Marine Investigation Report M05W0087

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View report in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file; find out more on our help page.

Collision
Between the Fishing Vessel Sandra Carol and
the Tug Ocean Warrior Towing
the Barges Warrior and Barge 216
Swanson Channel, British Columbia
03 June 2005

Summary

On the night of 03 June 2005, the wood-hulled fishing vessel Sandra Carol, with one person on board, was southbound in Swanson Channel en route to Victoria, British Columbia, when it became fouled on the steel wire towline connecting the barges Warrior and Barge 216. These barges were being towed northward by the tug Ocean Warrior. Unable to get clear of the towline, the fishing vessel was struck and holed by Barge 216. The Sandra Carol rapidly filled with water as its operator stepped from the deck of his vessel to that of the second barge without injury. The Sandra Carol sank approximately one hour after the collision.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

Particulars of the Vessels

  "SANDRA CAROL" "OCEAN WARRIOR" "WARRIOR" "BARGE 216"
Official Number 174047 313909 800199 820969
Port of Registry Port Alberni1 Vancouver Vancouver Vancouver
Flag Canada Canada Canada Canada
Type Commercial fishing Coastal tug Non-self-propelled barge Non-self-propelled barge
Gross Tonnage 23.0 76.31 2683.5 1024.0
Length 12.7 m 18.8 m 59.7 m 58.5 m
Draught 1.9 m 2.8 m 4.9 m 3.7 m
Year Built 1945 1961 1981 1970
Hull Material Wood Welded steel Welded steel Welded steel
Propulsion One 160-horsepower diesel engine driving a single fixed-pitched propeller One 600-horsepower diesel engine driving a single fixed-pitched propeller in a fixed Kort nozzle N/A N/A
Cargo N/A N/A Empty 2500 tons of contaminated soil
Crew 1 4 0 0
Owner Private individual Delta Dredging Lafarge Canada Delta Dredging

Description of the Vessels

Sandra Carol

The Sandra Carol was a small fishing vessel of closed construction, having a carvel-planked hull and canoe stern. The hull below the main deck was subdivided by transverse watertight bulkheads, enclosing (from forward) the crew accommodation space, engine room, an insulated fish hold with freezer equipment, and a lazarette.

The deckhouse contained the wheelhouse, the galley area, sleeping quarters, the engine-room entrance, and stairs leading up to the wheelhouse.

The wheelhouse was equipped with a centreline steering station fitted with an autopilot. The navigation and communication equipment included a magnetic compass, very high frequency (VHF) radiotelephone, radar, depth sounder, and navigational light controls. Adjacent to the steering station were port and starboard weathertight hinged doors, which provided access to the foredeck, while a port side door fitted into the after-transverse bulkhead provided access to the main working deck.

Ocean Warrior

The Ocean Warrior is a single-screw, steel-hulled tug used mainly for towing barges on Canada's west coast. A single deckhouse encloses the wheelhouse forward with a helm station on the centreline. Navigation and communication equipment includes a magnetic compass, two radars, an autopilot, a global positioning system (GPS) unit, and a VHF radiotelephone. Secondary steering and engine control stations are located on the boat deck atop the wheelhouse and at the exterior after bulkhead of the deckhouse on the starboard side. The after station is also equipped with an emergency towing winch release mechanism. A towing winch containing 700 m of 29 mm steel wire tow rope is located on the centreline aft.

Warrior

The Warrior is a flush-decked steel barge used for hauling aggregate between ports on the west coast of Canada and the United States. The hull is painted black, and the 5.5 m steel box walls are painted grey. The barge was empty of cargo and had about 4.6 m of freeboard.

Barge 216

Barge 216 is a flush-decked steel barge used for hauling aggregate between ports on Canada's west coast. The hull is painted black, and the 1.2 m steel box walls are composed of unpainted steel plate (see Photo 1).

History of the Voyage

At about 1030 Pacific daylight time2 on 03 June 2005, the Sandra Carol, with the lone owner/operator on board,

 
Photo 1 - Barge 216 fully loaded with soil as it was at the time of the accident. The bow is at left.

Photo 1. 

Barge 216 fully loaded with soil as it was at the time of the accident. The bow is at left.

departed Courtenay in a light condition for a shipyard in Port Alberni by way of Victoria. The distance to Victoria is approximately 120 miles.

The tug Ocean Warrior departed Victoria Harbour with a crew of four at about 1515 the same day, towing the empty aggregate barge Warrior approximately 61 m astern and the barge Barge 216 fully loaded with approximately 2300 tons of contaminated soil approximately 45 m astern of the Warrior. (For towing arrangement see Figure 1.)

Figure 1 - Towing arrangement for the tug Ocean Warrior and barges Warrior and Barge 216

Figure 1. 

Towing arrangement for the tug Ocean Warrior and barges Warrior and Barge 216

The tug and tow were bound for the Lafarge Canada cement plant on the Fraser River.

The Sandra Carol transited Dodd Narrows south of Nanaimo, entered Tricomali Channel, and continued southbound into Swanson Channel. The Ocean Warrior transited Haro Strait and was northbound in Swanson Channel, heading toward the north arm of the Fraser River.

The progress of both vessels was being monitored on radar by Marine Communications and Traffic Services (MCTS) Victoria. The Ocean Warrior had been participating fully with the Vessel Traffic Services (VTS) reporting system throughout the voyage, keeping MCTS Victoria advised of its progress on VHF channel 11. The Sandra Carol was not a participating vessel nor was it required to be by regulations.3

At about 2230, the two vessels were approximately 3.1 miles apart on opposing headings in Swanson Channel. Neither was aware of the other's presence despite the fact that the tug, both barges, and the fishing vessel were displaying the appropriate navigation lights. The owner/operator of the Sandra Carol had set the autopilot on a southerly heading, and with the vessel travelling at about 7.5 knots, had placed the radar and VHF radiotelephone on standby mode. He exited the wheelhouse on to the main working deck. The skipper of the Ocean Warrior was alone in the wheelhouse with the vessel moving ahead at about 4 knots while on autopilot. No other traffic was reported in the area, and the radar and VHF radiotelephone were functioning. The sea was calm and visibility was good. Neither vessel maintained a proper lookout.

At 2244, the vessels were within seven cables of each other when MCTS Victoria informed the Ocean Warrior of the danger of an impending collision. MCTS also made an unsuccessful attempt to contact the Sandra Carol using the VHF radio. Having been informed, the tug's skipper identified the target by radar and initially judged it to be stationary and in no danger of colliding with either the tug or barges. About a minute later, the skipper of the tug observed a green sidelight of a vessel (later identified as the Sandra Carol) fine on the starboard bow and altered five degrees to port. Shortly thereafter, he watched the green sidelight pass along his starboard side at a distance of less than one cable. The tug's skipper did not use sound signals but did shine a searchlight on the barge Warrior to alert the fishing vessel.

At 2246, the Sandra Carol, in a position with James Point on North Pender Island bearing 065º True (T) at nine cables, continued on its preset course and passed between the stern of the Warrior and the bow of the loaded Barge 216. The forefoot of the wood fishing vessel struck the wire pennant near the bridle of Barge 216. The vessel's hull planks broke, seawater quickly flooded the hull, and the vessel became swamped. The freeboard of the fully loaded Barge 216 was about the same height as the main deck of the Sandra Carol, and the owner/operator was able to step without injury onto the foredeck of Barge 216.

At 2247, the skipper of the Ocean Warrior informed MCTS Victoria of the collision. In turn, MCTS Victoria contacted Joint Rescue Coordination Centre (JRCC) Victoria. JRCC tasked the BC Ferries vessel Bowen Queen to render assistance. The ferry, which was close by, arrived on scene within 11 minutes. Meanwhile, two of the tug's crew launched a small boat to rescue the fishing vessel operator from the barge.

Approximately 30 minutes after the collision, the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) vessel Skua arrived alongside the tug and transported the fishing vessel owner/operator to Ganges on Saltspring Island, where he was met by an ambulance, which transported him to the hospital on Gulf Islands. He was examined by hospital personnel and released within two hours.

The Sandra Carol remained fouled in the bridle of the barge for approximately one hour, after which it floated free, downflooded, and sank in approximately 70 m of water.

Geographical Information

Swanson Channel lies in a general north-south direction, passing between North Pender Island to the east and Prevost Island to the west (see Figure 2).

Figure 2 - Location of the accident near Otter Bay, British Columbia.

Figure 2. 

Location of the accident near Otter Bay, British Columbia.

Weather and Current Information

The weather at the time of the collision was calm seas, clear skies, with visibility at least five miles. The wind was from the south at five knots.

Tidal streams in Swanson Channel are found in the Canadian Tide and Current Tables, Volume 5, and are referenced on Race Passage. They flood in a northwesterly direction and ebb to the southwest. The collision occurred approximately one hour before slack water ebb, at which time the current would have been negligible.

Damage to the Vessel and Environment

The Sandra Carol sustained extensive damage to the forward planking and sank. There was no damage to the Ocean Warrior or the barges. There was no appreciable amount of pollution as a result of this incident.

Vessel Certification

Sandra Carol

Transport Canada (TC) inspected the Sandra Carol on 24 June 2003 and issued a full-term Safety Inspection Certificate (SIC 29) to operate on foreign-going voyages along the west coast of North America between the Panama Canal and Alaska until 30 January 2007.

Ocean Warrior

TC inspected the Ocean Warrior on 29 March 2003 and issued SIC 22 to operate on home-trade Class III voyages until 28 March 2007.

Personnel Certification

The owner/operator of the fishing vessel did not hold any TC certification, nor was he required to do so by regulation. He had not undergone Marine Emergency Duties training. He had been a fisher for over 30 years.

The skipper of the Ocean Warrior holds a 350-ton certificate of competency and a First Mate, Intermediate Voyage certificate of competency issued by TC. He had also undergone Marine Emergency Duties training.

Crewing and Safety

While the SIC 29 stipulated a crew of two, the Sandra Carol was operated by the lone owner/operator. He had been on continuous duty for over 12 hours. During this period, he was engaged in navigation-related activities as well as working on deck, and required the use of the washroom, leaving the wheelhouse unattended for periods of time. The vessel was transiting channels in coastal waters. He was unaware of the developing dangerous collision situation and was on deck at the time of the collision.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The lone owner/operator of the Sandra Carol did not maintain a proper lookout and left the wheelhouse unattended with the radar and very high frequency radiotelephone on standby.

  2. The skipper of the Ocean Warrior did not maintain a proper lookout, nor did he use sound signals to alert the fishing vessel.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 07 June 2007.


1.   All locations mentioned are in British Columbia.

2.   All times are Pacific daylight time (Coordinated Universal Time minus seven hours).

3.   Vessel Traffic Services Zone Regulations

Rapport d'enquête maritime M05W0087

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Abordage
entre le bateau de pêche Sandra Carol et le
remorqueur Ocean Warrior remorquant les
chalands Warrior et Barge 216
dans le chenal Swanson (Colombie-Britannique)
le 3 juin 2005

Résumé

Dans la soirée du 3 juin 2005, le bateau de pêche à coque en bois Sandra Carol, avec une personne à bord, fait route en direction sud dans le chenal Swanson à destination de Victoria (Colombie-Britannique) lorsqu'il se trouve engagé dans le câble d'acier reliant le chaland Warrior et le chaland Barge 216 qui sont remorqués vers le nord par le remorqueur Ocean Warrior. Le bateau de pêche Sandra Carol ne parvient pas à se libérer du câble de remorque et il est heurté par le Barge 216 qui perfore la coque du Sandra Carol qui se remplit rapidement d'eau. Le conducteur du Sandra Carol réussit à passer du pont de son bateau au pont du Barge 216 sans se blesser. Le Sandra Carol coule environ une heure après l'abordage.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

Fiche technique des bâtiments

  « SANDRA CAROL » « OCEAN WARRIOR » « WARRIOR » « BARGE 216 »
Numéro officiel 174047 313909 800199 820969
Port d'immatriculation Port Alberni1 Vancouver Vancouver Vancouver
Pavillon Canada Canada Canada Canada
Type Bateau de pêche
commerciale
Remorqueur côtier Chaland sans moteur Chaland sans moteur
Jauge brute 23,0 76,31 2683,5 1024,0
Longueur 12,7 m 18,8 m 59,7 m 58,5 m
Tirant d'eau 1,9 m 2,8 m 4,9 m 3,7 m
Construction 1945 1961 1981 1970
Coque Bois Acier soudé Acier soudé Acier soudé
Propulsion Un diesel de 160 HP entraînant une hélice à pas fixe Un diesel de 600 HP entraînant une hélice à pas fixe dans une tuyère Kort fixe s.o. s.o.
Cargaison s.o. s.o. Aucune 2500 t de sol contaminé
Équipage 1 personne 4 personnes - -
Propriétaire Privé Delta Dredging Lafarge Canada Delta Dredging

Renseignements sur les bâtiments

Le bateau de pêche Sandra Carol

Le Sandra Carol est un petit bateau de pêche ponté à bordé à franc-bord et à arrière à canoë. Sous le pont principal, la coque est divisée en compartiments par des cloisons transversales étanches formant, de l'avant vers l'arrière, les logements de l'équipage, le compartiment moteur, une cale à poisson isolée avec équipement de congélation et une cambuse.

Le rouf abrite la timonerie, la cuisine, le poste de couchage, l'entrée du compartiment moteur et l'escalier menant à la timonerie.

La timonerie est dotée d'un poste de gouverne avec pilote automatique situé sur l'axe longitudinal du bateau. L'équipement de navigation et de communication comprend un compas magnétique, un radiotéléphone VHF, un radar, un sondeur et la commande des feux de navigation. À bâbord et à tribord du poste de gouverne se trouvent deux portes à charnières étanches aux intempéries, qui donnent accès au pont avant, alors qu'à bâbord, une porte aménagée dans la cloison transversale arrière donne accès au pont de pêche principal.

Le remorqueur Ocean Warrior

Le Ocean Warrior est un remorqueur à coque en acier équipé d'une seule hélice, principalement utilisé pour remorquer des chalands sur la côte ouest du Canada. Un rouf abrite la timonerie à l'avant avec un poste de barre sur l'axe longitudinal. L'équipement de navigation et de communication comprend un compas magnétique, deux radars, un pilote automatique, un GPS (système de positionnement global) et un radiotéléphone VHF. Un second poste de gouverne et un second poste de commande moteur sont situés sur l'arrière du toit de la timonerie du côté tribord. Le poste arrière est également doté d'un mécanisme de dégagement rapide du treuil de remorquage. Un treuil de remorquage avec un câble d'acier de 29 mm de diamètre et de 700 m de longueur est situé sur l'axe longitudinal à l'arrière.

Le chaland Warrior

Le Warrior est un chaland en acier à pont ras employé pour le transport de granulats entre les ports de la côte ouest du Canada et les États-Unis. Sa coque est noire et les parois verticales en acier de 5,5 m de hauteur de sa boîte à cargaison sont grises. Le chaland est vide et a un franc-bord d'environ 4,6 m.

Le chaland Barge 216

Le Barge 216 est un chaland en acier à pont ras employé pour le transport de granulats entre les ports de la côte ouest du Canada. Sa coque est noire et les parois verticales de 1,2 m de hauteur de sa boîte à cargaison sont faites de plaques d'acier non peintes (Photo 1).

Déroulement du voyage

Vers 10 h 30, heure avancée du Pacifique2, le 3 juin 2005, le bateau de pêche Sandra Carol, avec à son bord le propriétaire-

 
Photo 1 - Le chaland Barge 216 avec une pleine charge de sol, comme au moment de l'abordage. La partie avant du chaland se trouve à gauche sur la photo.

Photo 1. 

Le chaland Barge 216 avec une pleine charge de sol, comme au moment de l'abordage. La partie avant du chaland se trouve à gauche sur la photo.

conducteur, appareille de Courtenay à l'état lège pour se rendre à un chantier naval situé à Port Alberni en passant par Victoria. La distance à parcourir jusqu'à Victoria est d'environ 120 milles.

Vers 15 h 15, le même jour, le remorqueur Ocean Warrior appareille du port de Victoria avec un équipage de quatre personnes. Il remorque le chaland Warrior et le chaland Barge 216. Le chaland Warrior est aménagé pour le transport de granulats; il est vide et se trouve à environ 61 m derrière le remorqueur. Le chaland Barge 216 transporte une pleine charge d'environ 2300 tonnes de sol contaminé et se trouve à environ 45 m derrière le chaland Warrior (Figure 1).

Figure 1 - Dispositif de remorquage qui relie le remorqueur Ocean Warrior et les chalands Warrior et Barge 216

Figure 1. 

Dispositif de remorquage qui relie le remorqueur Ocean Warrior et les chalands Warrior et Barge 216

L'ensemble remorqueur-chalands fait route à destination de la cimenterie Lafarge Canada sur le fleuve Fraser.

Le bateau de pêche Sandra Carol transite dans le passage Dodd au sud de Nanaimo, entre dans le chenal Tricomali puis continue vers le sud dans le chenal Swanson. Le Ocean Warrior transite dans le détroit Haro et fait route vers le nord dans le chenal Swanson, en direction du bras nord du fleuve Fraser.

La surveillance radar des mouvements des deux bâtiments est assurée par le centre des Services de communications et de trafic maritimes (SCTM) de Victoria. Le Ocean Warrior a participé pleinement au système de compte rendu des services du trafic maritime (STM) pendant tout le voyage en tenant le centre des SCTM de Victoria au courant de ses mouvements sur la voie VHF 11. Le Sandra Carol n'était pas un bâtiment participant à ce système, et la réglementation n'exigeait pas qu'il y participe3.

Vers 22 h 30, les deux bâtiments qui se déplacent dans des directions opposées sont à environ 3,1 milles l'un de l'autre dans le chenal Swanson. Aucun des deux bâtiments n'est conscient de la présence de l'autre même si le remorqueur, les deux chalands et le bateau de pêche arborent tous les feux de navigation appropriés. Le pilote automatique du Sandra Carol est réglé sur un cap au sud et, tandis que le bateau progresse à environ 7,5 noeuds, le radar et le radiotéléphone sont en mode de veille. Le conducteur du Sandra Carol sort de la timonerie et se rend sur le pont de pêche principal. Le patron du Ocean Warrior est seul dans la timonerie du remorqueur qui se déplace à environ 4 noeuds sous pilote automatique. Aucun autre trafic n'est signalé dans le secteur, et le radar et le radiotéléphone VHF sont allumés. La mer est calme et la visibilité est bonne. Aucun des deux bâtiments n'assure en permanence une veille visuelle appropriée.

À 22 h 44, l'ensemble remorqueur-chalands et le bateau de pêche sont à moins de sept encablures l'un de l'autre quand le centre des SCTM de Victoria informe le remorqueur Ocean Warrior du danger imminent d'abordage. La tentative du centre des SCTM pour joindre le Sandra Carol par radio VHF s'avère infructueuse. Une fois prévenu, le patron du remorqueur repère la cible par radar et juge initialement qu'elle est immobile et ne risque pas de heurter le remorqueur ni les chalands. Environ une minute plus tard, le patron du remorqueur voit le feu de côté vert d'un navire (dont on saura plus tard qu'il s'agit du Sandra Carol) sur son avant tribord et il modifie sa route de 5º sur bâbord. Peu après, le patron du remorqueur voit le feu de côté vert passer sur son côté tribord à moins d'une encablure. Le patron du remorqueur n'émet pas de signaux sonores, mais il dirige le faisceau de son projecteur en direction du chaland Warrior pour attirer l'attention du bateau de pêche.

À 22 h 46, le Sandra Carol, faisant cap au 065º (V), à neuf encablures de la pointe James sur l'île North Pender, continue sa route programmée et passe entre le chaland Warrior et le chaland Barge 216. Le brion du bateau de pêche heurte la pantoire près de la patte d'oie du Barge 216. Le bordage de coque du bateau se romp, l'eau de mer s'engouffre dans la coque et le bateau est inondé. Du fait que le franc-bord du Barge 216 est à peu près à la même hauteur que le pont principal du Sandra Carol, le conducteur du Sandra Carol réussit à passer sur le pont avant du Barge 216 sans se blesser.

À 22 h 47, le patron du Ocean Warrior signale l'abordage au centre des SCTM de Victoria. Le centre des SCTM de Victoria communique aussitôt avec le Centre conjoint de coordination de sauvetage de Victoria qui dépêche le traversier Bowen Queen de BC Ferries sur les lieux pour porter assistance. Le traversier qui était dans les parages arrive sur les lieux en 11 minutes. Entre-temps, deux des membres d'équipage du remorqueur ont mis une petite embarcation à l'eau pour secourir le conducteur du bateau de pêche qui s'est réfugié sur le chaland.

Environ 30 minutes après l'abordage, le navire Skua de la Garde côtière canadienne se positionne le long du remorqueur et embarque le conducteur du bateau de pêche et l'amène à Ganges sur l'île Saltspring où l'attend une ambulance qui le transporte à l'hôpital des îles Gulf. Après avoir été examiné par le personnel hospitalier, le conducteur du bateau de pêche est autorisé à quitter l'hôpital dans les deux heures.

Le bateau de pêche Sandra Carol est resté engagé dans la patte d'oie du chaland environ une heure avant de se dégager; il a été envahi par les hauts et a coulé par environ 70 m de fond.

Particularités géographiques

Le chenal Swanson est orienté nord-sud et passe entre l'île North Pender à l'est et l'île Prevost à l'ouest (Figure 2).

Figure 2 - Lieu de l'accident, près de la baie Otter (Colombie-Britannique).

Figure 2. 

Lieu de l'accident, près de la baie Otter (Colombie-Britannique).

Conditions météorologiques et courants

Au moment de l'accident, la mer était calme et le ciel dégagé; la visibilité était d'au moins 5 milles et le vent soufflait du sud à 5 noeuds.

L'information sur les courants de marée du chenal Swanson figure dans les Tables des marées et courants du Canada, volume 5. Le point de référence est le passage Race. Les courants montent dans une direction nord-ouest et descendent vers le sud-ouest. L'abordage s'est produit environ une heure avant l'étale de jusant, alors que le courant aurait été négligeable.

Avaries aux navires et dommages à l'environnement

Le bateau de pêche Sandra Carol a subi d'importantes avaries au bordé avant et a coulé. Le remorqueur Ocean Warrior et les chalands n'ont pas subi d'avaries. Il n'y a pas eu de pollution notable.

Certificats des bâtiments

Le Sandra Carol

Transports Canada a inspecté le Sandra Carol le 24 juin 2003 et lui a délivré un certificat d'inspection (SIC 29) pour une période complète lui permettant d'effectuer des voyages de long cours le long de la côte ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, entre le canal de Panama et l'Alaska, valable jusqu'au 30 janvier 2007.

Le Ocean Warrior

Transports Canada a inspecté le Ocean Warrior le 29 mars 2003 et lui a délivré un certificat SIC 22 pour les voyages de cabotage classe III, valable jusqu'au 28 mars 2007.

Brevets du personnel

Le propriétaire-conducteur du bateau de pêche Sandra Carol n'était pas titulaire d'un brevet délivré par Transports Canada et n'en avait pas besoin pour assurer la conduite de son bateau. Il n'avait pas reçu de formation aux fonctions d'urgence en mer. Il pratiquait la pêche depuis plus de 30 ans.

Le patron du remorqueur Ocean Warrior était titulaire d'un brevet de navire d'au plus 350 tonneaux et d'un brevet de premier officier de pont, voyage intermédiaire, délivrés par Transports Canada. Il avait suivi une formation aux fonctions d'urgence en mer.

Équipage et sécurité

Le certificat SIC 29 délivré au Sandra Carol exigeait un équipage de deux personnes, mais le propriétaire-conducteur était seul à bord. Le conducteur avait été de service sans interruption depuis plus de 12 heures. Durant cette période, il s'était occupé de la navigation en plus d'effectuer des tâches sur le pont, et il avait dû utiliser les toilettes, laissant la timonerie sans surveillance à certaines périodes. Le bateau transitait dans des chenaux en eaux côtières. Le conducteur du bateau n'était pas conscient de la situation d'abordage qui se dessinait. Il était sur le pont au moment de l'abordage.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le propriétaire-conducteur du bateau de pêche Sandra Carol était seul à bord; il n'a pas maintenu une veille visuelle appropriée et a laissé la timonerie sans surveillance, avec le radar et le radiotéléphone VHF en mode de veille.

  2. Le patron du remorqueur Ocean Warrior n'a pas maintenu une veille visuelle appropriée et n'a pas émis de signaux sonores pour attirer l'attention du bateau de pêche Sandra Carol.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapport le 7 juin 2007.


1.   Tous les lieux mentionnés se trouvent en Colombie-Britannique.

2.   Les heures sont exprimées en HAP (temps universel coordonné moins sept heures).

3.   Règlement sur les zones de services de trafic maritime