Marine Investigation Report M98W0019

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Contact with Bottom
by Bulk Carrier "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" and Tug "SEASPAN FALCON"
Port Moody, British Columbia
15 February 1998

Summary

The "PACIFIC DOLPHIN", under the conduct of a British Columbia Coast Pilot and assisted by two tugs, was moving from anchorage "L" in Indian Arm to a terminal in Port Moody, B.C. As the vessel attempted to round Admiralty Point, the tug "SEASPAN FALCON", which was on the vessel's port bow, was pushed towards the shore and grounded briefly. Shortly afterwards the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" also made contact with the bottom. The pilot regained control of the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" and, without further incident, berthed the vessel port side to Pacific Coast Terminal No. 2 wharf in Port Moody. The "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" and the "SEASPAN FALCON" each sustained damage to the bottom shell plating. No pollution was observed.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Factual Information

  "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" "SEASPAN FALCON"
Registry/Licence Number 10492 816602
Port of Registry Monrovia, Liberia[1] Vancouver, B.C.[1]
Flag Liberia Canada
Type Bulk carrier Tug
Gross Tons 27,763 188.77
Length 189.99 m[1] 24.38 m
Draught 6.65 m 1.25 m
Built 1996, Oshima, Japan 1993, Vancouver, B.C.
Number of Crew 31 2
Propulsion Diesel, 9041 BHP 2 Z-drives. Diesel 3200 HP
Registered Owners Mingwah Shipping Co.
Hong Kong
Seaspan International Ltd.
North Vancouver, B.C.

The "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" is a bulk carrier with five hatches and four deck cranes. The wheel-house, machinery and accommodations are all housed in one superstructure located at the after end of the vessel.

The wheel-house has an open layout. The steering console is located amidships and the chart table behind it. To starboard of the steering console are two radars, one of which is equipped with Automatic Radar Plotting Aid (ARPA) functions.

The propulsion machinery of the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" consists of one reversible main engine, driving one right-handed, fixed-pitch propeller. It is fully manoeuvrable from the wheel-house by means of one lever controlling both the direction and the revolutions per minute (RPM) of the propeller.

The clock, vessel log, rudder angle and RPM indicators are mounted on the bridge-front bulkhead, forward of the steering console. An additional rudder indicator is located on each bridge wing.

On 12 February 1998, after a passage from Japan, the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" arrived at the pilot station off Victoria, B.C. , where a pilot boarded. The vessel arrived at anchorage "L" in Port Moody, at 0800[2] to await a berth. The port anchor was deployed with six shackles (approx. 150 m) of chain in a position 49°18'N, 122°56'W, approximately three cables west-north-west of Admiralty Point where the depth of water is about 18 m. The vessel's stern was free to swing within a maximum radius of about 300 m from the anchor.

On 15 February at 0545, a B.C. Coast Pilot boarded the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN". Two tugs arrived at the vessel's side to assist in moving her to the Pacific Coast Terminal No. 2 , approximately three miles from anchorage "L". All relevant equipment and propulsion machinery was tested by the crew and found to be in good working order. A junior deck officer and a deck-hand were in the wheel-house when the pilot arrived; approximately one minute later the master came to the wheel-house. The "SEASPAN HAWK" took up a position aft and the "SEASPAN FALCON" went on the starboard bow of the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN".

Upon arrival the pilot checked the gyro-repeater and found that the heading was approximately 230° and the gyro-compass appeared to have no error. Neither the master nor any other crew member noted the vessel's heading at that time. The skippers of the two assisting tugs reported that upon arrival at the vessel's side, the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" was lying on a south-westerly heading.

The master gave the pilot the Pilot Card with the vessel's particulars and manoeuvring characteristics. The pilot informed the master about the sequence of manoeuvres he was planning to execute; to leave the anchorage and to shift the vessel to the terminal. The pilot planned to swing the vessel to port from her heading of 230° and, as soon as the anchor was aweigh, to reach and proceed upon a new heading of 140°(T&G).

Reportedly, the pilot received from the master all the necessary information and, while leaving the anchorage, the master and the crew effectively participated in the handling of the vessel and kept the pilot apprised. Pilot's orders and the reports from the mate on the vessel's bow were translated and relayed by the master.

At 0550 the chief officer on the bow carried out the order to commence heaving the anchor. At 0608 the pilot received information from the "SEASPAN FALCON" that the anchor was surfacing. The pilot ordered slow ahead on the engine. The order was executed and logged in the vessel's bell-book. At the same time the pilot ordered the "SEASPAN FALCON" to push on the starboard bow of the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN".

The "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" was swinging to port and had reached a heading of approximately 180° when the pilot ordered the "SEASPAN FALCON" to stop pushing and to move to the vessel's port bow. With the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" lined up on a heading of 140°(T&G), the pilot ordered the rudder hard-to-starboard and the tug to push on the port bow to arrest any further swing. When the "SEASPAN FALCON" began pushing at about 0614, the pilot called for more power from the tug . The tug's skipper responded that his vessel had grounded off Admiralty Point.

The "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" was moving slowly ahead with Admiralty Point close on the port side. The pilot ordered the rudder hard-to-port to swing the stern away from the land. When the mid-length of the vessel was abeam of the grounded tug, the latter managed to float free and to resume pushing. At 0615, those in the wheel-house of the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" felt a vibration of the hull. The pilot ordered the engine stopped and the tug to push harder.

The "PACIFIC DOLPHIN", carried by her momentum , continued past Admiralty Point without further noteworthy incident. After the stern cleared the danger, the pilot decided to carry on with the original plan. At 0730, the vessel berthed port side to Pacific Coast Terminal No. 2.

The weather was reported as cloudy with light rain, no wind and a smooth sea. The tide was nearing its high water level (H.W. was at 0850). According to the Canadian Hydrographic Service the predicted surface current, in the vicinity of anchorage "L" at about the time of the occurrence, was north-easterly at one knot, and just off Admiralty Point was northerly at approximately 0.5 knot.

The pilot holds an ON-1 certificate of competency and a Pilot's Licence, both issued in Canada. He had attended all the required upgrading courses: ARPA, SEN, MED, BRM and ship handling. His total sea time was approximately 35 years on various Canadian home-trade vessels. He has worked as a B.C. Coast Pilot since 1991.

Diving operations and internal inspection determined that the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" sustained damage to her shell plating and bilge keel on the port side between frames 73 and 130. The damage extended longitudinally for approximately 47 m. The bottoms of double-bottom ballast tanks Nos. 3 and 4, port, were indented and the associated frames, stiffeners and floors were distorted. The vessel's plating was not punctured.

Analysis

As there was no wind at the time of the occurrence, the vessel's heading (230°T) at anchor indicates that the tidal current was setting north-eastward towards the land north of Admiralty Point. Given the CHS estimate of a current speed of 1 knot, an object dead in the water would be set in a north-easterly direction at a rate of about 31 metres per minute.

The anchor was seen to be coming clear of the water at about 0608, and it is clear that the anchor was free from the bottom at least half a minute before that the tug commenced pushing on the vessel's starboard bow at this time and the engine was put to slow ahead. By the time the tug was directed to push on the port bow to stop the vessel swinging further, the vessel had gained little if any headway (about two ship-lengths) in the seven and a half minutes which had elapsed since the vessel's anchor was free of the bottom. However, the vessel had been set about 220 m in a predominately north-easterly direction by the current. The beam distance between the vessel's bow at anchor and the rocky shore of Admiralty Point was about 525 m.

The tug pushing on the starboard bow, apart from initiating a port turn, also generated a force which caused the vessel to move bodily to port. To arrest the port swing, the pilot ordered hard-a-starboard rudder. With the vessel's engine turning slow ahead, this manoeuvre created another force which also caused the vessel to move primarily bodily to port.

The three forces generated by the current set, the tug pushing and the rudder's lateral effect acted in approximately the same direction. The resultant of these three forces was significant enough to cause the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" to move bodily towards the shore and to strike the rocky bottom at Admiralty Point.

The "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" was conned by an experienced pilot who knew the area and was familiar with handling vessels of this size. The master was in the wheel-house. There had been an exchange of information between the members of the bridge team. However, none of the persons participating in the handling of the vessel fully appreciated the extent of her lateral movement until the tug on the vessel's port side reported that she had been pushed aground.

The attentiveness of an average person when performing any task varies from being vigilant to relaxed. Some of the main factors determining the individual's attitude are the job itself, the frequency of its recurrence, the person's experience and external influences. Because the pilot may not have appreciated the extent of the vessel's bodily movement eastward, his alertness was probably relaxed. He did not look for nor did he double-check all the sources of information available to him to determine the rate at which the tidal current was setting the vessel towards the shore.

The master most probably fully relied on the pilot's local knowledge and experience and did not monitor the pilot's performance or the vessel's movement closely. Given the traditional master/pilot relationship, this reliance is not unusual for the master of a deep-sea ship in a foreign port. The good weather conditions did not appear to demand extra prudence from the master and, given the traditional master/pilot relationship, the pilot's experience and the fact that the vessel was being assisted by two tugs, the manoeuvre did not appear to be unduly difficult. The master's alertness was also at the relaxed end of the scale.

The application of Bridge Resource Management (BRM) principles was limited to the initial exchange of information and there was no formal system in place to closely monitor the vessel's progress. The reduced alertness of the people handling the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" on 15 February 1998 likely led to the striking.

However, the pilot reacted quickly to the grounding of the tug. He realized that the port side of the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" was very close to the rocky point and ordered hard-a-port rudder to shift the vessel's stern away from the danger. The manoeuvre did not prevent the vessel from making contact with the bottom. The damage to the shell plating is consistent with the vessel's hull moving along a hard, solid object such as the boulders found in the rocky shore off Admiralty Point.

Findings

  1. The manoeuvre began with the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" anchored in designated anchorage "L" which is in close (three cables) proximity to Admiralty Point.
  2. After the anchor was aweigh, the vessel was subject to the surface current which was setting at a rate of about 30 metres per minute towards the shore.
  3. To swing the bow to port, a tug was pushing on the starboard bow.
  4. The engine of the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" was turning "slow ahead" and the vessel's rudder was hard-to-starboard but the vessel gained little headway.
  5. The effect of the engine movement, rudder position and low headway was that the vessel moved bodily to port.
  6. For about eight and a half minutes, the resultant of the forces on the vessel (current set, the tug pushing and the rudder's lateral effect at low headway) acted in approximately the same direction.
  7. The vessel was set bodily towards and struck the rocky shore at Admiralty Point.
  8. The vessel's progress was not closely monitored; none of the personnel participating in the handling of the vessel observed the extent or rate of the vessel's lateral movement towards the shore.
  9. The vessel's propulsion machinery and steering equipment were in good working order. Neither was a factor in the occurrence.
  10. The action by the pilot to avert the striking was too late in the circumstances.
  11. All actions following the occurrence were timely and appropriate in the circumstances.
  12. The damage sustained by the "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" is consistent with the hull touching and scraping against the rocky bottom off Admiralty Point.

Causes and Contributing Factors

The "PACIFIC DOLPHIN" struck the rocky bottom off Admiralty Point because the vessel's lateral movement towards the shore went unrecognized by the bridge team until the situation was too advanced to correct. Contributing to the striking was the fact that a BRM environment was not fully implemented and the vessel's progress along her intended route was not closely monitored.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board, consisting of Chairperson Benoît Bouchard, and members Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson and W.A. Tadros, authorized the release of this report on 18 May 1999.


[1]  Units of measurement in this report conform to International Maritime Organization (IMO) standards or, where there is no such standard, are expressed in the International System (SI) of units.

[2]  All times are PST (Coordinated Universal Time minus eight hours) unless otherwise noted.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M98W0019

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Contact avec le fond
vraquier « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » et remorqueur « SEASPAN FALCON »
Port Moody (Colombie-Britannique)
15 février 1998

Résumé

Sous la conduite d'un pilote de la côte de Colombie-Britannique et assisté par deux remorqueurs, le « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » se déplaçait entre le mouillage « L », dans Indian Arm, et un terminal de Port Moody (Colombie-Britannique). Comme le navire essayait de doubler Admiralty Point, le remorqueur « SEASPAN FALCON », qui était à l'avant bâbord du navire, a été poussé vers le rivage et s'est échoué brièvement. Le « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » a aussi touché le fond peu après. Le pilote a regagné le contrôle du « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » et, sans autre incident, a fait accoster le navire bâbord au quai no 2 du terminal Pacific Coast, à Port Moody. Le « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » et le « SEASPAN FALCON » ont tous deux subi des avaries au bordé de fond. Aucune pollution n'a été observée.

This report is also available in English.

Renseignements de base

  « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » « SEASPAN FALCON »
Numéro d'immatriculation/
de licence
10492 816602
Port d'immatriculation Monrovia, Libéria Vancouver (C.-B.)
Pavillon Libéria Canada
Type Vraquier Remorqueur
Jauge brute(2) 27 763 tonneaux 188,77 tonneaux
Longueur 189,99 m(1) 24,38 m
Tirant d'eau 6,65 m 1,25 m
Construction 1996, Oshima, Japon 1993, Vancouver (C.-B.)
Équipage 31 personnes 2 personnes
Propulsion Diesel, 9 041 BHP 2 transmissions en Z, Diesel 3 200 HP
Propriétaires enregistrés Mingwah Shipping Co.
Hong Kong
Seaspan International Ltd.
North Vancouver (C.-B.)

Le « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » est un vraquier muni de cinq panneaux et de quatre grues de pont. La timonerie, les machines et les emménagements se trouvent tous dans une superstructure située à l'arrière du navire.

La timonerie est à aires ouvertes. Le pupitre de barre est au milieu et la table à cartes se trouve derrière. À tribord du pupitre de barre, on trouve deux radars, dont l'un offre des capacités d'aide au pointage radar automatique (ARPA).

Les machines de propulsion du « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » consistent en une machine principale réversible qui entraîne une hélice à pas fixe dont le pas est à droite. On peut manoeuvrer le navire à partir de la timonerie, au moyen d'un levier qui contrôle à la fois le sens de rotation et le régime (nombre de tours à la minute (tr/min)) de l'hélice.

L'horloge, le loch, l'indicateur d'angle de barre et le tachymètre sont montés sur la cloison avant de la passerelle, devant le pupitre de barre. Un indicateur d'angle de barre additionnel se trouve dans chaque aileron de passerelle.

Le 12 février 1998, après une traversée en provenance du Japon, le « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » est arrivé à la station de pilotage située au large de Victoria (Colombie-Britannique), où un pilote est monté à bord. Le navire est arrivé à 8 h(2) au mouillage « L » de Port Moody, où il a attendu qu'on lui désigne un poste à quai. On a mouillé l'ancre bâbord avec six maillons (environ 150 m) de chaîne à la position 49°18'N par 122°56'W, soit à environ trois encablures à l'ouest-nord-ouest de Admiralty Point. La profondeur est d'environ 18 m à cet endroit. L'arrière du navire pouvait éviter librement sur l'ancre dans un rayon maximal de 300 m.

Un pilote côtier de Colombie-Britannique est monté à bord du « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » le 15 février à 5 h 45. Deux remorqueurs sont arrivés près du navire pour l'aider à se rendre au terminal no 2 de Pacific Coast, situé à environ trois milles du mouillage « L ». L'équipage a fait l'essai de l'équipement et des machines de propulsion utiles et a constaté qu'ils étaient en bon état de fonctionnement. Un officier de pont subalterne et un matelot étaient dans la timonerie à l'arrivée du pilote; le capitaine est venu dans la timonerie environ une minute plus tard. Le « SEASPAN HAWK » a pris position à l'arrière, et le « SEASPAN FALCON » s'est placé sur l'avant tribord du « PACIFIC DOLPHIN ».

Dès son arrivée, le pilote a vérifié le répétiteur du compas gyroscopique et a constaté que le cap était au 230° environ et que le compas gyroscopique ne semblait pas avoir d'erreur. Ni le capitaine ni aucun autre membre de l'équipage n'ont pris en note le cap du navire à ce moment. Les patrons des deux remorqueurs ont signalé qu'à leur arrivée à côté du navire, le « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » faisait face au sud-ouest.

Le capitaine a remis au pilote la fiche de pilotage sur laquelle figuraient les particularités et les qualités manoeuvrières du navire. Le pilote a informé le capitaine de la série de manoeuvres qu'il entendait exécuter, à savoir quitter le mouillage et déplacer le navire vers le terminal. Le pilote entendait faire éviter le navire sur bâbord à partir de son cap au 230° et, dès que l'ancre serait dérapée, prévoyait de progresser en suivant un nouveau cap au 140°(V&G).

Il semble que le pilote ait reçu tous les renseignements nécessaires du capitaine et que, pendant que le navire quittait le mouillage, le capitaine et l'équipage aient effectivement participé à la manoeuvre et aient informé le pilote du déroulement de la manoeuvre. Le capitaine traduisait et relayait les ordres du pilote ainsi que les rapports du second capitaine placés à l'avant du navire.

À 5 h 50, le second capitaine à l'avant a exécuté l'ordre de commencer à virer la chaîne d'ancre. À 6 h 08, le pilote a été informé par le « SEASPAN FALCON » qu'on apercevait l'ancre à la surface. Le pilote a alors ordonné de mettre les machines à « en avant lente ». L'ordre a été exécuté et consigné dans le journal de la passerelle. Au même moment, le pilote a ordonné au « SEASPAN FALCON » de pousser l'avant tribord du « PACIFIC DOLPHIN ».

Le « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » évitait sur bâbord et avait atteint un cap d'environ 180°, lorsque le pilote a ordonné au « SEASPAN FALCON » de cesser de pousser et de se placer sur l'avant bâbord du navire. Le « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » étant aligné sur un cap au 140°(V&G), le pilote a commandé de mettre la barre à droite toute et a ordonné au remorqueur de pousser contre l'avant bâbord pour empêcher le navire d'éviter davantage. Quand le « SEASPAN FALCON » a commencé à pousser, vers 6 h 14, le pilote a demandé au remorqueur d'augmenter la puissance. Le patron du remorqueur a alors répondu que son navire s'était échoué devant Admiralty Point.

Le « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » avançait lentement, Admiralty Point étant tout près de son flanc bâbord. Le pilote a ordonné de mettre la barre à gauche toute pour éloigner l'arrière de la terre. Quand la mi-longueur du navire est arrivée par le travers du remorqueur échoué, ce dernier s'est remis à flot et a recommencé à pousser. À 6 h 15, les personnes qui étaient dans la timonerie du « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » ont senti la coque vibrer. Le pilote a alors commandé de stopper les machines et a ordonné au remorqueur d'accentuer sa poussée.

Le « PACIFIC DOLPHIN », entraîné par son erre, a dépassé Admiralty Point sans autre incident notable. Une fois que l'arrière eut dépassé la zone de danger, le pilote a décidé de continuer selon le plan original. À 7 h 30, le navire s'est amarré bâbord à quai au terminal no 2 de Pacific Coast.

Le temps était nuageux, il pleuvait légèrement, il n'y avait pas de vent et la mer était belle. La marée était presque haute (la marée haute était prévue pour 8 h 50). D'après le Service hydrographique du Canada, le courant de surface prévu dans les parages du mouillage « L » au moment de l'événement était un courant de un noeud portant au nord-est, et il y avait un courant d'environ 0,5 noeud portant au nord devant Admiralty Point.

Le pilote possède un certificat de lieutenant au long cours de classe 1 (ON1) et un brevet de pilote, délivrés tous deux au Canada. Il avait suivi des cours de perfectionnement : ARPA, navigation électronique simulée (NES), FUM, GRP et manoeuvre des navires. Il comptait au total environ 35 ans de temps de mer à bord de différents caboteurs canadiens. Il travaille comme pilote côtier de la Colombie-Britannique depuis 1991.

Des opérations de plongée et une inspection interne ont permis de déterminer que le « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » avait subi des avaries au bordé extérieur et à la quille de roulis du côté bâbord, entre les couples 73 et 130. Des avaries longitudinales s'étendaient sur une longueur d'environ 47 m. Le fond des ballasts à double-fond nos 3 et 4 a été enfoncé du côté bâbord, et les membrures, raidisseurs et varangues associés ont été tordus. Les tôles du navire n'ont pas été percées.

Analyse

Comme il n'y avait pas de vent au moment de l'accident, le cap du navire au mouillage (230°V) indique que le courant de marée portait au nord-est, en direction de la terre située au nord de Admiralty Point. Étant donné que le SHC estimait la vitesse du courant à un noeud, un objet immobile dans l'eau dériverait vers le nord-est à une vitesse d'environ 31 mètres à la minute.

On a vu l'ancre sortir de l'eau vers 6 h 08, et il est clair qu'elle n'avait plus prise au fond au moins une demi-minute avant que le remorqueur commence à pousser contre l'avant tribord du navire et que les machines soient placées à la position « en avant lente ». Au moment où l'on a ordonné au remorqueur de pousser contre l'avant bâbord pour stopper l'évitage, le navire avait très peu progressé (environ deux longueurs de navire) au cours des sept minutes et demie qui s'étaient écoulées depuis le moment où l'ancre du navire avait quitté le fond. Toutefois, le courant, qui portait grosso modo au nord-est, avait fait dériver le navire d'environ 220 m dans cette direction. La distance par le travers entre l'avant du navire au mouillage et la rive rocheuse de Admiralty Point était d'environ 525 m.

La poussée du remorqueur contre l'avant tribord a non seulement amorcé une évolution vers bâbord, mais, ce faisant, elle a généré une force qui a amené le navire sur bâbord. Pour arrêter l'abattée sur bâbord, le pilote a fait mettre la barre à tribord toute. Comme les machines du navire tournaient à « en avant lente », cette dernière manoeuvre a créé une autre force qui a aussi amené le navire à se déplacer surtout vers bâbord.

Les trois forces, à savoir le courant, la poussée du remorqueur et l'effet latéral du gouvernail, se sont combinées et ont agi à peu près dans la même direction. La résultante de ces trois forces combinées a été suffisamment grande pour que le « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » soit poussé vers la rive et touche le fond rocheux de Admiralty Point.

La manoeuvre du « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » était commandée par un pilote expérimenté qui connaissait le secteur et qui était bien au fait de la manoeuvre des navires de cette taille. Le capitaine se trouvait dans la timonerie. Il y avait eu un échange de renseignements entre les membres de l'équipe à la passerelle. Toutefois, aucune des personnes chargées de la manoeuvre du navire n'a apprécié correctement l'ampleur du déplacement latéral du navire, jusqu'à ce que le remorqueur posté à bâbord signale qu'il s'était échoué après avoir été poussé par le navire.

Le degré d'attention d'une personne moyenne lorsqu'elle exécute une tâche donnée peut aller d'un état de vigilance à un état de détente. Au nombre des principaux facteurs qui déterminent l'attitude d'une personne, on trouve la tâche proprement dite, la fréquence à laquelle on l'exécute, l'expérience de la personne et les influences externes. Le fait que le pilote n'ait peut-être pas apprécié correctement l'ampleur du mouvement du navire en direction signifie que sa vigilance étant probablement relâchée. Il n'a pas cherché à obtenir tous les renseignements qui étaient à sa disposition et ne les a pas non plus contre-vérifiés pour déterminer la vitesse à laquelle le courant de marée entraînait le navire en direction de la rive.

Il est fort probable que le capitaine s'en est remis entièrement aux connaissances locales et à l'expérience du pilote, si bien qu'il n'a pas surveillé étroitement le travail du pilote ni l'évolution du navire. Compte tenu de la relation traditionnelle qui s'établit entre les capitaines et les pilotes, une telle confiance n'est pas inhabituelle de la part du capitaine d'un navire hauturier qui fait escale dans un port étranger. Les conditions météorologiques étant clémentes, le capitaine ne se sentait pas tenu de se montrer plus prudent que d'habitude et, en raison de la relation traditionnelle capitaine/pilote, de l'expérience du pilote et de la présence de deux remorqueurs, la manoeuvre n'a pas semblé poser de difficultés excessives. La vigilance du capitaine était aussi relâchée.

L'application des principes de la gestion des ressources à la passerelle (GRP) s'est limitée à l'échange initial de renseignements, et on n'a pas mis en place un système réglementaire permettant de suivre de près la progression du navire. La vigilance réduite des personnes qui ont participé à la manoeuvre du « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » le 15 février 1998 est vraisemblablement à l'origine du heurt violent.

Toutefois, le pilote a réagi rapidement à l'échouement du remorqueur. S'apercevant que le côté bâbord du « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » était très rapproché de la pointe rocheuse, il a ordonné de mettre la barre à gauche toute afin d'éloigner l'arrière du navire de la zone de danger. La manoeuvre n'a pas empêché le navire de toucher le fond. Les avaries au bordé de carène concordent avec celles que subirait la coque d'un navire qui se déplace contre un objet dur et compact analogue aux rochers qu'on trouve sur le rivage de Admiralty Point.

Faits établis

  1. La manoeuvre a débuté lorsque le « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » a jeté l'ancre au mouillage « L » qu'on lui avait désigné, lequel était situé à proximité (trois encablures) de Admiralty Point.
  2. Une fois l'ancre dérapée, le navire a été poussé vers la rive par le courant de surface à une vitesse d'environ 30 mètres à la minute.
  3. Un remorqueur a poussé l'avant tribord du navire pour le faire éviter vers bâbord.
  4. La machine du « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » tournait à « en avant lente » et le gouvernail du navire était à droite toute, mais l'erre en avant du navire a été faible.
  5. La poussée des machines, la position du gouvernail et la faible erre en avant ont eu pour effet d'entraîner le navire vers bâbord.
  6. Pendant environ huit minutes et demie, les forces exercées sur le navire (courant, poussée du remorqueur et effet latéral du gouvernail avec une faible erre en avant) ont eu une résultante qui a entraîné le navire à peu près dans la même direction.
  7. Le navire a été entraîné vers le rivage rocheux de Admiralty Point et a touché le fond.
  8. La progression du navire n'a pas fait l'objet d'une surveillance étroite; aucune des personnes qui participaient à la manoeuvre n'a remarqué l'ampleur du mouvement latéral du navire vers la rive ni la vitesse à laquelle il s'en approchait.
  9. Les machines de propulsion et l'appareil à gouverner du navire étaient en bon état. Ni les unes ni l'autre ne sont en cause dans cet accident.
  10. Les mesures que le pilote a prises pour prévenir le heurt ont été trop tardives dans les circonstances.
  11. Toutes les mesures prises après l'accident ont été appropriées et ont été prises dans les meilleurs délais.
  12. Les avaries subies par le « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » concordent avec celles que subirait la coque d'un navire qui aurait touché et raclé le fond rocheux de Admiralty Point.

Causes et facteurs contributifs

Le « PACIFIC DOLPHIN » a touché le fond rocheux de Admiralty Point parce que l'équipe à la passerelle n'a pas remarqué le mouvement latéral du navire en direction de la rive avant que soit trop tard pour corriger la situation. Le fait qu'on n'ait pas appliqué des mesures complètes de GRP et le fait qu'on n'ait pas surveillé de près la progression du navire le long de la trajectoire prévue ont contribué à cet accident.

Le présent rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet accident. Par conséquent, le Bureau, composé du président Benoît Bouchard et des membres Maurice Harquail, Charles Simpson et W.A. Tadros, a autorisé la publication du présent rapport le 18 mai 1999.


[1]  Dans le présent rapport, les unités de mesure sont conformes aux normes de l'Organisation maritime internationale (OMI) ou, à défaut de telles normes, sont exprimées en unités du Système international (SI).

[2]  Toutes les heures sont exprimées selon l'HNP (Temps universel coordonné (UTC) moins huit heures), sauf indication contraire.