Marine Investigation Report M98C0015

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Bottom Contact
Bulk Carrier "GRANT CARRIER"
Near the Saint-Louis Bridge on the
St. Lawrence Seaway, Quebec
11 June 1998

Summary

On 11 June 1998, the bulk carrier "GRANT CARRIER" was transiting the St. Lawrence Seaway upbound under the conduct of a pilot. When the vessel was approaching the Saint-Louis Bridge, the bridge operator called the vessel to advise that he was unable to give the green light and was trying to complete the operation by lowering the bridge slightly and then raising it again. While manoeuvring to avoid passing under the bridge, the vessel struck bottom on the south side of the canal. The bottom plating was holed, and an ingress of water in the No. 4 port ballast tank was reported. No one was injured and there was no pollution as a result of this occurrence.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name "GRANT CARRIER"
Official Number 4907
Port of Registry Valletta, Malta
Flag Malta
Type Bulk carrier
Gross Tonnage 17 882
Length 188.17 m
Draught Forward: 7.88 m
Aft: 7.98 m
Cargo 18 902 long tons of steel rolls
Crew 22
Built 1984, Sunderland, United Kingdom
Propulsion One B&W diesel engine, 7 758 kW, driving a fixed-pitch propeller
Owners Grant Carrier Ltd.
Malta

The Saint-Louis Bridge spans the Beauharnois Canal 5.3 miles south-west of the entrance to Upper Beauharnois Lock. A section of the bridge spanning the seaway channel, 54.9 m in length, is raised vertically to allow a vertical clearance of 36.6 m. The vertical clearance of the bridge (which is part of the facilities of the St. Lawrence Seaway) is 4.3 m when closed (Sailing Directions, ENC301). The bridge operator has a very high frequency (VHF) transceiver using channel 14 to communicate with vessels in an emergency. The bridge is also equipped with a radar set capable of measuring radar ranges.

On 11 June 1998, the "GRANT CARRIER" was transiting the St. Lawrence Seaway bound for Toledo in the United States. On the navigation bridge, the navigation personnel comprised the master, the second officer and a helmsman at the steering position, and a Seaway pilot had the conduct of the vessel. The sky was cloudy, but the weather was clear, and the winds were calm.

Shortly after midnight, eastern daylight time (EDT)[1], the vessel exited the Beauharnois Locks, bound toward the Saint-Louis Bridge upstream on the Seaway.

The vessel approached whistle sign "W 9" downstream of the Saint-Louis Bridge and observed the amber signal lights (on the caution sign) flashing. The signal lights confirmed that the bridge operator had seen the vessel and was preparing to raise the bridge. The bridge section began to rise until it seemed to be at its maximum height. The vessel's main engine was at "full ahead," and the vessel was making about nine knots according to the global positioning system. The vessel faced a countercurrent of about two knots.

However, the red signal lights prohibiting passage under the bridge were still on. As the vessel approached high-tension lines 0.85 nautical mile downstream of the bridge, the pilot received a call from the bridge operator informing him that he was unable to give the green light and was trying to complete the operation by lowering the bridge slightly and then raising it again. The ship's telegraph was put to "dead slow" to reduce the vessel's speed. Approximately one minute later, the bridge operator informed the pilot that the problem had not been solved, that the vessel should slow down and that he would try again (to lower and raise the bridge); the main engine was then stopped and put to "full astern."

At 0045, to take way off the vessel, the pilot ordered the helm hard-to-port and the engine to "full astern." At this point, the vessel was between 0.6 and 0.7 nautical mile from the bridge. The "GRANT CARRIER" veered to port and left the channel on the south side. At 0048, the engine was reduced to "slow astern," and then at 0050, the main engine was stopped. Manoeuvres to stabilize the vessel in the current did not produce the expected results. The vessel drifted downstream to the east of buoy C-13, still outside the channel some 350 to 400 m upstream of the hydro towers. The water depth at this point is between 8.84 and 9.14 m. There is a shoal in the same area covered with only 4.26 m of water toward the south shore. Meanwhile, the opening span was locked in the "up" position, and the green signal lights came on.

To avoid being set toward the hydro towers, the pilot ordered the helm hard-to-starboard and the engine to "dead slow ahead." As the vessel turned to starboard, she struck bottom. As the bridge lights were green, it was decided to pass under the bridge and anchor in the emergency anchorage just upstream of the bridge. At 0104, the "GRANT CARRIER" passed under the bridge and, at 0122, the pilot informed Seaway Beauharnois that the vessel was anchored in the emergency anchorage and was taking on water somewhere at the stern. A check of the compartments revealed that there was an ingress of water in the No. 4 port ballast tank, which caused the vessel to list slightly to port.

On the "GRANT CARRIER", the main engine is controlled from the bridge via an engine telegraph. The response time for speed changes while manoeuvring is reportedly synchronized. The propeller's pitch is to the right.

Downstream of the Saint-Louis Bridge, the water is shallow to the north of the shipping channel, but it is deep enough to the south. Thus, from whistle sign "W 9" downstream to the south lane of the bridge, ships have about 1 850 m to take off way. According to the vessel's manoeuvrability specifications, the "GRANT CARRIER" can make an emergency stop in eight minutes over a distance of 1 890 m from full speed ahead in deep water.

Analysis

The manoeuvres undertaken to take way off the vessel did not produce the expected results because the helm was turned hard-to-port while the vessel still had a fair amount of way on. As the propeller's pitch is to the right, it was normal to use the helm to counter the vessel's tendency to turn head to starboard when the engine was set to "full astern." This tendency to turn to starboard is greatest when the vessel stops making headway through the water. When the helm was turned hard-to-port, the vessel began to turn immediately, and under the effect of the current, the turn was much sharper than expected.

The shoal near the south shore downstream of the Saint-Louis Bridge is about 250 m from shore and 300 m upstream of the high-tension hydro towers, the approximate position of the "GRANT CARRIER" when she began manoeuvring to return to the channel. This shoal is covered with 4.26 m of water at chart datum, and the vessel's after draught was 7.98 m.

At 0117, an electrician was dispatched to the Saint-Louis Bridge to determine the cause and attempt a repair of the malfunctioning green lights. The source of the malfunction was found to be switch No. 42D, as shown on one of the plans of the bridge. This switch performs two functions: it stops the bridge when the span has reached its raised position, and it activates the lights. There is a second switch (No. 42D1) that stops the bridge if switch No. 42D does not work properly. However, this second switch only stops the vertical motion of the bridge; the lights are not connected to it.

Switch No. 42D was worn to the point where the light's electrical contact could not be made on the first and second tries. The contacts used to stop the span in the open position functioned properly, but the second function of simultaneously activating the lights with a different set of contacts did not work, and the bridge operator was unable to do this manually.

Once the bridge operator activates the bridge opening/closing control, the bridge rises or descends to a predetermined point just before the operation is completed, whereupon it slows down to reach its final position, and stops automatically. The operation can also be performed manually.

As the bridge's green lights did not come on when the span reached the open position, the bridge operator could not authorize the vessel to pass. The lights serve only to control traffic and/or give authorization to proceed. Even though the green lights did not come on, the vessel could have passed under the bridge safely. However, authority to allow vessels to proceed in such circumstances rests with the Saint-Lambert Traffic Control Centre (Seaway Beauharnois), which has jurisdiction in this area. The weight of the span is counterbalanced by weights, and mechanical energy has to be applied to begin raising or lowering it.

In the past, there were employees who were permanently assigned to operating bridges. In recent years, staffing changes have taken place, and now the employees of the Beauharnois Locks are assigned in turn to operate the bridges. Thus, a person can work either at one of the locks or as a bridge operator.

In recent years, changes also have been made in bridge maintenance. The established schedule calls for maintenance to be performed every second year on the Saint-Louis and Valleyfield bridges. During the winter of 1997-1998, however, planned major electrical maintenance work on the Saint-Louis Bridge could not be entirely completed because of the ice storm that struck this region in January 1998. The substation serving the bridge was destroyed during the storm, and power was only restored in the middle of March.

Findings

  1. When the span reached the open position, the green lights allowing passage under the bridge did not come on.
  2. When the green lights did not come on, the bridge operator immediately alerted the vessel. He did not, however, have the authority to let the vessel pass under the bridge.
  3. Manoeuvres to take way off the vessel and stabilize her in the current did not produce the expected results.
  4. During manoeuvres to bring the vessel back within the limits of the channel, the "GRANT CARRIER" struck a shoal.
  5. The bottom contact damaged the vessel and caused an ingress of water in the No. 4 port ballast tank.
  6. The switch that activates the green lights when the span has reached its maximum height (open position) was worn to the point where electrical contact could not be made at the first two tries.
  7. Even though the green lights did not come on, the vessel could have passed under the bridge safely. However, authorization to proceed had to come from the Saint-Lambert Traffic Control Centre (Seaway Beauharnois), which has jurisdiction in this area.
  8. Preventive maintenance on the Saint-Louis Bridge was not entirely completed during the winter preceding the 1998 shipping season.
  9. There was no defect in the vessel's equipment or engines that could have contributed to this occurrence.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The "GRANT CARRIER" struck bottom downstream of the Saint-Louis Bridge because the vessel left the channel while trying to take off way and the manoeuvres to stabilize her in the current did not produce the expected results. The vessel was forced to reduce speed and finally stop because the green lights allowing passage under the Saint-Louis Bridge did not come on.

The switch that activates the green lights when the bridge reaches the open position was worn. Preventive maintenance on the Saint-Louis Bridge was not entirely completed during the winter preceding the 1998 shipping season.

Safety Action

During the winter of 1998-1999, modernization and automation work was performed on the Saint-Louis and Valleyfield bridges.

According to those responsible, some employees prefer not to serve as bridge operators and, in the future, consideration will be given to this fact in giving out assignments.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 12 September 2000.

Appendix A -Sketch of the Occurrence Area

Appendix A -Sketch of the Occurrence Area

Appendix B - Photographs

The 'GRANT CARRIER'

The "GRANT CARRIER"

The Saint-Louis bridge in the up position

The Saint-Louis bridge in the up position

Vessel about to pass under the bridge from the bridge operator's view point

Vessel about to pass under the bridge from the bridge operator's view point

Radar screen in the bridge operator's office

Radar screen in the bridge operator's office


[1]  All times are EDT (coordinated universal time [UTC] minus four hours) unless otherwise indicated.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M98C0015

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Talonnage
du vraquier « GRANT CARRIER »
près du pont Saint-Louis dans la
voie maritime du Saint-Laurent (Québec)
le 11 juin 1998

Résumé

Le 11 juin 1998, le vraquier « GRANT CARRIER » remontait la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent sous la conduite d'un pilote. Lorsque le navire s'est approché du pont Saint-Louis, le pontier a communiqué avec le navire pour lui signaler qu'il ne pouvait pas donner le feu vert et qu'il essayait de compléter l'opération en descendant légèrement la travée du pont pour ensuite la remonter. Durant les manoeuvres en vue d'éviter de passer sous le pont, le navire a talonné du côté sud du chenal. Le bordé de fond a été perforé, et l'on a signalé une voie d'eau dans le ballast no 4 bâbord. L'accident n'a fait ni blessé ni pollution.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Fiche technique du navire

Nom « GRANT CARRIER »
Numéro officiel 4907
Port d'immatriculation La Vallette, Malte
Pavillon Malte
Type Vraquier
Jauge brute 17 882
Longueur 188.17 m
Tirnat d'eau Avant:7,88 m
Arrière:7,98 m
Cargaison 18 902 longues tonnes de rouleaux d'acier
Nombre de membres d'équipage 22
Construction 1984, Sunderland, Grande-Bretagne
Groupe propulseur Un moteur diesel B&W de 7 758 kW entraînant une hélice à pas fixe
Propriétaires Grant Carrier Ltd.
Malte

Le pont Saint-Louis surplombe le canal de Beauharnois à 5,3 milles au sud-ouest de l'entrée de l'écluse supérieure de Beauharnois. Une travée du pont, d'une longueur de 54,9 m à soulèvement vertical, offre une hauteur libre de 36,6 m. Le pont (qui fait partie des installations de la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent) a une hauteur libre de 4,3 m en position fermée (Instructions nautiques CEN301). Le pontier a un émetteur-récepteur très haute fréquence (VHF) utilisant la voie 14 qui lui permet de communiquer avec les navires en cas d'urgence. Dans les locaux du pontier, il y a également un radar qui peut mesurer la portée radar.

Le 11 juin 1998, le « GRANT CARRIER » transite la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent à destination de Toledo aux États-Unis. Sur la passerelle, le capitaine, le deuxième officier et un timonier au poste de barre forment le personnel navigant, et un pilote de la voie maritime assure la conduite du navire. Le ciel est nuageux, mais le temps est clair et le vent est calme.

Peu après minuit, heure avancée de l'Est (HAE)[1], le navire quitte les écluses de Beauharnois en direction du pont Saint-Louis situé en amont sur la voie maritime.

Le navire s'approche du panneau de sifflet « W 9 » en aval du pont Saint-Louis et on peut observer les feux jaunes (du panneau avertisseur) qui clignotent. Ces feux confirment que le pontier a vu le navire et qu'il s'apprête à remonter la travée du pont. Cette dernière commence et continue à monter jusqu'à ce qui semble être sa hauteur maximale. La machine principale du navire est à « en avant toute » et le navire file près de neuf noeuds selon les données du système de positionnement global. Le navire fait face à un contre-courant d'environ deux noeuds.

Cependant, les feux rouges interdisant le passage sous le pont sont toujours allumés. Lorsque le navire s'approche des lignes à haute tension situées à 0,85 mille marin en aval du pont, le pilote reçoit un appel du pontier qui lui signale qu'il est incapable de donner le feu vert et qu'il tente de terminer l'opération en descendant un peu la travée pour ensuite la remonter. À l'aide du transmetteur d'ordres, on change l'allure du navire à « très lente » afin de réduire la vitesse du navire. Environ une minute plus tard, le pontier avise le pilote que le problème n'est pas réglé, que le navire doit être ralenti et qu'il essaie de nouveau (de descendre et de remonter la travée du pont); on stoppe la machine principale et on change l'allure à « en arrière toute ».

À 0 h 45, afin de casser l'erre du navire, le pilote ordonne de mettre la barre à gauche toute et de changer l'allure à « en arrière toute ». À ce moment-là, le navire se trouve de 0,6 à 0,7 mille marin du pont. Le « GRANT CARRIER » effectue une embardée à bâbord et sort du côté sud du chenal. À 0 h 48, l'allure est réduite à « en arrière lente », puis à 0 h 50, on stoppe la machine principale. Les manoeuvres pour stabiliser le navire dans le courant ne donnent pas les résultats escomptés. Le navire dérive vers l'aval et se retrouve à l'est de la bouée C-13, toujours en dehors du chenal à quelque 350 ou 400 m en amont des pylônes électriques. La profondeur d'eau à cet endroit est de 8,84 à 9,14 m. Dans le même secteur, il y a un haut-fond recouvert de seulement 4,26 m d'eau du côté de la rive sud. Entre-temps, la travée mobile est verrouillée en position ouverte et les feux verts s'allument.

Pour éviter que le navire soit drossé vers les pylônes, le pilote ordonne de mettre la barre à droite toute et de mettre la machine à « en avant très lente ». En venant sur tribord, le navire talonne. Puisque les feux verts sont allumés, on décide de passer sous le pont et de s'ancrer au mouillage de secours situé juste en amont du pont. À 1 h 4, le « GRANT CARRIER » passe sous le pont, et à 1 h 22, le pilote informe la Voie maritime Beauharnois que le navire a mouillé l'ancre au mouillage de secours et qu'il prend l'eau quelque part sur l'arrière. Une vérification des compartiments révèle qu'il y a une voie d'eau dans le ballast no 4 bâbord, ce qui donne au navire une légère gîte sur bâbord.

La machine principale du « GRANT CARRIER » est commandée de la passerelle par un transmetteur d'ordres. Selon l'information recueillie, le temps de réponse des changements d'allure en manoeuvre est synchronisé. Le pas de l'hélice est à droite.

En aval du pont Saint-Louis, la profondeur d'eau est faible au nord du chenal de navigation, mais suffisamment profonde au sud. Ainsi, du panneau de sifflet « W 9 » en aval vers la chaussée sud du pont, les navires bénéficient d'environ 1 850 m pour casser leur erre. Selon la fiche technique de manoeuvrabilité du navire, le « GRANT CARRIER » peut effectuer un arrêt d'urgence en huit minutes, sur une distance de 1 890 m, à partir de « en avant toute » en eaux profondes.

Analyse

Les manoeuvres entreprises pour casser l'erre du navire n'ont pas donné les résultats escomptés parce que la barre a été mise à gauche toute alors que le navire avait encore passablement d'erre. Le pas de l'hélice étant à droite, il était normal d'utiliser la barre pour contrecarrer l'effet de giration de l'avant du navire vers la droite lorsqu'on a mis la machine à « en arrière toute ». Cet effet de giration vers la droite est plus grand lorsque le navire arrête d'avancer. Lorsque la barre a été mise à gauche toute, le navire a immédiatement commencé à tourner, et le courant aidant, le navire a évité plus que prévu.

Le haut-fond près de la rive sud en aval du pont Saint-Louis est situé à environ 250 m de la rive et à 300 m en amont des pylônes des lignes à haute tension, position approximative du « GRANT CARRIER » lorsqu'il a amorcé ses manoeuvres pour revenir dans le chenal. Ce haut-fond est recouvert de 4,26 m d'eau au zéro des cartes, et le tirant d'eau arrière du navire était de 7,98 m.

À 1 h 17, un électricien a été dépêché au pont Saint-Louis pour tenter de découvrir ce qui avait causé le mauvais fonctionnement des feux verts et pour effectuer les réparations qui s'imposaient. On a découvert que l'interrupteur no 42D, tel qu'identifié sur un des plans du pont, était à l'origine du mauvais fonctionnement des feux. Cet interrupteur a deux fonctions: il sert à stopper la travée lorsqu'elle a atteint sa position ouverte et à allumer les feux. Il y a un deuxième interrupteur (no 42D1) qui sert à arrêter le pont en cas de mauvais fonctionnement de l'interrupteur no 42D. Toutefois, ce dernier ne sert qu'à stopper le déplacement vertical du pont; les feux n'y sont pas reliés.

L'interrupteur no 42D était usé au point où les contacts électriques du feu n'ont pu se faire lors des deux premiers essais. Les contacts servant à stopper la travée en position ouverte ont bien fonctionné, mais la deuxième fonction, qui est d'actionner simultanément les feux par un jeu de contacts différents, ne s'est pas faite, et le pontier ne pouvait pas le faire manuellement.

Lorsque le pontier actionne la commande d'ouverture ou de fermeture du pont, la travée monte ou descend jusqu'à un point prédéterminé juste avant la fin de l'opération, puis ralentit pour terminer l'opération et s'arrête automatiquement. L'opération peut aussi se faire manuellement.

Le pontier ne pouvait pas autoriser le passage du navire parce que les feux verts du pont ne se sont pas allumés au moment où la travée a atteint la position ouverte. Les feux ne servent qu'à contrôler la circulation ou à donner l'autorisation de circuler. Même si les feux verts n'étaient pas allumés, le navire aurait pu passer sous le pont en toute sécurité. Toutefois, l'autorisation pour laisser passer les navires dans de telles circonstances doit être donnée par le centre des Services de communications et de trafic maritimes de Saint-Lambert (Voie maritime Beauharnois), qui a juridiction dans ce secteur. Le poids de la travée est compensé par des poids, et il faut appliquer une énergie mécanique pour amorcer la montée ou la descente.

Par le passé, des employés étaient assignés en permanence au fonctionnement des ponts. Ces dernières années, des changements ont été apportés en matière de personnel, et ce sont maintenant les employés des écluses de Beauharnois qui sont affectés à tour de rôle au fonctionnement des ponts. Ainsi, une personne peut travailler à l'une ou l'autre des écluses ou comme pontier.

Ces dernières années, l'entretien des ponts a également fait l'objet de changements. Selon l'horaire établi, l'entretien se fait tous les deux ans sur les ponts Saint-Louis et Valleyfield. Toutefois, durant l'hiver 1997-1998, les travaux importants prévus concernant l'entretien du système électrique du pont Saint-Louis n'avaient pu être exécutés au complet, surtout à cause de la tempête de verglas qui a touché cette région en janvier 1998. La tempête a détruit le poste électrique qui dessert le pont, et ce n'est qu'à la mi-mars que le courant électrique a été rétabli.

Faits établis

  1. Lorsque la travée mobile a atteint la position ouverte, les feux verts autorisant le passage sous le pont ne se sont pas allumés.
  2. Quand il s'est rendu compte que les feux verts ne s'allumaient pas, le pontier a immédiatement alerté le navire, mais il n'avait pas le droit d'autoriser le navire à passer sous le pont.
  3. Les manoeuvres pour casser l'erre du navire et le stabiliser dans le courant n'ont pas donné les résultats escomptés.
  4. Lors des manoeuvres pour ramener le navire dans le chenal, le « GRANT CARRIER » a talonné un haut-fond.
  5. Le talonnage a causé des avaries au navire et une voie d'eau dans le ballast no 4 bâbord.
  6. L'interrupteur qui sert à actionner les feux verts lorsque la travée mobile a atteint sa hauteur maximale (position ouverte) était usé au point où les contacts électriques n'ont pu se faire lors des deux premiers essais.
  7. Même si les feux verts n'étaient pas allumés, le navire aurait pu passer sous le pont en toute sécurité. Toutefois, l'autorisation pour laisser passer le navire devait être donnée par le centre des Services de communications et de trafic maritimes de Saint-Lambert (Voie maritime Beauharnois), qui a juridiction dans ce secteur.
  8. L'entretien préventif du pont Saint-Louis n'avait pu être effectué au complet durant l'hiver qui a précédé la saison de navigation 1998.
  9. L'équipement et la machine du navire ne présentaient aucune défectuosité ayant pu contribuer à l'événement.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le « GRANT CARRIER » a talonné en aval du pont Saint-Louis parce qu'il est sorti du chenal en tentant de casser son erre et que les manoeuvres pour le stabiliser dans le courant n'ont pas donné les résultats escomptés. Le navire a dû ralentir puis s'arrêter parce que les feux verts autorisant le passage sous le pont Saint-Louis ne s'étaient pas allumés.

L'interrupteur qui a pour fonction d'allumer les feux verts lorsque la travée a atteint sa position ouverte était usé. L'entretien préventif du pont Saint-Louis n'avait pu être effectué au complet durant l'hiver qui a précédé la saison de navigation 1998.

Mesures de sécurité

Durant l'hiver 1998-1999, des travaux de modernisation et d'automatisation ont été effectués sur les ponts Saint-Louis et Valleyfield.

Selon les personnes responsables, certains employés préfèrent ne pas agir comme pontier et, à l'avenir, les affectations tiendront compte de ce fait.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 12 septembre 2000.

Annexe A - Croquis des lieux de l'accident

Annexe A - Croquis des lieux de l'accident

Annexe B - Photographies

Le « GRANT CARRIER »

Le « GRANT CARRIER »

Pont Saint-Louis en position ouverte

Pont Saint-Louis en position ouverte

Vue d'un navire se préparant à passer sous le pont (Vue du pontier)

Vue d'un navire se préparant à passer sous le pont
(Vue du pontier)

Écran radar installé dans les locaux du pontier

Écran radar installé dans les locaux du pontier


[1]  Les heures sont exprimées en HAE (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins quatre heures), sauf indication contraire.