Marine Investigation Report M97M0022

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Grounding
of the Fishing Vessel "MONA PEARL"
Hardy Cove, Nova Scotia
8 April 1997

Summary

While returning to Digby, Nova Scotia, from scallop grounds in the Bay of Fundy, the fishing vessel "MONA PEARL" grounded on a rising tide in Hardy Cove. The two crew were forced to abandon the vessel and get into a liferaft. They were rescued by local residents who had observed the vessel's progress along the coast and become concerned. The vessel was subsequently declared a constructive total loss.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name "MONA PEARL"
Port of Registry Digby
Flag Canada
Official Number 371154
Type  Scallop Dragger
Gross Tons(1)   50.77
Length  16.76 m
Built  1981
Propulsion  1 x 6 cylinder Diesel, 208 kW
Speed  8 - 9 knots
Owners Thomas O'Neil, Digby, Nova Scotia

The "MONA PEARL" was a side dragger with the wheel-house, skipper's cabin and engine-room aft. The fish hold was midships and the crew accommodation forward of the hold. The shucking house extended forward from the wheel-house on the port side of the main deck above the fish hold. This design reduced forward visibility from the wheel-house on the port side. The gallows was rigged on the starboard side.

The Voyage

The "MONA PEARL" departed Digby, Nova Scotia, at 1700 on 6 April 1997 for the scallop grounds in the Bay of Fundy. The vessel's crew of two was reportedly engaged in scallop dragging and preparing the catch for between 18 and 20 hours per day after their arrival on the fishing grounds, anchoring the vessel with the scallop rake while they slept. Radar and other navigational aids were reportedly operational throughout the voyage.

On 8 April 1997, at approximately 2200, the skipper decided to leave the fishing grounds to return to Digby. The gear was hauled in and secured during which time the vessel was drifting. Reportedly using a Loran C fix giving a position of 44º53'50"N , 65º33'23"W, the skipper set a course of 250º - 255º magnetic on the auto-pilot for Prim Point at the entrance to Digby Gut. All the work-deck lights were left on after the vessel departed the fishing grounds. Given the vessel's speed and the flood tide, the skipper estimated it would take three hours to reach the O'Neil Fisheries wharf some 15 miles distant in Digby. About 15 minutes later, he handed the watch over to the deck-hand and went to rest in his cabin. The deck-hand had instructions to call the skipper after one hour and ten minutes.

The deck-hand had been involved in the fishery in Newfoundland and Nova Scotia for a year and a half. He had limited experience on scallop draggers and, had, reportedly, little experience in conning the vessel or in the use of its navigational aids. It was reported, however, that he had been in charge of a bridge watch on fishing vessels similar to the "MONA PEARL" on five previous occasions.

At 2130, an observer on shore reported seeing a vessel with the deck lights illuminated and estimated it to be 1 - 1 ½ miles offshore. At 2230, at Delap Cove, he again observed the vessel, this time very close to shore, and thought that it was in trouble. He and other residents of the area then proceeded to locate the vessel along the shore.

At approximately the same time, the skipper, who was in his cabin, felt two thuds as if the vessel had hit a sea. The vessel vibrated and came to a stop. The skipper immediately went to the bridge. The deck-hand indicated that he did not know the vessel's location, had not seen that they had been heading for shore and had not fallen asleep.

At 2236, the skipper called Yarmouth Coast Guard Radio and reported that the vessel was sinking in position 44º47'39" N, 65º35'57"W. In fact, the vessel was aground in Hardy Cove.

The vessel was about 5-6 metres offshore. Both crew members abandoned the vessel and got into a 6-person liferaft. The local residents arrived in Hardy Cove just as the liferaft drifted ashore and they assisted the crew members, neither of whom had suffered serious injury. Both crew members were transported to hospital by the RCMP.

The vessel had grounded with its bow pointing to the southwest, parallel to the coast.

On the evening of 8/9 April 1997, low water in the area was at 1913 and high water was at 0124 local time. At the time of the grounding the tide was rising and the tidal range was 8.53 metres.

The vessel reportedly had a top speed of 8-9 knots in favourable conditions. Given the skipper's estimate of 3 hours to cover the 15 miles to the wharf it is reasonable to surmise that the vessel was making good 5 knots. In 36 minutes the vessel would have travelled three miles.

Work/Rest Schedule

Throughout the trip the crew maintained a work/rest schedule of 20 consecutive hours on duty (typically from 0700 hrs to 0300 hrs the next day) and four hours off duty (0300 hrs to 0700 hrs). During the four-hour, off-duty period, the crew was able to obtain sleep.

Fatigue and Performance Degradation

Fatigue may be described as a physiological state typically caused by inadequate quantity of sleep and characterized by impaired performance and diminished alertness. On average, a person needs 7.5 to 8.5 hours of sleep per day. A person obtaining less than his/her required sleep develops a sleep debt and will exhibit performance degradation.

Performance degradation as a result of fatigue manifests itself in many ways including: failure to respond, slowed physical and cognitive reactions, incorrect actions, flawed logic and judgement, increases in false responses (responding when no stimulus is present) increases in memory errors, vigilance decrement, reduced motivation, an increased propensity for risk taking and falling asleep against the will of the individual.(2)

Unplanned and uncontrollable sleep episodes take the form of what is known as a "lapse" or "micro-event", which can last from seconds to several minutes, and occur at any time of the day or night throughout periods of perceived "wakefulness". Stimulus, information, and even conversation occurring during a "micro-event" may not register with the affected individual at all, even if their eyes are open.(3) Although the existence of "micro-events"can be confirmed by electroencephalogram (EEG) recordings, people are not generally aware of them.

In fact, the last person to recognize fatigue, and often the most unreliable person to ask regarding their performance, is the individual who is already tired.(4) This statement is supported by the findings of a recent study conducted by the U.S. Department of Transportation, the U.S. Federal Highway Administration, and Transport Canada (Commercial Motor Vehicle Driver Fatigue and Alertness Study). The study concluded that people are not very good at assessing their own levels of alertness and that there is a tendency for people to rate themselves as more alert than performance tests indicate.

Environmental Conditions

METOC weather and surface analysis for the Bay of Fundy for 8 April 1997, reported visibility was generally good with an air temperature of +2ºC. Between 0000 and 0200 UTC 9 April 1997, the automatic weather station on Brier Island (44º17' N, 66º21' W) reported winds from 300º - 310º true at 17 - 20 knots with a few gusts near 25 knots. Wave heights in the middle of the Bay of Fundy would have been near 1 metre, closer to shore their height would have been influenced by bottom topography and currents. The most probable wave height in the area of the grounding would have been 1 -2 metres. The tidal stream runs parallel to the coast between 1 ½ knots on the ebb flowing southwest and 2 knots during the flood flowing northeast.

The combined influence of wind and waves on the vessel's beam would have been to set the vessel towards the western shore of Nova Scotia.

Analysis

Because the deck-hand's experience of navigating a vessel and of using the navigational aids fitted was limited, his effectiveness as a watch keeper was greatly reduced.

Given that the vessel was sighted 1 - 1 ½ miles offshore from Parkers Cove at 2130, it may be concluded that the vessel was closer to shore than the skipper believed when he set course for Prim Point. The crew did not ensure the overall safety of the vessel because the position and progress of the vessel was not adequately monitored. Had the crew been more cognizant of the effects of the wind and tide upon the vessel, appropriate allowances for set and drift could have been applied to the initial course and the grounding may have been prevented.

Analysis of the crew's 72-hour history, in particular their work/rest schedule, revealed that adequate sleep was not obtained by either the skipper or the deck-hand. During the 72 hours prior to the occurrence, a significant sleep debt would have accumulated, resulting in performance degradation.

Notwithstanding the deck-hand's lack of training and limited experience of navigation and of the use of the navigational aids fitted, his performance in this occurrence is consistent with the effects of fatigue in that he was unaware of the vessel's position (vigilance decrement) and accordingly did not adjust the course (failure to respond). Despite the deck-hand's perception that he did not fall asleep, it is probable that he succumbed to unplanned, uncontrollable sleep (lapse or micro-event).

The skipper's performance in this occurrence is also consistent with the effects of fatigue in that he handed over the watch to the deck-hand without first having adequately determined the deck-hand's knowledge and/or abilities with regard to navigation (flawed logic and judgement, increased propensity for risk taking).

TSB records indicate that unqualified crew members with inadequate watchkeeping abilities are, at least in part, contributory in about 45 to 50 per cent of all collision, groundings and striking of fishing vessels in Canada. Although experienced in fishing, many fishermen do not have formal training in navigation, radar skills, bridge procedures, rules of the road, etc; rather they learn through on-the-job exposure.

Following another investigation into the collision between the fishing vessels "CONNIE & SISTERS I" and "RYAN ATLANTIC" in June 1992, (TSB report M92M4031), the Board determined that the collision occurred because neither vessel was effectively navigated by radar and because neither vessel's crew maintained an effective look-out. As a result, the Board recommended that;

  • The Department of Transport ensure that any person required to have the conduct of a commercial fishing vessel possess the basic skills for safe navigation.
    (M94-10, issued 1994)

In August 1997, the Crewing Regulations were amended to require certification and training for masters and first officers on fishing vessels over 85 GRT by July 30, 1998, and over 70 GRT after that date. The certification requirements shall be extended to vessels over 60 GRT by July 30, 1999. (SOR 97-390 Art. 29 (5) c) refers). Also, under new initiatives referred to as "the professionalisation of fishermen", the fishing industry itself is planning to take steps towards providing basic skills for safe navigation to persons having the conduct of fishing vessels not required to carry a certificated master.

Findings

  1. The vessel grounded in Hardy Cove with the bow in a south-westerly direction, parallel to the coast line.
  2. The vessel was much closer to shore than the skipper realized when he set his course for Prim Point.
  3. The influence of the wind and tide would have been to set the vessel towards the western shore of Nova Scotia.
  4. The influence of the wind and tide on the vessel's course was not fully comprehended by the watch keeper.
  5. The watch keeper's lack of training and familiarity with the use of radar and other navigation aids reduced his effectiveness.
  6. The design of the vessel and the fact that the work-deck lighting remained on reduced the watch keeper's ability to observe shore lights, which could have warned him of the vessel's proximity to shore.
  7. The crew's performance was consistent with the effects of fatigue.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The Board determined that the "MONA PEARL" grounded due to the lack of technical marine knowledge of the person assigned the watch keeping duties, and as a result of the crew not being fully aware of the effects of wind and tide. Fatigue, exacerbated by the work/rest schedule maintained by the crew throughout the trip, had a negative effect on the crew's performance.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 12 February 1998.

Glossary

A - aft
AST - Atlantic standard time
C - Celsius
F - forward
kW - kilowatt(s)
m - metre(s)
M - nautical mile(s)
SI - International System (of units)
TSB - Transportation Safety Board of Canada
UTC - Coordinated Universal Time
° - degree(s)
" - minute(s)
’ - second(s)


1. Units of measurement in this report conform to International Maritime Organisation (IMO) standards or, where there is no such standard, are expressed in the International System (SI) of units.

2. The material in this paragraph is paraphrased from Dinges, David F., Performance Effects of Fatigue, Fatigue Symposium Proceedings, November 1995, National Transportation Safety Board and NASA-Ames Research Center.

3. Vincent Cantwell, Physiological Factors Affecting Safety in Maritime Operations, Safety At Sea International ‘97 Conference (SASMEX), Baltimore, MD. April 30-May 1, 1997.

4. Rosekind, M.R. et al, NASA-Ames Fatigue Countermeasures Program, Education Training Module, NASA-Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, CA, 1995.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M97M0022

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Échouement
du bateau de pêche « MONA PEARL »
Anse Hardy (Nouvelle-Écosse)
Le 8 avril 1997

Résumé

En rentrant à Digby (Nouvelle-Écosse) après une sortie sur des bancs de pêche du pétoncle dans la baie de Fundy, le bateau de pêche « MONA PEARL » s'est échoué à la marée montante dans l'anse Hardy. Les deux membres de l'équipage ont dû abandonner le bateau à bord d'un radeau de sauvetage. Ils ont été secourus par des riverains qui s'étaient inquiétés en voyant le bateau si près de la côte. Le bâtiment a plus tard été déclaré perte totale.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Fiche technique du bateau

Nom « MONA PEARL »
Port d'immatriculation  Digby
Pavillon Canada
Numéro officiel  371154
Type Dragueur de pétoncles
Jauge brute[1]   50,77
Longueur 16,76 m
Construction 1981
Propulsion  1 diesel à 6 cylindres, 208 kW
Vitesse  8 à 9 nœuds
Propriétaire  Thomas O'Neil
Digby (Nouvelle-Écosse)

Le « MONA PEARL » était un dragueur à pêche latérale dont la timonerie, la cabine du patron et le compartiment machine étaient situés à l'arrière. La cale à poisson était au milieu du bateau et les logements de l'équipage, dans la partie avant de la cale. La salle d'éviscération était située devant la timonerie, sur le côté bâbord du pont principal, au-dessus de la cale à poisson. À cause de cette configuration, le champ de vision à partir de la timonerie était réduit sur bâbord. La potence était gréée à tribord.

Le voyage

Le « MONA PEARL » a quitté Digby (Nouvelle-Écosse), le 6 avril 1997 à 17 h, à destination des bancs de pétoncles de la baie de Fundy. Après l'arrivée sur les bancs de pêche, les deux membres de l'équipage ont travaillé de 18 à 20 heures par jour à la récolte des pétoncles et la préparation de la prise; ils mouillaient le bateau en se servant du râteau à pétoncles comme ancre quand ils allaient dormir. Le radar et les autres aides à la navigation étaient, selon les témoignages, en état de fonctionnement pendant tout le voyage.

Le 8 avril 1997 vers 22 h, le patron a décidé de quitter les bancs de pêche pour retourner à Digby. On a rentré l'engin de pêche et on l'a attaché en laissant dériver le bateau pendant cette opération. En se basant, selon son témoignage, sur une position de 44º53'50"N par 65º33'23"W obtenue au Loran C, le patron a réglé la route au 250º - 255º(M) sur le pilote automatique vers la pointe Prim à l'entrée du goulet de Digby. Tous les feux du pont de travail sont restés ouverts après le départ des bancs de pêche. Compte tenu de l'allure du bateau et du flux, le patron a estimé qu'il lui faudrait trois heures pour franchir la quinzaine de milles le séparant du quai des Pêcheries O'Neil à Digby. Quelque quinze minutes plus tard, il est descendu se reposer dans sa cabine après avoir confié le quart au matelot. Ce dernier devait l'appeler au bout d'une heure et dix minutes.

Le matelot faisait la pêche à Terre-Neuve et en Nouvelle-Écosse depuis un an et demi. Il ne connaissait pas les dragueurs à pétoncle et de son propre aveu, il n'avait guère d'expérience de la conduite d'un bateau ou de l'utilisation des aides à la navigation de bord. Il a cependant été rapporté qu'on lui avait déjà confié le quart à la passerelle à bord de bateaux de pêche semblables au « MONA PEARL » à cinq occasions.

Vers 21 h 30, un témoin a déclaré qu'il avait vu, de la côte, un navire dont les feux de pont étaient allumés et qui, selon son estimation, se trouvait à 1 mille ou 1,5 mille au large. Vers 22 h 30, à l'anse Delap, il a de nouveau observé le bateau, qui s'était beaucoup rapproché de la côte, et il a eu l'impression qu'il avait des ennuis. Lui et d'autres habitants de la région ont alors décidé de suivre la côte pour retrouver le bateau.

À peu près au même moment, le patron qui se trouvait dans sa cabine a entendu à deux reprises un bruit sourd, comme si le bateau avait été frappé par une lame. Le « MONA PEARL » a ensuite commencé à vibrer et il s'est immobilisé. Le patron est immédiatement monté sur la passerelle. Le matelot a avoué qu'il ne savait pas où le bateau se trouvait, qu'il ne s'était pas rendu compte que celui-ci se dirigeait vers la côte, mais il a nié s'être endormi.

À 22 h 36, le patron a appelé la station radio de la Garde côtière de Yarmouth pour signaler que son bateau était en train de couler par 44º47'39" N et 65º35'57"W. En fait, le « MONA PEARL » était échoué dans l'anse Hardy.

Le « MONA PEARL » était à 5 à 6 mètres de la côte. Les deux occupants sont montés dans un radeau pour 6 personnes et ont abandonné le bateau. Les riverains qui s'inquiétaient du sort du bateau sont arrivés dans l'anse Hardy au moment précis où le radeau de sauvetage touchait terre; ils ont secouru les naufragés, qui n'avaient pas de blessures sérieuses, mais qui ont néanmoins tous deux été transportés à l'hôpital par la GRC.

Le bateau s'était échoué le nez au sud-ouest, c'est-à-dire parallèlement à la côte.

Dans la soirée du 8 au 9 avril 1997, la marée basse était, dans cette zone, à 19 h 13 heure locale et la marée haute à 1 h 24. Au moment de l'échouement, la marée montait et son amplitude était de 8,53 m.

Le bateau avait apparemment une vitesse de pointe de 8 à 9 nœuds dans des conditions favorables. Comme le patron a évalué à 3 heures le temps nécessaire pour franchir les 15 milles jusqu'au quai, on peut raisonnablement présumer que le bateau maintenait une vitesse de fond de 5 nœuds. En 36 minutes, le navire aurait donc parcouru 3 milles.

Horaire travail/repos

Pendant tout le voyage, l'équipage a observé un horaire comportant 20 heures consécutives de travail (ordinairement de 7 h à 3 h le lendemain), suivies de 4 heures de repos (de 3 h à 7 h). Pendant les 4 heures de la période de repos, l'équipage pouvait dormir.

Fatigue et détérioration de la performance

La fatigue peut être décrite comme un état physiologique qui est ordinairement causé par un manque de sommeil et qui se caractérise par une détérioration de la performance et une diminution de la vivacité d'esprit. En moyenne, une personne a besoin de 7,5 à 8,5 heures de sommeil par jour. Une personne qui ne bénéficie pas d'un sommeil suffisant accumule un déficit de sommeil qui se répercute négativement sur sa performance.

La détérioration de la performance causée par la fatigue se manifeste de multiples façons : absence de réaction, ralentissement des réactions physiques et des fonctions cognitives, actes malencontreux, raisonnement faussé, manque de jugement, augmentation des réactions intempestives (réactions en l'absence de stimulus), défaillances de mémoire plus fréquentes, diminution de la vigilance, motivation réduite, propension accrue à prendre des risques et tendance de l'individu à s'endormir contre sa volonté[2].

Des épisodes de sommeil imprévus et irrépressibles prennent la forme d'" absences " ou de " micro-événements " d'une durée variant entre quelques secondes et plusieurs minutes, et qui surviennent à n'importe quelle heure du jour ou de la nuit pendant l'" état de veille ". Un stimulus, de l'information et même une conversation peuvent, pendant un " micro-événement ", ne pas atteindre du tout le sujet même si celui-ci a les yeux ouverts[3]. Même si la réalité des " micro-événements " peut être vérifiée par électro-encéphalogramme, les sujets n'en ont généralement pas conscience.

En fait, la personne fatiguée est souvent la dernière à admettre la fatigue et la moins apte à évaluer sa propre performance[4]. Cette théorie est confirmée par les conclusions d'une étude récente effectuée par le U.S. Department of Transportation, la U.S. Federal Highway Administration et Transports Canada, concernant le lien entre la vivacité d'esprit et la fatigue des conducteurs de véhicules routiers commerciaux. Cette étude conclut que les gens ne sont pas bons juges de leur propre vivacité d'esprit et qu'ils ont tendance à se croire plus alertes que ne l'indiquent les tests de performance.

Conditions environnementales

Selon les analyses météorologiques de surface du METOC pour le 8 avril 1997 dans la baie de Fundy, la visibilité était généralement bonne et la température de l'air de +2ºC. Le 9 avril 1997, entre 0 h et 2 h, temps universel coordonné, la station météorologique automatique de l'île Brier (44º17' N, 66º21' W) a enregistré des vents de 17 à 20 nœuds soufflant du 300º au 310º (V), avec quelques rafales approchant les 25 nœuds. Les lames devaient atteindre une hauteur de près de 1 mètre au milieu de la baie de Fundy; plus près de la côte, leur hauteur devait être influencée par le relief du fond et les courants. Il est très probable que les lames devaient atteindre 1 à 2 mètres dans le secteur de l'échouement. Le courant de marée est parallèle à la côte et sa vitesse varie entre 1,5 nœud vers le sud pendant le jusant et 2 nœuds vers le nord pendant le flux.

L'effet combiné des vagues et des vents traversiers sur le bateau devait contribuer à pousser celui-ci vers la côte ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Analyse

Comme le matelot n'avait que peu d'expérience de la conduite d'un bateau et de l'utilisation des aides à la navigation de bord, son efficacité comme homme de quart était considérablement diminuée.

Étant donné que le « MONA PEARL » a été aperçu à 1 mille ou 1,5 mille de la côte dans l'anse Parkers à 21 h 30, on peut conclure que le bateau était plus près de la terre ferme que le patron ne le croyait quand il a réglé la route vers la pointe Prim. L'équipage n'a pas assuré la sécurité générale du bateau parce qu'il n'a pas contrôlé adéquatement la position et la progression de celui-ci. Si l'équipage avait mieux connu les effets du vent et de la marée sur le bateau, il aurait pu apporter les corrections voulues à la route pour tenir compte de la dérive due aux vents et au courant et l'échouement aurait pu être évité.

L'analyse de l'horaire de travail et de repos de l'équipage durant les 72 heures précédant l'accident révèle que ni le patron ni le matelot n'avaient bénéficié d'un sommeil suffisant. Au cours de cette période, tous deux ont probablement accumulé un important déficit de sommeil qui a diminué leur performance.

Nonobstant le manque de formation du matelot et son peu d'expérience de la navigation ainsi que de l'utilisation des aides à la navigation de bord, sa performance pendant l'événement indique qu'il se ressentait des effets de la fatigue : il ne connaissait pas la position du bateau (vigilance réduite) et il n'a pas corrigé la route (absence de réaction). Même si le matelot ne croit pas s'être endormi, il a probablement succombé à une somnolence involontaire et irrépressible (absence ou micro-événement).

La performance du patron dénote aussi les effets de la fatigue : il a confié le quart au matelot sans s'être d'abord assuré que celui-ci avait les connaissances et/ou les capacités nécessaires en matière de navigation (raisonnement faussé, erreur de jugement, propension accrue à prendre des risques).

Selon les dossiers du BST, la présence de membres d'équipage non qualifiés et incapables d'exercer convenablement les fonctions du quart a contribué à 45 à 50 pour cent des abordages, des échouements et des heurts violents impliquant des bateaux de pêche au Canada. Même s'ils ont l'expérience de la pêche, de nombreux marins-pêcheurs n'ont pas reçu de formation théorique touchant la navigation, l'utilisation du radar, le fonctionnement sur la passerelle, les règles de route, etc.; ils ont acquis sur le tas les connaissances qu'ils possèdent.

À la suite d'une autre enquête sur l'abordage des bateaux de pêche " CONNIE & SISTERS I " et " RYAN ATLANTIC " en juin 1992 (rapport M92M4031 du BST), le Bureau a déterminé que l'abordage s'était produit parce qu'aucun des deux bâtiments n'était efficacement dirigé au radar et parce qu'aucun des deux équipages n'assurait une veille efficace. Le Bureau a donc recommandé :

  • Que le ministère des Transports veille à ce que toute personne appelée à assurer la conduite d'un navire de pêche commercial possède les connaissances élémentaires permettant d'assurer une navigation sûre.
    (M94-10, 1994)

En août 1997, le Règlement sur l'armement en équipage des navires a été modifié pour exiger que les capitaines et les seconds capitaines de navires de pêche de plus de 85 tjb possèdent, avant le 30 juillet 1998, une formation et des brevets. Du 30 juillet 1998 au 30 juillet 1999, ce plancher sera abaissé à 70 tjb, et à partir du 30 juillet 1999, à 60 tjb (DORS 97-390 alinéa 29 (5) c)). De plus, dans le cadre d'un nouveau programme désigné sous le nom de " professionnalisation des marins-pêcheurs ", l'industrie de la pêche prévoit elle-même prendre des mesures pour fournir aux personnes qui conduisent des bateaux de pêche sur lesquels un capitaine breveté n'est pas obligatoire, les connaissances fondamentales nécessaires à la sécurité de la navigation.

Faits établis

  1. Le bateau s'est échoué dans l'anse Hardy, nez au sud-ouest, sur un axe parallèle à la ligne de rivage.
  2. Le bateau était bien plus proche de la côte que ne le pensait le patron quand il a réglé sa route pour la pointe Prim.
  3. Le vent et la marée ont dû avoir poussé le bateau vers la côte ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse.
  4. L'homme de quart ne comprenait pas vraiment à quel point le vent et la marée peuvent influencer la route du bateau.
  5. Le manque de formation de l'homme de quart et le fait qu'il ne connaissait pas bien le fonctionnement du radar et des autres aides à la navigation ont réduit son efficacité.
  6. La façon dont le bateau était fait de même que les feux du pont de travail qui étaient restés allumés, ont empêché l'homme de quart de repérer les lumières de la côte, dont la vue aurait pu lui faire comprendre que son bateau était très près de la côte.
  7. La performance des membres de l'équipage laisse croire qu'ils ressentaient les effets de la fatigue.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le Bureau a déterminé que le « MONA PEARL » s'est échoué à cause du manque de connaissances techniques de la navigation de la personne qui assurait le quart et parce que l'équipage n'était pas pleinement conscient des effets du vent et de la marée. La fatigue, portée au paroxysme par l'horaire de travail/repos adopté par l'équipage pendant le voyage, a eu des effets négatifs sur la performance de l'équipage.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. LeBureau, qui est composé du président, Benoît Bouchard, et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros en a autorisé la publication le 12 février 1998.


[1]  Les unités de mesure sont conformes aux normes de l’Organisation maritime internationale (OMI) ou, à défaut de telles normes, sont des unités du Système international (SI).

[2]  Ce paragraphe paraphrase Dinges, David F., Performance Effects of Fatigue, Fatigue Symposium Proceedings, November 1995, National Transportation Safety Board and NASA-Ames Research Center.

[3]  Vincent Cantwell, Physiological Factors Affecting Safety in Maritime Operations, Safety At Sea International ’97 Conference (SASMEX), Baltimore, MD. April 30-May 1, 1997.

[4]  Rosekind, M.R. et al, NASA-Ames Fatigue Countermeasures Program, Education Training Module, NASA-Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, CA, 1995.