Marine Investigation Report M05W0080

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Capsizing
Inflatable River Raft
Elaho River
Squamish, British Columbia
14 May 2005

Summary

On 14 May 2005, an inflatable raft carrying nine people capsized while descending the Elaho River, north of Squamish, British Columbia. Three occupants managed to climb onto a large rock in mid-river from where they were later rescued by helicopter. The remaining six people fell into the water and were swept downstream. All were rescued except for one person who drowned.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Raft

   
Type Self-bailing inflatable river raft
Length 4.7 m
Width 2.1 m
Tube Material Polyvinyl chloride (PVC) synthetic fibre
Builder of Manufacturer Star Inflatables, South Carolina, United States
Propulsion Paddles/oars
Crew 1 trip leader/guide
Passengers 8
Owner Elaho River Adventures, Squamish, British Columbia

Description of the Raft

Photo 1 - Stern view showing the steering frame with oars clipped to thole pins. Indicates the position of the trip leader and the transverse buoyancy chambers.
Photo 1. Stern view showing the steering
frame with oars clipped to thole pins.
Indicates the position of the trip leader and
the transverse buoyancy chambers.

The raft consists of a single continuous PVC tube that forms the sides of the raft as well as the raked bow and stern. The tube is divided into four chambers that, when filled with air, provide buoyancy. Transverse rigidity is achieved by four rows of buoyancy tubes lashed at regular intervals to the interior sides of the raft. A nylon grab line is secured to the exterior periphery of the raft.

The raft floor has its own air chamber with ports to dispense water from the craft known as "self-bailers." A rectangular steel steering frame is fitted over the top of the buoyancy tube at the stern. A guide sits at the stern looking forward and steers the raft by means of left- and right-side oars that rest in metal brackets held in place by clips attached to vertical "thole pins."1

Passengers sit on top of the left and right sides of the main buoyancy tube, with their legs inside the raft. They wedge their feet into the space between the floor, cross tubes, and the main tube.

Elaho River

Photo 2 - Elaho River, with the "Devil's elbow" shown at the top
Photo 2. Elaho River, with the
"Devil's elbow" shown at the top

The Elaho River is a medium-volume, glacier-fed river in the Coast Mountains of British Columbia approximately 60 km northwest of Squamish, British Columbia. River turbulence can change daily depending on rainfall2 and the rate of glacial runoff, which is dependent upon sunlight and temperature. As the river level changes, so do the relative positions of submerged obstructions such as boulders, stumps, and logs.

Preparation for May 14 Rafting Trip

Representatives of a local troop of Girl Guides arranged for six girls and two adults to raft down the river on 14 May 2005. One girl was 17 years old, and five were younger than 13. The eight passengers, along with a separate group of six adults not associated with Girl Guides, gathered at the premises of an established rafting outfitter north of Squamish. Each of the two groups was assigned their own raft and guide.

Everyone was fitted with protective clothing including neoprene wetsuits, booties, water-resistant spray jackets, and personal flotation devices (PFDs). The PFDs were suitable for persons weighing more than 41 kg and specifically designed for such excursions. After the two groups were fitted with equipment, they and their three guides - 17 people in all - boarded a company bus and were driven to an embarkation point on the Elaho River.

Following company practice, one guide was designated "trip leader." He was recognized as the person in charge of the safe conduct of all passengers and all craft participating in that trip. Before getting underway, the trip leader delivered a safety briefing to the passengers, which included the following information:

  • use of safety lines attached to each raft;
  • importance of following all commands given by the rafting guide;
  • identification of paddle commands;
  • procedures for entering, leaving, and staying positioned in the raft; and
  • procedures for dealing with hazardous situations, including encountering partially submerged logs after falling overboard.

Description of the Descent

At around noon, the craft began their descent of the Elaho River. A "safety kayak" was at the head of the formation. Next was the raft with six adult passengers; it was followed by the raft with the six Girl Guides, two adult passengers, and the trip leader. The three guides kept the craft approximately two boat lengths apart so that they could easily communicate by voice, whistle, or hand signals. The water was calm at the beginning of the voyage, and passengers in both rafts were able to practice paddling according the guides' commands. Meanwhile, the bus that had transported the passengers to the site was following along via an adjacent logging road, with the driver visually monitoring the rafts' progress.

After about 1 km, the convoy reached a river section known as "Devil's elbow" (see Appendix A). There, the three craft encountered numerous waves, rocks, eddies and rapids. Both the safety kayak and the first raft traversed the area without mishap, but the right oar of the second raft struck a rock on the riverbed, jarring the oar loose from its lock so that it was briefly unusable for steering.

As the raft diverted from the preferred course, the trip leader gave corrective paddle commands. Passengers quickly complied, but they were unable to prevent the raft from turning broadside to the current and striking a large, exposed rock in mid-river. The force of the rushing water lifted the raft's downstream side, throwing six passengers into the river. The trip leader and the other two passengers were able to crawl to the top of the rock. The raft then floated downriver, where it was later retrieved.

After the Capsizing

The bus driver observed the capsizing and made an emergency call to the rafting company office using a two-way radio. Office staff called 911, and from there a phone call was placed to the Provincial Emergency Program, which dispatched a helicopter rescue team and an ambulance. Meanwhile, of the six people thrown into the water, three were rescued by those in the other raft, and two were rescued by the guide in the safety kayak. After taking them ashore, he then paddled the kayak upstream, searching for the final passenger. After about five minutes, he found her underwater, the force of the current pressing her body against a partially submerged log. Efforts to resuscitate her failed.

By this time, a rescue helicopter had arrived. It evacuated the three people from the mid-river rock and transported them to a hospital in Squamish, where they were examined and released. The other passengers arrived at the hospital by ambulance and were also released. None of them was injured.

Rafting Company Personnel

Before 14 May 2005, the three guides had made a combined total of more than 800 commercial rafting descents on this river section without serious incident. Each had received water-rescue training and been certified as a "trip leader" under terms of the British Columbia Commercial River Rafting Safety Act and Commercial River Rafting Safety Regulations. The Act was repealed in 2003 after which time training has been provided by a professional organization called the British Columbia River Outfitters Association (BCROA).3

British Columbia River Outfitters Association

The guides were employees of a company that belonged to the BCROA, which has the following mandate:

  • To represent the interests of commercial river outfitters in discussions with government and other agencies;
  • To promote a high standard of safety and operations in the river outfitter industry; and
  • To initiate, organize, and manage programs to improve the operations for outfitters.

Current Safety Guidelines

According to Transport Canada (TC), approximately 230 000 people go river rafting each year in Canada, and there are over 230 rafting companies operating in the country. In 1981, recognizing the hazards of river rafting, TC attempted to minimize the risk of injuries by introducing federal standards.4 As these were voluntary, however, some provincial governments and professional river-rafting organizations developed their own guidelines.

Alberta, for example, has no regulations governing whitewater rafting. Consequently, many outfitters in that province adhere to the BCROA safety guidelines, whereas some outfitters in Quebec and Ontario follow the standards of the Canadian Rivers Council (formerly the Eastern Canadian River Outfitters Association). In 2003 the British Columbia government repealed provincial rafting guidelines that had been in place for 14 years in anticipation of national standards expected from TC. As these are not yet in place, BCROA members have chosen to follow the former voluntary guidelines.

Analysis

Whitewater River Rafting - General

Whitewater river rafting is a thrill sport with inherent risk and participants undertake the sport intentionally seeking excitement. As a reminder of the integral risk, rafting passengers are required to sign a waiver acknowledging that they are willingly and knowingly participating in an adventure pursuit. Managing the risk through a strong safety culture and adherence to formal and informal standards is fundamental to sustaining the whitewater rafting industry.

Passenger Participation and Safety

The safe passage of a raft travelling through turbulent water requires passengers to vigorously paddle in a specific direction when so ordered by the rafting guide. If passengers do not have the collective physical strength or cognitive awareness to successfully carry out such commands in a timely manner, there is an increased risk of capsizing.

In this particular instance, the team leader lost the use of a steering oar at a critical time. Although they instantly followed his commands, passengers collectively lacked the "paddle power" to prevent the raft from striking the mid-channel rock and throwing six people into the water. Given the young age of five of the passengers, the group did not have the necessary collective physical strength to turn the raft around and prevent it from striking the rock.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. Losing a steering paddle allowed the raft to quickly divert from its intended course into danger.
  2. Despite their best efforts, the combined strength of the paddlers was not sufficient to prevent the raft from striking the mid-channel rock and capsizing.

Finding as to Risk

  1. In the absence of mandatory nationwide safety standards, passengers may be at risk if rafting outfitters do not voluntarily apply safety standards with regard to training, adequate equipment, or both.

Safety Action Taken

Since the fall of 2003, Transport Canada (TC) has proposed the development of specific regulations applicable to inflatable boats that carry persons on excursions for remuneration.

TC intends to introduce river-rafting safety measures as part of the new Special Purpose Vessels Regulations. These regulations will replace the current River Rafting Standards (TP 8643). These new regulations were published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, in August 2007. This will provide stakeholders and interested parties with an opportunity to forward their comments to the department. Final approval and publication in the Canada Gazette, Part II, is expected in late 2007.

In the meantime, TC believes that voluntary application of sensible safety standards appears to be the norm for the industry.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 30 July 2007.


Appendix A - The Elaho River

Appendix A - The Elaho River
Appendix A - The Elaho River

Rapport d'enquête maritime M05W0080

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident aéronautique dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilitéés civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Chavirement
d'un radeau fluvial pneumatique
dans la rivière Elaho
Squamish (Colombie-Britannique)
le 14 mai 2005

Résumé

Le 14 mai 2005, un radeau fluvial pneumatique, transportant neuf personnes, a chaviré en descendant la rivière Elaho, au nord de Squamish (Colombie-Britannique). Trois occupants sont parvenus à grimper sur une grosse pierre au milieu de la rivière, d'où ils ont plus tard été secourus par hélicoptère. Les six autres personnes sont tombées à l'eau et ont été emportées vers l'aval. Toutes ont été secourues sauf une personne, qui s'est noyée.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Fiche technique de l'embarcation

Type
Radeau fluvial pneumatique autovideur
Longueur
4,7 m
Largeur
2,1 m
Matériau du tube
 
Fibre synthétique à base de polychlorure de vinyle (PVC)
Constructeur ou fabricant
 
Star Inflatables, Caroline du Sud (États-Unis)
Propulsion
Pagaies / avirons
Équipage
1 chef d'excursion / guide
Passagers
8 personnes
Propriétaires
 
Elaho River Adventures, Squamish (Colombie-Britannique)

Description de l'embarcation

Photo 1 - Vue de l'arrière montrant le cadre de conduite avec ses avirons fixés à des tolets. On y voit la position du chef d'excursion et les chambres à air transversales de flottaison.
Photo 1 - Vue de l'arrière montrant
le cadre de conduite avec ses avirons
fixés à des tolets. On y voit la position
du chef d'excursion et les chambres à air
transversales de flottaison.

Le radeau comporte un tube continu en PVC formant les côtés de l'embarcation ainsi que son étrave et son arrière relevés. Le tube est divisé en quatre chambres à air qui, lorsqu'elles sont gonflées, assurent la flottabilité. La rigidité transversale est assurée par quatre rangées de tubes de flottaison fixés à intervalles réguliers sur les côtés intérieurs du radeau. Une guirlande en nylon est attachée sur le pourtour extérieur du radeau.

Le fond du radeau a sa propre chambre à air, dotée de sabords, dits « autovideurs », qui servent à évacuer l'eau contenue dans l'embarcation. Un cadre de conduite rectangulaire en acier est disposé au-dessus du tube de flottaison, à l'arrière. Un guide s'assoit à l'arrière, face à l'avant, et gouverne le radeau au moyen des avirons gauche et droite, lesquels prennent appui sur des supports métalliques maintenus par des fixations à des tolets verticaux1.

Les passagers s'assoient sur le tube de flottaison principal, des côtés gauche et droit, les jambes vers l'intérieur du radeau. Ils calent les pieds dans l'espace compris entre le fond, les tubes transversaux et le tube principal.

Rivière Elaho

Photo 2 - La rivière Elaho, avec le « coude du diable » au sommet.
Photo 2. La rivière Elaho, avec le
« coude du diable » au sommet.

La rivière Elaho est une rivière d'envergure moyenne, alimentée par des glaciers, qui est située dans la chaîne Côtière de la Colombie-Britannique à environ 60 km au nord-ouest de Squamish (Colombie-Britannique). La turbulence de la rivière varie d'un jour à l'autre en fonction des précipitations de pluie2 et du taux d'écoulement glaciaire, lequel dépend de l'ensoleillement et de la température. Les positions des obstacles submergés (rochers, souches et rondins) varient en fonction du niveau d'eau de la rivière.

Préparatifs de l'expédition de radeau du 14 mai

Le 14 mai 2005, des représentants d'un groupe local de filles du mouvement guide ont organisé une descente de la rivière en radeau, à laquelle participent six filles et deux adultes. Une des filles avait 17 ans et les cinq autres avaient moins de 13 ans. Les huit passagers ainsi qu'un autre groupe de six adultes, indépendant des guides, se sont réunis dans les locaux d'une entreprise de rafting établie, au nord de Squamish. Un radeau et un guide ont été affectés à chacun des deux groupes.

Tous les participants ont revêtu des vêtements de protection comprenant des combinaisons isothermes en néoprène, des bottillons, des vestes imperméables et des vêtements de flottaison individuels (VFI). Les VFI convenaient pour des personnes pesant plus de 41 kg et ils étaient conçus expressément pour des excursions de ce genre. Une fois que les membres des deux groupes ont revêtu leur équipement, ils sont montés avec leurs trois guides - soit 17 personnes en tout - à bord d'un autobus de l'entreprise qui les a conduits à un point d'embarquement sur la rivière Elaho.

Conformément à la pratique suivie par l'entreprise, un des guides était désigné « chef d'excursion ». Il était reconnu comme étant responsable de la sécurité de la conduite de tous les passagers et des embarcations dans le cadre de cette excursion. Avant le départ, le chef d'excursion a présenté aux passagers un exposé sur la sécurité portant sur les sujets suivants :

  • l'utilisation des cordes de sécurité fixées à chaque radeau;
  • l'importance d'observer toutes les instructions données par le guide de rafting;
  • les différentes commandes de pagayage;
  • la façon de monter à bord du radeau, d'en descendre et d'y maintenir sa position;
  • la façon de réagir en cas de situation dangereuse, y compris quand on est projeté contre des rondins partiellement submergés après être tombé par-dessus bord.

Description de la descente

Vers midi, les embarcations commencent leur descente de la rivière Elaho. Un « kayak de sécurité » dirige le convoi. Suivent dans l'ordre l'embarcation avec six adultes à bord puis l'embarcation avec les six jeunes guides, deux passagers adultes et le chef d'excursion. Les trois guides de rafting maintiennent un écart d'environ deux longueurs entre les embarcations, de façon que les occupants puissent communiquer verbalement ou communiquer à l'aide de sifflets ou de signaux manuels. L'eau est calme au début de l'excursion et les passagers des deux embarcations peuvent pagayer conformément aux instructions des guides. L'autobus qui a transporté les passagers suit les embarcations par un chemin forestier adjacent; le conducteur observe leur évolution.

Après environ 1 km, le convoi parvient à un passage de la rivière surnommé « coude du diable » (voir l'annexe A). Les trois embarcations y rencontrent des vagues, roches, turbulences et rapides en abondance. Le kayak de sécurité et le premier radeau traversent le secteur sans incident, mais l'aviron de droite du deuxième radeau heurte un rocher au fons de la rivière, ce qui l'arrache de sa fixation et le rend momentanément inutilisable pour la gouverne.

Comme l'embarcation dévie de sa trajectoire idéale, le chef d'excursion donne les ordres de pagayage voulus afin de corriger l'écart. Les passagers s'exécutent promptement, mais ne parviennent pas à éviter que l'embarcation se mette en travers du courant et heurte un gros rocher exposé, au milieu de la rivière. Le côté aval du radeau est soulevé par la force du courant, de sorte que six passagers sont projetés dans la rivière. Le chef d'excursion et les deux autres passagers parviennent à grimper sur le rocher. Le radeau descend le courant, où il sera plus tard récupéré.

Après le chavirement

Le conducteur de l'autobus a constaté le chavirement et lancé un appel d'urgence au bureau de l'entreprise, au moyen d'un poste radio émetteur-récepteur. Le personnel du bureau téléphone au service 911, qui téléphone à son tour au personnel du programme d'urgence de la province (Provincial Emergency Program). Celui-ci dépêche une équipe de secouristes en hélicoptère ainsi qu'une ambulance. Pendant ce temps, trois des six personnes projetées dans l'eau ont été secourues par les gens de l'autre radeau et deux autres ont été rescapées par le guide qui prenait place dans le kayak de sécurité. Après les avoir déposés à terre, celui-ci remonte le courant dans son kayak à la recherche de la dernière passagère. Après environ cinq minutes, il la trouve sous l'eau, où la force du courant presse son corps contre un rondin partiellement submergé. On essaie de la réanimer, mais en vain.

Entre-temps, l'hélicoptère de secours est arrivé. Il récupère les trois personnes qui étaient sur le rocher au milieu de la rivière et les transporte vers un hôpital de Squamish, où ils seront examinés, après quoi ils pourront rentrer chez eux. Les autres passagers arriveront à l'hôpital en ambulance et, après des examens, ils rentrent aussi chez eux. Aucun d'eux n'a été blessé.

Personnel de l'entreprise de rafting

Avant le 14 mai 2005, les trois guides avaient effectué au total plus de 800 descentes de rafting commercial sur cette rivière, sans incident sérieux. Chacun avait reçu une formation en sauvetage aquatique et avait été agréé comme chef d'expédition en vertu de la Commercial River Rafting Safety Act et des Commercial River Rafting Safety Regulations de la Colombie-Britannique. La Loi a été abrogée en 2003. Par la suite, la formation a été assurée par un organisme professionnel appelé British Columbia River Outfitters Association (BCROA)3

British Columbia River Outfitters Association

Les guides étaient des employés d'une entreprise membre de la BCROA, laquelle avait le mandat suivant :

  • représenter les intérêts des pourvoiries fluviales commerciales dans le cadre de discussions avec le gouvernement et d'autres organismes;
  • promouvoir des normes élevées à l'égard de la sécurité des activités au sein de l'industrie des pourvoiries fluviales;
  • lancer, organiser et gérer des programmes visant l'amélioration des activités des pourvoiries.

Lignes directrices en vigueur en matière de sécurité

Selon Transports Canada, environ 230 000 personnes par année font des descentes en radeau au Canada, et il y existe de 230 entreprises de rafting au pays. En 1981, reconnaissant les dangers liées aux descentes en radeau, Transports Canada a introduit des normes fédérales4 destinées à réduire les risques de blessures dues à cette activité. Cependant, comme il s'agissait de normes facultatives, certains gouvernements provinciaux et organismes professionnels de rafting ont élaboré leurs propres lignes directrices.

Par exemple, l'Alberta n'a pas de réglementation concernant les descentes en eau vive. Par conséquent, de nombreuses pourvoiries de cette province souscrivent aux lignes directrices de la BCROA sur la sécurité. Au Québec et en Ontario par contre, certaines pourvoiries observent les normes du Conseil des rivières canadiennes (autrefois l'Association des pourvoyeurs en rivière de l'Est du Canada). En 2003, alors qu'on attendait la publication des normes nationales annoncées par Transports Canada, le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique a abrogé les lignes directrices provinciales relatives aux descentes en radeau, qui étaient en vigueur depuis 14 ans. Or, comme les normes nationales n'ont pas encore été adoptées, les membres de la BCROA ont choisi de respecter les anciennes lignes directrices facultatives.

Analyse

Rafting en eau vive - Généralités

Le rafting en eau vive est un sport d'aventure qui comporte certains risques; les gens qui pratiquent ce sport s'y adonnent expressément parce qu'ils recherchent des sensations fortes. Les passagers des radeaux doivent signer une renonciation dans laquelle on rappelle les risques liés à cette activité et dans laquelle ils reconnaissent qu'ils participent en connaissance de cause et de leur plein gré à une activité de sport d'aventure. La gestion du risque, fondée sur une solide culture de la sécurité et sur le respect de normes officielles et non officielles, est essentielle à la viabilité de l'industrie des descentes en eau vive.

Participation et sécurité des passagers

Le passage en toute sécurité d'un radeau dans des eaux turbulentes exige que les passagers pagaient vigoureusement dans une direction précise lorsque le guide de rafting en donne l'ordre. Si les passagers n'ont pas collectivement la force physique ou la conscience du danger qu'on doit avoir pour exécuter de tels ordres rapidement, le risque de chavirement est accru.

Dans ce cas-ci, le chef d'équipe a perdu l'usage d'un aviron de gouverne à un moment critique. Les passagers ont aussitôt exécuté ses ordres, mais ils ne possédaient pas collectivement la « puissance de pagayage » nécessaire pour empêcher que l'embarcation heurte le rocher au milieu du chenal et que six personnes soient projetées à l'eau. Compte tenu du jeune âge de cinq des passagers, le groupe ne possédait pas collectivement la force physique nécessaire pour faire tourner le radeau et empêcher qu'il heurte le rocher.

Faits établis quant aux causes et facteurs contributifs

  1. La perte d'un aviron de gouverne a fait en sorte que le radeau a dévié subitement de la trajectoire prévue et a été exposé à un danger.
  2. Malgré tous leurs efforts, les pagayeurs ne possédaient pas collectivement une force suffisante pour empêcher que le radeau heurte le rocher au milieu du chenal et qu'il chavire.

Fait établi quant aux risques

  1. En l'absence de normes de sécurité nationales dont l'application est obligatoire, les passagers peuvent être exposés à des risques si les entreprises de rafting n'appliquent pas volontairement des normes de sécurité relatives à la formation et à l'équipement, ou aux deux.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Depuis l'automne 2003, Transports Canada a proposé l'élaboration d'un règlement qui s'appliquera expressément aux bâtiments pneumatiques qui transportent des personnes contre rémunération lors d'excursions.

Transports Canada entend établir des mesures de sécurité relatives au rafting en rivière dans le cadre du nouveau Règlement sur les bâtiments à usage spécial. Ce règlement remplacera les actuelles Normes concernant les radeaux fluviaux (TP 8643). Ce nouveau règlement a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, en août 2007. Les intervenants et parties intéressées auront la possibilité de présenter leurs commentaires au Ministère. L'approbation finale et la publication dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie II, sont prévues pour la fin de 2007.

Entre-temps, Transports Canada estime que l'application volontaire de normes de sécurité raisonnables semble être la norme qui est en vigueur dans l'industrie.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 30 juillet 2007.


Annexe A - Rivière Elaho

Annexe A - Rivière Elaho
Annexe A - Rivière Elaho