Marine Investigation Report M05M0052

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Serious Injury
Ro-Ro Passenger Ferry Confederation
Wood Islands, Prince Edward Island
27 June 2005

Summary

On the afternoon of 27 June 2005, the ro-ro passenger ferry Confederation with 114 passengers on board departed Caribou, Nova Scotia, for Wood Islands, Prince Edward Island. The voyage was uneventful until the vessel was making preparations to dock at Wood Islands, when a crew member was discovered trapped in a watertight door. The crew member was quickly freed from the door and subsequently transported to hospital for treatment.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessel

  Confederation
Official Number 815540
Port of Registry Ottawa
Flag Canada
Type Ro-Ro passenger ferry
Gross Tons1 8060.8
Length 96.01 m
Draught Forward: 3.91 m Aft: 3.98 m
Built 1993, Pictou Industries Limited
Propulsion Wärtsilä Wichmann, 6000 kW, 2 controllable pitch propellers (1 forward, 1 aft)
Cargo 43 private motor vehicles, 5 commercial vehicles
Crew Members 23
Passengers 91
Operator Northumberland Ferries Limited
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Owner The Minister of Transport
Ottawa, Ontario

Description of the Vessel

The Confederation was built in 1993 as a double-ended, roll-on roll-off (ro-ro) ferry to transport passengers and vehicular traffic between Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island (PEI). The vessel has three vehicle cargo areas on decks A, B and C, with passenger facilities on decks D and E. The vessel has the capacity to carry 600 passengers and 215 private motor vehicles.

Photo 1. The Confederation
Photo 1. The Confederation

History of the Voyage

At approximately 1620 Atlantic daylight time2 on 27 June 2005, the ro-ro passenger ferry Confederation departed Caribou, Nova Scotia, on its final crossing of the day for Wood Islands, P.E.I. The winds were reported to be from the east at 10 knots with rippled seas. Two members of the engine room crew were carrying out maintenance to a piece of equipment in the engine room. Shortly before the vessel was due to arrive at the ferry terminal, one of the crew members left the engine room to retrieve a part to complete the job.

At approximately 1727, the crew member was noticed caught in a horizontal sliding watertight door by his co-worker. The co-worker immediately opened the door, freeing the unconscious crew member. He carefully lowered him to the deck and made him comfortable. Shortly afterwards, the crew member regained consciousness. The vessel continued on to the Wood Islands ferry terminal, arriving five minutes later, where the crew member was treated and transported to hospital by ambulance.

There was no observer to the occurrence and the exact circumstances leading up to the occurrence could not be determined. Occasionally, crew members would open the door only as far as was required to allow passage, and they did not always hold either or both operating lever(s) after opening the door.

Watertight Doors

The Confederation is equipped with three electro-hydraulic watertight doors. Two of the doors are vertical sliding and isolate the two propulsion gear rooms from their respective shaft tunnels, while a third horizontal sliding door isolates the generator room from the engine room. All three doors are capable of being closed from a central location on the bridge and can also be operated locally.

Whenever the vessel is in transit, all three watertight doors are controlled and closed automatically from a central location on the bridge. The doors may still be operated locally, but the door will only stay open for as long as the local operating lever is held in the open position. When the lever is released, the door will close.

The doors are typically operated in the manual mode when the vessel is secured alongside. In this mode, the doors are opened and closed locally by actuating the operating lever; but when the lever is released, the door movement stops and it remains in that position, at the point the lever was released.

It is the practised policy of Northumberland Ferries Limited that the watertight doors be closed from the central location on the bridge whenever the vessel is at sea. This policy is addressed in the vessel's training manual as well as on signage posted at each of the three watertight doors. Additionally, warning signs are posted at each watertight door, instructing "Open door fully before entering."

Photo 2. Sliding watertight door
Photo 1. Sliding watertight door

Regulations – Watertight Doors

Regulations pertaining to the construction, installation and operation of watertight doors are contained within the Hull Construction Regulations of the Canada Shipping Act. A section that applies to the installation of watertight doors reads in part:

… handles for controlling the power system shall be provided at both sides of the bulkhead in which the door is situated and shall be so arranged that any person passing through the doorway will be able to hold both handles in the open position simultaneously …3

Post-occurrence trials on the Confederation showed that for all three sliding watertight door installations, it was very difficult to hold both operating levers at the same time. In the case of the horizontal sliding watertight door, the axis of rotation for the operating lever was approximately 51 cm from the edge of the door, and it had a 13 cm throw. This required the operator of the door to have a reach of approximately 64 cm (see photo 3).

Photo 3. Reach required to open watertight door holding both levers
Photo 3. Reach required to open watertight door holding both levers

Photo 4. Opposite side of watertight door
Photo 4. Opposite side of watertight door

In the case of the two vertical sliding watertight doors, the axis of rotation for the operating levers was 37 cm and was, therefore, closer to the edge of the door. However, access to the operating levers on one side of both doors was restricted by an angle frame (see photo 6). Additionally, the lever operation of the two doors was not consistent. In one case, the door was opened by pushing the lever, while in the second case the lever was pulled.

Photo 5.
Photo 5. Aft vertical sliding watertight door; forward door similar

Photo 6. Operating lever access hindered by angle frame
Photo 6. Operating lever access hindered by angle frame

Watertight Door Operational Requirements/Guidance

The service instructions for the watertight door involved in the occurrence indicated that the door must close from fully opened to fully closed in a minimum of 20 seconds and a maximum of 40 seconds. The manufacturer's specification is similar to the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS)4 regulations. The SOLAS regulations do not, however, apply to Canadian non-convention passenger vessels such as the Confederation.

There are no Canadian regulations that govern the minimum and maximum closing times for sliding watertight doors, and guidance provided by the manufacturer and SOLAS was not used to determine the safe operational parameters of the watertight door.

Post-Occurrence Watertight Door Trials

The afternoon following the occurrence, watertight door opening and closing time trials were conducted by the Transportation Safety Board and Transport Canada (TC). The following operating times were observed5.

Sliding Watertight Door Time to Attain Fully Opened from Fully Closed Time to Attain Fully Closed from Fully Opened
Forward – Vertical 16 to 17 seconds 30 seconds
Aft – Vertical 12 to 13 seconds 22 to 24 seconds
Centre – Horizontal 12 to 13 seconds 10 to 13 seconds

Vessel Certification

The Confederation is subject to regular inspection by TC as a non-convention6 passenger ship, and it was last issued a Safety Inspection Certificate on 06 June 2005. The vessel also maintains a Lloyds Register Class ✠100A1, ✠LMC UMS.

Personnel Certification

The master and officers of the Confederation held certificates valid for the class of vessel and the type of voyage being undertaken. Furthermore, all of the officers and crew had Marine Emergency Duties training, which is consistent with TC's requirements, according to the position they held on board the ship.

Personnel History

The injured crew member had 30 years of service at sea and 10 years on board the Confederation. He had been certificated as a marine engineer since 1979.

Injuries to Persons

The crew member trapped in the watertight door suffered major crush-related injuries and was hospitalized.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The exact circumstances leading up to the occurrence could not be determined.
  2. The horizontal sliding watertight door was not being operated in accordance with the manufacturer's specifications for minimum closing time.

Findings as to Risks

  1. The practice of not fully opening the watertight door before attempting to pass through it increases the risk of a personal accident.
  2. The relatively quick closing time for the watertight door subjects the transient to undue risk.
  3. The location of the operating levers for the three local watertight door stations was less than optimal, and the operation of the levers to open and close the doors was not consistent among all three doors.
  4. There is no Canadian regulation that addresses the minimum and maximum closing times for sliding watertight doors, and the guidance provided in SOLAS and by the manufacturer was not used to determine the safe operational parameters of the watertight doors.

Other Finding

  1. Weather and sea conditions were favourable and there was no weather-related motion of the vessel.

Safety Action

Action Taken

Transportation Safety Board of Canada

In August 2005, the Transportation Safety Board (TSB) issued a Marine Safety Information (MSI) letter (No. 02/05) addressed to Transport Canada (TC) with a copy to Northumberland Ferries Ltd. The letter informed both parties of the TSB's observations regarding the deficiencies associated with the installation and operation of the watertight door system onboard the Confederation. The observations included:

  • the relatively quick closing time for the watertight door;
  • the less than optimal location of the operating lever on all three local watertight doors;
  • the fact that the operation of the levers to open/close watertight doors was not consistent among all three doors;
  • the fact that Canadian regulations do not address the minimum and maximum closing times for sliding watertight doors, and
  • the practice of not fully opening the watertight door before attempting to pass through it.

Northumberland Ferries Limited

Following the occurrence, the time required for the horizontal watertight door to close from fully opened was adjusted to 26 to 30 seconds per the manufacturer's specifications.

The control levers for the horizontal sliding door have been modified to reduce the distance that the operator must reach. The operator can now, on both sides of the door, comfortably hold the levers in the open position while passing through the opening. Also, the door now slides in the same direction that the lever handle is moved.

Photo 7. Modifications to watertight door operating lever
Photo 7. Modifications to watertight door operating lever

Photo 8. Modifications to watertight door operating lever
Photo 8. Modifications to watertight door operating lever

A policy has been adopted to be included in the Shipboard Operations Manual, whereby all crew members who have occasion to use any watertight door must be instructed on the safe operation of those doors. This policy includes written instruction on the correct method of using watertight doors.

A procedure has been adopted for the inspection and servicing of watertight doors to ensure that they are maintained and operated as recommended by the manufacturer. Items included in this inspection are alarms, signage, and closing and opening times.

Transport Canada

TC issued Ship Safety Bulletin No. 07/1991 entitled "Accidents When Using Power Operated Watertight Doors." The bulletin was issued as a result of a similar incident that occurred on a Canadian ferry prior to May 1991 and is a reminder that all power-operated watertight doors are designed to ensure maximum safety of the ship and to persons using them.

As part of Phase 2 of Regulatory Reform, TC will be reviewing and subsequently re-drafting the Hull Construction Regulations to incorporate and/or reference many of the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS) regulations, thereby making them applicable to Canadian-registered domestic vessels.

The SOLAS requirements for power-operated sliding watertight doors will be referenced in the proposed new Hull Construction Regulations along with the minimum and maximum operating time parameters. TC will also consider augmenting the requirements so that issues such as obstructions in the way of the operating handles that may restrict the proper operation of the controls are also addressed.

In a response to MSI letter No. 02/05, dated 1 September 2005, TC's Atlantic Region stated that it had issued a Direction under the Canada Labour Code, Section 8.3.1, on 5 July 2005 to the captain of the Confederation. Following this, all three watertight doors were adjusted to close in the prescribed time. In the case of the horizontal watertight door, the levers were relocated to make the operation of the door easier; that is, the lever actuates the door in the same direction of travel and the handles are now very close to the door opening.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 25 October 2005.

Appendix A – Sketch of the Occurrence Area

Appendix A. - Sketch of the Occurrence Area

Rapport d'enquête maritime M05M0052

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Blessure grave
Transbordeur roulier à passagers Confederation
Wood Islands (Île-du-Prince-Édouard)
Le 27 juin 2005

Résumé

Pendant l'après-midi du 27 juin 2005, le transbordeur roulier Confederation est parti de Caribou (Nouvelle-Écosse) avec 114 passagers à bord, à destination de Wood Islands (Île-du-Prince-Édouard). Le voyage a été sans incident jusqu'à ce que l'équipage se prépare à accoster à Wood Islands. À ce moment, on a découvert qu'un membre de l'équipage était coincé dans une porte étanche. On a libéré rapidement le membre d'équipage, après quoi celui-ci a été transporté vers un hôpital où il a reçu des soins.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Fiche technique du navire

  Confederation
Numéro officiel 815540
Port d’immatriculation Ottawa
Pavillon Canada
Type transbordeur roulier à passagers
Jauge brute1 8 060,8 tonneaux
Longueur 96,01 m
Tirant d’eau avant : 3,91 m arrière : 3,98 m
Construction 1993, Pictou Industries Limited
Propulsion moteur Wärtsilä Wichmann de 6000 kW, 2 hélices à pales orientables (1 à l’avant, 1 à l’arrière)
Cargaison 43 véhicules automobiles privés, 5 véhicules commerciaux
Équipage 23 personnes
Passagers 91
Exploitant Northumberland Ferries Limited
Charlottetown (Île-du-Prince-Édouard)
Propriétaire Ministère des Transports
Ottawa (Ontario)

Description du navire

Le Confederation est un traversier roulier amphidrome qui a été construit en 1993 et qui transporte des passagers et des véhicules entre la Nouvelle-Écosse et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (Î.-P.-É). Le navire reçoit les véhicules sur trois ponts, soit les ponts A, B et C, et il offre des installations pour les passagers sur les ponts D et E. Il peut prendre à son bord jusqu'à 600 passagers et 215 véhicules automobiles privés.

Photo 1. Le Confederation
Photo 1. Le Confederation

Déroulement du voyage

Le 27 juin 2005, vers 16 h 20, heure avancée de l'Atlantique2, le transbordeur roulier Confederation part de Caribou (Nouvelle-Écosse) et entreprend sa dernière traversée de la journée à destination de Wood Islands (Î.-P.-É.). Le vent souffle de l'est à 10 noeuds et soulève des rides à la surface de l'eau. Deux membres de l'équipage de la salle des machines font l'entretien d'une pièce d'équipement de cette salle. Peu de temps avant que le navire arrive dans les parages du terminal du traversier, un des membres de l'équipage quitte la salle des machines pour aller chercher une pièce dont il a besoin pour terminer le travail.

Vers 17 h 27, le collègue du membre d'équipage constate que ce dernier est coincé dans une porte étanche horizontale à glissières. Le collègue ouvre immédiatement la porte afin de libérer son compagnon inconscient. Il dépose doucement le blessé sur le pont et l'installe le plus confortablement possible. Quelque temps plus tard, le membre d'équipage reprend conscience. Le navire poursuit sa route vers le terminal de Wood Islands et y arrive cinq minutes plus tard. Au terminal, le membre d'équipage reçoit des soins et, par la suite, il est transporté à l'hôpital par ambulance.

Personne d'autre n'ayant été témoin de l'accident, il a été impossible de déterminer les circonstances qui l'ont précédé. À l'occasion, des membres d'équipage ouvraient la porte tout juste assez pour pouvoir y passer, ils ne tenaient pas toujours une des deux poignées ou les deux après avoir ouvert la porte.

Portes étanches

Le Confederation est équipé de trois portes étanches à assistance électro-hydraulique. Deux de ces portes étanches sont des portes verticales à glissières qui isolent les deux salles de l'appareil de propulsion de leurs tunnels d'arbre respectifs, tandis qu'une troisième porte à glissières, en l'occurrence une porte horizontale à glissières, isole la salle des génératrices de la salle des machines. Toutes ces portes peuvent être fermées à partir d'un poste de commande central situé sur la passerelle, et elles peuvent aussi être actionnées sur place.

Chaque fois que le navire est en transit, les trois portes étanches sont commandées et fermées automatiquement à partir du poste de commande central de la passerelle. Il est possible d'actionner les portes à l'aide de la commande locale, mais la porte reste ouverte seulement pendant qu'on tient le levier de manoeuvre à la position ouverte. Dès qu'on relâche le levier, la porte se ferme.

Photo 2. Porte étanche à glissières
Photo 2. Porte étanche à glissières

Habituellement, les portes sont actionnées en mode manuel quand le navire est à quai. En mode manuel, il faut se servir du levier de manoeuvre local pour ouvrir et fermer les portes; toutefois, dès qu'on relâche le levier, le mouvement de la porte cesse et la porte reste à la position où elle était lorsqu'on a relâché le levier.

Conformément à la pratique en vigueur à la Northumberland Ferries Limited, les portes étanches doivent être fermées à partir du poste de commande central sur la passerelle, chaque fois que le navire est en mer. Cette politique figure dans le manuel de formation du navire et sur la signalisation affichée près de chacune des trois portes étanches. De plus, des panneaux d'avertissement placés près de chaque porte étanche précisent qu'il faut ouvrir la porte complètement avant d'entrer.

Réglementation concernant les portes étanches

Les règles qui régissent la construction, l'installation et le fonctionnement des portes étanches sont édictées dans le Règlement sur la construction de coques de la Loi sur la marine marchande du Canada. Voici un extrait d'un article qui traite de l'installation des portes étanches :

… Des poignées de manoeuvre reliées au mécanisme mû par la source d'énergie seront prévues de chaque côté de la cloison sur laquelle se trouve la porte et ces poignées seront disposées de telle façon qu'une personne passant par la porte puisse maintenir les deux poignées dans la position ouverte en même temps…3

Des essais qui ont été réalisés à bord du Confederation après l'accident ont révélé que, pour les trois portes étanches à glissières, il était très difficile de maintenir les deux leviers de manoeuvre en même temps. Dans le cas de la porte étanche horizontale à glissières, l'axe de rotation du levier de manoeuvre était à environ 51 cm du rebord de la porte et la course du levier était de 13 cm. Il s'ensuit que la personne qui manoeuvrait la porte devait avoir une allonge de 64 cm environ (voir la photo 3).

Photo 3. Allonge nécessaire pour ouvrir une porte étanche en tenant les deux leviers de manoeuvre
Photo 3. Allonge nécessaire pour ouvrir une porte étanche en tenant les deux leviers de manoeuvre

Photo 4. Côté opposé de la porte étanche
Photo 4. Côté opposé de la porte étanche

Dans le cas des deux portes étanches verticales à glissières, l'axe de rotation des leviers était plus rapproché du rebord de la porte, soit à 37 cm. Toutefois, la présence d'une cornière gênait l'accès à un des leviers de manoeuvre des deux portes (voir la photo 6). En outre, le sens de fonctionnement des leviers n'était pas le même pour les deux portes. Dans un cas, il fallait pousser le levier pour ouvrir la porte, alors que pour la seconde porte, il fallait tirer le levier vers soi pour ouvrir.

Photo 5. Porte étanche verticale à glissières arrière; porte avant similaire
Photo 5. Porte étanche verticale à glissières arrière; porte avant similaire

Photo 6. Une cornière gêne l'accès au levier de manoeuvre
Photo 6. Une cornière gêne l'accès au levier de manoeuvre

Exigences/directives quant au fonctionnement des portes étanches

Les instructions sur l'entretien de la porte étanche qui a causé l'accident indiquaient que le délai de fermeture de la porte, à compter du moment où la porte commence à se fermer jusqu'au moment où elle est complètement fermée, ne doit en aucun cas être inférieur à 20 secondes et supérieur à 40 secondes. La spécification du fabricant est similaire aux dispositions de la Convention pour la sauvegarde de la vie humaine en mer (SOLAS)4. Toutefois, la réglementation de la Convention SOLAS ne s'applique pas aux navires à passagers canadiens qui ne sont pas assujettis à la Convention, comme le Confederation.

Il n'y a aucune réglementation canadienne au sujet des délais minimaux et maximaux de fermeture des portes étanches à glissières, et on n'a pas suivi les directives du fabricant ou celles de la SOLAS pour déterminer si les paramètres de fonctionnement des portes étanches étaient sûrs.

Essais de fonctionnement des portes étanches réalisés après l'accident

Le lendemain de l'accident, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada et Transports Canada (TC) ont procédé au cours de l'après-midi à des essais visant à calculer les délais d'ouverture et de fermeture des portes étanches. Les délais ci-après ont été observés.5

Porte étanche à glissières Délai d’ouverture à partir de la position de fermeture complète Délai de fermeture à partir de la position d’ouverture complète
Avant – Verticale 16 à 17 secondes 30 secondes
Arrière – Verticale 12 à 13 secondes 22 à 24 secondes
Centre – Horizontale 12 à 13 secondes 10 à 13 secondes

Certificats du navire

Étant un navire à passagers qui n'est pas assujetti à la convention6, le Confederation reçoit régulièrement la visite d'inspecteurs de TC. Le dernier certificat d'inspection délivré au navire date du 6 juin 2005. Le navire est aussi titulaire d'un certificat de classe ✠100A1, ✠LMC UMS, délivré par le Lloyd's Register of Shipping.

Brevets du personnel

Le capitaine et les officiers du Confederation étaient titulaires de brevets valides pour la classe de navire et le type de voyage auquel le navire était affecté. De plus, les officiers et les membres de l'équipage avaient suivi une formation sur les fonction d'urgence en mer qui tenait compte des fonctions de chacun à bord du navire, conformément aux exigences de TC.

Antécédents du personnel

Le membre d'équipage qui a été blessé comptait 30 ans de service en mer et 10 ans de service à bord du Confederation. Il avait obtenu son certificat de mécanicien de marine en 1979.

Victime

Le membre de l'équipage qui est resté coincé dans la porte étanche a subi de graves lésions par écrasement et il a été hospitalisé.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Il été impossible de déterminer les circonstances exactes qui ont précédé l'accident.
  2. Le fonctionnement de la porte étanche horizontale à glissières n'était pas conforme aux spécifications du fabricant quant au délai minimum de fermeture.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. La pratique consistant à ne pas ouvrir complètement la porte étanche avant de passer par la porte entraîne un risque accru de blessures accidentelles.
  2. En raison du délai de fermeture relativement bref de la porte étanche, la personne qui passe par la porte est exposée à un risque indu.
  3. La position des leviers de manoeuvre locale des trois portes étanches n'était pas optimale, et le sens de fonctionnement des leviers d'ouverture et de fermeture n'était pas le même pour les trois portes.
  4. Il n'y a aucune réglementation canadienne au sujet des délais minimaux et maximaux de fermeture des portes étanches à glissières, et on n'a pas suivi les directives du fabricant ou celles de la SOLAS pour déterminer si les paramètres de fonctionnement des portes étanches étaient sûrs.

Autres faits établis

  1. Les conditions météorologiques et l'état de la mer étaient favorables et n'ont donné lieu à aucun mouvement inhabituel du navire.

Mesures de sécurité

Mesures prises

Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada

En août 2005, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports (BST) a adressé une lettre d'information sur la sécurité maritime (no 02/05) à Transports Canada (TC), avec copie à la Northumberland Ferries Ltd. Dans cette lettre, le BST informait les deux parties de ses observations au sujet des défaillances associées à l'installation et au fonctionnement du système de portes étanches du Confederation. Les observations portaient notamment sur :

  • le délai de fermeture relativement bref de la porte étanche;
  • l'emplacement non optimal du levier de manoeuvre locale des trois portes étanches;
  • le fait que le sens de fonctionnement des leviers d'ouverture et de fermeture n'était pas le même pour les trois portes étanches;
  • le fait que la réglementation canadienne ne traite pas des délais minimaux et maximaux de fermeture des portes étanches à glissières;
  • la pratique consistant à ne pas ouvrir complètement la porte étanche avant de passer par la porte.

Northumberland Ferries Limited

Après l'accident, on a réglé le temps qu'il faut à la porte étanche horizontale pour passer de la position ouverte à la position complètement fermée, de façon qu'il soit conforme aux spécifications du fabricant, c'est-à-dire de 26 à 30 secondes.

On a modifié les leviers de manoeuvre de la porte horizontale à glissières de façon à réduire la distance que l'opérateur doit couvrir avec ses bras. Dorénavant, l'opérateur peut tenir confortablement en position ouverte les deux leviers placés de part et d'autre de la porte pendant qu'il passe par l'ouverture. Aussi, la porte glisse dans la même direction que le levier.

Photo 7. Modifications du levier de manoeuvre de la porte étanche
Photo 7. Modifications du levier de manoeuvre de la porte étanche

Photo 8. Modifications du levier de manoeuvre de la porte étanche
Photo 8. Modifications du levier de manoeuvre de la porte étanche

La compagnie a adopté une politique qui doit être incluse au manuel des opérations du bord, voulant que tous les membres de l'équipage qui se servent d'une porte étanche reçoivent des instructions sur le fonctionnement sûr de ces portes. Cette politique comprend des instructions écrites sur la façon correcte de faire fonctionner les portes étanches.

La compagnie a adopté une politique prévoyant des inspections et des travaux d'entretien courant des portes étanches pour s'assurer que l'utilisation et l'entretien de ces portes sont conformes aux recommandations du fabricant. Les inspections portent notamment sur les alarmes, la signalisation et les délais d'ouverture et de fermeture.

Transports Canada

TC a publié le Bulletin de la sécurité des navires no 07/1991 intitulé « Accidents survenus lors de l'utilisation de portes étanches électriques ». Le bulletin a été publié à la suite d'un incident similaire qui s'était produit à bord d'un traversier canadien avant mai 1991, et il rappelle que toutes les portes étanches électriques sont conçues de façon à assurer une sécurité maximale pour le navire et pour les personnes qui utilisent les portes en question.

Dans le cadre de l'étape no 2 de la réforme réglementaire, TC examinera la réglementation et rédigera par la duite un nouveau Règlement sur la construction de coques qui intégrera ou citera en référence plusieurs règlements de la Convention pour la sauvegarde de la vie humaine en mer (SOLAS), de façon que le règlement puisse s'appliquer aux navires de commerce intérieur immatriculés au Canada.

Le nouveau Règlement sur la construction de coques qui est proposé citera des renvois aux exigences de la Convention SOLAS concernant les portes étanches à glissières mues par des sources d'énergie, et il précisera aussi les paramètres relatifs aux délais minimaux et maximaux de fonctionnement. TC étudiera aussi l'éventualité d'accroître les exigences de façon à régler les problèmes dus aux obstacles qui peuvent gêner le fonctionnement des poignées de manoeuvre.

En réponse à la lettre d'information sur la sécurité maritime no 02/05 datée du 1er septembre 2005, les services de TC dans la région de l'Atlantique ont fait savoir que, le 5 juillet 2005, ils avaient émis une directive à l'intention du capitaine du Confederation en vertu de l'article 8.3.1 du Code canadien du travail. Suite à cette directive, on a réglé les trois portes étanches de façon que leur délai de fermeture soit conforme aux normes. Dans le cas de la porte étanche horizontale, on a déplacé les leviers de façon à faciliter la manoeuvre de la porte; en effet, le levier qui actionne la porte se déplace maintenant dans le même sens que la porte, et les poignées sont placées plus près de l'ouverture de la porte.

Ce rapport conclut l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet événement. Par conséquent, le Bureau en a autorisé la publication le 7 juin 2007.

Annexe A – Secteur où l'accident a eu lieu

Annexe A - Secteur où l'accident a eu lieu