Marine Investigation Report M97W0152

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Collision Between the Fishing Vessel Westisle and the Empty Barge IB No 1
Pushed by the Tug Coastal Destinations
In the Strait of Georgia, British Columbia
29 July 1997

Summary

The empty barge IB No 1 was being pushed by the tug Coastal Destinations in a northerly direction in the Strait of Georgia where the fishing vessel Westisle was southbound. Visibility was good, the night was clear, and the weather calm. The vessels were in an end-on situation. The bridge watch on the fishing vessel saw but did not recognize the meaning of the navigation lights exhibited by the pusher tug and barge combination. The fishing vessel, and later the tug/barge took non-standard collision avoidance measures which led to a collision.

As both vessels were manoeuvring, the barge's ramp struck a glancing blow to the port quarter of the fishing vessel causing damage to the above-deck machinery. No one was injured and there was no pollution.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

  "WESTISLE" "COASTAL DESTINATIONS"
Port of Registry Vancouver, British Columbia (B.C.) Vancouver, B.C.
Flag Canada Canada
Registry Number 812193 369113
Type Fishing seiner Tug
Gross Tons 99.49 118.93
Length 23 m 18.7 m
Draught F: 2.1 m , A: 3 m Undetermined
Built 1981 Vancouver, B.C. 1974 Port Alberni, B.C.
Propulsion Caterpillar single-screw 425 hp Twin-propeller and twin-engine, each 850 hp
Number of Crew Five Four
Registered Owner British Columbia Packers Richmond, B.C. Inlet Fuel and Barge Co. Campbell River, B.C.
Name "IB NO. 1"
Port of Registry Edmonton, Alberta
Flag Canada
Registry Number 368374
Type Steel barge
Gross Tons 875.52
Length 61 m
Built 1975, Rebuilt 1995
Propulsion None
Number of Crew Nil
Registered Owner Inlet Fuel and Barge Co., Campbell River, B.C.

Description of the Vessels

The Westisle is a steel purse seiner of carvel construction. The fibreglass-insulated fishholds are aft of the aluminium accommodation and are serviced by a swinging derrick and an aluminium net drum. A skiff is housed on the afterdeck. The vessel is equipped with two radars, a Loran and a global positioning system (GPS).

The Westisle was last inspected by Transport Canada, Marine Safety (TCMS) in June 1994. The master of the Westisle possesses a certificate of competency as Fishing Master Class IV. The rest of his crew of four fishermen/deck-hands were not certificated nor were they required to be certificated.

The Coastal Destinations is a shallow-draught, all-welded tug with a pusher bow and transom stern both suitably tire-fendered. The tug carries a radar and a GPS.

The barge IB No 1 is a flat-deck barge of welded-steel construction fitted with a heavy duty bow ramp and lumber-fendered push brackets at the stern. The barge can carry fuel oil under deck and general cargo on deck. In the pushing mode, the Coastal Destinations is connected to the IB No 1 as follows:

A wire from each quarter of the barge is made fast at the tug's stern.

Figure 1 - A wire from each quarter of the barge is made fast at the tug's stern.

Figure 1  A wire from each quarter of the barge is made fast at the tug's stern.

The bow of the tug and the stern of the barge are heavily reinforced. Pushbars are of heavy construction and there is a bracket made of heavy steel channel at the tug's bow which fits inside a similar larger bracket at the barge's stern.

The tug and barge show the navigation lights of a non-composite unit when connected in the pushing mode. In this configuration, the barge (of 15 metres beam) displays sidelights forward located on the port and starboard ramp posts. The tug displays two masthead lights vertically disposed on a single mast as towing lights; she also displays sidelights. The tug's sidelights are about 70 metres astern of the barge's sidelights.

The Coastal Destinations was last inspected by TCMS in 1996. Both the tug and barge possess a Home Trade III trading area licence. The tug master has a certificate of competency as Home Trade Master for vessels up to 350 tons.

History of the Voyage

Westisle

On 29 July 1997, the fishing seiner Westisle, with a master and a crew of four experienced fishermen/deck-hands, was southbound in the Strait of Georgia on a voyage from Campbell River to the Fraser River, B.C., where general repairs were to be carried out.

The sea was calm with a light south-westerly to westerly breeze of between five and ten knots and a visibility of five to six miles.

At 2315 Pacific daylight time (PDT)1, the master set the auto pilot on a south-south-easterly course. The vessel was proceeding at about ten knots. The radar set was operational and the very high frequency (VHF) radiotelephone was set to receive channels 16 and 78. After handing over the watch to two watchkeepers, the master left the bridge and went aft to the galley. At approximately six minutes to midnight, with the vessel about 12 miles south-east of Cape Mudge, the master heard a change in engine revolutions and he returned to the wheel-house.

Prior to the master's arrival on the bridge, the watchkeepers had observed a radar target ahead at a range of six miles. The watchkeepers had first altered course ten degrees to port by auto pilot. When, at a closer range, the other vessel was seen to alter course to starboard, the watchkeepers altered the course of the Westisle to starboard, again by auto pilot. Upon his arrival on the bridge, the master, seeing the other vessel on a reciprocal course, disengaged the auto pilot and reportedly put the rudder hard-to-port until collision. The master and the watchkeepers on the Westisle did not identify the lights ahead exhibited by the other vessels.

Coastal Destinations / IB No 1

On 29 July 1997, after having discharged the barge's cargo, the Coastal Destinations commenced pushing the IB No 1 on a voyage from the Fraser River towards Menzies Bay, B.C. On board was the master and a crew of three consisting of the mate, deck-hand and engineer.

The tug was pushing the barge at about 8.4 knots on a north-westerly course in the Strait of Georgia. Both the tug master and the mate of the Coastal Destinations were on the bridge prior to a change of watch at midnight. The lights of another vessel (later identified as the Westisle) were sighted ahead, on a reciprocal course at a distance of about six to eight miles. The master altered the course of the tug/barge combination ten degrees to starboard to effect a red-to red-passing.

The bridge watch then saw the lights of the Westisle showing that the fishing vessel had altered course to port. In an effort to avoid collision, the course of the Coastal Destinations was also altered to port, and the vessel's spotlight was flashed first to the starboard side and then on to the ramp, reportedly blinding the crew on the Westisle. When collision became imminent, the Coastal Destinations put her engines full astern. At about the same time, the tug sounded a continuous long blast on her whistle; a sound signal prescribed for a "vessel in distress" in the Collision Regulations. Shortly before the collision, the master of the Coastal Destinations reported observing the Westisle make a large alteration of course to starboard.

The ramp of the IB No 1 was in seagoing position, at an angle of about twenty degrees above the horizontal. As the distance between the Westisle and the IB No 1 decreased, the ramp cleared the accommodation of the fishing vessel but struck and damaged the seine drum on the afterdeck. Other structures above the main deck on the port side of the Westisle, including the tilt stern, suffered damage. All damage on the Westisle was located above the waterline and confined to the afterdeck. No damage was apparent to the Coastal Destinations or the IB No 1.

The Coastal Destinations reportedly tried to contact the Westisle prior to the collision, but the calls were not heard on board the fishing vessel. Following the collision, no difficulty was encountered in establishing VHF contact between the two vessels. After exchanging information and reporting the collision to Vancouver Marine Traffic and Communications Services (MCTS), both vessels continued on their respective voyages.

The Coastal Destinations reported two close-quarters situations with unknown fishing vessels on the same night.

Analysis

The International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea with Canadian Modifications require that all available means, including the use of radar and taking visual bearings of approaching targets, be used to assess the risk of collision and that any action taken to avoid collision must, if the circumstances of the case admit, be positive, made in ample time, and with due regard to the observance of good seamanship.

The rules also require that when two power-driven vessels are meeting on reciprocal or nearly reciprocal courses so as to involve risk of collision, each shall alter course to starboard so that each shall pass on the port side of the other.

There is conflicting information with respect to the last minute action of the Westisle. While the Westisle maintains the helm remained on hard-to-port until collision, the Coastal Destinations reported observing the Westisle make a broad alteration to starboard. Damage to the upper deck structure of the port quarter of the Westisle is consistent with her altering course to starboard just before the collision. The Westisle was thus crossing ahead of the IB No 1 when she was struck on the port quarter by the barge's ramp. In any event, small reciprocal actions taken by each vessel resulted in the close-quarters situation. Neither vessel made a substantial course alteration nor did they stop their engines in good time to avert a collision. The non-standard collision avoidance action taken by each vessel without communicating their intent to each other culminated in the collision.

The collision avoidance action taken by both vessels suggests that neither vessel was aware of the intentions of the other. Despite this, neither vessel sounded the appropriate sound signal prescribed under the Collision Regulations. Instead, the Coastal Destinations sounded a continuous long blast on the whistle which is reserved for a "vessel in distress". At that time, the vessel's head was swinging to port. This would suggest that the need to take collision avoidance measures that are consistent with the Collision Regulations was not fully appreciated by the crew of either vessel.

The master of the Coastal Destinations reported two close-quarters situations with unknown fishing vessels on the same night during this voyage. This fact may indicate that the lights displayed by the tug/barge combination cause confusion to the watchkeepers of other vessels. However, there is insufficient information to show that the lights exhibited by the tug/barge were the only cause of the close-quarters situations.

At a "Vessel Traffic Meeting" held in June 1993, local fishermen identified the issue of lights and poor visibility of barges and various tows as a "long-standing problem on the West Coast".

In 1993, the fishing vessel Bona Vista collided with the tug/barge combination Arctic Taglu / Link 100 (TSB report No M93W1050). Since none of the six persons aboard the Bona Vista survived the collision, it could not be determined if the navigation lights exhibited by the Arctic Taglu (a similar arrangement to that of the Coastal Destinations / IB No 1) were a factor or confused the fishing vessel's operator.

In May 1994, the TSB forwarded a Marine Safety Advisory to the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) (now TCMS) concerning the importance of the navigation lights displayed by vessels such as the Arctic Taglu and Link 100 within the Canadian marine towing industry.

In response, the CCG stated that it had carried out an assessment of navigation light requirements for the Arctic Taglu and Link 100 in 1988 before the vessels first entered into service. At that time, the CCG had decided that the vessels were not "rigidly" connected to form a "composite unit" and evaluated them as a tug-pushing-barge operation. The combination was not lit as a single ship or unit.

In July 1994, the Coroner's Inquest into the Arctic Taglu / Bona Vista accident found the tug/barge combination fell within the description of a "composite unit" and recommended, inter alia, that the CCG "review the various tug boat-barge configurations so that they are licensed in a manner under which they will be required to have navigation lights that will demonstrate their size and the direction in which they are travelling".

In November 1995, in view of the continuing risk of collisions of tug-barge operations in high-traffic areas, the Board recommended that:

  • The Department of Transport ensure that the navigation light requirements for tug-and-barge operations facilitate vessel detection and collision avoidance under all operating conditions, regardless of the tug-barge configuration.

(M95 -13, issued November 1995)

In response, TC indicated that international requirements for the lighting arrangements for composite units not rigidly connected have been long established, and that these arrangements are well understood by properly trained professional mariners. However, TC indicated that it would conduct a review of the navigation light arrangements for these vessel combinations operating in Canadian waters. The navigation lights of a tug-and-barge composite unit were discussed at a committee meeting held at the May 1996 Canadian Marine Advisory Council (CMAC). The committee did not find that an amendment to the current requirement was needed. TCMS has indicated that no further review is planned.

In August 1996, the passenger vessel Statendam nearly collided with the tug/barge combination Belleisle Sound / Radium 622 in Discovery Passage, B.C. The tug/barge was exhibiting navigation lights arranged similarly to those displayed by the Coastal Destinations / IB No 1. The pilot of the passenger vessel, an experienced mariner, at first believed that the lights he saw were those of two fishing vessels; however, this was not the major contributing factor to the near-collision. This would suggest that difficulty in clearly identifying the navigation lights displayed by tug/barge units on the West Coast is not limited to the crews of fishing vessels.

In August 1997, in an Action IN REM and IN PERSONAM before the Federal Court of Canada, Trial Division, a family member of those lost on the Bona Vista as a result of the collision with the Arctic Taglu / Link 100 was awarded damages. The judge found, inter alia, that "Had the tug/barge combination been lit as a composite unit, it would have been immediately recognizable by mariners, as a single vessel of large size". It is understood that TC is appealing the ruling.

Information received by the TSB and recorded in its database shows that, since 1989, the Arctic Taglu has been involved in two collisions and five near-collisions with other vessels at night. It is not known, however, if the navigation lights exhibited by the vessel were a factor in these occurrences.

Findings

  1. The Westisle and the Coastal Destinations / IB No 1 were headed on reciprocal courses and in sight of one another in the Strait of Georgia.
  2. The Coastal Destinations initially altered course only ten degrees to starboard.
  3. The bridge watch of the Westisle did not recognize the lights on the Coastal Destinations / IB No 1 as those of a tug pushing a barge on a reciprocal course, and they altered course to port.
  4. Both vessels deviated from the Collision Regulations without communicating their intentions to the other.
  5. As the distance between the two vessels decreased, neither vessel made substantial course alterations nor did they stop their engines in sufficient time to avert collision or to allow them more time to assess the situation.
  6. Notwithstanding the Board's recommendation M95-13, it appears that a safety deficiency continues to exist in the regulatory provisions that apply to the installation/display of navigation lights on tug/barge combinations in the B.C. towing industry.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The Westisle collided with the Coastal Destinations / IB No 1 because the watchkeepers on the fishing vessel did not recognize the lights exhibited by the tug/barge combination and each vessel took non-standard collision avoidance action without communicating their intentions to the other. The fact that neither vessel made substantial course alterations nor did they stop their engines in sufficient time either to avert collision or to allow them more time to assess the situation contributed to the occurrence.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 02 June 1999.


1. All times are PDT (Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) minus seven hours) unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M97W0152

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Abordage
Entre le bateau de pêche Westisle et
Le chaland vide IB No 1
Poussé par le remorqueur Coastal Destinations
Dans le détroit de Georgia (Colombie-Britannique)
Le 29 juillet 1997

Résumé

Le remorqueur Coastal Destinations poussait le chaland vide IB No 1 vers le nord dans le détroit de Georgia, où le bateau de pêche Westisle naviguait en direction sud. La visibilité était bonne, la nuit était claire et le temps était calme. Les deux bâtiments avaient des routes directement opposées. L'équipe de passerelle du bateau de pêche a vu les feux de navigation de l'ensemble remorqueur-pousseur/chaland mais ne les a pas reconnus. Le bateau de pêche, et par la suite l'ensemble remorqueur-chaland, a effectué des manoeuvres d'évitement non réglementaires qui ont donné lieu à l'abordage.

Pendant que les deux bâtiments manoeuvraient, la rampe du chaland a heurté par le travers la hanche bâbord du bateau de pêche, causant des avaries aux machines de pont. L'accident n'a pas fait de blessés et n'a pas causé de pollution.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

  « WESTISLE » « COASTAL DESTINATIONS »
Port d'immatriculation Vancouver  (C.-B.) Vancouver (C.-B.)
Pavillon Canada Canada
Numéro officiel 812193 369113
Type Senneur Remorqueur
Jauge brute 99,49 tonneaux 118,93 tonneaux
Longueur 23 m 18,7 m
Tirant d'eau Av : 2,1 m , Ar : 3 m Indéterminé
Construction 1981 Vancouver
(C.-B.)
1974 Port Alberni
(C.-B.)
Groupe propulseur Caterpillar de 425 hp entraînant une hélice Deux hélices et moteurs jumelés, produisant 850 hp chacun
Équipage Cinq Quatre
Propriétaire enregistré British Columbia Packers Richmond (C.-B.) Inlet Fuel and Barge Co.
Campbell River (C.-B.)
Nom « IB No 1 »
Port d'immatriculation Edmonton ( Alberta)
Pavillon Canada
Numéro officiel 368374
Type Chaland d'acier
Jauge brute 875,52 tonneaux
Longueur 61 m
Construction 1975, réfection en 1995
Groupe propulseur Aucune
Équipage Aucun
Propriétaire enregistré Inlet Fuel and Barge Co., Campbell River (C.-B.)

Description des navires

Le Westisle est un senneur à franc-bord construit en acier. Les cales à poisson à isolant de fibre de verre se trouvent à l'arrière des emménagements, lesquels sont construits en aluminium, et sont desservies par un mât de charge pivotant et un tambour à filet en aluminium. Un esquif se trouve sur le pont arrière. Le bateau est équipé de deux radars, d'un Loran et d'un système de positionnement global (GPS).

La dernière inspection du Westisle faite par la Sécurité maritime de Transports Canada remontait à juin 1994. Le capitaine du Westisle possède un certificat de capitaine de bateau de pêche de classe IV. Les quatre autres matelots/pêcheurs qui composaient son équipage ne possédaient aucun brevet ou certificat et n'étaient pas non plus tenus d'en posséder.

Le Coastal Destinations est un remorqueur entièrement soudé à faible tirant d'eau, qui est muni d'un avant plat renforcé et d'un arrière à tableau, lesquels sont tous deux garnis de défenses faites de pneus. Le remorqueur est équipé d'un radar et d'un GPS.

Le chaland IB No 1 est un chaland à plat-pont fait d'acier soudé, qui est muni à l'avant d'une solide rampe et, à l'arrière, de fixations de poussée protégées par des pièces de bois d'oeuvre. Le chaland peut transporter du mazout sous le pont et des marchandises générales en pontée. Lorsqu'il sert comme pousseur, le Coastal Destinations est relié au IB No 1 de la façon illustrée ci-après :

Un câble relié aux deux hanches du chaland est amarré à l'arrière du remorqueur.

Figure 1 - Un câble relié aux deux hanches du chaland est amarré à l'arrière du remorqueur.

Figure 1 Un câble relié aux deux hanches du chaland est amarré à l'arrière du remorqueur.

L'étrave du remorqueur et l'arrière du chaland sont renforcés considérablement. Il y a des barres de poussée robustes, et le remorqueur est muni à l'avant d'une fixation faite de profilé d'acier solide, qui s'ajuste dans une fixation similaire, mais plus grande, montée à l'arrière du chaland.

Le remorqueur et le chaland montrent les feux de navigation d'une unité non composite lorsqu'ils sont reliés en mode de poussée. Dans cette configuration, le chaland (de 15 mètres de largeur) porte à l'avant des feux de côté disposés sur les poteaux bâbord et tribord de la rampe. Le remorqueur montre deux feux de tête de mât disposés à la verticale sur un seul mât, servant de feux de remorquage, ainsi que des feux de côté. Les feux de côté du remorqueur se trouvent à environ 70 mètres derrière les feux de côté du chaland.

Le Coastal Destinations a été inspecté pour la dernière fois par la Sécurité maritime de TC en 1996. Le remorqueur et le chaland possèdent une licence pour les voyages au cabotage de catégorie III. Le capitaine du remorqueur possède un brevet de capitaine au cabotage pour des navires de 350 tonnes ou moins.

Déroulement du voyage

Westisle

Le 29 juillet 1997, le senneur Westisle, ayant à son bord le capitaine et un équipage formé de quatre pêcheurs/hommes de pont expérimentés, naviguait en direction sud dans le détroit de Georgia au cours d'un voyage entre Campbell River et le fleuve Fraser, où le bateau devait faire l'objet de radoubs de nature générale.

La mer était calme, une brise légère de cinq à dix noeuds soufflait de l'ouest-sud-ouest et la visibilité était de cinq à six milles.

À 23 h 15, heure avancée du Pacifique (HAP)1, le capitaine a réglé le pilote automatique sur un cap au sud-sud-est. Le bateau progressait à environ dix noeuds. Le poste radar était opérationnel et le radiotéléphone à très haute fréquence (VHF) était réglé sur les voies 16 et 78. Après avoir été relevé par deux hommes de quart, le capitaine a quitté la passerelle et s'est rendu à la cuisine. Vers minuit moins six minutes, alors que le bateau se trouvait à environ 12 milles au sud-est du cap Mudge, le capitaine a entendu un changement de régime des machines et est retourné à la timonerie.

Avant que le capitaine arrive sur la passerelle, les hommes de quart avaient observé une cible radar vers l'avant, à une distance de six milles. Les hommes de quart avaient d'abord changé le cap de dix degrés vers bâbord à l'aide du pilote automatique. Lorsque, les navires s'étant rapprochés, on a vu l'autre navire venir sur tribord, les hommes de quart ont modifié le cap du Westisle vers tribord, encore une fois à l'aide du pilote automatique. À son arrivée sur la passerelle, le capitaine, voyant que l'autre navire suivait une route inverse, a désengagé le pilote automatique et aurait mis la barre à bâbord toute jusqu'au moment de l'abordage. Le capitaine et les hommes de quart du Westisle n'ont pas identifié les feux des autres navires qui étaient devant.

Coastal Destinations / IB No 1

Le 29 juillet 1997, après avoir déchargé la cargaison du chaland, le Coastal Destinations est sorti du fleuve Fraser en poussant le IB No 1, à destination de la baie Menzies (C.-B.). Le navire avait à son bord le capitaine et trois membres d'équipage, soit un second capitaine, un homme de pont et un mécanicien.

Le remorqueur poussait le chaland vers le nord-ouest à une vitesse d'environ 8,4 noeuds dans le détroit de Georgia. Le capitaine et le second capitaine du Coastal Destinations étaient tous deux sur la passerelle avant le changement de quart de minuit. Ils ont aperçu vers l'avant les feux d'un autre navire (identifié par la suite comme étant le Westisle), qui suivait une route inverse à une distance de six à huit milles. Le capitaine est venu sur tribord de dix degrés afin que l'ensemble remorqueur/chaland et l'autre navire se rencontrent bâbord à bâbord.

L'équipe à la passerelle a alors vu que les feux du Westisle montraient que le bateau de pêche était venu sur bâbord. Dans un effort pour éviter l'abordage, on a aussi fait venir le Coastal Destinations sur bâbord puis on a allumé le projecteur du navire, premièrement du côté tribord, puis sur la rampe, ce qui aurait eu pour effet d'aveugler l'équipage du Westisle. Lorsque l'abordage est devenu imminent, le Coastal Destinations a placé ses machines à en arrière toute. À peu près au même moment, le remorqueur a fait retentir un long coup de sifflet continu; en l'occurrence le signal sonore réglementaire pour désigner un « navire en détresse » aux termes du Règlement sur les abordages. Peu avant l'abordage, le capitaine du Coastal Destinations a dit avoir vu le Westisle venir rapidement sur tribord.

La rampe du IB No 1 était en position de haute mer, à un angle d'environ vingt degrés par rapport à l'horizontale. Lorsque le Westisle et le IB No 1 se sont rapprochés l'un de l'autre, la rampe n'a pas touché les emménagements du bateau de pêche, mais a heurté et a endommagé le tambour à senne situé sur le pont arrière. D'autres structures placées au-dessus du pont du côté bâbord du Westisle, y compris l'arrière incliné, ont été endommagées. Toutes les avaries subies par le Westisle se sont situées au-dessus de la flottaison et ont été limitées au pont arrière. Le Coastal Destinations et le IB No 1 n'ont pas subi d'avaries apparentes.

Le Coastal Destinations aurait essayé d'entrer en contact avec le Westisle avant l'abordage, mais ses appels n'ont pas été entendus à bord du bateau de pêche. Après l'abordage, on n'a eu aucune difficulté à établir le contact entre les deux bâtiments par radiotéléphone VHF. Après avoir échangé des renseignements et avoir signalé l'abordage aux Services de communications et de trafic maritimes (SCTM) de Vancouver, les deux bâtiments ont poursuivi leur route chacun de son côté.

Le Coastal Destinations a signalé deux situations très rapprochées avec des bateaux de pêche inconnus au cours de la même nuit.

Analyse

Le Règlement international pour prévenir les abordages en mer, avec les modifications canadiennes, exige qu'on prenne tous les moyens disponibles, y compris l'emploi du radar et les relèvements visuels sur les cibles qui approchent, pour évaluer les risques d'abordage, et que, si les circonstances le justifient, on prenne dans les meilleurs délais des mesures positives pour éviter l'abordage; ces mesures doivent aussi être conformes aux règles de bonne navigation.

Les règles disent aussi que lorsque deux navires à moteur se rencontrent en suivant des routes inverses ou presque inverses et qu'il y a risque d'abordage, chaque navire doit venir sur tribord de façon que les navires se rencontrent bâbord à bâbord.

Il y a des renseignements contradictoires au sujet des manoeuvres de dernière minute que le Westisle aurait tentées. Le Westisle maintient avoir mis la barre à bâbord toute jusqu'au moment de l'abordage, tandis que le Coastal Destinations a signalé avoir vu le Westisle venir brusquement vers tribord. Les avaries subies par les structures du pont supérieur à la hanche bâbord du Westisle concordent avec un changement de cap que ce dernier aurait fait vers tribord un peu avant l'abordage. Le Westisle croisait donc la route du IB No 1 lorsqu'il a été heurté sur la hanche bâbord par la rampe du chaland. Quoi qu'il en soit, des petites mesures réciproques prises par chacun des navires ont donné lieu à la situation très rapprochée. Ni l'un ni l'autre des navires n'a procédé à un changement de cap substantiel ou n'a stoppé ses machines en temps voulu pour prévenir un abordage. Les mesures d'évitement non réglementaires que chaque navire a prises, sans communiquer ses intentions à l'autre navire, ont fait en sorte que l'abordage se produise.

Les mesures d'évitement des abordages que les deux navires ont prises suggèrent que ni l'un ni l'autre des navires ne connaissait les intentions de l'autre. Malgré cela, aucun des deux navires n'a lancé le signal sonore approprié qu'on exige en vertu du Règlement sur les abordages. Plutôt, le Coastal Destinations a lancé un long coup de sifflet continu, en l'occurrence un signal réservé aux « navires en détresse ». À ce moment, l'avant du navire évitait vers bâbord. Cela suggère que les équipages des deux navires n'ont pas vu la nécessité de prendre des mesures d'évitement conformes au Règlement sur les abordages.

Le capitaine du Coastal Destinations a signalé deux situations très rapprochées avec des bateaux de pêche inconnus au cours de la même nuit. Ce fait indique peut-être que les feux de l'ensemble remorqueur/chaland sont une source de confusion pour les responsables du quart des autres navires. Nous n'avons toutefois pas assez de données pour déterminer que les feux de l'ensemble remorqueur/chaland ont été la seule cause des situations très rapprochées.

Lors d'une « réunion sur le trafic maritime » tenue en juin 1993, des pêcheurs locaux ont fait savoir que les feux et le peu de visibilité des chalands et des différents trains de remorque posaient des problèmes depuis longtemps sur la côte ouest.

En 1993, le bateau de pêche Bona Vista est entré en collision avec l'ensemble remorqueur/chaland Arctic Taglu / Link 100 (rapport no M93W1050 du BST). Comme aucune des six personnes qui étaient à bord du Bona Vista n'a survécu à cet abordage, il a été impossible de déterminer si les feux de navigation de l'ensemble Arctic Taglu (une disposition similaire à celle des feux du Coastal Destinations / IB No 1) ont pu jouer un rôle dans l'accident ou causer une certaine confusion chez le patron du bateau de pêche.

En mai 1994, le BST a adressé un avis de sécurité maritime à la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC) (aujourd'hui Sécurité maritime de TC) au sujet de l'importance des feux de navigation que portent des navires tels que l'Arctic Taglu et le Link 100, dans l'industrie canadienne du remorquage maritime.

En réponse à cet avis, la GCC a déclaré qu'elle avait mené en 1988 une évaluation relative aux feux de navigation que devaient porter l' Arctic Taglu et le Link 100, avant que ces bâtiments soient mis en service. À cette époque, la GCC avait décidé que les bâtiments n'étaient pas reliés ensemble « de façon rigide » pour former une « unité composite », et a jugé qu'il s'agissait d'un remorqueur poussant un chaland. L'ensemble n'a donc pas reçu de feux correspondant à ceux d'un navire seul ou d'une seule unité.

En juillet 1994, l'enquête du coroner sur l'accident de l'Arctic Taglu / Bona Vista a déterminé que l'ensemble remorqueur/chaland correspondait à la description d'une « unité composite » et a recommandé notamment que la GCC examine les différentes configurations remorqueurs-chalands pour faire en sorte qu'elles soient immatriculées d'une façon qui obligera à les doter de feux de navigation qui démontrent leur taille et la direction de leur progression.

En novembre 1995, en raison du risque continu d'abordages dus aux opérations de remorqueurs-chalands dans les zones où le trafic est dense, le Bureau a recommandé que :

  • le ministère des Transports s'assure que les exigences concernant les feux de navigation des ensembles remorqueurs-chalands permettent de repérer facilement les bâtiments et de prévenir les abordages dans toutes les conditions d'exploitation, peu importe la configuration de l'ensemble remorqueur-chaland.

(M95 -13, publiée en novembre 1995)

En réponse, TC a fait savoir que les exigences internationales concernant les feux des unités composites qui ne sont pas reliées par un raccordement rigide sont établies depuis longtemps et que des navigateurs professionnels bien formés comprennent bien ces dispositions. Toutefois, TC a indiqué qu'il allait mener une étude sur la disposition des feux de navigation de ces ensembles de bâtiments exploités dans les eaux canadiennes. En mai 1996, la question des feux de navigation d'une unité composite formée d'un remorqueur et d'un chaland a été abordée lors d'une réunion d'un comité du Conseil consultatif maritime canadien (CCMC). Le comité n'a pas jugé qu'une modification aux exigences actuelles était nécessaire. La Sécurité maritime de TC a indiqué qu'aucun autre examen n'était prévu.

En août 1996, le navire à passagers Statendam a failli entrer en collision avec l'ensemble remorqueur/chaland Belleisle Sound / Radium 622 dans Discovery Passage (C.- B.). L'ensemble remorqueur/chaland portait des feux de navigation dont la disposition était similaire à celle des feux du Coastal Destinations / IB No 1. Le pilote du navire à passagers, un navigateur expérimenté, a d'abord cru que les feux qu'il apercevait étaient ceux de deux bateaux de pêche; toutefois, cet élément n'a pas été le principal facteur qui a contribué à ce quasi-abordage. Cela donne à penser que les équipages des bateaux de pêche ne sont pas les seuls qui aient de la difficulté à bien identifier les feux de navigation des ensembles remorqueurs/chalands sur la côte ouest.

En août 1997, dans le cadre d'une action réelle et personnelle intentée devant la Cour fédérale du Canada, Section de première instance, le tribunal a accordé des dommages-intérêts à un membre d'une famille des victimes de l'abordage entre le Bona Vista et l'Arctic Taglu / Link 100. Le juge a conclu notamment que, si l'ensemble remorqueur/chaland avait porté des feux identifiant une unité composite, des marins auraient pu le reconnaître immédiatement comme étant un seul navire de grande taille. Il appert que TC a porté ce jugement en appel.

Les renseignements reçus par le BST et enregistrés dans sa base de données montrent que, depuis 1989, l'Arctic Taglu a été impliqué dans deux abordages et cinq quasi-abordages avec d'autres navires pendant la nuit. On ignore toutefois si les feux de navigation du navire ont joué un rôle dans ces accidents.

Faits établis

  1. Le Westisle et le Coastal Destinations / IB No 1 suivaient des routes inverses et étaient en vue l'un de l'autre dans le détroit Georgia.
  2. Initialement, le Coastal Destinations a modifié sa route de dix degrés sur tribord seulement.
  3. L'équipe à la passerelle du Westisle n'a pas reconnu les feux du Coastal Destinations / IB No 1 comme étant ceux d'un remorqueur poussant un chaland sur une route inverse, et est venue sur bâbord.
  4. L'un et l'autre des deux navires ont dérogé aux exigences du Règlement sur les abordages sans communiquer leurs intentions à l'autre navire.
  5. À mesure que la distance entre les deux navires diminuait, aucun d'eux n'a modifié sa route de façon substantielle ou n'a stoppé ses machines en temps voulu pour prévenir un abordage ou pour avoir plus de temps pour évaluer la situation.
  6. Malgré la recommandation M95-13 du Bureau, il semble qu'il continue d'y avoir une lacune dans les dispositions réglementaires relatives à l'installation/la disposition des feux de navigation des ensembles remorqueurs/chalands qui participent à l'industrie du remorquage en C.-B.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le Westisle est entré en collision avec le Coastal Destinations / IB No 1 parce que les hommes de quart du bateau de pêche n'ont pas reconnu les feux de l'ensemble remorqueur/chaland et que chaque navire a pris des mesures non réglementaires d'évitement des abordages sans communiquer ses intentions à l'autre navire. Le fait que ni l'un ni l'autre des navires n'ait modifié sensiblement son cap ou arrêté ses machines en temps voulu pour prévenir un abordage ou pour se donner plus de temps pour évaluer la situation a contribué à l'accident.

Le présent rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Par conséquent, le Bureau a autorisé la publication du présent rapport le 2 juin 1999.


1. Toutes les heures sont exprimées selon l'HAP (Temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins sept heures), sauf indication contraire.