine-room and the slaughterhouse and the exhaust pipe passes through the slaughterhouse, a high noise level is created in the area, especially when the engine is operating at full speed, as it was on the morning of 29 April. Furthermore, the sealed windows on the port side of the wheel-house probably would make any outside sound inaudible to anyone in the wheel-house. Hence, a cry for help, if any, would have gone unnoticed aboard the vessel.

Because of the view of the starboard side decking afforded from the conning position, the owner/operator would have been in a better position to monitor the deck-hand's progress if he had passed on that side of the wheel-house.

The victim, a non-swimmer, was not wearing any form of flotation device. Consequently, his ability to survive was greatly reduced when he fell into the cold water.

The rubber boots the deck-hand was wearing are considered to be of better-than-average quality and were almost new. His vinyl-coated gloves were ideal for working in cold water but not good for climbing on the outboard side of the wheel-house.

Findings

  1. The deck-hand, without the knowledge of the other crew members, attempted to make his way from the afterdeck to the foredeck via the narrow, 21 cm-wide port side decking.
  2. The cause of the deck-hand's fall overboard cannot be positively established. However, it is likely that he lost his footing or his handhold, or both, and fell overboard.
  3. The deck-hand elected to use the narrow port side decking to gain access to the foredeck; the owner/operator would have been in a better position to monitor the deck-hand's progress if he had used the starboard side decking, which was of the same width.
  4. The high level of engine noise and the sealed wheel-house windows on the port side could preclude any call for help from being heard.
  5. The deck-hand, a non-swimmer, was not wearing any form of flotation device, which greatly reduced his ability to survive when he fell overboard into the cold water.
  6. The CCG and the fishing industry have agreed that anti-exposure worksuits are alternative (safety) equipment for small fishing vessels, and the CCG actively promotes the voluntary carriage of worksuits on these vessels.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The precise cause of the deck-hand's fall overboard cannot be established; however, it is likely that he lost his footing or handhold, or both, and fell overboard. The deck-hand's ability to survive was greatly reduced because he was not wearing any form of flotation device.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 22 May 1997.


[1]  All times are AST (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus four hours) unless otherwise stated.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M96M0040

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Homme tombé à la mer
du bateau de pêche « SEA LEVEL »
Port de Yarmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)
le 29 avril 1996

Résumé

Alors que le homardier « SEA LEVEL » sortait de l'anse Johns dans le port de Yarmouth, vers 4 h 50, le 29 avril 1996, un matelot est passé par-dessus bord et s'est noyé.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Fiche technique du navire

Nom « SEA LEVEL », ancien « CAPE RUSTY »
Numéro officiel  393535
Port d'immatriculation  Yarmouth (N.-É.)
Pavillon  Canada
Type  Cape Islander -- bateau de pêche
Jauge brute  21,1 tonneaux
Longueur  12 m
Propulsion  Diesel GM de 671, 157 kW
Construction  1980, Clarke's Harbour (N.-É.)
Propriétaire/Exploitant  S.N. Ward,
Yarmouth (N.-É.)

Le navire a quitté son mouillage de l'anse Johns dans le port de Yarmouth, vers 4 h 45[1] dans l'obsécuritéé, le 29 avril 1996, avec à son bord le propriétaire/exploitant et deux matelots, afin de se rendre dans une zone où on avait mouillé des casiers à homard, dans le but d'y récolter les prises et réappâter les casiers. Les appâts étaient surgelés et conservés dans des boites en carton ciré.

Le propriétaire/exploitant était seul dans la timonerie, tenant la barre. L'un des matelots s'affairait à préparer les appâts dans la salle d'éviscération. Le second matelot, la victime, déposait les boîtes d'appâts à l'intérieur près de la porte. Une fois ce travail terminé, il est apparemment monté sur le pont et a voulu aller lover l'amarre avant en empruntant un passage de 21 cm de largeur du côté bâbord. À l'extrémité arrière de la salle d'éviscération, le haut du pavois est à la même hauteur que le pont et à 64 cm au-dessus du niveau du pont arrière. La rambarde s'élève à 142 cm au-dessus du bordé de pont, sur le toit de la timonerie. Il faut absolument s'y tenir pour passer en toute sécurité.

L'atmosphère à bord était insouciante et détendue; les matelots vaquaient à leurs occupations, qu'ils connaissaient bien, sans instructions particulières.

Les matelots n'exécutaient pas leurs tâches respectives selon un ordre bien défini. Parfois, le second matelot lovait les amarres juste après avoir quitté le quai, et à d'autres occasions, comme dans ce cas particulier, il exécutait d'autres tâches auparavant.

Le second matelot a préféré passer du côté bâbord de la timonerie pour se rendre au pont avant. S'il était passé du côté tribord, il aurait été plus visible du propriétaire/exploitant qui se trouvait dans la timonerie, car la barre, les commandes du moteur et le matériel électronique se trouvent dans la partie tribord de la timonerie. Les fenêtres du côté bâbord de la salle d'éviscération et de la timonerie sont scellées.

Comme c'est souvent le cas sur ce type de navire, le tuyau d'échappement de la machine principale part du compartiment moteur non isolé et traverse la salle d'éviscération, ce qui crée un niveau de bruit élevé dans cette dernière.

Vers 4 h 50, le propriétaire/exploitant s'est retourné pour regarder vers l'arrière, tandis que d'autres bateaux de pêche se trouvant à l'avant, à bâbord et à l'arrière, appareillaient à peu près au même moment. Son attention était alors totalement accaparée par la conduite du navire et le risque d'abordage.

Lorsqu'il n'a aperçu qu'un seul matelot dans la salle d'éviscération, il s'est informé de l'autre. Le premier matelot lui a répondu que son camarade s'était rendu à l'avant, mais le propriétaire/exploitant, de son poste d'observation, ne voyait personne à l'avant. Il a fait décrire au « SEA LEVEL » un virage sur 180o pour braquer son projecteur sur le bateau qui le suivait, à environ 122 m de distance.

Il a appelé ce navire sur la fréquence de travail du radiotéléphone très haute fréquence (R/T VHF), la voie 68, pour le prévenir que quelqu'un était tombé à la mer. L'autre navire a répondu qu'il n'avait rien vu et n'avait pas entendu d'appel à l'aide.

Immédiatement après cette conversation, le propriétaire/exploitant a signalé l'accident au Centre de communications et de trafic maritimes (CCTM) de Yarmouth, sur la voie 16 du R/T VHF.

Le premier matelot a rapporté avoir aperçu la victime de deux à cinq minutes avant que le propriétaire/exploitant ne constate sa disparition.

Le matin du 29 avril, le temps était beau et clair dans le port de Yarmouth avec un vent faible ou nul et une mer calme. La température de l'air était d'environ 3 oC et la température de l'eau, de 4 oC. Dans ce secteur, la marée haute, d'une hauteur de 4 m au-dessus du zéro des cartes, était prévue pour 5 h 19. Entre 4 h 40 et 5 h, le navire ne roulait pas et les changements de cap ont été graduels et n'ont pas fait donner de la bande au navire.

La victime, qui ne savait pas nager, avait cessé de porter un gilet de flottaison environ deux semaines plus tôt, quand elle a jugé qu'il faisait suffisamment chaud pour travailler sans ce vêtement.

Au moment de l'accident, la victime portait des bottes en caoutchouc de bonne qualité, achetées environ deux semaines plus tôt. Dans sa documentation, le fabricant déclare que « le caoutchouc naturel est plus souple » et que « le relief de la semelle assure une bonne adhérence sur les surfaces glissantes ». La victime portait aussi une combinaison de travail verte, et des gants à doublure souple, recouverts de vinyle. Elle avait mis ses gants pour manipuler les boîtes d'appâts.

Quelques-uns des 30 ou 40 autres navires de pêche locaux ont répondu à l'appel du propriétaire/exploitant sur la voie 68 du VHF et se sont joints aux recherches. Le CCTM de Yarmouth a informé le Centre de recherche et de sauvetage (SAR) de Halifax de la situation après avoir reçu l'appel du propriétaire/exploitant sur la voie 16.

À 5 h 15, un hélicoptère de la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC) a été dépêché sur les lieux et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) a reçu mission d'organiser des recherches terrestres. À 7 h 15, un hélicoptère Labrador des Forces canadiennes a aussi été affecté comme aéronef SAR spécialisé.

À 15 h 06, les recherches aériennes ont été suspendues et le dossier a été confié à la GRC qui s'occupe des personnes disparues.

L'équipe de plongeurs de la GRC a commencé à ratisser la zone à peu près à l'heure de la marée basse, prévue pour 11 h 27 ce jour-là. Les plongeurs ont trouvé le cadavre de la victime le matin du 30 avril. L'autopsie a confirmé que la cause du décès était la noyade, et des analyses toxicologiques n'ont pas révélé la présence d'alcool ou de drogues qui aurait pu être un facteur.

Selon la Croix-Rouge canadienne, une personne immergée dans de l'eau à une température de 4 oC peut survivre environ une heure et ses chances de survie sont minces après une heure et demie d'immersion.

En collaboration avec l'industrie de la pêche et les fabricants d'équipement de sécurité, la GCC a financé la mise au point d'une combinaison de travail isotherme adaptée au travail sur le pont.

En 1991, la GCC et le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) ont entrepris un projet conjoint en vue d'informer l'industrie de la pêche des dangers de l'immersion dans l'eau froide et des avantages des combinaisons de travail isothermes. Le MPO a distribué des brochures d'information aux marins-pêcheurs qui demandaient le renouvellement de leurs licences de pêche.

La GCC consulte l'industrie de la pêche depuis plusieurs années concernant le Règlement sur les petits bateaux de pêche. Un des amendements proposés porte sur l'obligation pour les petits bateaux de pêche d'avoir à bord une combinaison de travail isotherme ou une combinaison d'immersion pour chaque personne à bord. Cette exigence proposée suscite de l'opposition parce que ces combinaisons sont inconfortables et qu'elles coûtent cher.

Dans son rapport sur le naufrage du « STRAITS PRIDE II » (rapport numéro M90N5017 du BST), le Bureau souligne les risques importants auxquels sont exposés les marins-pêcheurs du Canada et recommande que :

  • Le ministère des Transports termine au plus tôt sa révision du Règlement sur la sécurité des petits bateaux de pêche afin que le port de combinaisons de travail isothermes ou de combinaisons de survie devienne obligatoire pour les marins-pêcheurs.

(M92-07, mars 1993)

Dans sa réponse, Transports Canada reconnaît la pertinence de la recommandation. Le Ministère indique en outre que dans la version finale révisée du Règlement sur les petits bateaux de pêche accepté par l'industrie de la pêche et la GCC, des combinaisons de travail isothermes sont prévues comme équipement facultatif et que la GCC va continuer à faire activement la promotion du transport volontaire de la combinaison de travail isotherme.

Analyse

Comme personne n'a vu le matelot passer par-dessus bord, il est impossible de connaître précisément la cause de sa chute. Toutefois, il semblerait qu'il ait perdu pied, ou ait lâché la rambarde, ou les deux, en tentant de se rendre du pont arrière au pont avant par un passage relativement étroit du côté bâbord de la salle d'éviscération et de la timonerie.

Comme il n'y a pas d'isolation antibruit entre la salle des machines et la salle d'éviscération, et que le tuyau d'échappement traverse cette dernière, celle-ci devient très bruyante, surtout lorsque le moteur fonctionne à plein régime comme c'était le cas le matin du 29 avril. En outre, les fenêtres scellées du côté bâbord de la timonerie empêchaient probablement quiconque se trouvant à l'intérieur d'entendre les sons provenant de l'extérieur. Ainsi, un appel à l'aide, par exemple, a pu ne pas être entendu.

Le propriétaire/exploitant aurait été mieux placé pour suivre les déplacements du matelot si celui-ci était passé du côté tribord de la timonerie, mieux visible du poste de conduite.

La victime, qui ne savait pas nager, ne portait pas de vêtement de flottaison. Par conséquent, ses chances de survivre à une chute dans l'eau froide étaient considérablement réduites.

Les bottes en caoutchouc que portait la victime sont considérées comme d'une qualité supérieure à la moyenne et elles étaient presque neuves. Les gants recouverts de vinyle étaient idéals pour travailler dans l'eau froide, mais ne se prêtaient guère à l'escalade du côté extérieur de la timonerie.

Faits établis

  1. Le matelot, à l'insu des autres membres de l'équipage, a tenté de se rendre du pont arrière au pont avant par un passage étroit de 21 cm à bâbord.
  2. Il est impossible de déterminer la cause précise de la chute par-dessus bord. Toutefois, il est probable que le matelot a perdu pied, ou a lâché la rambarde, ou les deux, et est tombé à la mer.
  3. Le matelot a choisi d'emprunter le passage étroit à bâbord pour se rendre sur le pont avant; le propriétaire/exploitant aurait été mieux en mesure de suivre ses déplacements s'il était passé par tribord, où le passage était de la même largeur.
  4. Le niveau élevé de bruit du moteur et le fait que les fenêtres de la timonerie du côté bâbord étaient scellées ont pu empêcher un appel à l'aide d'être entendu.
  5. Le matelot, qui ne savait pas nager, ne portait pas de vêtement de flottaison, ce qui a grandement réduit ses chances de survie lorsqu'il est tombé à la mer, dans l'eau glacée.
  6. La GCC et l'industrie de la pêche ont convenu que les combinaisons de travail isothermes sont de l'équipement (de sécurité) facultatif pour les petits bateaux de pêche, et la GCC encourage activement ces bateaux à prendre à bord de telles combinaisons de travail, même si cela n'est pas obligatoire.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

La cause précise de la chute du matelot ne peut être établie; toutefois, il est probable que la victime a perdu pied, ou a lâché la rambarde, ou les deux, et est passée par-dessus bord. Les chances de survie du matelot étaient grandement réduites parce qu'il ne portait pas de vêtement de flottaison.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. La publication de ce rapport a été autorisée le 22 mai 1997 par le Bureau qui est composé du président, Benoît Bouchard et des membres, Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros.


[1]  Toutes les heures sont exprimées selon l'HNA (Temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins 4 heures), à moins d'indication contraire.