Marine Investigation Report M04C0037

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Striking of St. Lawrence Seaway Bridge 12
Bulk Carrier Federal Maas
St. Lawrence Seaway, Ontario
15 August 2004

Summary

On 15 August 2004 at 1525 eastern daylight time, while exiting Iroquois Lock in the St. Lawrence Seaway, the bulk carrier Federal Maas struck Bridge 12 at the lower end of the lock. The vessel sustained damage to its port bridge wing. Damage to Bridge 12, which was not fully raised, was minimal and the lock was closed to traffic for approximately four hours.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

Name
Federal Maas
Official Number
725438
Port of Registry
Bridgetown, Barbados
Flag
Barbados
Type
Bulk carrier
Gross Tons1
20 837
Length
200 m
Draught
Forward: 7.65 m     Aft: 7.78 m
Built
Shanghai, China, 1997
Propulsion
One B&W six-cylinder slow-speed diesel engine, 7706 kW, with a single fixed-pitch propeller
Cargo
19 798 tonnes of corn
Crew Members
24
Owner
Great Lakes Inc.
Monrovia, Liberia
Manager
AngloEastern Ship Management
Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

History of the Voyage

On 11 August 2004, the Federal Maas departed Burns Harbour, Chicago, United States, bound for Montréal, Quebec, en route to Algeria, with 19 798 tonnes of corn. The vessel had an uneventful voyage downbound through the Great Lakes/St. Lawrence Seaway, arriving at Iroquois Lock at 1500 eastern daylight time2 on August 15. As the Federal Maas approached Iroquois Lock, the head structures operator (HSO) and two canal structures operators (CSOs) went to the control kiosk at the upper (west) end of the lock (see Figure 2). One of the CSOs opened the upper gates, raised the arrester wire boom, activated the green navigation light, and waited as the vessel proceeded into the lock. In order to ensure that the vessel could be tied up quickly in the event of propulsion or steering equipment failure, both CSOs walked along the lock wall with the vessel. The HSO accompanied CSO 1 to the forward end of the vessel and assisted in securing the vessel's No. 2 wire to a bit and "spot" the vessel into position. CSO 1 then returned to the stern of the vessel to help with the tie up, before proceeding to the upper control kiosk.

Photo 1. Federal Maas (by permission of Chris Franckowiak)
Photo 1. Federal Maas (by permission of Chris Franckowiak)

The HSO proceeded to the lower control kiosk and, using the computer control station within, initiated the opening of Bridge 12.3 Before the bridge reached its full open position, the upper approach lights were switched from green to red by CSO 1 from the upper control kiosk using the lock computer control system. Shortly afterward, CSO 1 informed the HSO that the upper end of the lock was ready to close, meaning that the green approach light had been switched to red.

At about this time, the pilot on board the vessel requested that the HSO read the forward draught marks. The HSO proceeded out of the lower control kiosk. The bells on Bridge 12 had stopped, indicating that the bridge was no longer in motion. CSO 2, stationed at the upper control kiosk, then opened the lower gates and arrester boom, and the vessel was cast off, with the HSO releasing the No. 2 wire at the bow.

The vessel exited the lock proceeding at 1.5 knots along the lower approach wall. Both the pilot and master were on the starboard side of the vessel's bridge; as such, Bridge 12 was not clearly in view. As the vessel's accommodation structure passed Bridge 12, the port bridge wing struck the centre of the span of Bridge 12.

The vessel was secured along the approach wall, and navigation through the lock was suspended for four hours while the damage to Bridge 12 was assessed and temporary repairs were made to the vessel.

Figure 1. Location of occurrence
Figure 1. Location of occurrence

Damage to the Vessel and Bridge 12

Damage to the vessel was confined to the port extendable section of the bridge wing and aft bridge wing bulwark. Damage to Bridge 12 was minor, and was limited to a light fixture and associated wiring at mid span.

Photo 2. Damaged bridge wing
Photo 2. Damaged bridge wing

Environmental Conditions

Weather was clear at the time of the occurrence, with calm winds and visibility estimated at 10 miles.

Lock Control System

Until 2001, the lock was operated from a control tower located at the lower end of the lock. At that time, a new control system was installed that comprised three computer control stations, one at each end of the lock, and a centralized station in a building midway along the lock.

Figure 2. Layout of lock control stations
Figure 2. Layout of lock control stations

Closed-circuit television (CCTV) cameras were installed to allow lock operators to view all equipment. Following an accident in 2003 at Lock No. 3 in the Welland Canal, during which a ship arrester was lowered onto the Federal Saguenay,4 programming changes were made to the control systems at Seaway locks including Iroquois Lock. The changes made by the St. Lawrence Seaway Management Corporation (SLSMC) were as follows:

  • When the "end fully open" signal is obtained, a white message "end open and locked" is to be displayed on the screen. When ready to operate the equipment at this end of the lock, the operator must click on "unlock upper/lower end" and answer Yes or No when prompted. The operator has 30 seconds to initiate the desired operation or the end will revert to locked status.
  • After the lock is full, the gates and bridge will open. When all movement is complete, the "upper end locked" message appears and the upper end is then locked. At this time, the following equipment cannot be moved: upper and lower gates, upper and lower ship arresters, and bridges.

The changes were not fully tested or simulated before the control system was put in use at the lock stations. Following the implementation of these modifications, the staff noted that, when the lock was opened and the message "end opened and locked" was displayed, equipment at both ends was locked out. The system was again modified such that one end was able to operate should the opposite end be locked out.

Following this modification, another problem was noted by the staff at Iroquois Lock. In order to operate the upper end, the red light must be on. However, when the upper navigation lights are switched from green to red while the bridge is in motion, the bridge immediately stops, regardless of its position. This deficiency was noted by SLSMC staff and, on 05 August 2004, all operating shifts were informed verbally and a warning note was posted on the computer control stations (see Photo 3); however, no formal information concerning the problem or modified procedures was passed on to the affected operating staff.

Photo 3. Warning note concerning problem of bridge opening
Photo 3. Warning note concerning problem of bridge opening

Before the computer control modifications in 2004, a bell would sound until Bridge 12 was in its fully raised position. Subsequent to the modifications, however, the bell stops ringing when the bridge stops moving, regardless of its position. As the bridge opens, the mimic display at the control stations shows a bridge animation that diminishes in size relative to the angle of bridge opening. The display is such that the animation is not readily discernable during the final 10 degrees of bridge opening; however, the percentage of bridge opening is indicated at all times, throughout its range of motion. There are no interlocks to prevent the gates or arrester boom from opening should the bridge not be fully raised.

Lock Staffing

Iroquois Lock is crewed by three Seaway employees: an HSO and two CSOs. In this instance, in addition to overseeing all lock operations, the HSO was also tasked to do the following:

  • guide the vessel into position;
  • raise the bridge;
  • read and report the vessel's draught to the pilot; and
  • let go the vessel's forward mooring wires.

To complete these tasks, the HSO must be away from the central control room. At times, the locking duties are rotated among the lock staff to ensure that the required skills are maintained by all lock personnel. Either an HSO or a CSO must be in an operation station whenever equipment is in motion; however, procedure dictates that the bridge may not be operated from the upper control kiosk.

Analysis

Computer Control System

Once the vessel was secured in the lock, the opening of Bridge 12 was initiated by the HSO. Before the bridge reached its full open position, the upper approach lights were switched from green to red by CSO 1 from the upper control kiosk using the lock computer control system. As a consequence, the undesirable programming characteristic of the lock computer control system resulted in the warning bells ceasing and the bridge stopping at 92 per cent of its fully raised position.

Four indications are available to the lock operator to indicate that the bridge is fully raised:

  1. the computer mimic display indicates full open;
  2. the numeric display indicating the percentage that the bridge is open;
  3. the "end fully open and locked" notification; and
  4. a white light at the centre span of the bridge and the ship arrester.

When the bridge is in motion, a bell sounds on the bridge structure, indicating to operating staff that the bridge is in motion. When it stops moving, the bell stops, regardless of the position of the bridge. As the bridge opens, in addition to the digital numeric readout, the mimic display at the control stations shows an animation that diminishes in size relative to the angle of bridge opening. The display is such that the animation is not readily discernable during the final 10 degrees of bridge opening, and therefore careful attention to the digital readout is critical.

The computer-initiated interruption of the bridge coincided with the pilot on the Federal Mass requesting that the HSO read the vessel's draught. This request distracted the HSO, who did not check the white light on the central span to verify that the bridge was fully open. Additionally, the master and the pilot did not confirm that the bridge was fully open before the vessel commenced exiting the lock.

Interlocks are commonly used in machinery installations to ensure that an operation cannot be carried out unless preset safe conditions are present. There is no interlock between the bridge and the arrester boom and gates at Iroquois Lock. It is possible to operate the lower end of the lock (that is, raise the lower arrester boom/wire and open the lower gates) without the bridge being fully open. If for any reason5 Bridge 12 did not open fully, it would be possible for a vessel to attempt to enter or exit the lock and strike the bridge.

Lock Operations

In the absence of physical interlocks that prevent a vessel from exiting the lock before all obstructions have been cleared, the supervisory role of the HSO takes on added importance. At the time of the occurrence, the traffic control lights, lock gates, arrester wires, lights, and Bridge 12 were being operated by two separate lock personnel, at opposite ends of the lock. The HSO was multi-tasking, requiring him to work outside the control room to assist with the lockage of the vessel. Consequently, there was no person dedicated solely to monitoring the operation of the lock.

The central control station at the centre of the lock provides the operator a clear view of the upper and lower ends of the lock, as well as computer displays of the machinery status and CCTV displays from various camera locations in the lock area. Similar computer and CCTV displays are located at the upper and lower kiosks; however, the placement of the CCTV cameras provided a less-than-optimum view of the entire lock. Additionally, the bridge is not visible from the upper control kiosk and the view from the lower kiosk is such that the difference between 92 per cent and 100 per cent open is not readily discernable. Viewed down the lock from the central control location, the difference in elevation angle is more evident.

As two people are required to put mooring lines 1 and 3 onto their bits, the level of staffing is such that, to minimize the lockage time of the vessel for safety purposes, the HSO must leave the central control station to physically assist in the lockage operation. The advantages provided from such a central control station are therefore negated. Such an approach has the potential for the HSO to not fully appreciate the existing and developing situation, thereby compromising the vessel's safe transit through the lock.

The HSO does not have a clear view of the entire lock from either the lower or upper end control stations, and must rely on instrumentation as well as the other staff members to provide feedback on the disposition of the vessel and lock machinery. The locking procedure is known to the lock crew; however, no written checklists are used to ensure that lock machinery is operated in the appropriate sequence. Although the lock staff had been previously briefed on the computer control problem, the procedures for operating the lock had not been modified to reduce the possibility of the programming flaw affecting the operation of the bridge, or mitigate any consequences resulting therefrom. In the absence of formal checklists and modified procedures, the tasking of the HSO to physically participate in the lockage of the vessel hampered his ability to fully appreciate the situation.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. A known programming fault in the lock control system resulted in Bridge 12 stopping before the fully raised position.
  2. Although visual and audible cues were available, the head structures operator (HSO) became distracted and did not notice that the bridge had not opened fully.
  3. There was no formal checklist and, because procedures were not modified, the tasking of the HSO to physically participate in the lockage of the vessel hampered his ability to fully appreciate the situation.

Finding as to Risk

  1. There is no mechanical barrier to prevent gates and arrester booms from operating if the bridge is not fully raised. This allows vessels to enter or exit the lock and potentially strike the bridge.

Safety Action Taken

On 12 November 2004, a Marine Safety Information letter (MSI 08/04) was sent to the St. Lawrence Seaway Management Corporation (SLSMC), noting that there is no interlock between the bridge and the arrester boom/gates, and that it is still possible to raise or lower the arrester boom/wire and open the lower gates without the bridge being fully open. The MSI also highlighted that, because there were only three persons on duty at the time, the head structures operator (HSO) was multi-tasking and was required to work outside the control room to assist with the lockage of the vessel. As such, there was no person dedicated solely to monitoring the operation of the lock and the position of Bridge 12.

In response, the SLSMC indicated that it had initiated an internal investigation into the occurrence, which would include recommendations for improvement. The completed investigation included recommendations addressing control systems, equipment, operating procedures, and change management. For example:

  • the visibility of the bridge span mimic has been modified to eliminate the animation that reduces the size of the mimic as the bridge rises;
  • the interlock sequence was modified to ensure that a change from a green to a red navigation light does not stop the equipment during its operation;
  • an additional interlock has been added whereby Bridge 12 (Iroquois) must be fully raised before a green light (allowing a vessel to proceed into the lock) is displayed for a downbound vessel;
  • the audible tone will keep sounding while the equipment is between fully open and fully closed;
  • a "cast-off" light, for use by the lock crew, will be activated when all end equipment is fully open;
  • a simulator system is available for evaluating and testing changes off-line before the commissioning of control system changes;
  • operating procedures have been reviewed and a walk-through mode procedure is in place at Iroquois Lock;
  • the entire change-management process for control system changes has been examined and will be completed during the 2007-2008 fiscal year.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 07 June 2007.

Rapport d'enquête maritime M04C0037

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet événement dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Heurt du pont 12 de la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent
par le vraquier Federal Maas
dans la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent (Ontario)
le 15 août 2004

Résumé

Le 15 août 2004 à 15 h 25, heure avancée de l'Est, en quittant l'écluse d'Iroquois dans la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent, le vraquier Federal Maas heurte le pont 12, à l'extrémité aval de l'écluse. Le navire subit des avaries à son aileron de passerelle bâbord. Les dommages infligés au pont 12, qui n'était pas complètement levé, sont minimaux. L'écluse sera fermée à la navigation pendant environ quatre heures.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Fiche technique du navire

Nom
Federal Maas
Numéro officiel
725438
Port d'immatriculation
Bridgetown (Barbade)
Pavillon
Barbade
Type
Vraquier
Jauge brute1
20 837
Longueur
200 m
Tirant d'eau
Avant : 7,65 m    Arrière : 7,78 m
Construction
Shanghai (Chine), 1997
Groupe propulseur
Un moteur diesel lent B&W 6 cylindres développant 7 706 kW, entraînant une seule hélice à pas fixe
Cargaison
19 798 tonnes de maïs
Équipage
24 personnes
Propriétaires
Great Lakes Inc.
Monrovia (Libéria)
Gestionnaires
AngloEastern Ship Management
Pointe-Claire (Québec, Canada)

Déroulement du voyage

Le 11 août 2004, le Federal Maas appareille du port de Burns Harbor (Chicago, États-Unis) à destination de l'Algérie via Montréal (Québec), chargé de 19 798 tonnes de maïs. Le navire descend sans incident les Grands Lacs et la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent, arrivant à l'écluse d'Iroquois le 15 août à 15 h, heure avancée de l'Est2. Alors que le Federal Maas s'approche de l'écluse d'Iroquois, le responsable des structures et deux préposés aux structures du canal se rendent au poste de contrôle à l'extrémité amont (ouest) de l'écluse (voir la figure 2). Un des préposés aux structures ouvre les portes d'amont, fait monter le câble de retenue, allume le feu de navigation vert et attend que le navire entre dans l'écluse. Pour s'assurer que le navire puisse être amarré rapidement en cas de panne de l'appareil propulseur ou de l'appareil de gouverne, les deux préposés aux structures suivent le navire, à pied, sur le mur de l'écluse. Le responsable des structures accompagne le préposé aux structures 1 jusqu'à l'avant du navire et aide à fixer l'amarre no 2 du navire à une bitte et guide le positionnement du navire. Le préposé aux structures 1 retourne ensuite à l'arrière du navire et aide à son amarrage, avant de se rendre au poste de contrôle d'amont.

Photo 1. Le Federal Maas (photo reproduite avec l'autorisation de Chris Franckowiak)
Photo 1. Le Federal Maas (photo reproduite avec l'autorisation de Chris Franckowiak)

Le responsable des structures se rend au poste de contrôle d'aval et, au moyen du poste de commande informatisé s'y trouvant, il commande l'ouverture du pont 123. Avant que le pont ne soit complètement levé, le préposé aux structures 1 fait passer les feux d'approche d'amont du vert au rouge à partir du poste de contrôle d'amont, au moyen du système de commande informatisé de l'écluse. Peu après, le préposé aux structures 1 informe le responsable des structures que l'extrémité d'amont de l'écluse est prête à être fermée, signifiant que le feu d'approche est passé du vert au rouge.

Environ au même moment, le pilote à bord du navire demande que le responsable des structures lise l'échelle de tirant d'eau avant. Le responsable des structures quitte alors le poste de contrôle d'amont. La sonnerie du pont 12 a cessé, indiquant que le pont n'était plus en mouvement. Le préposé aux structures 2, qui se trouve au poste de contrôle d'amont, ouvre alors les portes et la barrière de retenue d'aval, et le navire est largué, le responsable des structures détachant l'amarre no 2 à l'avant.

Le navire quitte l'écluse, faisant 1,5 nœud le long du mur d'approche d'aval. Le pilote et le capitaine se trouvent tous deux du côté tribord de la passerelle du pont, de sorte qu'ils n'ont pas une vue dégagée sur le pont 12. Au moment où la superstructure des emménagements du navire passe sous le pont 12, l'aileron de passerelle bâbord heurte le centre de la travée du pont.

Le navire est alors amarré le long du mur d'approche, et la navigation dans l'écluse est interrompue pendant quatre heures pendant que les dommages subis par le pont 12 sont évalués et que des réparations temporaires sont effectuées sur le navire.

Figure 1. Lieu de l'événement
Figure 1. Lieu de l'événement

Avaries au navire et dommages au pont 12

Les avaries au navire sont limitées à la partie extensible bâbord de l'aileron de passerelle et au pavois arrière de l'aileron de passerelle. Les dommages au pont 12 sont mineurs : ils sont limités à un lampadaire au milieu de la travée et à son câblage.

Photo 2. Aileron de passerelle endommagé.
Photo 2. Aileron de passerelle endommagé.

Conditions environnementales

Au moment de l'événement, le temps est dégagé, les vents sont calmes et la visibilité estimée est de 10 milles.

Système de contrôle de l'écluse

Jusqu'en 2001, l'écluse était commandée depuis une tour de contrôle située à l'extrémité aval de l'écluse. Un nouveau dispositif de contrôle a ensuite été mis en place, comprenant trois postes de commande informatisés, un à chaque extrémité de l'écluse et un poste central dans un bâtiment à hauteur du milieu de l'écluse.

Figure 2. Disposition des postes de contrôle de l'écluse
Figure 2. Disposition des postes de contrôle de l'écluse

Des caméras d'un système de télévision en circuit fermé permettaient aux éclusiers de surveiller tout l'équipement. À la suite d'un accident survenu en 2003 à l'écluse no 3 du canal Welland, lorsqu'une barrière de retenue avait été abaissée sur le Federal Saguenay4, la programmation des dispositifs de commande des écluses de la Voie maritime avait été modifiée, y compris à l'écluse d'Iroquois. Les modifications apportées par la Corporation de Gestion de la Voie Maritime du Saint-Laurent (CGVMSL) étaient les suivantes :

  1. sur réception d'un signal indiquant qu'une extrémité est complètement ouverte, un message à cet effet est affiché à l'écran. Lorsqu'il est prêt à commander l'équipement à cette extrémité de l'écluse, le préposé doit cliquer sur un bouton pour déverrouiller l'extrémité soit d'amont, soit d'aval, puis confirmer la commande lorsque l'ordinateur le lui demande. Le préposé a 30 secondes pour donner la commande, sans quoi l'extrémité est de nouveau verrouillée;
  2. une fois que l'écluse est pleine, les portes s'ouvrent et le pont se lève. Lorsque tous les mouvements sont terminés, l'extrémité d'amont est verrouillée et un message est affiché à cet effet. Dès lors, l'équipement suivant ne peut plus être déplacé : portes d'amont et d'aval, barrières de retenue d'amont et d'aval, ponts.

Les modifications n'ont pas été pleinement mises à l'essai ou simulées avant que le système de contrôle soit mis en service aux postes d'écluse. À la suite des modifications, le personnel a constaté que quand l'écluse était ouverte et que s'affichait le message indiquant que l'extrémité était ouverte et verrouillée, l'équipement des deux extrémités était verrouillé. Le système a été à nouveau modifié de sorte qu'une extrémité puisse être commandée si l'extrémité opposée était verrouillée.

Après cette nouvelle modification, un autre problème a été constaté par le personnel de l'écluse d'Iroquois. Pour commander l'extrémité d'amont, le feu rouge devait être allumé. Cependant, lorsque les feux de navigation d'amont étaient commutés du vert au rouge tandis que le pont était en mouvement, le pont s'arrêtait immédiatement quelle que soit la position dans laquelle il se trouvait. Cette anomalie a été notée par le personnel de la CGVMSL Le 5 août 2004, toutes les équipes de travail en ont été informées verbalement, et une note d'avertissement a été affichée aux postes de commande informatisés (voir la photo 3); cependant, aucune information officielle sur le problème ni modification des procédures n'a été communiquée au personnel concerné.

Photo 3. Note signalant le problème touchant l'ouverture du pont
Photo 3. Note signalant le problème touchant l'ouverture du pont

Avant les modifications de 2004 au système de commande informatisé, une sonnerie retentissait jusqu'à ce que le pont 12 soit complètement levé. Depuis lors toutefois, la sonnerie cesse lorsque le pont arrête de bouger, quelle que soit sa position. À mesure que le pont monte, l'écran des poses de contrôle affiche l'image animée d'un pont dont la taille diminue à mesure qu'augmente l'angle d'ouverture du pont. L'affichage est tel que l'animation n'est pas aisément discernable dans les 10 derniers degrés d'ouverture du pont. Cependant, le pourcentage d'ouverture du pont est indiqué en tout temps, et sur toute la plage du mouvement. Il n'y a pas de verrouillage de sécurité empêchant que les portes de l'écluse ou la barrière de retenue s'ouvrent si le pont n'est pas complètement levé.

Personnel à l'écluse

Trois employés de la Voie maritime sont affectés à l'écluse d'Iroquois : un responsable des structures et deux préposés aux structures du canal. Dans le cas présent, en plus de surveiller toutes les opérations d'éclusage, le responsable des structures a aussi été chargé des tâches suivantes :

  • guider le positionnement du navire;
  • lever le pont;
  • lire le tirant d'eau du navire et l'indiquer au pilote;
  • larguer les câbles d'amarrage avant du navire.

Pour exécuter ces tâches, le responsable des structures doit quitter le poste de contrôle central. À l'occasion, les tâches liées à l'éclusage sont redistribuées entre les membres du personnel de l'écluse, afin de s'assurer que tous possèdent les aptitudes voulues. Soit le responsable des structures, soit un préposé aux structures doit se trouver dans un poste de contrôle quand de l'équipement est en mouvement. Cependant, la procédure prescrite prévoit que le pont ne peut pas être commandé depuis le poste de contrôle d'amont.

Analyse

Système de commande informatisé

Une fois que le navire a été amarré dans l'écluse, le responsable des structures a commandé l'ouverture du pont 12. Avant que le pont n'atteigne sa hauteur maximale, le préposé aux structures 1 a fait passer les feux d'approche d'amont du vert au rouge depuis le poste de contrôle d'amont, au moyen du système de commande informatisé de l'écluse. En conséquence, les anomalies de programmation du système de commande informatisé de l'écluse ont fait cesser la sonnerie et arrêter la montée du pont à 92 p. 100 de sa hauteur maximale.

Le préposé à l'écluse dispose de quatre éléments indiquant que le pont est complètement levé :

  1. la représentation du pont à l'ordinateur indiquant une ouverture complète;
  2. l'affichage numérique indiquant le pourcentage d'ouverture du pont;
  3. un message indiquant que l'extrémité est complètement ouverte et verrouillée;
  4. un feu blanc sur la travée centrale du pont et la barrière de retenue.

Une sonnerie retentit sur la structure du pont pour indiquer au personnel quand le pont est en mouvement. Lorsque le pont s'arrête, la sonnerie cesse quelle que soit la position du pont. À mesure que le pont monte, en plus d'un indicateur numérique, les écrans des postes de commande affichent une animation dont la taille diminue en même temps qu'augmente l'angle d'ouverture du pont. L'affichage est tel que l'animation n'est pas aisément discernable dans les 10 derniers degrés d'ouverture du pont. Il est donc essentiel de surveiller attentivement le pourcentage indiqué d'ouverture du pont.

L'ordinateur a commandé l'interruption du mouvement du pont en même temps que le pilote du Federal Maas demandait au responsable des structures de lire le tirant d'eau du navire. Cette demande a distrait le responsable des structures, qui n'a pas vérifié le feu blanc sur la travée centrale du pont afin de s'assurer que le pont était complètement ouvert. En outre, le capitaine et le pilote ont omis de chercher confirmation de la pleine ouverture du pont avant que le navire entame la sortie de l'écluse.

Des verrouillages de sécurité sont souvent utilisés dans des installations techniques afin d'éviter qu'une opération puisse être exécutée si les conditions permettant de le faire en toute sécurité ne sont pas réunies. Il n'y a pas de tel verrouillage reliant le pont, la barrière de retenue et les portes de l'écluse d'Iroquois. Il est possible de commander l'extrémité aval de l'écluse (c'est-à-dire lever la défense de retenue et ouvrir les portes) sans que le pont soit complètement levé. Si pour quelque raison que ce soit5 le pont 12 n'est pas complètement levé, il serait néanmoins possible qu'un navire tente d'entrer dans l'écluse ou d'en sortir, et heurte le pont.

Opérations d'éclusage

En l'absence de verrouillages physiques empêchant qu'un navire puisse sortir de l'écluse avant que toutes les obstructions aient été dégagées, la surveillance exercée par le responsable des structures revêt une importance d'autant plus grande. Au moment de l'événement, les feux de contrôle de la navigation, les portes de l'écluse, les câbles de retenue, les feux et le pont 12 étaient commandés par deux membres différents de l'équipe de l'écluse, chacun à une extrémité opposée de l'écluse. Le responsable des structures s'occupait de plusieurs tâches simultanément, de sorte qu'il devait quitter le poste de contrôle pour aider à l'éclusage du navire. En conséquence, aucun membre de l'équipe n'était expressément chargé de surveiller le déroulement de l'éclusage.

Le poste de contrôle central au milieu de l'écluse procure une vue dégagée des extrémités amont et aval de l'écluse, son ordinateur affiche la situation de l'équipement et un système de télévision en circuit fermé fournit des prises de vue depuis divers endroits dans la zone de l'écluse. Des écrans d'ordinateurs et de télévision semblables se trouvent dans les postes de contrôle d'amont et d'aval, mais la disposition des caméras ne permet pas d'obtenir une vue optimale de l'ensemble de l'écluse. En outre, le pont n'est pas visible depuis le poste de contrôle d'amont, et la vue depuis le poste de contrôle d'aval ne permet pas de reconnaître aisément la différence entre une ouverture à 92 p. 100 ou à 100 p. 100. Cette différence de l'angle d'élévation est plus évidente depuis le poste de contrôle central.

Comme il faut deux personnes pour fixer les amarres 1 et 3 à leurs bittes, la dotation en personnel fait que pour réduire au minimum le temps d'éclusage d'un navire et assurer la sécurité, le responsable des structures doit quitter le poste de contrôle central afin d'aider physiquement à l'éclusage. Les avantages du poste de contrôle central sont ainsi annulés. Une telle façon de procéder risque de faire en sorte que le responsable des structures ne saisisse pas bien la situation du moment ou son évolution, et peut ainsi compromettre la sécurité du passage du navire dans l'écluse.

Le responsable des structures n'a pas une vue dégagée de l'ensemble de l'écluse depuis les postes de contrôle d'aval ou d'amont, et doit s'en remettre à des instruments et aux autres membres de l'équipe pour connaître la disposition du navire et de l'équipement de l'écluse. L'équipe de l'écluse connaît la procédure d'éclusage; cependant, aucune liste de vérification écrite n'est utilisée pour s'assurer que l'équipement de l'écluse est commandé dans la séquence prévue. Même si le personnel de l'écluse avait été informé du problème touchant le système de commande informatisé, les méthodes d'éclusage n'avaient pas été modifiées pour réduire la possibilité que l'anomalie de programmation perturbe le fonctionnement du pont ou pour atténuer toute conséquence qui en découlerait. En l'absence de listes de vérifications ou de méthodes modifiées, la nécessité que le responsable des structures participe physiquement à l'éclusage du navire a entravé sa capacité de pleinement saisir la situation.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Une anomalie de programmation connue dans le système de contrôle de l'écluse a fait en sorte que le pont 12 s'est arrêté avant de parvenir à sa hauteur maximale.
  2. Même si des indications visuelles et sonores étaient disponibles, le responsable des structures a été distrait et n'a pas remarqué que le pont n'était pas complètement levé.
  3. Il n'y avait pas de liste de vérification officielle et, comme les méthodes n'avaient pas été modifiées, la nécessité que le responsable des structures participe physiquement à l'éclusage du navire a entravé sa capacité de pleinement saisir la situation.

Fait établi quant aux risques

  1. Il n'y a pas d'obstacle mécanique à ce que les portes et la barrière de retenue s'ouvrent si le pont n'est pas complètement levé. Les navires peuvent ainsi entrer dans l'écluse ou en sortir et éventuellement heurter le pont.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Le 12 novembre 2004, une lettre d'information sur la sécurité maritime (08/04) a été adressée à la Corporation de Gestion de la Voie Maritime du Saint-Laurent (CGVMSL). Elle faisait remarquer qu'il n'y avait pas de dispositif de verrouillage reliant le pont, la barrière de retenue et les portes, et empêchant de déplacer la barrière de retenue et d'ouvrir les portes d'aval si le pont n'est pas complètement levé. La lettre signalait également que comme il y avait seulement trois personnes en service au moment, le responsable des structures s'occupait de plusieurs tâches simultanément et devait travailler à l'extérieur du poste de contrôle pour aider à l'éclusage du navire. En conséquence, aucun membre de l'équipe n'était expressément chargé de surveiller le déroulement de l'éclusage et la position du pont 12.

La CGVMSL a répondu en indiquant qu'elle avait entamé une enquête interne sur l'événement, dont les conclusions comprendraient des recommandations visant à améliorer la situation. Au terme de l'enquête, des recommandations ont été formulées au sujet des systèmes de contrôle, de l'équipement, des méthodes et de la gestion du changement. Par exemple :

  • la visibilité de la représentation de la travée du pont à l'écran d'ordinateur a été modifiée en supprimant l'animation qui réduit la dimension de l'image à mesure que le pont monte;
  • la séquence de verrouillage de sécurité a été modifiée pour s'assurer que le passage d'un feu de navigation du vert au rouge n'arrête pas le fonctionnement de l'équipement;
  • un verrouillage de sécurité supplémentaire a été ajouté, faisant en sorte que le pont 12 (Iroquois) doive être complètement levé avant qu'un feu vert (autorisant un navire à entrer sans l'écluse) soit donné à un navire descendant;
  • l'alarme sonore continuera de retentir tant que l'équipement est entre les positions pleine ouverture et pleine fermeture;
  • un feu de largage destiné à l'équipe de l'écluse sera allumé lorsque tout l'équipement de l'extrémité est complètement ouvert;
  • un simulateur permet d'évaluer et mettre à l'essai les changements apportés au système de contrôle avant qu'ils ne soient mis en œuvre;
  • la procédure d'approche a été reconsidérée et une procédure d'éclusage sans amarrage a été instituée à l'écluse d'Iroquois;
  • l'ensemble du processus de gestion du changement à l'égard du système de contrôle a été examiné, et sera mis à jour dans l'exercice 2007-2008.

Ce rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet événement. Par conséquent, le Bureau en a autorisé la publication le 7 juin 2007.