Marine Investigation Report M98C0026

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Accident Aboard Vessel
Passenger Jet Boat Saute Moutons 6
Niagara River Gorge
10 June 1998

Summary

The passenger jet boat Saute Moutons 6 left the port of Niagara-on-the-Lake for a routine whitewater excursion on the Niagara River. The excursion was without incident until the final run from the Niagara Gorge whirlpool at Devil's Hole. While negotiating the series of rapids, three passengers were injured. The Saute Moutons 6 then diverted to Queenston wharf and two of the injured passengers were evacuated on stretchers and transported to the local hospital by ambulance. It was later determined that the injuries sustained by the three passengers were similar in nature, each being associated with the vertebrae and back of the victims.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Name "SAUTE MOUTONS 6"
Port of Registry St. Catharines, Ontario
Flag Canada
Registry/Licence Number 815419
Type Passenger - Water Jet
Gross Tons1 7
Length 12 m
Draught Forward: 0.735 m Aft: 0.573 m
Built 1996, Kingston, Ontario
Propulsion Diesel; three turbocharged 450 horsepower
Number of Crew 3
Number of Passengers 48
Registered Owner Niagara Gorge Jet Boating Ltd.

Description of the Vessel and its Operation

The Saute Moutons 6 is purpose-built for navigation through rapids and similar whitewater. It is of robust construction, with high strength aluminum sections serving to withstand the severe accelerations and stresses to which the vessel is exposed. It is essentially box shaped, with a flat bottom, and has a shallow rise forward.

The vessel's high power, combined with the water jet configuration permits speeds of 50 knots in calm conditions. The Saute Moutons 6 is highly manoeuvrable and can perform a unique "spin around" manoeuvre on its own axis, at high speed.

Seven rows of foam-cushioned benches make up the passenger seating area. This area is sheltered between moulded, compartmentalized buoyancy tanks, which also form part of the outer hull, sides and bottom. Immediately in front of each row of seating is a horizontal support bar at arm's reach, grasped by the passengers to help them stay seated during the whitewater ride.

There is a windshield forward, which rises approximately 0.7 m above the foredeck. Its primary purpose is to shield passengers from large volumes of water coming over the bow section of the vessel. The passengers are nonetheless exposed to water coming over the top and around the sides of the windshield. However, the passengers expect the wet ride, as promotional brochures and a video viewed before the excursion illustrate this effect.

The water accumulating in the passenger area can rise briefly to waist level before exiting through one-way water evacuation ports located aft, on the port and starboard sides. There are no other freeing ports. The steering and engine control station is located aft and is protected from spray by a partial enclosure with a windshield that allows the operator clear visibility in all directions. There is no central aisle. Crew members at the steering station are able to walk forward on top of the 0.8 m wide, side buoyancy tanks.

Safety Precautions

A mandatory pre-departure safety briefing (of approximately 10 to 15 minutes), includes a safety lecture and makes reference to posted signs highlighting the inherent risk of the activity. Although informational brochures about the trip were available, there is conflicting information as to whether these were distributed, prior to the occurrence. While it is not mandatory, prior to departure passengers can view a video outlining the trip upon which they are about to embark. Every passenger must wear the approved small vessel life-jacket provided, and optional rain gear is available. The pre-boarding briefing also includes instruction and a demonstration of the importance of using the support bar. The operator repeats this instruction to the passengers immediately before traversing the rapids.

Before boarding the Saute Moutons 6, each passenger must fill out and sign a waiver, called a "participation agreement." The company attaches a greater risk to individuals who may be suffering from back, neck, or other ailments, and the operator encourages such people to inform the staff of their medical situation. The final decision to allow or disallow a passenger's participation in the excursion is taken by the vessel's operator.

Children under the age of six are not allowed to take the trip. When seniors, and persons who identify themselves as having medical problems are allowed to board, they are usually directed to sit in the after two rows of seats. This is very close to the pivot point of the vessel and there is less movement at this position than elsewhere on the vessel.

The passengers do not have restraining seat belts, as quick evacuation would be of prime importance if the vessel were to capsize. Once seated, the passengers are instructed to keep their backs straight and bodies immobile by pushing with their arms and hands against the support bar immediately in front of them with their elbows locked. In the event that a large wave breaks over the bow, the passengers are instructed not to lower their heads towards the support bar but to tuck their chins in against their chests. Other instructions include the request that passengers raise their arms when prompted by the operator. A "no show" is taken to mean that all is not well with the passenger.

A Typical Excursion

A typical excursion departs Niagara-on-the-Lake at slow speed and, once clear of nearby marinas, gradually builds up to maximum speed. Upstream from Queenston, the vessel begins to ascend mild rapids, the waves of which become significantly larger near the American Power Dam Generating Station. A short distance further, the rapids again increase in size, primarily due to the extreme current of more than 20 knots and the presence of underwater rocks. The height of the waves from trough to crest is approximately 3 to 4 m under normal conditions, and the distance between the crests can sometimes be less than the length of the Saute Moutons 6.

Near an area of high turbulence called "Devil's Hole," the operator indicates to the passengers that they will be making a practice run with the current, starting at the whirlpool and passing into Devil's Hole. This practice run is meant to familiarize the passengers with the vessel's movement and minimize any anxiety. The passengers are asked to raise their arms as described above. The final run proceeds from the whirlpool, over the rapids, into Devil's Hole and then over the remaining rapids before returning to Niagara-on-the-Lake. Each trip is videotaped so that passengers can purchase a copy as a memento of their tour. The round trip from Niagara-on-the-Lake normally takes about 60 minutes.

The Occurrence

For the excursion on the morning of June 10, the majority of the passengers were fellow workers from a local hotel in Niagara Falls. They had taken a similar trip the previous year and were enthusiastic about taking it again. They proceeded to do a practice run. Reportedly, in comparison to the trip they had taken a year before, the vessel was now manoeuvred in such a manner that caused it to "zig zag". Immediately after this run, a tall passenger forward found that she could not keep herself properly seated, with elbows locked while pressing/holding the bar with her hands. She reported this to a crew member. The trip was uneventful until the final run from the Niagara Gorge whirlpool near Devils' Hole. At this point the vessel's bow dipped down and rapidly climbed over the crest of a large wave, the third of a series, and dropped into a deep trough.

While proceeding over this wave, three passengers sitting in the forward section on the starboard side were subjected to severe accelerations. The video tape shows all the passengers in a "cowering" posture just prior to the occurrence and simultaneously coming down hard on their seats. When the bow became immersed in the next wave, the fourth in a series, two of these passengers were in the first row and one in the second row. The vessel rapidly accelerated upward and the foam-cushioned seating collided with the downward-moving pelvic regions of these passengers. The three passengers indicated that they were pushing against the support bar at this time. All three passengers experienced great pain in the lower back area, upon impact with the seat. This happened in an instant and in the next fraction of a second the passengers seated in the first row were struck on the chest by a large volume of water that rendered them breathless.

Because of their pain, none of the injured passengers was able to signal their plight to staff members. Their extreme discomfort was only recognized after the vessel traversed the remaining set of rapids, at which point the operator asked all the passengers to raise their arms. All but the three injured passengers did so. At this time, the operator declared a medical emergency and immediately notified home base by very high frequency (VHF) radio. The Saute Moutons 6 was then diverted to Queenston. One injured passenger, assisted by others, walked to the ambulance. The two other injured passengers were immobilized in the upright position and carried off in stretchers and taken by ambulance to Greater Niagara Regional Hospital where it was determined that two had suffered compression fractures of their vertebrae. As of November 1999, two of the injured passengers remained under the care of a medical specialist.

Company staff aboard the Saute Moutons 6 reported that, at the time of the occurrence, the vessel was being operated at the normal speed, in relation to the round trip completion time. One of the injured indicated that the speed of the vessel in the rapids appeared to be faster than on a trip taken previously. Water flow, currents and wave heights were not unusual. The vessel was not ahead of schedule. The operator, however, adjusts engine revolutions per minute (rpm) almost continuously, to deal with the conditions encountered, and engine response is instantaneous. The speed of the vessel at the instant of the occurrence could not be determined.

There is an apprenticeship training program that allows a certificated trainee to become proficient in handling a jet boat, and the trainee's progress is monitored by the master of the vessel and company staff. A trained operator must, by the use of power and steering, quickly adjust the speed and the vessel's heading according to the variations in the form of the waves on the water's surface. The operator must also be vigilant of passenger and deck crew movements and take appropriate action in an emergency.

The master of the Saute Moutons 6 was properly certificated and had been operating this vessel for the last year and a half.

Paying customers expect thrills associated with whitewater rides of this nature. The majority of the passengers knew each other, had taken the trip on a previous occasion, and were enthusiastic about this one.

This was the first time that an occurrence of this nature involving a jet boat whitewater excursion had been reported since the carrier began operations seven years before the occurrence.

Analysis

At the time of the occurrence, when the bow section of the jet boat Saute Moutons 6 was immersed in the fourth large wave at Devil's Hole, the rate of upward acceleration of the bow was directly related to the speed of the vessel. The acceleration was further increased by the upward velocity of the water within the wave, which was caused by a current of over 20 knots.

Because of the short distance between the wave crests, the stern section remained high due to the lift from the previous crest, and the vessel experienced a pivoting action. All the forces acting on the hull section forward, in conjunction with the pivoting action, combined to make the bow "snap" upward rather than move smoothly and symmetrically upward upon hitting the next wave. In addition, there was a rapid deceleration of the vessel. This caused the passengers on the starboard side forward, who appeared to be more subject to the accelerations and decelerations, to move rapidly ahead and up. As no other passenger suffered similar injury, it can be deduced that either the accelerations experienced in this part of the boat were greater than in other areas, or the force the three injured passengers exerted against the bar to stabilize themselves against the accelerations was insufficient to remain immobile in their seats.

The tour videotape appeared to show that one of the injured passengers, had attempted to stand. However, as all three passengers suffered similar injuries, it is more likely that she was propelled to an upward position during the injury sequence. Given that this passenger was taller than the others around her, the perception that she was standing was most likely due to the aft camera angle.

The injuries received by the passengers when they fell back into the padded seating may have been due in some measure to the degree of protection offered by the cushioning.

Because video records of this and other trips were scrutinised and there appeared to be little difference in wave height or direction or in the vessel's approach, the variable which may have caused the vessel to react in the way that it did was the vessel's speed.

Other factors in the occurrence were the handling characteristics of the boat and the ability of the operator. Engine power is instantly translated into vessel movement - movement of the controls results in an instantaneous response. Over-application of power or steering can result in a sudden, unwanted movement of the vessel. Decisions by the operator as to throttle setting and direction must be resolved in fractions of a second while negotiating the whitewater. Had the circumstances permitted the speed of the vessel to be lower, the resulting "snap" action forward, which propelled the passengers from their seats, would most likely have been less violent. The scheduled tour was on time; there was no indication that the vessel had been proceeding at a higher-than-normal speed over the whole trip.

The "raising of arms" at intermittent times during the trip is used to signal the well-being of passengers, but this system may have serious drawbacks. Because the vessel continues to pitch and gyrate over the waves, the time intervals between "raising arms" may be too great for an injured passenger to promptly signal that something is wrong. Immediately after the event that injured the passengers, the Saute Moutons 6 continued to run through the whitewater at the same speed. It was only when the passengers were requested to "raise arms" a short time later, that the operator knew that all was not well.

Findings

  1. Except for momentary requirements for increased rpm; which may have suddenly increased the speed at the time of the occurrence, the engines of the Saute Moutons 6 were, over the time period allotted to complete the trip, operated at a normal speed.
  2. Three passengers in the forward section of the seating area were injured when they were propelled out of their seats by the movement of the Saute Moutons 6.
  3. The injured passengers did not, or could not, stabilize themselves with sufficient force to prevent being propelled out of their seats.
  4. The injured passengers were not able to instantly signal their distress to the operator or crew.
  5. There was a lapse of time between when the passengers sustained their injuries and when they were identified by the crew as having been injured. During this time the vessel continued to pitch and gyrate over the whitewater.
  6. The foam within the seat bench was not capable of sufficiently cushioning the impact sustained by each of the injured passengers.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The rapid accelerations and decelerations experienced by the vessel and passengers caused the pelvic regions of the three passengers to forcefully strike the seat bench of the vessel, causing vertebrae and back injuries. The possibility that these passengers may not have braced themselves in their seats as instructed may have contributed to their injuries. The cushioning ability of the seat appears to have been inadequate for the movements of the Saute Moutons 6 at the time of the occurrence and was a contributing factor.

Safety Action

At the time of the occurrence, the vessel's owners were studying various ways of improving the cushioning of the passenger seats and the degree to which injuries could be mitigated by improvements in seat design and cushioning. This study includes the possibility of using liquid filled satchels in the shape of cushions. Since the occurrence a more substantial foam padding has since been fitted to the passenger seats.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 15 November 2000.

Appendix A - Photographs

Photo 1 - Saute Moutons 6

Photo 1. Saute Moutons 6

Photo 2 - Passenger risk notification sign

Photo 2. Passenger risk notification sign

Photo 3 - Demonstration of a properly seated passenger

Photo 3. Demonstration of a properly seated passenger

Photo 4 - Operator's control station

Photo 4. Operator's control station

Photo 5 - Passenger seating arrangement, with foam covers

Photo 5. Passenger seating arrangement, with foam covers

Photo 6 - Passing through Deil's Hole

Photo 6. Passing through Devil's Hole


1. Units of measurement in this report conform to International Maritime Organization (IMO) standards or, where there is no such standard, are expressed in the International System (SI) of units.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M98C0026

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Accident à bord
Du hydrojet à passagers Saute Moutons 6
Dans la gorge de la rivière Niagara
(Ontario)
Le 10 juin 1998

Résumé

L'hydrojet à passagers Saute Moutons 6 a quitté le port de Niagara-on-the-Lake (Ontario) pour une excursion régulière en eau vive sur la rivière Niagara. La sortie s'est déroulée sans incident jusqu'au dernier segment, à savoir la descente à partir de la marmite de la gorge de la rivière Niagara à Devil's Hole. Pendant la descente d'une série de rapides, trois passagers ont été blessés. Le Saute Moutons 6 a alors été dérouté vers le quai de Queenston (Ontario) et deux des blessés ont été évacués sur des civières et transportés en ambulance à l'hôpital de la localité. Il a été déterminé que les trois passagers avaient subi des blessures de même nature, soit des lésions aux vertèbres et au dos.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Nom « SAUTE MOUTONS 6 »
Port d'immatriculation St. Catharines (Ontario)
Pavillon Canada
Numéro officiel 815419
Type Hydrojet à passagers
Jauge brute1 7 tonneaux
Longueur 12 m
Tirant d'eau av. : 0,735 m       ar.  : 0,573 m
Construction 1996, Kingston (Ontario)
Groupe propulseur Trois moteurs diesels turbocompressés de 450 HP
Équipage 3 membres
Passagers 48 passagers
Propriétaires Niagara Gorge Jet Boating Ltd.

Description du bâtiment et de son fonctionnement

Le Saute Moutons 6 est conçu pour la navigation dans les rapides et en eau vive. De construction robuste, ses sections très résistantes en aluminium lui permettent de supporter les accélérations rapides et les contraintes importantes auxquelles il est exposé. De forme parallépipédique avec un fond plat, il est légèrement relevé à l'avant.

La grande puissance de ses moteurs, associée à la propulsion par hydrojets, lui permet d'atteindre une allure de 50 noeuds en eau calme. Le Saute Moutons 6 est très manoeuvrable et peut accomplir des girations très serrées sur son axe, à vive allure.

La section passagers comprend sept rangées de bancs coussinés de mousse. Les rangées sont abritées par les caisses de flottabilité latérales compartimentées intégrées au carénage du fond et des côtés. Juste devant chaque rangée de sièges, il y a, à portée de bras, une barre d'appui horizontale à laquelle les passagers peuvent se tenir pour rester assis pendant la traversée des eaux vives.

À l'avant du bâtiment, un pare-brise de quelque 0,7 m de haut au-dessus du pont avant protège les passagers des grandes quantités d'eau qui passent par-dessus la partie avant du bateau. Les passagers ne sont pas complètement à l'abri parce qu'une certaine quantité d'eau passe quand même par-dessus le pare-brise et sur les côtés. Ils s'attendent cependant à être mouillés puisque cela est indiqué dans les dépliants publicitaires et montré dans la vidéo qui leur est présentée avant le départ.

L'eau qui pénètre dans la section passagers peut s'accumuler temporairement jusqu'à la hauteur de la taille avant de s'écouler par les orifices d'évacuation antiretour situés à l'arrière, sur les côtés bâbord et tribord. Il n'y a pas d'autres sabords de décharge. Le poste de commande du gouvernail et des machines est placé à l'arrière, protégé des embruns par une enceinte partielle munie d'un pare-brise qui offre au conducteur une bonne visibilité dans toutes les directions. Il n'y a pas d'allée centrale. Du poste de barre, les membres d'équipage peuvent se rendre à l'avant du bateau en marchant sur les caisses de flottaison latérales de 0,8 m de largeur.

Mesures de précaution

Une séance d'information obligatoire avant le départ (d'une durée de 10 à 15 minutes) comprend un exposé sur la sécurité au cours duquel on attire l'attention sur les panneaux d'avertissement soulignant les risques liés à l'activité (voir les photos). Il existe des brochures d'information sur le voyage, mais les témoignages ne concordent pas quant à savoir si celles-ci ont été distribuées avant l'accident. Même si cela n'est pas obligatoire, les passagers peuvent visionner, avant le départ, une vidéo donnant un aperçu de l'excursion qu'ils sont sur le point de faire. Chaque passager doit porter le gilet de sauvetage approuvé pour petit bâtiment qui est fourni et peut, s'il le veut, mettre un imperméable qui est aussi mis à sa disposition. La séance d'information avant l'embarquement comprend aussi des instructions, de même qu'une démonstration illustrant l'importance de se tenir à la barre d'appui. Le conducteur répète les instructions aux passagers juste avant la traversée des rapides.

Avant d'embarquer sur le Saute Moutons 6, chaque passager doit remplir et signer un formulaire d'abandon de recours appelé « entente de participation » (participation agreementSaute Moutons 6). La société souligne que les personnes souffrant de problèmes de dos, de cou ou d'autres malaises courent un plus grand risque et le conducteur encourage ces personnes à informer le personnel de leur état de santé. Le conducteur du bateau peut refuser de prendre une personne à bord pour faire l'excursion.

L'excursion est interdite aux enfants de moins de six ans. Lorsqu'on prend à bord des aînés ou des personnes qui avouent souffrir de problèmes de santé, on leur demande habituellement de s'asseoir sur un des sièges des deux dernières rangées. Ces rangées sont plus près du point de pivot du bâtiment, et le mouvement se fait moins sentir que partout ailleurs sur le bateau.

Les passagers n'ont pas de ceintures de sécurité, car il est primordial de pouvoir évacuer rapidement le bateau s'il chavire. Une fois assis, les passagers sont priés de rester immobiles, le dos droit, en poussant des bras et des mains, coudes bloqués, sur la barre d'appui qui se trouve juste devant eux. Ils reçoivent aussi instruction, si une grosse lame venait à déferler sur l'avant, de ne pas incliner la tête vers la barre d'appui, mais plutôt de ramener les genoux contre la poitrine. On leur demande aussi de lever les bras lorsque le conducteur le demandera, pour indiquer que tout va bien. C'est ainsi que l'équipage peut vérifier si tout va bien ou s'il y a un problème.

Une excursion typique

Au cours d'une excursion typique, le Saute Moutons 6 quitte Niagara-on-the-Lake à faible allure et accélère progressivement jusqu'à sa vitesse maximale après avoir paré les marinas voisines. En amont de Queenston, le bâtiment commence à descendre de petits rapides, dont les vagues grossissent considérablement près de la station génératrice du barrage hydro-électrique américain. Un peu plus loin, les rapides deviennent plus violents, surtout à cause du courant très fort de plus de 20 noeuds et de la présence de rochers sous-marins. La hauteur des lames du creux à la crête est de 3 à 4 mètres dans des conditions normales, et la distance entre les crêtes peut parfois être inférieure à la longueur du Saute Moutons 6.

Près d'une zone de forte turbulence appelée « Devil's Hole », le conducteur prévient les passagers qu'il va faire une descente d'entraînement du courant à partir de la marmite et jusque dans Devil's Hole. Cette descente est destinée à familiariser les passagers avec le mouvement du bateau et à les rassurer. On demande aux passagers de lever les bras comme on l'a décrit précédemment. Dans le dernier segment de l'excursion, le bateau part de la marmite, descend les rapides, traverse Devil's Hole puis franchit les derniers rapides avant de rentrer à Niagara-on-the-Lake. Chaque voyage est filmé, et les passagers peuvent acheter un exemplaire de la bande vidéo comme souvenir. Le trajet aller-retour à partir de Niagara-on-the-Lake prend habituellement une soixantaine de minutes.

L'accident

Pour l'excursion du matin du 10 juin, la grande majorité des passagers étaient des collègues de travail qui travaillaient à un hôtel de Niagara Falls. Ils avaient déjà fait l'excursion l'année précédente et attendaient avec impatience le moment de la refaire. L'excursion a débuté comme d'habitude par une descente d'entraînement. Les passagers ont affirmé que cette fois, le bateau « zigzaguait » davantage que lors de l'excursion de l'année précédente. Tout de suite après la descente, une passagère de grande taille assise à l'avant a constaté qu'elle était incapable de s'asseoir correctement, coudes bloqués, en poussant et en tenant la barre d'appui avec les mains. Elle a prévenu un membre de l'équipage. L'excursion s'est déroulée sans incident jusqu'à la descente finale depuis la marmite de la gorge de la rivière Niagara près de Devil's Hole. À cet endroit, le bateau a piqué du nez, puis a escaladé rapidement la crête d'une grosse lame (la troisième d'une série) avant de s'abattre dans un creux profond.

Trois passagers assis dans la partie avant tribord ont alors été soumis à de violentes accélérations. La bande vidéo montre tous les passagers avec les genoux contre la poitrine juste avant le choc, puis on les voit retomber violemment ensemble sur leurs sièges. Lorsque l'avant a été submergé par la lame suivante (la quatrième de la série), deux des passagers soumis aux violentes accélérations se trouvaient dans la première rangée, et un dans la seconde rangée. Le bateau a rapidement accéléré à la montée et ces passagers, en retombant, se sont cogné le bassin contre les bancs coussinés de mousse. Les trois passagers ont déclaré qu'ils poussaient contre la barre d'appui à ce moment-là. Tous trois ont éprouvé une grande douleur lombaire en touchant le siège. Cela n'a duré qu'une fraction de seconde et l'instant suivant, les passagers de la première rangée ont été heurtés à la poitrine par une grosse masse d'eau qui leur a coupé le souffle.

La douleur était trop vive pour que les trois passagers blessés préviennent immédiatement les membres de l'équipage. Ce n'est qu'à la sortie de la série de rapides suivante, quand le conducteur a demandé aux passagers de lever les bras, qu'on s'est rendu compte de la situation. Tous les passagers ont obéi, sauf les trois blessés. Le conducteur a alors estimé qu'il y avait urgence médicale et a immédiatement utilisé la radio VHF pour prévenir sa base d'attache. Le Saute Moutons 6 a alors été dérouté sur Queenston. Un des passagers blessés a réussi à marcher avec de l'aide jusqu'à l'ambulance. Les deux autres blessés ont été immobilisés en position debout, placés sur des civières et transportés en ambulance au Greater Niagara Regional Hospital où l'on a constaté qu'ils avaient tous les deux subi des fractures par tassement des vertèbres. En novembre 1999, deux des passagers blessés étaient toujours traités par un médecin spécialiste.

Le personnel de la compagnie qui se trouvait à bord du Saute Moutons 6 a indiqué qu'au moment de l'accident, le bateau filait une vitesse normale, et que le voyage aller-retour se déroulait selon l'horaire. Un des blessés a déclaré que le bateau lui semblait aller plus vite dans les rapides que lors de l'excursion précédente. Le débit de la rivière, les courants et les hauteurs de lame n'étaient pas inhabituels. Le bâtiment n'était pas en avance sur son horaire. Toutefois, le conducteur modifie presque constamment le régime des moteurs (tr/min) pour l'adapter aux conditions rencontrées, et les moteurs répondent instantanément. La vitesse du bateau au moment de l'accident n'a pu être déterminée.

Il existe un programme d'apprentissage qui permet à un stagiaire breveté d'apprendre à manoeuvrer un bateau à hydrojet; les progrès du stagiaire sont surveillés par le capitaine du bateau et le personnel de la compagnie. Un conducteur bien entraîné doit, à l'aide des moteurs et de la barre, rajuster la vitesse et le cap du bateau en fonction des variations et de la forme des vagues à la surface de l'eau. Le conducteur doit aussi surveiller attentivement les mouvements des passagers et de l'équipage et prendre les mesures qui s'imposent en cas d'urgence.

Le capitaine du Saute Moutons 6 était dûment breveté et il commandait le bateau depuis un an et demi.

Les clients payants s'attendent à éprouver des sensations fortes lorsqu'ils effectuent ce type d'excursion en eau vive. La grande majorité des passagers se connaissaient. Ils avaient déjà fait l'excursion et avaient hâte de la refaire.

C'était la première fois qu'un accident du genre était signalé au cours d'une excursion de bateau à hydrojet en eau vive depuis que la compagnie avait ouvert ses portes il y a sept ans.

Analyse

Au moment de l'accident, lorsque la partie avant du Saute Moutons 6 a été submergée par la quatrième grosse lame à Devil's Hole, le taux d'accélération ascendante de la partie avant du bateau était directement proportionnel à la vitesse du bateau. L'accélération a été davantage accrue par la vitesse ascendante de l'eau à l'intérieur de la lame, due à un courant de plus de 20 noeuds.

Comme les crêtes des lames étaient très rapprochées, l'arrière du bateau, qui n'avait pas encore quitté la crête précédente, était encore élevé, et le bateau a été soumis à un mouvement de pivot. Les forces s'exerçant sur la section de la coque à l'avant se sont combinées au mouvement de pivot et ont provoqué un claquement de l'avant vers le haut au lieu d'une montée régulière et symétrique à l'arrivée de la lame suivante. De plus, le bateau a été soumis à une décélération rapide. De ce fait, les passagers du côté tribord avant, qui semblaient plus exposés aux accélérations et décélérations, ont été projetés vers le haut et vers l'avant. Comme aucun autre passager n'a subi de blessures similaires, on peut en déduire que les accélérations subies dans cette partie du bateau étaient plus fortes qu'à d'autres endroits, ou que la force que les trois victimes ont exercée contre la barre d'appui pour contrer les accélérations était insuffisante pour les immobiliser dans leurs sièges.

La vidéo de l'excursion semble montrer qu'une passagère (qui a été blessée) a tenté de se lever debout. Cependant, comme les trois victimes ont subi des blessures analogues, il est plus probable que cette victime a été éjectée en position debout lors du choc qui l'a blessée. Comme cette passagère était plus grande que ses voisins, c'est fort probablement à cause de l'angle de prise de vue de la caméra à l'arrière qu'on a l'impression qu'elle est debout.

Les blessures subies par les passagers en retombant sur la banquette coussinée de mousse peuvent être dues, jusqu'à un certain point, au degré de protection insuffisant fourni par la mousse.

On a examiné la bande vidéo de l'excursion et d'autres bandes vidéo et il ne semble pas y avoir de différence marquée dans la hauteur ou la direction des vagues, ni dans l'angle d'approche du bateau. Donc, c'est peut-être la vitesse du bâtiment qui a pu amener le bateau à réagir comme il l'a fait.

Les caractéristiques de manoeuvre du bateau et l'habileté du conducteur peuvent également avoir joué un rôle. La puissance fournie par les moteurs est instantanément transformée en mouvement du bateau - le bateau répond instantanément aux sollicitations du conducteur. Un usage excessif des moteurs ou de la barre peut provoquer un mouvement intempestif du bateau. Le conducteur a une fraction de seconde dans les rapides pour prendre les décisions liées au réglage du régime et de la direction. Si les circonstances avaient permis de ralentir l'allure, le claquement de l'avant qui a éjecté les passagers de leurs sièges aurait probablement été moins violent. L'excursion se déroulait selon l'horaire et rien n'indique qu'elle se soit déroulée à une vitesse excessive.

Pour savoir si tout va bien, on leur demande régulièrement de « lever les bras » pendant l'excursion. Ce système peut cependant avoir de graves inconvénients. Comme le bateau continue de tanguer et de tournoyer dans les vagues, les intervalles entre les « levées des bras » peuvent être trop longs pour permettre à un passager blessé de signaler rapidement un problème. Après l'événement qui a provoqué les blessures, le Saute Moutons 6 a d'abord continué sa descente en eau vive à la même allure. Ce n'est que peu après, quand on a demandé aux passagers de « lever les bras », que le conducteur s'est rendu compte qu'il y avait un problème.

Faits établis

  1. À l'exclusion de la nécessité momentanée de hausser le régime des moteurs qui peut avoir provoqué une accélération soudaine au moment de l'accident, les moteurs du Saute Moutons 6 ont tourné au régime normal pendant l'excursion.
  2. Trois passagers des rangées de sièges les plus à l'avant ont été blessés lorsqu'ils ont été éjectés de leurs sièges par le mouvement du Saute Moutons 6.
  3. Les blessés n'ont pas exercé une force stabilisatrice suffisante pour les empêcher d'être éjectés de leurs sièges, ou ont été incapables de le faire.
  4. Les blessés n'ont pas pu signaler immédiatement leur détresse au conducteur ou à l'équipage.
  5. Du temps s'est écoulé entre le moment où les passagers ont été blessés et celui où l'équipage s'est rendu compte qu'il y avait un problème. Pendant ce laps de temps, le bateau a continué à tanguer et à tournoyer dans les rapides.
  6. La mousse recouvrant les bancs n'a pas amorti suffisamment le choc pour empêcher les passagers d'être blessés.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

À cause des accélérations et décélérations rapides auxquelles ont été soumis le bateau et les passagers, trois passagers se sont cogné le bassin contre leur banc, et ils ont subi des lésions aux vertèbres et au dos. Le fait que ces passagers ne se sont peut-être pas cramponnés sur leurs sièges comme on le leur avait demandé peut avoir joué un rôle dans l'accident. La capacité d'amortissement du coussinage des sièges semble avoir été insuffisante pour protéger les passagers contre les mouvements violents du Saute Moutons 6 au moment de l'accident, ce qui a joué un rôle dans l'accident.

Mesures de sécurité

Au moment de l'accident, les propriétaires de l'hydrojet examinaient différents moyens pour améliorer le coussinage des sièges des passagers et cherchaient à déterminer jusqu'à quel point il serait possible de diminuer les risques de blessures en améliorant la conception et le coussinage des sièges. On songe notamment à utiliser des sacs remplis de liquide comme coussins. Depuis l'accident, le coussinage en mousse des sièges passagers a été amélioré.

Le présent rapport met fin à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 15 novembre 2000.

Annexe A - Photos

Photo 1 - Le Saute Moutons 6

Photo 1. Le Saute Moutons 6

Photo 2 - Panneau d'avertissement pour les passagers

Photo 2. Panneau d'avertissement pour les passagers

Photo 3 - Façon correcte de s'asseoir pour un passager

Photo 3. Façon correcte de s'asseoir pour un passager

Photo 4 - Poste de commande du conducteur

Photo 4. Poste de commande du conducteur

Photo 5 - Banquette des passagers, avec coussinage en mousse

Photo 5. Banquette des passagers, avec coussinage en mousse

Photo 6 - Franchissement de Devil's Hole

Photo 6. Franchissement de Devil's Hole


1. Les unités de mesure dans le présent rapport sont conformes aux normes de l'Organisation maritime internationale (OMI) ou, à défaut de telles normes, elles sont exprimées selon le système international (SI) d'unités.