Marine Investigation Report M01C0063

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Persons Overboard
Water Jet Boat Saute Moutons 14
Niagara River Gorge, Ontario
02 September 2001

Summary

At about 1815 eastern daylight time, while the water jet boat Saute Moutons 14 was proceeding in rapids, the forward half of the vessel became fully submerged. Two passengers were swept overboard. They were quickly rescued and suffered minor cuts and bruises.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

  "SAUTE MOUTONS 14"
Official Number 823547
Port of Registry St. Catharines, Ontario
Flag Canada
Type Passenger Water Jet Boat
Gross Tons 7
Length 12 m
Draught Forward: 0.735 metres Aft:0.573 metres
Built 1996, Kingston, Ontario
Propulsion Diesel; two turbocharged 810 horsepower; water jets
Crew Members 3
Passengers 43
Owner Niagara Gorge Jet Boating Ltd.

Description of the Vessel and its Operation

Photo 1 - Passenger water jet boats

Photo 1.  Passenger water jet boats

The Saute Moutons 14 is purpose-built for navigating through rapids and similar white water. It is of robust construction, with high strength aluminum sections to withstand the severe accelerations and stresses to which the vessel is exposed. It is essentially box shaped, with a flat bottom, and has a shallow rise forward.

The vessel's high power, combined with the water jet configuration, permits speeds of 50 knots in calm conditions. The Saute Moutons 14 is highly manoeuvrable and can perform a unique "spin around" manoeuvre on its own axis, at high speed.

Seven rows of anti-shock, foam-cushioned and spring-dampened benches make up the passenger seating area. This area is fitted between moulded, compartmentalized buoyancy tanks, which also form part of the outer hull, sides and bottom. Immediately in front of each row of seating is a horizontal stainless steel support bar at arm's reach, grasped by the passengers to assist them in remaining seated during the whitewater ride. There is no central aisle and crew members who need to walk forward from the steering station do so on the top surface of the 0.8 metres wide, side buoyancy tanks.

There is a breakwater windshield forward, which rises approximately 0.7 metres above the foredeck. Its primary purpose is to shield passengers from large volumes of water coming over the bow. The passengers are nevertheless exposed to water coming over the top and around the sides of the windshield. However, the passengers expect the wet ride, as promotional brochures and a video viewed before the excursion illustrate this effect.

Photo 2 - Proceeding into Devil's Hole

Photo 2.  Proceeding into Devil's Hole

The water which accumulates in the passenger area can rise briefly to waist level before exiting through one-way water evacuation ports which are located aft, on the port and starboard sides. There are no other freeing ports. The steering and engine control station is located aft and is protected from spray by a partial enclosure with a windshield giving the operator clear visibility in all directions.

Safety Precautions

A mandatory pre-departure safety briefing (approximately 10 to 15 minutes in length) includes a safety lecture and makes reference to posted signs highlighting the inherent risk of the activity. There were information brochures about the trip available, however there is conflicting information as to whether or not these were distributed prior to the occurrence. While it is not mandatory, prior to departure passengers can view a video outlining the trip upon which they are about to embark. Every passenger must wear the approved small vessel lifejacket provided and optional rain gear is available. The pre-boarding briefing also includes instruction and a demonstration of the importance of using the support bar. The operator repeats this instruction to the passengers immediately prior to traversing the rapids.

Prior to boarding the Saute Moutons 14, each passenger must fill out and sign a waiver, called a "participation agreement". The company attaches a greater risk to individuals who may be suffering from back, neck or other ailments, and the operator encourages such people to inform the staff of their medical situation. The final decision to allow or disallow a passenger's participation in the excursion is taken by the vessel's operator.

Children under the age of six and pregnant women are not allowed to take the trip. When seniors, and persons who identify themselves as having medical problems, are allowed to board, they are usually directed to sit in the after two rows of seats. This is very close to the pivot point of the vessel and as such there is less movement at this position than elsewhere on the vessel.

The passengers do not have restraining seat belts, as quick evacuation is of prime importance were the vessel to capsize. Once seated, the passengers are instructed to keep their backs straight and bodies immobile by pushing with their arms (locking of the elbows) and hands against the support bar immediately in front of them. In the event that a large wave breaks over the bow, the passengers are instructed not to lower their heads towards the support bar but to tuck their chins in against their chests. Other instructions include the request that passengers raise their arms when prompted by the operator. A "no show of hands" is taken to mean that all is not well with the passengers.

The crew consisted of a team leader, an operator and a videographer.

The operator held a limited master certificate as required by Transport Canada.

The Excursion

A typical excursion departs Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, at slow speed and, once clear of nearby marinas, gradually builds up to maximum speed. Upstream from Queenston, New York, the vessel begins to ascend mild rapids, the waves of which become significantly larger near the American power dam generating station. A short distance further, the rapids again increase in size, primarily due to the 20+ knot current.

In the area of high turbulence called Devil's Hole, the waves generated are compression waves which are not the result of water passing over large underwater rocks but are primarily due to a large variable volume of water being compressed into the narrow confines of the gorge. The estimated water depth in the Devil's Hole area of the Niagara River is 20 to 23 metres. The height of the waves from trough to crest is approximately 3 to 4 metres under normal conditions, and the distance between the crests can sometimes be less than the length of the Saute Moutons 14.

Once upstream of, and having by-passed Devil's Hole, the operator indicates to the passengers that they will be making a practice run with the current, starting at the Whirlpool and passing into Devil's Hole. This practice run is meant to familiarize the passengers with the vessel's movement and minimize any anxiety. The passengers are asked to raise their arms as described above. The final run proceeds from the Whirlpool, into Devil's Hole rapids and the remaining rapids before returning to Niagara-on-the-Lake. Each trip is videotaped so that passengers can purchase a copy as a memento of their tour. The round trip from Niagara-on-the-Lake normally takes about 60 minutes.

The Occurrence

The two passengers, who were subsequently swept overboard, were seated on the starboard side of the second row. They are sisters. At the time of the occurrence the sisters, both in their twenties, were good swimmers and in excellent health. All passengers were wearing lifejackets.

At approximately 1730 eastern daylight time1 on 02 September 2001, the Saute Moutons 14 set out from Niagara-on-the-Lake with 43 passengers. The trip was uneventful until 1814, when the final trip from the Niagara Gorge Whirlpool near Devil's Hole began. Just prior to entering the Devil's Hole rapids, the passengers were asked if they wished to proceed 'sideways' into the rapids. Reportedly, the majority of passengers agreed (see Appendix A - Area of Occurrence).

The expression 'proceeding sideways' into the rapids means that the vessel encounters the large waves at an oblique angle and side slips into the trough. The result of this is that the volume of water shipped into the starboard and port forward passenger seating areas is substantially increased.

While manoeuvring in this fashion, the operator navigated the vessel into the Devil's Hole rapids and more water than usual was shipped aboard. Based on the comparisons of this trip's video with videos of previous trips, the speed of the Saute Moutons 14 appeared to be maintained. As the trip progressed, an on-board video camera, operated by a crew member, recorded a deluge of water - increasing in frequency and volume - being shipped over the bow and windshield. The passengers were waist and chest deep in water. In addition, due to the constant spray, there was very little opportunity for the forward three or four rows of passengers to catch their breath.

Photo 3 - Forward section submerging

Photo 3.  Forward section submerging

At approximately 1815, about three quarters of the distance through the rapids, the passenger area remained full with water and the vessel approached in quick succession, a large trough and subsequent wave. The vessel proceeded into the trough and wave with no let up in speed. The forward section of the vessel's windshield and the forward half of the passenger complement disappeared from view, after having passed through the wave. These passengers were completely submerged for approximately four to five seconds beyond the wave before the forward half of the vessel rose to the surface.

As the bow of the vessel was under water and rising to the surface, the outflow of water carried the outboard of the two sisters over the side. The inboard sister attempted to keep her on board but was carried or pulled overboard. At this time the operator had reduced power which slowed the vessel and at the same time noticed the second passenger going over the starboard side.

The trip leader, who was then seated in the first row, was not immediately aware that two passengers had gone overboard. After a number of passengers raised the alarm, the trip leader proceeded over several rows of seats to the side of the vessel, aft of midships, and noticed one person in the water. With the assistance of several passengers, the trip leader brought the person (first sister overside) aboard within five seconds.

The operator advised that he did not need to manoeuvre the water jet boat in order to have the second sister brought aboard. The vessel crew reported that they had not lost sight of the second sister and that they had her back aboard within 15 to 20 seconds.

Both sisters subsequently stated that their time in the water was longer than that reported by the crew, and that they were sucked down for part of that time.

An on-board assessment by the crew determined that immediate hospitalization was unnecessary, so the vessel returned to its base. On arrival at approximately 1830, a staff member, who held a full time position as an Emergency Medical Services paramedic, could not detect any signs of shock or trauma. They were given some bandages for the cuts and abrasions to their hands and legs.

Analysis

Performance of Saute Moutons 14 with Residual Water Aboard

The excursion jet boat ride is advertised as a wet ride and the open passenger seating compartment is intermittently filled with water to waist level. While the water is evacuated relatively quickly through two one-way evacuation port openings at the after end of the passenger seating area, when so loaded with water, the vessel's draught increases. When moving ahead it is thus deeper in the water and tends to be less lively. The reduced freeboard also caused a large volume of water to flow over the port and starboard bows.

Immediately prior to the occurrence, the time between wave encounters did not allow the vessel to evacuate the water and re-acquire its normal operating draught. Thus, when the vessel bow dipped down into the next wave trough it did not rise with the next approaching wave but rather ploughed into it. The vessel continued to submerge its bow at a location beyond the wave as seen in the trip video replay. The availability of the high engine horsepower (1620 hp) applied to the water jets allowed the operator to continue to move the vessel, with the passenger compartment in a flooded condition. Power was not reduced until the forward section of the vessel had been driven underwater.

Operator Situational Awareness

The operator of a water jet boat needs to split his attention between the safe navigation and manoeuvring of the vessel and the safety of the passengers with respect to their seated positions and also to their level of water exposure. The operating company has detailed experience and training requirements to be met before an operator is allowed to navigate a passenger water jet .boat. The operator of the Saute Moutons 14 had been operating the vessel for three seasons without undue incident. During this time there was no report of a passenger injury while he was operating the vessel.

Prior to the occurrence, a speed was maintained that did not allow the time needed for the vessel to recover, or nearly recover, its normal operating draught before proceeding into the next wave. During this period, the level of awareness respecting passenger safety was less than adequate.

Risks to Passengers

There is no record of other passengers being carried overboard in the history of company operations. Since operations began, the company has carried over 500 000 passengers without undergoing a similar occurrence. Other past information concerning passengers who involuntarily enter rapids, is very limited.

Just prior to the time of the Saute Moutons 14 occurrence, the passengers were subjected to substantial water flow pressure against their upper bodies while moving ahead underwater. The known risks associated with the ride, described as a 'thrill wet ride', were increased when the forward section of the vessel proceeded ahead submerged. This action went well beyond what the passengers expected.

Medical Assessment of the Victims

The recovered persons were assessed by a paramedic in the operating company's employ upon the vessel's return to Niagara-on-the-Lake. Based on the paramedic's assessment, they did not need further medical attention except for small cuts and abrasions. It has been indicated that a person entering the turbulent waters of 'white water' rapids will possibly experience some disorientation which could magnify the original traumatic experience.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The manner in which the operator was manoeuvring the vessel for a brief moment prior to the occurrence indicates that he was not sufficiently cognisant or aware of the danger to which the passengers were exposed.
  2. Engine power, in excess of that required for normal operating parameters, appears to have been maintained just prior to and during the time of the occurrence.
  3. There was insufficient time between wave encounters for the Saute Moutons 14 to evacuate the water shipped aboard before the bow and forward passenger area became submerged.
  4. While the vessel's bow was resurfacing, large volumes of water flowed out of the passenger compartment and one person, followed by another, was carried overboard.

Safety Action

Action Taken

At the end of the 2001 season, Niagara Gorge Whirlpool Jet Boats Ltd. advised that the bailing ducts, which evacuate water from the passenger area, were expanded in size and re-designed. The previous design incorporated a 90 degree turn in the duct. The new design and larger construction will allow the same volume of water to be evacuated in a straight line direction aft and thus shed water faster from the passenger seating area. The weight of the water exiting in the reconstructed tubes helps to bring the bow up and drop the stern, further helping to trim the boat.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 03 December 2003.

Appendix A - Area of Occurrence

Appendix A - Area of Occurrence


1. All times are eastern daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time [UTC] minus 4 hours).

Rapport d'enquête maritime M01C0063

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Chute par-dessus bord
de passagers de l'hydrojet Saute Moutons 14
dans la gorge de la rivière Niagara (Ontario)
le 2 septembre 2001

Résumé

Vers 18 h 15, heure avancée de l'Est, alors que l'hydrojet Saute Moutons 14 franchissait des rapides, la moitié avant du bateau s'est retrouvée complètement submergée. Deux personnes ont été emportées par les eaux et ont été rapidement repêchées. Elles ont subi des meurtrissures et des coupures mineures.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Fiche technique du bateau

  « SAUTE MOUTONS 14 »
Numéro officiel 823547
Port d'attache St. Catharines (Ontario)
Pavillon Canada
Type Hydorjets à passagers
Jauge brute 7
Longueur 12 m
Tirant d'eau av. : 0.735 metres ar. : 0.573 metres
Construction 1996, Kingston (Ontario)
Propulsion Deux moteurs diesels turbocompressés de 810 HP; propulsion par hydrojets
Équipage 3 membres
Passagers 43 passagers
Propriétaire Niagara Gorge Jet Boating Ltd.

Description du bateau et fonctionnement

Photo 1 - Hydrojets à passagers

Photo 1.  Hydrojets à passagers

Le Saute Moutons 14 est conçu pour la navigation dans les rapides et en eau vive. De construction robuste, ses sections très résistantes en aluminium lui permettent de supporter les accélérations rapides et les contraintes importantes auxquelles il est exposé. C'est un parallépipède à fond plat dont l'avant est légèrement relevé.

La grande puissance de ses moteurs, associée à la propulsion par hydrojets, lui permet d'atteindre une allure de 50 noeuds en eau calme. Le Saute Moutons 14 est très manoeuvrable et peut accomplir des girations très serrées sur son axe, à vive allure.

Le compartiment passagers comprend sept rangées de bancs coussinés de mousse et montés sur des ressorts pour amortir les chocs, protégés par des caisses de flottabilité latérales compartimentées qui sont intégrées au carénage, au fond plat et aux bords latéraux. Juste devant chaque rangée de sièges, il y a, à portée de bras, une barre d'appui horizontale en acier inoxydable à laquelle les passagers peuvent se cramponner pour rester assis pendant les passages en eaux vives. Il n'y a pas d'allée centrale, et les membres de l'équipage peuvent se rendre à l'avant du bateau en marchant sur les caisses de flottabilité latérales de 0,8 m de largeur.

Le pont découvert avant est équipé d'un pare-brise de quelque 0,7 m de haut qui protège les passagers des grandes quantités d'eau que le bateau embarque par l'avant. Toutefois, les passagers ne sont pas complètement à l'abri parce que le bateau embarque quand même de l'eau par-dessus le pare-brise et les bords latéraux. Les passagers s'attendent cependant à être mouillés puisque cela est indiqué dans les dépliants publicitaires et montré dans la vidéo qui leur est présentée avant le départ.

Photo 2 - Vers Devil's Hole

Photo 2.  Vers Devil's Hole

L'eau embarquée peut s'accumuler temporairement dans le compartiment passagers jusqu'à la taille, avant d'être évacuée par les sabords de décharge situés à l'arrière, sur bâbord et tribord. Il n'y a pas d'autres sabords de décharge. Le poste de commande du gouvernail et des moteurs est à l'arrière et est protégé des embruns par une demi-cabine munie d'un pare-brise qui offre au conducteur une bonne visibilité dans toutes les directions.

Précautions

Une séance d'information obligatoire avant le départ, d'une durée de 10 à 15 minutes, comprend un exposé sur la sécurité au cours duquel on attire l'attention des passagers sur les panneaux d'avertissement qui soulignent les risques liés à l'activité. Il existait des brochures d'information sur l'excursion, mais l'enquête n'a pas permis d'établir si celles-ci ont été distribuées avant le début de l'excursion qui a mené à l'accident, car les témoignages recueillis ne concordent pas. Avant le départ, les passagers peuvent visionner une vidéo donnant un aperçu de l'excursion qu'ils s'apprêtent à faire, mais ce n'est pas obligatoire. Chaque passager doit porter le gilet de sauvetage approuvé pour petit bâtiment qui est fourni et peut également mettre un imperméable qui est lui aussi fourni. La séance d'information avant l'embarquement comprend des consignes de sécurité ainsi qu'une démonstration illustrant l'importance de bien se cramponner à la barre d'appui. Le conducteur répète ces consignes aux passagers juste avant de s'engager dans les rapides.

Avant d'embarquer sur le Saute Moutons 14, chaque passager doit remplir et signer un formulaire d'abandon de recours appelé « entente de participation » (participation agreeement). L'entreprise souligne le fait que les personnes souffrant de maux de dos, de douleurs au cou ou d'autres malaises courent un plus grand risque, et le conducteur demande aux personnes qui présentent un problème médical d'en informer le personnel. Le conducteur du bateau a le droit de refuser de prendre une personne à bord pour l'excursion; c'est à lui que revient la décision finale. L'excursion est interdite aux enfants de moins de six ans et aux femmes enceintes. Lorsqu'on prend à bord des aînés ou des personnes qui avouent souffrir de problèmes de santé, on leur demande habituellement de s'asseoir sur un siège des deux dernières rangées. Ces rangées sont plus près du point de pivot du bateau et le mouvement se fait moins sentir que partout ailleurs sur le bateau.

Les passagers n'ont pas de ceintures de sécurité, car il est primordial de pouvoir évacuer rapidement le bateau s'il chavire. Une fois assis, les passagers sont priés de rester immobiles, le dos bien droit, en poussant des bras et des mains, coudes bloqués, sur la barre d'appui qui se trouve juste devant eux. Ils reçoivent aussi instruction que si une grosse vague venait à déferler sur l'avant, de ne pas incliner la tête vers la barre d'appui, mais plutôt de serrer le menton contre la poitrine. On leur dit aussi de lever les bras lorsque le conducteur le demande, pour indiquer que tout va bien; c'est ainsi que le conducteur peut savoir s'il y a un problème.

L'équipage était constitué du chef d'excursion, du conducteur du bateau et d'un vidéaste.

Le conducteur du bateau était titulaire d'un certificat de capitaine avec restrictions, conformément aux exigences de Transports Canada.

L'excursion

Au cours d'une excursion typique, le bateau quitte Niagara-on-the-Lake (Ontario) à faible allure et accélère progressivement jusqu'à sa vitesse maximale après avoir paré les marinas voisines. En amont de Queenston (New York), le bateau commence à remonter de petits rapides où les vagues deviennent beaucoup plus grosses près de la centrale hydro-électrique américaine. Un peu plus loin, les eaux deviennent encore plus tumultueuses, surtout à cause du courant très fort de plus de 20 noeuds.

Dans les eaux tumultueuses de la zone appelée « Devil's Hole », les vagues sont des ondes de compression qui ne sont pas le résultat du passage de l'eau sur de gros rochers sous-marins, mais plutôt le résultat d'un grand volume d'eau qui s'engouffre dans la gorge étroite. La profondeur d'eau estimée dans cette zone de la rivière Niagara est de 20 à 23 m. La hauteur des vagues du creux à la crête est de 3 ou 4 mètres dans des conditions normales, et la distance entre les crêtes peut parfois être inférieure à la longueur du Saute Moutons 14.

Une fois en amont, après avoir contourné Devil's Hole, le conducteur prévient les passagers qu'il va faire une descente d'entraînement, à partir de la marmite (whirlpool) jusqu'a Devil's Hole. Cette descente vise à familiariser les passagers avec les mouvements du bateau et à les rassurer. On demande alors aux passagers de lever les bras comme on l'a décrit précédemment. Pour la dernière partie du parcours, le bateau part de la marmite, descend les rapides de Devil's Hole puis franchit les derniers rapides avant de rentrer à Niagara-on-the-Lake. Chaque excursion est filmée, et les passagers peuvent acheter un exemplaire de la vidéo comme souvenir. Le trajet aller-retour à partir de Niagara-on-the-Lake dure environ une heure.

L'accident

Les deux passagères, qui ont été emportées par les eaux, étaient assises du côté tribord dans la deuxième rangée. Il s'agit de deux soeurs, alors dans la vingtaine, bonnes nageuses et en excellente santé. Tous les passagers portaient des gilets de sauvetage.

Vers 17 h 30 heure avancée de l'Est (HAE)1 le 2 septembre 2001, le Saute Moutons 14 a quitté Niagara-on-the-Lake avec 43 passagers à son bord. L'excursion s'est déroulée sans incident jusqu'à 18 h 14, c'est-à-dire jusqu'à ce que le bateau entame la dernière partie du parcours à partir de la marmite de la gorge de la rivière Niagara près de Devil's Hole. Juste avant de s'engager dans les rapides de Devil's Hole, on a demandé aux passagers s'ils voulaient franchir les rapides latéralement. Selon l'information recueillie, la majorité des passagers étaient d'accord (voir l'Annexe A - Croquis des lieux de l'accident).

Franchir les rapides latéralement signifie que le bateau reçoit les grosses vagues obliquement et dérive latéralement dans les creux, ce qui augmente considérablement la quantité d'eau embarquée par les deux bords de la partie avant du compartiment passagers.

Le conducteur a donc engagé le bateau dans les rapides de Devil's Hole de cette manière, ce qui a augmenté de façon inhabituelle la quantité d'eau embarquée. Si l'on compare la vidéo de l'excursion qui a mené à l'accident avec d'autres vidéos, on constate que le Saute Moutons 14 semble maintenir sa vitesse. La vidéo tournée à bord par un membre de l'équipage montre que plus l'excursion progressait, plus le bateau embarquait de l'eau par l'avant et par-dessus le pare-brise. Les passagers avaient de l'eau jusqu'à la taille et la poitrine. De plus, à cause des embruns constants, les passagers des trois ou quatre premières rangées avant avaient de la difficulté à respirer.

Photo 3 - Partie avant submergée

Photo 3.  Partie avant submergée

Vers 18 h 15, alors que le bateau avait franchi environ les trois quarts de la distance dans les rapides et que le compartiment passagers était rempli d'eau, le bateau a traversé rapidement et sans ralentir un important creux ainsi que la grosse vague suivante. Le pare-brise et la moitié avant du compartiment passagers ont momentanément disparu, engloutis par la vague. Les passagers avant ont été complètement submergés pendant quatre ou cinq secondes avant que la moitié avant du bateau ne refasse surface.

Alors que le nez du bateau encore sous l'eau remontait à la surface, la passagère assise vers l'extérieur a été emportée par les eaux. Celle qui se trouvait le plus à l'intérieur a tenté de la retenir, mais elle a été aspirée et emportée par-dessus bord. Pendant ce temps, le conducteur avait coupé les gaz pour ralentir le bateau, et il a vu la seconde victime passer par-dessus bord sur tribord.

Le chef d'excursion, qui était assis dans la première rangée, ne s'est pas immédiatement aperçu que deux personnes avaient été emportées par-dessus bord. Alerté par des passagers, il a enjambé plusieurs rangées de sièges pour se rendre sur le côté, à l'arrière de la mi-longueur du bateau, d'où il a repéré une des victimes dans l'eau. Avec l'aide de quelques passagers, il a réussi, en moins de 5 secondes, à repêcher la première des deux victimes.

Le conducteur a indiqué qu'il n'avait pas eu besoin de manoeuvrer le bateau pour repêcher la deuxième victime. Les membres de l'équipage ont indiqué qu'ils n'avaient jamais perdu de vue la deuxième victime et qu'ils ont réussi à la hisser à bord en 15 ou 20 secondes.

Les deux victimes ont par la suite déclaré qu'elles avaient passé plus de temps dans l'eau que ce que prétend l'équipage et qu'elles avaient été aspirées vers le fond pendant quelque temps.

Après avoir fait une première évaluation de l'état des deux victimes, les membres de l'équipage ont jugé qu'elles n'avaient pas besoin d'être amenées à l'hôpital immédiatement, et le bateau est rentré à la base. Un membre du personnel de la compagnie, qui occupait à plein temps un poste de travailleur paramédical, a indiqué qu'à son arrivée vers 18 h 30 il n'avait décelé aucun signe de choc ou de trauma chez les victimes. On a donné des pansements aux victimes pour leurs coupures et leurs meurtrissures aux mains et aux jambes.

Analyse

Comportement du Saute Moutons 14 avec de l'eau à l'intérieur de la coque

Selon la publicité, les passagers doivent s'attendre à se mouiller au cours de l'excursion en hydrojet et il arrive que le pont découvert où se trouvent les banquettes des passagers se remplisse d'eau par intermittence, parfois jusqu'à la taille des passagers. Bien que l'eau s'évacue assez vite par les sabords de décharge qui se trouvent à l'extrémité arrière du compartiment passagers, la présence d'eau à l'intérieur de la coque augmente le tirant d'eau du bateau qui est alors plus enfoncé dans l'eau et répond moins bien. À cause de ce franc-bord réduit, le bateau embarque aussi de plus grandes quantités d'eau par l'avant.

Juste avant l'accident, les vagues se succédaient si rapidement que le bateau n'avait pas le temps d'évacuer toute l'eau qu'il embarquait et de revenir à son tirant d'eau normal. C'est ce qui explique que, lorsque le bateau a piqué du nez dans le creux de la vague, il n'a pas réussi à se redresser assez vite pour remonter sur la crête suivante, mais il a plutôt enfourné. La vidéo montre que l'avant du bateau s'est retrouvé momentanément englouti sous la vague. La propulsion dans l'eau étant assurée par des hydrojets d'une puissance de 1620 HP, le conducteur a pu continuer à manoeuvrer même avec le compartiment passagers inondé. Ce n'est que lorsque l'avant du bateau a plongé sous l'eau que le bateau a ralenti.

Conscience de la situation du conducteur

Le conducteur d'hydrojet doit s'occuper de la navigation et de la conduite en toute sécurité du bateau ainsi que de la sécurité des passagers (place qu'ils occupent sur les banquettes et leur exposition à l'eau). L'entreprise a établi des exigences précises en matière de formation et d'expérience pour les conducteurs d'hydrojets. Le conducteur du Saute Moutons 14 en était à sa troisième saison sans incident comme conducteur d'hydrojet, et on ne compte aucune blessure à des passagers pendant ses heures de service comme conducteur.

Avant l'accident, du fait de son allure, le bateau n'avait pas le temps de revenir à son tirant d'eau normal avant d'affronter la vague suivante. Pendant cette période, la prise de conscience de la situation des passagers laissait à désirer.

Risques pour les passagers

L'entreprise a transporté plus de 500 000 passagers depuis qu'elle a ouvert ses portes et on ne compte aucun autre cas de passagers qui ont été emportés par les eaux ni aucun autre cas semblable. Il existe très peu d'information concernant des passagers qui auraient été entraînés dans les rapides malgré eux.

Juste avant l'accident du Saute Moutons 14, les passagers ont été exposés à une pression d'eau considérable sur le haut du corps lorsque le bateau immergé est remonté à la surface. Les dangers associés aux passages en eau vive, décrits comme « des émotions fortes », se sont avérés plus grands lorsque l'avant du bateau a plongé sous l'eau. Cela dépassait de beaucoup ce à quoi les passagers s'attendaient.

Évaluation médicale des victimes

Au retour du bateau à Niagara-on-the-Lake, les victimes ont été examinées par un travailleur paramédical au service de l'entreprise; son évaluation indique que les victimes ont subi uniquement des meurtrissures et des coupures mineures et qu'elles n'avaient pas besoin d'autres soins médicaux. Selon l'information recueillie, quand on s'engage dans les eaux tumultueuses des rapides, on peut ressentir une certaine désorientation qui peut rendre l'expérience plus traumatisante.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. La façon dont le conducteur conduisait le bateau dans les instants qui ont précédé l'accident révèle qu'il n'était pas vraiment conscient des dangers auxquels ses passagers étaient exposés.
  2. Il semble que, dans les instants qui ont précédé l'accident et au moment de l'accident, les moteurs du bateau tournaient à un régime qui dépassait les paramètres de fonctionnement normal.
  3. Le Saute Moutons 14 passait trop rapidement d'une vague à l'autre pour avoir le temps d'évacuer l'eau embarquée, ce qui a provoqué la submersion de l'avant du bateau et de la partie avant du compartiment passagers.
  4. Lorsque l'avant du bateau est remonté à la surface, de grandes quantités d'eau ont été évacuées du compartiment passagers, et deux personnes ont été emportées par les eaux à tour de rôle.

Mesures de sécurité

Mesures prises

À la fin de la saison 2001, la Niagara Gorge Whirlpool Jet Boats Ltd. a indiqué qu'elle avait fait modifier et élargir les conduits d'évacuation permettant d'assécher le compartiment passagers. Les anciens conduits comportaient un coude à 90 degrés. Les nouveaux conduits, plus gros, permettront l'évacuation en ligne droite vers l'arrière des mêmes quantités d'eau, assurant un assèchement plus rapide du compartiment passagers. En outre, le poids de l'eau évacuée par les nouveaux conduits aidera à relever le nez du bateau et à abaisser l'arrière, de façon à optimiser l'assiette du bateau.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 3 décembre 2003.

Annexe A - Croquis des lieux de l'accident

Annexe A - Croquis des lieux de l'accident

1. Les heures sont exprimées en HAE (temps universel coordonné [UTC] moins 4 heures).