Marine Investigation Report M97W0044

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Explosion and Fire On Board
The Open Herring-Skiff SHA 1227
Comox Small Craft Harbour, British Columbia
23 March 1997

Summary

The small fishing vessel Sha 122 was moored, second from the dock, in a row of four vessels at the floating dock on the east side of the jetty at Comox Small Craft Harbour. On the afternoon of 23 March 1997, the operator returned, after an absence of 48 hours, intending to sail from Comox to Prince Rupert, British Columbia. He boarded the vessel, opened the gasoline tank valves and went forward to start the engines. At 1730 he started the port engine and immediately there was an explosion followed by a large gasoline-fuelled fire. The force of the explosion ejected the operator from the Sha 122 and he landed on the deck of another vessel. Crews from other vessels at the dock began moving vessels and freeing the burning Sha 122 from the dock. The operator was treated overnight in a hospital and released. Sha 122 was extensively damaged, was cut in two during salvage operations, and was a constructive total loss.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Name Sha 122
Port of registry Vancouver, British Columbia (B.C.)
Flag Canada
Official number 13K108419
Type Open Herring-Skiff (powered)
Gross tons 7
Length 12.19 m
Built Richmond, B.C.
Propulsion Twin screw, 2 gasoline engines
Number of crew 1
Registered owners Dennis Nakatsuru, Richmond, B.C. and Ted Akune, Vancouver, B.C.

Description of the Vessel

Sha 122 is an aluminum, gasoline engine-powered open herring-skiff, commonly known as a "Superpunt". The vessel has a helm and control position at the forward end and an engine compartment at the aft end with a net winch mounted over the engine compartment.

Amidships the vessel has an inner bottom, forming a void space in which are mounted the gasoline fuel tanks. Fuel from the tanks is piped within the void and to the engine compartment through the forward bulkhead of the engine compartment. The port engine was an old carburettor-type fuel-supply engine and the starboard engine was a new, fuel-injected engine.

Figure 1. Sha 122

Description of the Accident

The Sha 122 was moored at the floating dock on the east side of the jetty, at Comox Government Dock. The vessel was the second from the dock, in a row of four vessels.

The other vessels were the Cowboy I, closest to the dock, the Quick Change, outboard of the Sha 122 and the Abracadabra I, the outermost vessel from the dock.

This row was the second row from the piled wooden wharf running from the shore to the Department of National Defence (DND) fuel wharf (Appendix "A"). In the first row and directly ahead of the Sha 122 was another fishing vessel, the Triple 8. The wooden wharf, running out to the DND wharf, carries two exposed six-inch fuel lines for supplying the airbase with aviation jet fuels "A" and "B".

On the afternoon of 23 March 1997,Footnote 1 the operator returned, after an absence of 48 hours during which the vessel was unattended, intending to sail from Comox to Prince Rupert. At approximately 1725, he boarded the vessel and opened the gasoline tank valves and went forward to start the engines. The operator had run the vessel this way since his appointment two months earlier and noticed nothing unusual before he started the port engine.

The vessel did not comply with the provisions of the Small Vessel Regulations, as they apply to the forced ventilation of the engine compartment or the void space where the fuel tanks were located. Consequently, any build up of gasoline vapours could not be vented before starting the engines. The owner was unaware of the regulatory requirement for a mechanical ventilation system for spaces below deck where a gasoline-fuelled engine is located and any spaces where gasoline vapours may collect. He relied on the fact that the vessel had been operating this way prior to his purchase of the vessel. To promote such awareness, the Office of Boating Safety of the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) conducts regular courtesy examinations of fishing vessels less than 15 gross ton, such as the Sha 122, thus inciting such fishers to participate in these examinations. Also the forward bulkhead of the engine compartment was not water- or gas-tight and a gasoline leak, in either space, would affect both spaces.

When the operator started the port engine, there was an explosion followed by a large gasoline-fuelled fire. The inner bottom was torn free of the hull at the forward end and as it peeled backwards the sides of the hull were pulled inwards, until the welds between the sides and the inner bottom fractured.

The force of the explosion ejected the operator from the vessel and he landed on the deck of another vessel.

Shrapnel and equipment from the Sha 122 were sprayed over a wide area, causing minor damage to other vessels. In particular the Triple 8 suffered damage to the windshield, and the radar scanner of the Cowboy I was damaged. Both the Abracadabra I and the Quick Change suffered fire damage when the fire spread to their decks.

The inner bottom of the Sha 122 was peeled back, by the explosion, as far as the forward bulkhead of the engine compartment and ended up being vertical instead of horizontal. During the fire the inner bottom and the engine compartment forward bulkhead were completely consumed by the fire. Part of the engine compartment top and the net winch drum, both aluminum-constructed, were consumed.

Most of the fire was in the aftermost one-third of the vessel in the engine compartment, or just ahead of the engine compartment forward bulkhead. The trim of the vessel by the stern would pool any leaking gasoline in the aft ends of the void space if from the fuel tanks, or in the engine compartment if from the engine.

Crew members from other vessels at the dock began moving them away from the burning vessel and freeing it from the berth. The crew members from a Department of Fisheries and Oceans patrol vessel were on-scene immediately after the explosion and removed the operator from the fishing vessel to the dock. They returned with a portable pump to fight the fire. Comox Fire Department were on-scene in four minutes and had their boat in the water at 1738.

The foremost concern was to keep the fiercely burning Sha 122 away from the wooden wharf fitted with the jet fuel lines, as the south-easterly wind tried to push the vessel downwind onto the wharf. There is no boom or restraining chain to keep vessels away from the wharf, although there are two free-standing piles that could be used for holding a floating boom or chains.

High Water at Comox was predicted to be 4.23m at 1723 on 23 March, immediately before the explosion. The high tide brought the fishing vessel up to a level where it could have struck the fuel lines, mounted externally to the walkway, which were very exposed.

Comox Docks have some firefighting equipment in the form of dry powder chemical extinguishers mounted on the piles at regular intervals and fire hydrants on the jetty and the floating docks.

The original floating docks, west of the jetty, have fire hydrants supplied by a flexible hose connection to the jetty. This system is not charged until required and there are no hoses on the docks as the hydrants are intended for the Fire Department use only.

On the east side of the jetty, the floating docks have hydrants, also supplied by flexible hose, which are always charged with water. When this water line was installed, the pressure was reduced to domestic levels for vessels to hook-up their water systems while at the dock. This reduced pressure means that the ability of the Fire Department to fight fires on the east side is impaired.

The operator was saved from being burned by a piece of canvas that wrapped around him before he was ejected from the vessel. He was treated overnight in a hospital and released with only a minor strain injury to his ankle and a shrapnel wound in his knee. The knee wound continues to cause him pain and he has not fished since the occurrence.

Before the 48-hour respite in Comox, the vessel had been engaged in fishing in the Georgia Strait. The weather on the last two days' fishing had been poor, with rough seas that had buffeted the vessel about.

The Sha 122 was extensively damaged during the fire and was beached on the outer breakwater, to prevent it from sinking. It was cut in two during salvage operations and was a constructive total loss.

Analysis

The inner bottom of the vessel forms a void that houses the gasoline fuel tanks and supply-piping to the engines in the engine compartment. The void has no forced ventilation so the operator cannot purge any gasoline fumes from the void before starting the engines. Similarly the engine compartment also has no ventilation fan to remove gases before starting the engines. The operator had run the vessel previously and was used to starting the engines without pre start-up ventilation. Consequently, he followed the same method on the day of the occurrence with catastrophic results.

The operator did not check the engines before attempting to start them. This activity would have required him to open the engine compartment to reach the engines and may have led to the discovery of fuel in the bilge.

In the two days before the layover in Comox, the vessel had been fishing in rough seas in the Georgia Strait. It is likely that the fuel lines from the tanks in the void space to the engines were shaken enough either to slacken back a union fitting or crack the lines. A further possibility is that the fuel tanks themselves were shaken enough to crack a weld. Either of these two scenarios would have resulted in a build-up of gasoline in the void, the engine compartment or in both spaces.

High Water was only seven minutes before the occurrence and the wind was south-easterly. When the Sha 122 was cleared from the dock, the wind was pushing it downwind onto the wooden wharf fitted with the six-inch jet fuel lines. The lack of a floating boom or chain to prevent vessels from approaching the wooden wharf places the six-inch diameter aviation jet "A" and "B" fuel lines at risk. A floating boom could be easily laid against the two free-standing piles located to the east of the wooden wharf.

The fire generated enough heat for the aluminum of the inner bottom and the engine compartment bulkhead to burn.

Findings

  1. The Sha 122 had no forced ventilation to purge the void space and/or engine compartment before the engines were started.
  2. The operator did not inspect the engines or engine compartment before attempting to start the engines.
  3. The Sha 122 had been fishing in rough seas before berthing at Comox and the heavy movements may have caused a fuel leak in either the void space or engine compartment.
  4. The source of fuel ignition is most likely the starter motor of the port engine.
  5. The operator was protected from fire by the canvas that wrapped around him, and by being blown out of the vessel and away from the fire.
  6. The piled wooden wharf, running from the shore to the DND fuel wharf, has no protection from vessels either drifting or driven down onto it from the south-east. The exposed jet fuel lines on the east side of the wharf are in danger of being fractured or gashed by vessels at high tides.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The fire was most likely caused by gasoline fuel in the void space or engine compartment that was ignited when the port engine starter was engaged. The lack of forced ventilation in the void space and the engine compartment prevented the operator from properly purging any gasoline vapours from the spaces before starting the engines.

Safety Action Taken

The harbour master of the Comox Small Craft Harbour requested that a floating boom be installed to prevent any vessel from contacting the wooden wharf. This request was acted upon by Small Craft Harbours and a floating boom now protects the jet fuel lines on the Department of National Defence wharf.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 20 October 1998.

Appendix A - Sketch of the Accident Area

Footnotes

Footnote 1

All times are PDT (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus seven hours) unless otherwise stated.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Rapport d'enquête maritime M97W0044

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Explosion et incendie
à bord de l'embarcation de pêche au hareng non pontée Sha 122
Comox Small Craft Harbour, C.-B.
le 23 mars 1997

Résumé

La petite embarcation de pêche Sha 122 était amarrée au quai flottant du côté est de la jetée à Comox Small Craft Harbour; c'était la deuxième d'une rangée de quatre embarcations aussi amarrées au quai. Le 23 mars 1997, dans l'après-midi, le patron de l'embarcation est revenu après une escale de 48 heures, pour naviguer jusqu'à Prince Rupert. Il est monté à bord, a ouvert les robinets des réservoirs à essence et s'est rendu à l'avant pour lancer les moteurs. à 17 h 30, il a fait démarrer le moteur de bâbord, ce qui a aussitôt déclenché une explosion suivie d'un gros incendie d'essence. La force de l'explosion a projeté l'homme sur le pont d'un autre bateau. Les équipages d'autres navires qui étaient présents sur le quai se sont employés à éloigner les autres bateaux amarrés au quai et à détacher le Sha 122 en flammes. Le patron été soigné dans un hôpital au cours de la nuit et on lui a ensuite donné son congé. Le Sha 122, a été très endommagé, il a été coupé en deux pendant les opérations de sauvetage et est considéré une perte totale.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Nom Sha 122
Port d'immatriculation Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.)
Pavillon Canada
Numéro officiel 13K108419
Type Embarcation de pêche au hareng non pontée
Jauge brute 7 t
Longueur 12,19 m
Construction Richmond, C.-B.
Groupe propulseur Double hélice, deux moteurs à essence
Nomre de membres d'équipage Une personne
Propriétaires enregistrés Dennis Nakatsuru, Richmond, C.-B.
et Ted Akune, Vancouver, C.-B.

Renseignements sur le navire

Le Sha 122 est une embarcation de pêche au hareng non pontée en aluminium, mue par moteur à essence, souvent désignée « Superpunt ». La position de commande et la barre se trouvent à l'avant du navire et le compartiment des moteurs à l'arrière, le treuil pour le filet de pêche étant monté par-dessus celui-ci.

Au centre de l'embarcation, un double-fond forme un compartiment dans lequel sont placés les réservoirs à essence. Le carburant est aspiré jusqu'au compartiment moteur, de l'autre côté de la cloison. Le moteur de bâbord était un vieux moteur à essence du type à carburateur et le moteur de tribord, un moteur neuf à injection.

Figure 1. Sha 122

Déroulement de l'accident

Le Sha 122 était amarré au quai flottant du côté est de la jetée des quais de Comox appartenant au ministère de la Défense nationale. Le bâtiment était le deuxième d'une rangée de quatre bateaux amarrés au quai.

Les autres bateaux étaient le Cowboy I, le plus près du quai, le Quick Change, de l'autre côté du Sha 122 et l'Abracadabra I, le plus éloigné du quai.

Le Sha 122 était amarré à la deuxième rangée du quai en bois sur pilotis reliant la rive au quai de ravitaillement du ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) (annexe A). La première rangée était occupée par un autre bateau de pêche, le Triple 8. Le quai de bois menant au quai du ministère porte deux canalisations exposées de six pouces qui alimentent la base aérienne en carburéacteurs A et B.

L'après-midi du 23 mars 1997,Note de bas de page 1 le patron était de retour après une période de repos de 48 heures au cours de laquelle le bateau avait été laissé sans équipage; il allait prendre la mer en direction de Prince Rupert. Vers 17 h 25, il est monté à bord et a ouvert les robinets des réservoirs à essence. Il s'est ensuite déplacé vers l'avant pour démarrer les moteurs. Le patron avait toujours mis l'embarcation en marche de cette façon depuis son embauche deux mois plus tôt et tout lui a paru normal lorsqu'il a lancé le moteur de bâbord.

L'embarcation ne respectait pas les dispositions du Règlement sur les petits bâtiments, en vertu desquelles tout espace fermé où est installé un moteur à essence ou tout compartiment dans lequel se trouvent des réservoirs à essence doit être ventilé par des ventilateurs. Par conséquent, les vapeurs d'essence accumulées ne pouvaient pas s'évacuer avant le démarrage des moteurs. Le propriétaire ne savait pas qu'un ventilateur était obligatoire dans les espaces inférieurs au pont qui abritent un moteur à essence et dans tout espace où des vapeurs d'essence peuvent s'accumuler. Il s'est fié au fait que le bateau fonctionnait de cette façon avant qu'il ne l'achète. En vue de sensibiliser les propriétaires de petites embarcations, le Bureau de sécurité maritime de la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC) effectue régulièrement des inspections gratuites des embarcations de pêche qui jaugent moins de 15 tonnes, comme le Sha 122 en offrant des incitatifs aux pêcheurs pour qu'ils aient recours à ce service. En outre, la cloison avant du compartiment moteur n'était pas étanche à l'eau ou aux gaz, de sorte qu'une fuite de l'un ou de l'autre côté de la cloison devait se répercuter des deux côtés à la fois.

Lorsque le patron a lancé le moteur bâbord, il s'est produit une explosion suivie d'un gros feu d'essence. Le double-fond intérieur a été arraché de la coque à l'avant et s'est recourbé vers l'arrière en tirant les côtés de la coque vers l'intérieur, jusqu'à la rupture des joints soudés entre les bords de l'embarcation et le double-fond.

La force de l'explosion a projeté le patron de l'embarcation sur le pont d'un autre bateau.

Des éclats et du matériel provenant du Sha 122 se sont éparpillés sur une grande distance, causant des dommages mineurs à d'autres bateaux. Le pare-brise du Triple 8 en particulier, a souffert de dommages tout comme le scanner radar du Cowboy I et les ponts de l'Abracadabra I et du Quick Change ont été envahis par les flammes.

Le double-fond du Sha 122 a été tiré vers l'arrière par l'explosion, jusqu'à la cloison à l'avant du compartiment moteur et s'est dressé complètement à la verticale. Pendant l'incendie, le double-fond et la cloison avant du compartiment moteur ont brûlé complètement. Une partie du toit du compartiment moteur et le treuil du filet, tous les deux en aluminium, ont complètement brûlé.

L'incendie faisait rage surtout dans le tiers arrière du bateau, à l'intérieur du compartiment moteur, ou juste devant la cloison avant du compartiment moteur. En raison de l'assiette positive du bateau, toute fuite d'essence provenant des réservoirs ou des moteurs devait s'accumuler à l'arrière - soit dans le compartiment des réservoirs, soit dans celui des moteurs.

Les équipages des autres bateaux se sont alors employés à éloigner les autres embarcations du lieu de l'incendie et à désamarrer le bateau en flammes. L'équipage du patrouilleur du ministère des Pêches et Océans s'est rendu sur la scène de l'accident immédiatement après l'explosion et a d'abord évacué le blessé sur le quai. Ensuite, les membres de l'équipage sont remontés à bord pour éteindre le feu avec une moto-pompe portable. Quatre minutes plus tard, les pompiers du service des incendies de Comox sont arrivés et ont mis leur embarcation à l'eau à 17 h 38.

La principale préoccupation était de garder le Sha 122 en flammes loin du quai en bois portant des canalisations de carburéacteur, alors qu'un vent du sud-est poussait le bateau vers le quai. Aucune estacade ni chaîne de retenue n'était disposée près du quai pour éloigner les bateaux amarrés malgré la présence de deux piliers porteurs auxquels on aurait pu assujettir un dispositif de retenue.

D'après les prévisions, le 23 mars, juste avant l'explosion à 17 h 23, la marée haute à Comox était de 4,23 m. Elle avait soulevé l'embarcation de pêche à un niveau où celle-ci aurait pu percuter les canalisations de carburant posées à l'extérieur du quai et qui étaient par conséquent très exposées.

Les quais de Comox sont munis de matériel de lutte contre l'incendie comme des extincteurs à poudre montés sur piliers à intervalle régulier et de prises d'eau installées sur la jetée et les quais flottants.

Les quais flottants d'origine, à l'ouest de la jetée, sont dotés de prises d'eau alimentées par un tuyau flexible à partir de la jetée. Ce système n'est chargé qu'au besoin et il n'y a aucun tuyau sur les quais puisque la prise d'eau est destiné au service des incendies seulement.

Du côté est de la jetée, les quais flottants sont également dotés de prises d'eau alimentées par un tuyau flexible qui sont toujours en charge. Lorsque cette conduite d'eau a été installée, la pression a été réduite à des niveaux propres à un usage domestique de façon à permettre aux bateaux amarrés de se brancher. En raison de la basse pression, le service des incendies ne peut plus se servir de ces prises d'eau pour combattre les incendies du côté est du quai.

Heureusement, une toile s'était enroulée autour du patron du bateau au moment de l'explosion, c'est ce qui l'a empêché de souffrir de brûlures. Il a reçu des soins médicaux à l'hôpital au cours de la nuit et s'en est sorti avec une contusion mineure à la cheville et une blessure au genou causée par un éclat. La blessure au genou continue de lui faire mal et il n'est pas retourné pêcher depuis l'accident.

Avant l'escale de 48 heures à Comox, le bateau était en mer pour la pêche dans le détroit de Georgia. Il a fait très mauvais temps au cours des deux dernières journées de pêche, la mer était très grosse et l'embarcation a été malmenée.

Le Sha 122, très endommagé pendant l'incendie, a été mis à l'échouage sur le brise-lame extérieur pour éviter qu'il ne sombre. Pendant les opérations de sauvetage, il s'est coupé en deux et est considéré une perte totale.

Analyse

Le double-fond forme un espace qui loge les réservoirs d'essence et les canalisations d'alimentation des moteurs situés dans le compartiment moteur. Cet espace n'est pas doté de ventilateurs; le patron n'a donc pas pu faire évacuer les vapeurs d'essence présentes dans le compartiment des réservoirs avant de lancer les moteurs. Le compartiment moteur n'est pas non plus muni de ventilateurs qui permettraient d'expulser les gaz avant le démarrage. Le patron avait déjà navigué sur ce bateau et avait l'habitude de lancer les moteurs sans ventiler le compartiment au préalable. Il a donc procédé de la même façon le jour de l'accident, mais cette fois-ci, avec des conséquences désastreuses.

Le patron n'a pas vérifié les moteurs avant le démarrage. S'il l'avait fait, il aurait dû ouvrir le compartiment moteur et aurait peut-être découvert la fuite d'essence dans le bouchain.

Les deux jours précédant l'escale à Comox, le bateau avait pêché par gros temps dans le détroit de Georgia. Il est probable que les canalisations d'essence entre les réservoirs et les moteurs aient été secouées suffisamment pour desserrer un raccord union, voire même fissurer les canalisations. Une autre possibilité est que les réservoirs d'essence eux-mêmes aient été secoués au point d'entraîner la rupture d'une soudure. L'une ou l'autre éventualité aurait pu se traduire par une accumulation d'essence dans le compartiment des réservoirs ou celui des moteurs, ou dans les deux.

La marée haute s'est produite seulement sept minutes avant l'accident et le vent soufflait du sud-est. Lorsque le Sha 122 a quitté son poste, le vent le repoussait vers le quai de bois auquel étaient attachées des canalisations de carburéacteur de six pouces. Le fait qu'il n'y ait ni estacade ni chaîne de sécurité pour empêcher les bateaux de s'approcher du quai en bois, constituait un risque que les canalisations de carburéacteur A et B de six pouces soient endommagées. Une estacade aurait pu facilement être installée contre les deux piliers porteurs placés à l'est du quai en bois.

La chaleur produite par l'incendie était tellement forte que l'aluminium du double-fond et la cloison du compartiment moteur ont brûlé.

Faits établis 

  1. Le Sha 122 n'était pas doté d'un système de ventilation forcée pour évacuer les vapeurs d'essence dans le compartiment des réservoirs et (ou) des moteurs avant la mise en marche des moteurs.
  2. Le patron n'a inspecté ni les moteurs ni le compartiment moteur avant de faire démarrer les moteurs.
  3. Le Sha 122 avait navigué par gros temps avant de faire escale à Comox et la forte houle a pu entraîner une fuite d'essence dans le compartiment des réservoirs ou dans celui des moteurs.
  4. L'origine de l'incendie d'essence est probablement le démarreur du moteur de bâbord.
  5. Le patron du bateau a été protégé du feu par une toile qui s'est enroulée autour de lui et du fait qu'il a été projeté hors de l'embarcation.
  6. Le quai en bois sur pilotis reliant la berge et le quai de ravitaillement du MDN n'est doté d'aucun dispositif de protection contre les bateaux amarrés qui dérivent ou qui sont projetés contre le quai du côté sud-est. Les canalisations de carburéacteur exposées du côté est du quai risquent d'être fissurées ou coupées lors des marées hautes par des bateaux amarrés.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

L'incendie a sans doute été causé par une fuite d'essence dans le compartiment des réservoirs ou dans celui des moteurs et qui s'est enflammée lorsque le démarreur de bâbord a été lancé. Le fait qu'il n'y ait aucun système de ventilation dans ces deux compartiments n'a pas permis au patron de faire évacuer les vapeurs d'essence avant de faire démarrer les moteurs.

Mesure de sécurité prise

Le directeur de port de Comox Small Craft Harbour a demandé qu'on installe une estacade pour empêcher les bateaux d'entrer en contact avec le quai en bois. Cette demande a été exécutée par Small Craft Harbours et une estacade protège dorénavant les canalisations de carburéacteur du quai du ministère de la Défense nationale.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet événement. Le Bureau, composé du président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros a donc autorisé la publication de ce rapport le 20 octobre 1998.

Annexe A

Croquis du secteur de l'accident

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

à moins d'indication contraire, toutes les heures sont à l'heure avancée du Pacifique (temps universel coordonné moins sept heures).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1