Railway Investigation Report R08W0181

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Crossing Collision
Canadian National Railway
Train L53241-09 South
Mile 3.66, Letellier Subdivision
Winnipeg, Manitoba
09 September 2008

Summary

On 09 September 2008 at 1006 central daylight time, southbound Canadian National freight train L53241-09 struck an eastbound automobile travelling in the median lane at the Bison Drive level crossing. The automobile was pushed into another eastbound vehicle travelling in the curb lane. The first vehicle struck was destroyed and its lone occupant suffered serious injuries. The second vehicle was heavily damaged and its two occupants sustained minor injuries. There were no injuries to the train crew.

Ce rapport est également disponible en français.

Other Factual Information

The Accident

On 09 September 2008 at approximately 1005 central daylight time 1, Canadian National (CN) train L53241-09 was travelling southward at 27 mph en route from Symington Yard in Winnipeg, Manitoba (MB) to Emerson, MB.

As the train approached the Bison Drive crossing at Mile 3.66 on the Letellier Subdivision with the locomotive bell activated, the crossing signals commenced operation. Westbound vehicles stopped at the crossing. However, eastbound vehicles continued to enter the crossing in both the median and curb lanes. As the train entered the crossing with the locomotive horn sounding, the lead locomotive struck a Volkswagen Golf automobile travelling in the median lane, pushing it into a Cadillac CTS automobile travelling in the curb lane. The train brakes were placed in emergency and the train came to a stop approximately 800 feet south of the crossing with the Volkswagen wedged under the coupler of the lead locomotive (See Photo 1).

Photo 1. Volkswagen wedged under front of locomotive
Photo 1. Volkswagen wedged under front of locomotive
Source: CN

Police, fire, and emergency medical personnel responded to the accident. The Volkswagen was destroyed. Its critically-injured driver was trapped in the vehicle. The emergency responders were not in possession of equipment (such as the “jaws of life”) to aid in extricating the driver. Once freed, the driver was transported to hospital.

The force of the impact propelled the Cadillac into a ditch on the southeast side of the crossing. Its two occupants were transported to hospital with minor injuries. The locomotive sustained minor damage and the crew on the train was uninjured.

At the time of the occurrence, visibility was clear. The temperature was 15ºC and the wind was calm.

Crew and Train Information

The crew on train L53241-09 consisted of a locomotive engineer and a conductor. Both crew members were qualified for their respective positions, met current fitness and rest standards, and were familiar with the territory.

The train consisted of two locomotives and 62 cars. It weighed 5190 tonnes and was 4097 feet in length. The train had received a full mechanical inspection and an air brake test prior to its departing CN’s Symington Yard. Both locomotives and all cars on the train were in a serviceable condition.

Letellier Subdivision

The Letellier Subdivision commences at Portage Junction in Winnipeg and extends 62.1 miles south to Emerson, MB. The method of control is the Occupancy Control System (OCS) authorized by the Canadian Rail Operating Rules (CROR) and supervised by a rail traffic controller (RTC) located in Edmonton, Alberta. Maximum subdivision speed was 25 mph. There is an average of two trains per day.

Crossing Information

Bison Drive is a four-lane divided arterial roadway that crosses the Letellier Subdivision at a 90‑degree angle. The road ascends at between one-half and one per cent approaching the crossing.

The crossing is located immediately adjacent to, and approximately 40 metres west of, the Pembina Highway (see Figure 1). This highway is the main north/south route through the city of Winnipeg. When travelling eastward on Bison Drive, the traffic signals at the Pembina Highway intersection are visible to motorists prior to their passing over the railway crossing (see Photo 2).

Figure 1. Plan view of Bison Drive crossing
Figure 1. Plan view of Bison Drive crossing

The posted speed on Bison Drive was 60 km/h in the vicinity of the crossing. Weekday traffic (2004 counts) averaged 18 300 vehicles per day, with 9450 of those vehicles travelling eastward. Since 2004, there had been significant residential and commercial development in the area. Bison Drive is the main entrance into the University of Manitoba.

Crossing Signals and Approaches

The Bison Drive crossing was equipped with four sets of flashing light emitting diode (LED) lights, four reflectorized crossing signs, and two warning bells. The lights and signs were located on masts positioned adjacent to the median and curb lanes for both the east and west approaches (see Photo 2). There were crossing advance warning signs posted on each side of the eastbound approach, located 200 metres from the crossing.

The crossing warning signal system used DC track circuits, interconnected with the traffic lights at the intersection with the Pembina Highway. When a train approached the crossing, the interconnection ensured that the highway traffic lights for eastbound traffic on Bison Drive defaulted to green. This was to prevent the eastbound vehicles from being blocked back onto the railway tracks. This system was installed in the mid-1970s, with the crossing signals upgraded from incandescent lights to LED lights in June 2005.

Immediately to the north of the railway crossing, there was a row of trees which restricted eastbound drivers’ sightlines to the north. A medium-rise condominium under construction restricted drivers’ sightlines to the south.

Photo 2. View of the crossing from the median lane of    Bison Drive, facing east
Photo 2. View of the crossing from the median lane of Bison Drive, facing east

Drivers’ Actions

Drivers travelling eastward had continued over the railway tracks while the signals were operating and proceeded through the Pembina Highway traffic intersection. An eastbound vehicle had just cleared the median lane in front of the train when the following Volkswagen was struck by the lead locomotive.

The Cadillac travelling in the curb lane was crossing the railway tracks when it was struck by the Volkswagen. Its driver was preparing to make a right-hand turn at the highway intersection. Data obtained from the Cadillac’s event recorder indicated that it had slowed from 80 km/h to 60 km/h, with a light brake application prior to the crossing, and was proceeding over the crossing at 60 km/h.

A traffic survey following the accident determined that, at this location, most eastbound drivers on Bison Drive had adapted to the threat presented by relatively infrequent trains and growing highway traffic. Drivers chose to give precedence to traffic flow and the highway traffic signals over the activated railway crossing signals.

Summary of TSB Database of Bison Drive Occurrences

This was the sixth TSB-reported train/vehicle collision at this crossing since 1986 (see Appendix A). Four of the accidents involved vehicles that were proceeding eastward. Prior to the 2008 accident, the most recent accident was in 2004. The time of day of these accidents varied. In the 1991 accident, a second vehicle following the eastbound vehicle that was struck by the locomotive drove into the side of the locomotive.

Transport Canada Crossing Risk-Assessment Process.

Transport Canada’s (TC’s) Prairie and Northern Region uses an accident prediction model to prioritize the need for crossing safety improvement. In addition, TC modifies the ranking to include traffic interconnections and other factors not accounted for in the model. Bison Drive had been identified and was on the list as a higher priority crossing.

In 2005 the railway, and in 2006 the road authority, applied to TC for a funding contribution to upgrade the crossing to include four gates, back lights, and constant warning time track circuitry. The estimated cost of these upgrades was $234 000, of which TC could fund up to 80 per cent. However, TC has limited funds available and prioritizes all outstanding applications each year. The railway and road authorities do not normally construct before funding is granted, as there is no guarantee that the funds will be provided.

Analysis

In this occurrence, neither track conditions, train handling, nor equipment were found to be contributory to the accident. Therefore, the analysis will focus on driver behaviour and the adequacy of automatic warning devices at interconnected crossings.

The Accident

As the train approached the Bison Drive crossing, it activated the railway crossing signal system. The interconnection between the crossing signals and the adjacent highway traffic signals ensured that the highway signal for eastbound traffic on Bison Drive was green. Westbound traffic stopped for the crossing signals. However, eastbound traffic continued to move through the crossing. The collision occurred when the drivers of the two motor vehicles, following the cues of the preceding traffic and not fully aware of the imminent danger of an approaching train, continued past the operating crossing signals and the median-lane vehicle was struck by the train.

The driver of the vehicle in the curb lane was preparing to make a right-hand turn at the highway intersection. Although aware that a train was approaching, the driver took a visual cue from the traffic in the median lane and continued onto the crossing. When the vehicle in the median lane was struck by the train, it was propelled into the vehicle in the curb lane.

When travelling on highways, vehicle operators rely on prominent visual cues to maintain a smooth traffic flow. In this accident, the drivers of both vehicles were following other vehicles that had just cleared the tracks in the median lane when they entered the railway crossing. Therefore, they did not perceive an imminent threat from the approaching train. They did not stop prior to the crossing although the warning signals were operating. Both drivers were following the flow of traffic and focused on negotiating the Pembina Highway traffic intersection beyond the crossing.

Eastbound vehicles at Bison Drive faced contradictory signals. The red flashing crossing signals required vehicles to stop, then to proceed only if it was safe to do so. However, eastbound drivers also faced the interconnected green highway signals and continuing traffic flow ahead of them. The interconnection of the highway and railway crossing signals and the traffic flow created an ambiguous environment where drivers did not acknowledge the crossing signals in an effort to successfully negotiate the traffic intersection.

Signal Interconnection

Interconnection between crossing signals and highway signals is done at locations where red highway signal indications can cause traffic to be backed-up foul of the railway tracks. In some locations, signals are interconnected without physical barriers at the crossing. In such circumstances, drivers are presented with two visual cues that it is safe to proceed (vehicles ahead and the green traffic light) and one visual defence (flashing red lights) warning drivers of the approaching train. These mixed indications may encourage vehicles to continue onto the crossing instead of stopping clear of the railway tracks. Where railway and highway crossing signals are interconnected without the use of a physical barrier at the crossing, ambiguity caused by conflicting visual cues increases the risk of a train/vehicle collision.

Impact of Development

In areas where significant development occurs, traffic volumes will also increase significantly. These developments often are in proximity to existing railway infrastructure and can affect the safety of railway crossings. In these cases, the existing crossing signal system may no longer be sufficient to assure an adequate level of safety.

Findings as to Causes and Contributing Factors

  1. The collision occurred when the drivers of the two motor vehicles did not recognize the imminent danger of an approaching train and continued past the operating crossing signals.
  2. Both drivers were following the flow of traffic and focused on negotiating the Pembina Highway traffic intersection.
  3. The interconnection of the highway traffic signals with the railway crossing signals and the traffic flow created an ambiguous environment where drivers discounted the crossing signals in an effort to successfully negotiate the traffic intersection.

Findings as to Risk

  1. Where railway and highway crossing signals are interconnected without the use of gates, ambiguity caused by conflicting visual signals can increase the risk of a train/vehicle collision.
  2. Where substantial residential and commercial development occurs in proximity to railway crossings, the existing crossing signal system may become insufficient to assure an adequate level of safety.

Safety Action Taken

Canadian National and the road authority applied to Transport Canada for a financial contribution to improve the Bison Drive crossing with the addition of automatic gates and improved track circuits. Transport Canada has identified this crossing as a higher priority for funding in 2009.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board’s investigation into this occurrence. Consequently, the Board authorized the release of this report on 11 March 2009.

Rapport d'enquête ferroviaire R08W0181

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Collision à un passage à niveau
Canadien National
Train no L53241-09 sud
Point milliaire 3,66 de la subdivision Letellier
Winnipeg (Manitoba)
Le 9 septembre 2008

Résumé

Le 9 septembre 2008 à 10 h 06, heure avancée du Centre, le train de marchandises no L53241-09 sud du Canadien National a heurté une automobile qui circulait en direction est sur la voie médiane du passage à niveau de l'avenue Bison. L'automobile a été poussée contre un autre véhicule qui roulait vers l'est sur la voie en bordure. Le premier véhicule a été détruit, et son unique occupant a été grièvement blessé. Le second véhicule a subi des dommages considérables, et ses deux occupants ont subi des blessures mineures. Les membres de l'équipe du train n'ont pas été blessés.

This report is also available in English.

Autres renseignements de base

L'accident

Le 9 septembre 2008 vers 10 h 05, heure avancée du Centre1, le train no L53241‑09 du Canadien National (CN), en provenance du triage Symington, à Winnipeg (Manitoba), roule en direction sud à une vitesse de 27 mi/h, à destination d'Emerson (Manitoba).

Tandis que le train approche du passage à niveau de l'avenue Bison, point milliaire 3,66 de la subdivision Letellier, et que la cloche de la locomotive se fait entendre, les signaux du passage à niveau commencent à fonctionner. Les véhicules roulant en direction ouest s'arrêtent au passage à niveau. Toutefois, les véhicules roulant vers l'est continuent de circuler sur le passage à niveau, sur la voie médiane et la voie en bordure. Au moment où le train s'engage sur le passage à niveau, le sifflet de la locomotive se faisant entendre, la locomotive de tête heurte une automobile de marque Volkswagen Golf qui roule sur la voie médiane, et la pousse contre une autre automobile, de marque Cadillac CTS, qui roule sur la voie en bordure. L'équipe commande un serrage d'urgence des freins du train, et le train s'immobilise à environ 800 pieds au sud du passage à niveau, avec l'automobile Volkswagen coincée sous l'attelage de la locomotive de tête (voir la photo 1).

Photo 1. Volkswagen coincée sous    l'avant de la locomotive
Photo 1. Volkswagen coincée sous l'avant de la locomotive
Source: CN

La police, les services d'incendie et le personnel des secours médicaux d'urgence interviennent sur les lieux de l'accident. La Volkswagen est détruite, et le conducteur est prisonnier de la voiture démolie. Les secours d'urgence ne disposent pas d'équipements (comme des écarteurs hydrauliques, appelés aussi « mâchoires de survie ») qui pourraient les aider à extraire la victime de la voiture. Dès qu'il est libéré, le conducteur est transporté à l'hôpital.

Sous la force de l'impact, la Cadillac est projetée dans un fossé situé au sud-est du passage à niveau. Les deux occupants de cette voiture, souffrant de blessures mineures, sont transportés à l'hôpital. La locomotive a subi des dommages mineurs, et les membres de l'équipe du train n'ont pas été blessés.

Lors de l'accident, la visibilité était bonne, la température était de 15ºC et les vents étaient calmes.

Renseignements sur l'équipe et sur le train

L'équipe du train no L53241-09 se composait d'un mécanicien et d'un chef de train. Les membres de l'équipe se conformaient tous deux aux normes en matière de repos et de condition physique, ils avaient les qualifications voulues pour occuper leurs postes respectifs et ils connaissaient bien le territoire.

Le train comptait deux locomotives et 62 wagons. Il pesait 5 190 tonnes et mesurait 4 097 pieds. Avant de partir du triage Symington du CN, le train avait fait l'objet d'une inspection mécanique complète et d'un essai des freins à air. Les deux locomotives et tous les wagons du train étaient en bon état de fonctionnement.

Subdivision Letellier

La subdivision Letellier va de Portage Junction à Winnipeg et descend vers le sud sur une distance de 62,1 milles, jusqu'à Emerson (Manitoba). Dans la subdivision, la circulation est régie grâce au système de régulation de l'occupation de la voie (ROV), en vertu du Règlement d'exploitation ferroviaire du Canada (REF), et elle est supervisée par un contrôleur de la circulation ferroviaire (CCF) à partir d'Edmonton (Alberta). La vitesse maximale autorisée dans la subdivision était de 25 mi/h. Il y a en moyenne deux trains par jour qui passent dans la subdivision.

Renseignements sur le passage à niveau

L'avenue Bison est une voie artérielle à quatre voies dont les chaussées sont séparées, et qui croise la subdivision Letellier à un angle de 90 degrés. La route gravit une rampe de un demi à un p. 100 aux abords du passage à niveau.

Le passage à niveau est adjacent à l'autoroute Pembina, et se trouve à environ 40 mètres à l'ouest de celle-ci (voir la figure 1). L'autoroute Pembina est la principale voie de circulation qui traverse la ville de Winnipeg du nord vers le sud. Pour les automobilistes qui roulent vers l'est sur l'avenue Bison, les feux de circulation de l'autoroute Pembina sont visibles avant qu'ils ne s'engagent sur le passage à niveau (voir la photo 2).

Figure 1. Vue    en plan du passage à niveau de l'avenue Bison
Figure 1. Vue en plan du passage à niveau de l'avenue Bison

La limite de vitesse sur l'avenue Bison était de 60 km/h dans le secteur du passage à niveau. Chaque jour, il passait en moyenne 18 300 véhicules à cet endroit (relevé de circulation de 2004) dont 9 450 véhicules en direction est. Depuis 2004, il y a eu un développement résidentiel et commercial marqué dans ce secteur. L'avenue Bison constitue l'entrée principale du campus de l'université du Manitoba.

Signaux et abords du passage à niveau

Le passage à niveau de l'avenue Bison était muni de quatre jeux de feux clignotants constitués de diodes électroluminescentes (DEL), de quatre panneaux réflectorisés de passage à niveau et de deux sonneries d'approche de passage à niveau. Les feux et les signaux étaient montés sur

les mâts adjacents à la voie médiane et à la voie de bordure des voies d'accès est et ouest du passage à niveau (voir la photo 2). Il y avait des signaux avancés de passage à niveau de chaque côté de la voie d'accès menant en direction est, à 200 mètres du passage à niveau.

Les circuits de voie du passage à niveau fonctionnaient au courant continu (C.C.), et ils étaient en interconnexion avec les feux de circulation de l'intersection de l'autoroute Pembina. Quand un train approchait du passage à niveau, l'interconnexion faisait en sorte que les feux de circulation tournent par défaut au vert pour les véhicules qui roulaient en direction est sur l'avenue Bison, de façon à empêcher que des véhicules roulant en direction est restent bloqués sur les voies ferrées. Ce système a été installé au milieu des années 1970, et il a été mis à niveau en juin 2005, lorsqu'on a remplacé les lampes à incandescence du passage à niveau par des DEL.

Un peu au nord du passage à niveau, une rangée d'arbres empêchait les automobilistes roulant vers l'est de bien voir vers le nord. Au sud du passage à niveau, il y avait un immeuble de condominiums de hauteur moyenne en cours de construction, qui gênait la visibilité vers le sud.

Photo 2. Passage à  niveau vu de la voie médiane de l'avenue Bison, face à l'est
Photo 2. Passage à niveau vu de la voie médiane de l'avenue Bison, face à l'est

Actions des conducteurs

Les automobilistes qui roulaient en direction est se sont engagés sur les voies ferrées alors que les signaux fonctionnaient, se dirigeant vers l'intersection de l'autoroute Pembina. Un véhicule roulant vers l'est est passé tout juste devant le train avant que la locomotive de tête heurte la Volkswagen qui suivait ce véhicule.

La voiture de marque Cadillac qui roulait sur la voie en bordure traversait les voies ferrées quand elle a été heurtée par la Volkswagen. Son conducteur se préparait à tourner à droite à l'intersection de l'autoroute. Les données de l'enregistreur de la Cadillac ont indiqué que le conducteur avait freiné légèrement pour ralentir de 80 km/h à 60 km/h, avant de franchir le passage à niveau, et que la voiture roulait à 60 km/h quand elle a traversé le passage à niveau.

Une étude de circulation qu'on a faite après l'accident a révélé qu'à cet endroit, la plupart des automobilistes circulant sur l'avenue Bison s'étaient adaptés aux risques dus à la présence relativement peu fréquente de trains et à l'accroissement de la circulation routière. Les automobilistes ont choisi d'accorder la préséance à la circulation routière et aux indications de la signalisation routière, plutôt qu'aux indications des signaux du passage à niveau.

Sommaire de la base de données du BST concernant les accidents survenus au croisement de l'avenue Bison

Les dossiers du BST indiquent que cet accident est la sixième collision train/véhicule à se produire à ce passage à niveau depuis 1986 (voir l'annexe A). Quatre des accidents ont impliqué des véhicules qui circulaient en direction est. Le dernier accident qui a précédé celui de 2008 remontait à 2004. L'heure à laquelle ces accidents se sont produits variait. Lors de l'accident de 1991, un second véhicule, qui suivait celui qui a été heurté par la locomotive, a heurté le côté de la locomotive.

Évaluation des risques aux passages à niveau par Transports Canada

La région des Prairies et du Nord de Transports Canada (TC) se sert d'un modèle de prédiction des accidents pour dresser la liste de priorité des passages à niveau où une amélioration de la sécurité s'avère nécessaire. De plus, TC modifie le classement en fonction des interconnexions entre la circulation routière et ferroviaire et d'autres facteurs dont le modèle ne tient pas compte. Le croisement de l'avenue Bison faisait partie de cette liste et il était identifié comme étant un passage à niveau de haute priorité.

La compagnie de chemin de fer en 2005, et l'administration routière en 2006, ont demandé à TC de contribuer financièrement à l'amélioration du passage à niveau (installation de quatre barrières, feux arrière et circuits de voie à temps constant). Le coût estimatif de ces améliorations s'élevait à 234 000 $, dont TC pourrait fournir jusqu'à 80 p. 100 du financement. Toutefois, TC dispose de fonds limités et établit chaque année un ordre priorité entre les projets en attente. Normalement, la compagnie de chemin de fer et les administrations routières n'entreprennent pas de travaux de construction avant que le financement soit attribué, sans compter qu'elles n'ont aucune garantie à savoir si les fonds seront disponibles.

Analyse

Lors de cet événement, ni l'état de la voie, ni la conduite du train ni le matériel roulant n'ont été des facteurs contributifs. L'analyse portera donc sur le comportement des automobilistes et sur la suffisance des dispositifs d'avertissement automatique aux passages à niveau où il y a une interconnexion des signaux.

L'accident

Le train a déclenché le fonctionnement du dispositif de signalisation tandis qu'il approchait du passage à niveau de l'avenue Bison. L'interconnexion entre les signaux du passage à niveau et la signalisation de l'autoroute adjacente a fait en sorte que les feux de signalisation à l'intention des voitures qui roulaient en direction est sur l'avenue Bison étaient verts. Les voitures roulant en direction ouest se sont arrêtées aux feux de signalisation du passage à niveau. Toutefois, les voitures roulant vers l'est ont continué de rouler sur le passage à niveau. La collision s'est produite lorsque les conducteurs des deux automobiles, qui suivaient le flot de la circulation et n'étaient apparemment pas conscients du danger imminent dû au train qui approchait, ont dépassé les signaux du passage à niveau et, que le véhicule qui roulait sur la voie médiane a été heurté par le train.

Le conducteur du véhicule de la voie en bordure se préparait à tourner à droite à l'intersection de l'autoroute. Même s'il était conscient du fait qu'un train approchait, le conducteur, après avoir observé les voitures de la voie médiane, a continué de rouler sur le passage à niveau. Quand le véhicule de la voie médiane a été heurté par le train, il a été projeté contre le véhicule de la voie en bordure.

Quand ils roulent sur une route, les conducteurs se fient à des indices visuels remarquables pour assurer une circulation régulière. Lors de cet accident, les conducteurs des deux véhicules suivaient d'autres véhicules qui venaient de traverser les voies ferrées dans la voie médiane, quand ils se sont engagés sur le passage à niveau. Ils n'ont pas perçu une menace imminente du fait de la présence du train. Ils n'ont pas fait d'arrêt avant le passage à niveau, et ce même si les signaux d'avertissement fonctionnaient. Les deux conducteurs suivaient la circulation et se concentraient sur l'intersection routière de l'autoroute Pembina où ils allaient passer après avoir franchi le passage à niveau.

Les conducteurs des véhicules roulant en direction est sur l'avenue Bison faisaient face à des signaux contradictoires. Les feux clignotants rouges du passage à niveau indiquaient que les conducteurs devaient faire un arrêt complet et ne devaient poursuivre leur route que s'ils pouvaient le faire sans danger. Cependant, les automobilistes roulant en direction est voyaient aussi devant eux les feux de signalisation verts interconnectés et les véhicules qui continuaient d'avancer. L'interconnexion des signalisations routière et ferroviaire et la circulation continue des voitures ont créé un environnement ambigu qui a fait en sorte que les automobilistes ne tiennent pas compte des signaux du passage à niveau et pensent plutôt à franchir l'intersection routière située au-delà du passage à niveau.

Interconnexion des signaux

On procède à l'interconnexion des signaux du passage à niveau et des signaux routiers aux endroits où les feux rouges de l'intersection routière peuvent faire en sorte que des véhicules restent bloqués sur les voies ferrées. À certains endroits, les signaux sont interconnectés sans que des barrières physiques empêchent l'accès au passage à niveau. Dans ces circonstances, les automobilistes se trouvent face à deux indices visuels indiquant qu'ils peuvent avancer sans danger (les véhicules à l'avant et le feu de circulation au vert) et à un indice visuel de défense (feux rouges clignotants) qui avertit les automobilistes de l'arrivée prochaine d'un train. Ces indications divergentes peuvent encourager les automobilistes à continuer d'avancer sur le passage à niveau plutôt que de les inciter à s'arrêter à l'écart de la voie ferrée. Aux endroits où il y a interconnexion des signaux d'un passage à niveau et de la signalisation routière sans qu'il y ait de barrière physique pour empêcher d'accéder au passage à niveau, l'ambiguïté due aux indices visuels contradictoires fait augmenter le risque de collision train/véhicule(s).

Répercussions du développement

Dans les secteurs où le développement est considérable, la circulation est susceptible d'augmenter de façon directement proportionnelle. Ces développements se trouvent souvent à proximité des infrastructures ferroviaires existantes et peuvent affecter la sécurité aux passages à niveau. Dans de tels cas, il se peut que le système de signalisation existant des passages à niveau ne soit plus suffisant pour assurer une sécurité adéquate.

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. La collision s'est produite quand les conducteurs de deux véhicules motorisés ne se sont pas rendu compte du danger imminent que représentait un train qui approchait, et ont dépassé les signaux du passage à niveau.
  2. Les deux conducteurs suivaient le flot de la circulation et se concentraient sur l'intersection routière de l'autoroute Pembina où ils allaient passer après avoir franchi le passage à niveau.
  3. L'interconnexion des signalisations routière et ferroviaire et la circulation continue des voitures ont créé un environnement ambigu qui a fait en sorte que les automobilistes ne tiennent pas compte des signaux du passage à niveau et pensent plutôt à franchir l'intersection routière située au-delà du passage à niveau.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Aux endroits où il y a interconnexion des signaux d'un passage à niveau et de la signalisation routière sans qu'il y ait de barrière physique pour empêcher d'accéder au passage à niveau, l'ambiguïté due aux indices visuels contradictoires fait augmenter le risque de collision train/véhicule(s).
  2. Quand il y a un développement résidentiel et commercial considérable à proximité de passages à niveau, il se peut que le système de signalisation existant des passages à niveau ne soit plus suffisant pour assurer une sécurité adéquate.

Mesures de sécurité prises

Le Canadien National et l'administration routière ont demandé à Transports Canada de fournir une contribution financière aux fins de l'amélioration du passage à niveau de l'avenue Bison, lequel recevra des barrières automatiques et des circuits de voie améliorés. Transports Canada a indiqué que ce passage à niveau était un des croisements prioritaires dont l'amélioration doit faire l'objet d'une aide financière en 2009.

Le présent rapport met un terme à l'enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication du rapportle 11 mars 2009.