Railway Investigation Report R15D0073

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) investigated this occurrence for the purpose of advancing transportation safety. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Derailment
Central Maine & Québec Railway
Freight train 2-10
Mile 6.3, Adirondack Subdivision
Farnham, Quebec

Summary

On 10 August 2015, at about 2230 Eastern Daylight Time, while departing Farnham Yard, in Farnham, Quebec, 15 cars of Central Maine & Québec Railway freight train 2-10 derailed near the crossover between the siding and the main track of the Adirondack Subdivision. The crossover, a section of the siding of about 800 feet in length and the derailed cars were damaged. There were no injuries.

Le présent rapport est également disponible en français.

Factual information

The accident

On 10 August 2015, at about 1800,Footnote 1 a locomotive engineer (LE) and a conductor began their shifts at the Central Maine & Québec Railway (CMQ) Farnham Yard, in Farnham, Quebec. They were assigned to train 2-10 (the train), a freight train departing from Farnham Yard (Figure 1). Both crew members were familiar with the territory and met rest and fitness requirements.

Figure 1. Derailment site (Source: Railway Association of Canada, Canadian Railway Atlas, with TSB annotations)

Due to the length of the tracks in Farnham, the cars were marshalled on 3 separate tracks. Prior to departure, the train was assembled by coupling the 3 blocks, resulting in a train comprising 4 locomotives, 10 loaded cars and 91 empty cars. The train weighed about 5300 tonnes and was approximately 6800 feet long. The train was then left north of Farnham Yard, in the siding, for a certified car inspector to verify the application and release of the brakes on each car.

At about 2230, as it was leaving Farnham Yard, the train reached a speed of about 10 mph when it began to slow down. The LE tried to compensate by gradually moving the throttle to position 7, but the train continued to slow until a train-initiated emergency brake application brought it to a stop. Upon inspection, the train crew found that 15 cars, positions 8 to 22, had derailed (Photo 1).

Photo 1. Derailed cars (view looking south)

Site examination

Farnham Yard is located in the centre of the town of Farnham. The Farnham Yard siding is located on the west side of the Adirondack Subdivision main track. A gravel road between the siding and the first yard track (track number 1) makes it possible to drive from one end of the yard to the other. Opposite the north end of track 1 is a hand-operated crossoverFootnote 2 linking the siding to the main track. A train travelling southward on the siding makes a “facing point” movementFootnote 3 (Figure 2).

Figure 2. Farnham Yard schematic

As a result of the derailment, 4 public crossings were blocked by the train cars. To clear them, the tail end of the train had to be moved northward. The crossings were cleared at about 0500 the next morning when equipment accessed the tail end of the train and pulled it.

The siding was damaged for about 800 feet, starting at the switch points of the siding crossover switch (S/ML). The rail was ripped from its tie plates over a length of 300 feet, several ties were broken, and the ballast was displaced. Moreover, in the vicinity of the S/ML turnout, several main-track ties were struck, and both tracks were displaced.

The left switch point (east) of the S/ML turnout was about 2 inches from its stock rail (Photo 2). That switch point did not show any sign of impact or wear or any abnormal markings. The right switch point (west) of the turnout was 3 inches from its stock rail. It was chipped over a length of about 14 inches. Between the bent stock rail and the siding's rail, there were impact marks on the switch stop lugs, frog, tie plates, spikes and several ties. No switch rods were damaged.

Photo 2. Left switch point (east)

The S/ML turnout was locked in normal position. One of the long ties under the switch stand was split. Three of the four bolts securing the switch stand to the long ties were bent southward (Photo 3), and the switch stand was loose. The ballast surrounding these ties was displaced southward.

Photo 3. Switch stand S/ML

All the derailed cars remained upright. However, some were leaning toward the main track, their trucks displaced from their supports. The 8th car in the consist (WCTR 866845) was the first derailed car. Its leading truck was on the rails while the trailing truck (A-end) had derailed.

Grooves were visible on the ties from the S/ML turnout to car WCTR 866845. Examination of the car wheels revealed that the R3 wheel flange exhibited wear that was near the 2014 Field Manual of the AAR Interchange Rules allowable limits (15∕16 inch) (Photo 4)

Photo 4. Wheel R3 of car WCTR 866845

Track information

The Adirondack Subdivision extends from Brookport near Brigham, Quebec, Mile 0.0, to the Outremont Station, in Outremont, Quebec, Mile 49.1. CMQ is the owner of the portion of the subdivision between Mile 0 and Mile 20.

Between Mile 0 and Mile 20, the Adirondack Subdivision is a Class 2 single main trackFootnote 4 according to the Track Safety Rules (TSR) approved by Transport Canada (TC). Train movements are governed by the occupancy control system (OCS)Footnote 5, as authorized by the Canadian Rail Operating Rules (CROR), and supervised by a rail traffic controller (RTC). In addition to road switcher movements, 1 train travelled over the subdivision every 2nd day.

At Farnham Yard, the crossover connecting the siding to the main track is located near Mile 6, on a section of tangent track. Just prior the S/ML turnout, southward movements must negotiate a right-hand curve. The siding consisted of 100-pound rail laid on 10-inch single-shouldered tie plates secured with 2 spikes per tie. Every third tie was box-anchored, and the ballast consisted of ½- to 2-inch crushed rock.

S/ML turnout

The S/ML turnout is inspected on foot once a month, in accordance with the TSR. During that inspection, the employee must verify the condition of several components and record the results on an inspection form. That turnout was last inspected on 06 July 2015. During that inspection, 3 items requiring remedial action were noted:

  • Pins were missing.
  • The right switch point required replacement.
  • The left switch stand tie was defective.

The S/ML switch had to be locked and left in normal position (i.e., lined up for the siding). In that position, the left switch point is pressed against the bent stock rail while the right switch point is about 5 inches from the right rail.

Car WCTR 866845

Car WCTR 866845 is a bulkhead flat car built in 1980. A detailed examination of the derailed car revealed the following anomalies:

  • The 4 friction wedges of the A-end truck (derailed truck) were high (between ¾ inch and 1 5∕16 inches). These measurements exceeded the 2014 Field Manual of the AAR Interchange Rules allowable limits (¾ inch or more).
  • Wear of the 4 constant contact side bearings (CCSB) of the car exceeded the 2014 Field Manual of the AAR Interchange Rules allowable limits.

According to the car's maintenance history, its last detailed inspection was performed in May 2014. During that inspection, neither the CCSBs nor the friction wedges were found to require remedial action. Moreover, the car's pre-departure inspection did not reveal any anomaly as CCSB and friction wedge wear is difficult to detect visually, particularly at night.

Inspections at Farnham Yard

At about 1400, a certified car inspector (the inspector) began his shift at the Farnham Yard. His first task was to inspect the cars that would form the train. The cars to be inspected were on tracks 1, 3 and 4. Using a pickup truck, the inspector drove to track 1 to begin the inspection. Once the inspection of the cars on that track was completed, he drove to the north end of the yard to inspect the cars on tracks 3 and 4. During that inspection, the inspector was called upon to complete other tasks and used the pickup truck to drive from one point to the next.

Pickup truck

Following the derailment, an examination of the pickup truck revealed damage to the rear bumper. That damage was not present when the inspector began his shift.

During a re-enactment, the damage to the bumper of the pickup truck was compared to the switch stand of the S/ML turnout. The shape of the damage to the bumper was consistent with the shape of the switch stand (Photo 5, Photo 6, and Photo 7).

Photo 5. Pickup truck used during train inspection
Photo 6. Damage to the pickup truck's bumper
Photo 7. Pickup truck backed up to the switch S/M

Lead locomotive event recorder

Examination of the lead locomotive (CITX 3091) event recorder revealed that, in the moments before the train stopped (about 3 seconds):

  • The load of the locomotive traction motor decreased quickly.
  • Brake pipe pressure fell from 89 psi to 0.
  • The pressure in the locomotive brake cylinder had started to increase.
  • The locomotive throttle was reduced to the idle position.
  • The power cut-off switch remained closed.

The locomotive event recorder (LER) data indicated that the power cut-off switch remained closed whereas, normally, it should open when the emergency brakes are applied. Consequently, tests were conducted on locomotive CITX 3091 to determine the cause of that anomaly. Testing showed that, each time the emergency brakes were applied, the power cut-off switch tripped open (as expected), whereas the LER showed that the power cut-off switch remained closed (did not trip). Testing also showed that some connectors were not positioned properly.

Analysis

No track defect was considered a factor in the accident. Examination of the locomotive event recorder (LER) data did not reveal any condition in the train handling that could have caused the derailment. The analysis will therefore focus on the siding crossover switch (S/ML), on car WCTR 866845, and on the power cut-off switch.

The accident

The marks on the tie plates, spikes and switch stop lugs were consistent with damage caused by the passage of several wheel flanges. The lack of damage north of the switch, the grooves leading from the S/ML turnout to car WCTR 866845, and the anomalies found on that car indicate that this car was the first to derail and that it derailed while it passed on the S/ML turnout, which was out of adjustment.

Since the constant contact side bearings (CCSB) and friction wedges of the trailing truck of car WCTR 866845 were worn beyond the allowable limits, the car's ability to negotiate curves was compromised. After exiting the curve immediately preceding the turnout, the trailing truck was no longer symmetric, forcing the flange of the lead wheel (R3 wheel) against the inside of the east rail. As a result, the flange of the R3 wheel became lodged between the left switch point and the bent stock rail, increasing the gap between the switch point and the bent stock rail, causing the derailment of that car and the next 14 cars.

An opening between the switch point and its stock rail indicates that the switch is either damaged or improperly adjusted. The fact that the switch points and the rods were not damaged excludes the possibility that the switch was run through by rolling stock. The long ties supporting the switch stand of the S/ML turnout were displaced southward, and the bolts used to secure the switch stand to the ties were bent in the same direction. In addition, there were rub marks on the north side of the switch stand. That damage indicates an impact of sufficient force to misalign the switch points and create an opening between the left switch point and the bent stock rail occurred. Since the damage to the bumper of the pickup truck was consistent with that observed on the switch stand, the misalignment of the switch points was caused by the pickup truck's impact.

Despite the extent of the damage sustained by the switch stand and the pickup truck, the damage was not reported and, consequently, its impact on the safe movement of rolling stock was not assessed. If switch-related incidents are not reported, damaged switches could remain in service, increasing the risk of derailment.

Power cut-off switch

Testing of the LER showed that the decrease in the load of the traction motor, the drop in brake pipe pressure, and the reduction of the locomotive throttle to the idle position could be accounted for by emergency braking. However, it was found that, each time the emergency brakes were applied, the locomotive power cut-off switch tripped open (as expected) whereas according to the LER, the power cut-off switch remained closed (did not trip). Since that anomaly is associated with improperly positioned connectors, all indications are that this situation is unique to this locomotive. As LER data are used to re-enact accidents, their accuracy is vital to properly conduct an investigation. When an LER does not accurately record the required parameters of a train's operation, the accuracy and validity of any analysis conducted using that incorrect information can be compromised.

Findings

Findings as to causes and contributing factors

  1. The train derailed while it passed on the siding crossover switch, which was out of adjustment.
  2. The flange of the R3 wheel of car WCTR 866845 became lodged between the left switch point and the bent stock rail, causing the derailment of that car and the next 14 cars.
  3. The misalignment of the switch points was caused by the pickup truck's impact with the switch stand.

Findings as to risk

  1. If switch-related incidents are not reported, damaged switches could remain in service, increasing the risk of derailment.

Other findings

  1. When a locomotive event recorder does not accurately record the required parameters of a train's operation, the accuracy and validity of any analysis conducted using that incorrect information can be compromised.

Safety action

Safety action taken

Rail safety information letter

On 12 November 2015, the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) issued Rail Safety Information Letter 14/15 to Transport Canada (TC) regarding the incorrect data recorded by the locomotive event recorder (LER). In that letter, the TSB stated that the position of the power cut-off switch as recorded by the LER (i.e., did not trip) was inconsistent with emergency braking. When the emergency brakes are applied, the power cut-off switch opens to stop the flow of electrical current generated by the locomotive's main alternator to the traction motors. After testing, the TSB confirmed that the LER did not correctly record the position of the power cut-off switch.

Since LER data are used to re-enact accidents, their accuracy is vital for the proper conduct of an investigation. When an LER does not accurately record the required parameters of a train's operation, the accuracy and validity of any analysis conducted using that incorrect information can be compromised.

On 09 February 2016, TC replied that railway companies are responsible to carry out yearly inspections and accuracy testing of the LER and the event recorder's memory module. In addition, on 26 January 2016, TC's Quebec regional office tested data extracted from the LER of locomotive CITX 3091; the LER had recorded that the power cut-off was open during the emergency brake application.

This report concludes the Transportation Safety Board's investigation into this occurrence. The Board authorized the release of this report on 8 June 2016. It was officially released on 13 June 2016.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

All times are Eastern Daylight Time.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

“A track joining adjacent main tracks, or a main track and another track.” (Transport Canada, Canadian Rail Operating Rules, Definitions.)

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

A “facing point” movement occurs when the wheels travel over the switch by the switch points.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

Allowing a speed of up to 25 mph for freight trains and 30 mph for passenger trains.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

Excluding the cautionary limits between Mile 4 and Mile 10 (opposite Farnham Yard).

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Rapport d'enquête ferroviaire R15D0073

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a enquêté sur cet accident dans le seul but de promouvoir la sécurité des transports. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Déraillement
Chemin de fer Central Maine & Québec
Train de marchandises 2-10
Point milliaire 6,3, subdivision d'Adirondack
Farnham (Québec)

Résumé

Le 10 août 2015, vers 22 h 30, heure avancée de l'Est, en quittant le triage Farnham, à Farnham (Québec), 15 wagons du train de marchandises 2-10 du chemin de fer Central Maine & Québec ont déraillé près de la liaison entre la voie d'évitement et la voie principale de la subdivision d'Adirondack. La liaison, un tronçon de la voie d'évitement d'une longueur d'environ 800 pieds, ainsi que les wagons déraillés ont été endommagés. Il n'y a eu aucun blessé.

This report is also available in English.

Renseignements de base

L’accident

Le 10 août 2015, vers 18 hNote de bas de page 1, un mécanicien de locomotive (ML) et un chef de train ont commencé leur quart de travail au triage Farnham du chemin de fer Central Maine & Québec (CMQ), à Farnham (Québec). Ils étaient affectés au train 2-10 (le train), un train de marchandises au départ du triage Farnham (figure 1). Les 2 membres de l’équipe de train connaissaient bien le territoire et se conformaient aux normes de repos et de condition physique.

Figure 1. Lieu du déraillement (Source : Association des chemins de fer du Canada, Atlas des chemins de fer canadiens, avec annotations du BST)

En raison de la longueur des voies à Farnham, les wagons du train avaient été garés sur 3 voies distinctes. Avant le départ, le train a été reconstitué en attelant les 3 rames, résultant en un train composé de 4 locomotives, 10 wagons chargés et 91 wagons vides. Le train pesait environ 5300 tonnes et mesurait approximativement 6800 pieds. Le train a été laissé au nord du triage Farnham, sur la voie d’évitement, afin qu’un inspecteur de matériel roulant vérifie le serrage et le desserrage des freins de chaque wagon.

Vers 22 h 30, en quittant le triage Farnham, le train a atteint une vitesse d’environ 10 mi/h puis a commencé à ralentir. Le ML a tenté de compenser en avançant graduellement le manipulateur jusqu’à la position 7, mais le train a continué à ralentir jusqu’à ce qu’un freinage d’urgence provenant de la conduite générale arrête le mouvement. Après inspection, l’équipe du train a constaté que 15 wagons, des positions 8 à 22, avaient déraillé (photo 1).

Photo 1. Wagons déraillés (direction sud)

Examen des lieux

Le triage Farnham est situé au cœur de la ville de Farnham. La voie d’évitement du triage Farnham est située du côté ouest de la voie principale de la subdivision d’Adirondack. Entre la voie d’évitement et la première voie de triage (voie numéro 1), une route en gravier permet de circuler d’une extrémité à l’autre du triage. Vis-à-vis de l’extrémité nord de la voie 1 se trouve une liaisonNote de bas de page 2 à manœuvre manuelle reliant la voie d’évitement à la voie principale. Un mouvement qui circule sur la voie d’évitement en direction sud fait face à un branchement en « prise en pointe »Note de bas de page 3 (figure 2).

Figure 2. Schéma du triage Farnham

Par suite du déraillement, 4 passages à niveau publics ont été bloqués par des wagons du train. Afin de les libérer, la queue du train devait être déplacée vers le nord. Les passages à niveau ont été libérés vers 5 h le lendemain matin, lorsque de l’équipement de traction a accédé à la queue du train.

La voie d’évitement a été endommagée sur une longueur d’environ 800 pieds, à partir des pointes d’aiguille du branchement de liaison de la voie d’évitement (S/ML). Le rail a été arraché de ses selles sur une longueur de 300 pieds, plusieurs traverses ont été brisées, et le ballast a été déplacé. De plus, dans les environs du branchement S/ML, plusieurs traverses de la voie principale ont subi des impacts, et les 2 voies ont été déplacées.

La pointe d’aiguille gauche (est) du branchement S/ML était décollée d’environ 2 pouces de sa contre-aiguille (photo 2). Cette pointe ne montrait aucun signe d’impact ou d’usure ni aucune marque anormale. La pointe d’aiguille droite (ouest) du branchement était à 3 pouces de sa contre-aiguille. Elle était écaillée sur une longueur d’environ 14 pouces. Entre la contre-aiguille courbée et le rail de la voie d’évitement, il y avait des marques d’impact sur les butées d’aiguille, le cœur de croisement, les selles, les crampons et plusieurs traverses. Aucune tringle n’a été endommagée.

Photo 2. Pointe d’aiguille gauche (est)

Le branchement S/ML était cadenassé en position normale. Une des longues traverses sous l’appareil de manœuvre était fendue. Trois des quatre boulons fixant l’appareil de manœuvre aux longues traverses étaient pliés vers le sud (photo 3) et l’appareil de manœuvre était lâche. Le ballast qui encadrait ces traverses était déplacé vers le sud.

Photo 3. Appareil de manœuvre S/ML

Tous les wagons déraillés sont demeurés debout. Cependant, certains d’entre eux étaient penchés vers la voie principale, leurs bogies déplacés de leurs appuis. Le 8e wagon du convoi (WCTR 866845), premier wagon déraillé, avait son bogie avant sur les rails alors que son bogie arrière (bout A) était déraillé.

Des sillons sur les traverses étaient visibles et s’étendaient du branchement S/ML au wagon WCTR 866845. Un examen des roues de ce wagon a montré que le boudin de la roue R3 présentait une usure proche de la limite permise selon le Field Manual of the AAR Interchange Rules de 2014 (15∕16 pouce) (photo 4).

Photo 4. Roue R3 du wagon WCTR 866845

Renseignements sur la voie

La subdivision d’Adirondack s’étend de Brookport, près de Brigham (Québec), au point milliaire 0,0, jusqu’à la gare d’Outremont, à Outremont (Québec), au point milliaire 49,1. La partie de la subdivision située entre les points milliaires 0 et 20 appartient au CMQ.

Entre les points milliaires 0 et 20, la subdivision d’Adirondack est une voie simple de catégorie 2Note de bas de page 4 au sens du Règlement sur la sécurité de la voie (RSV) approuvé par Transports Canada (TC). Les mouvements de train sont régis par les règles de la régulation de l’occupation de la voie (ROV)Note de bas de page 5, aux termes du Règlement d’exploitation ferroviaire du Canada (REF), sous la supervision d’un contrôleur de la circulation ferroviaire (CCF). En plus des trains de manœuvres de lignes, il y avait 1 train qui circulait tous les 2 jours.

Au triage Farnham, la liaison reliant la voie d’évitement à la voie principale est située vis-à-vis du point milliaire 6, sur une section de voie tangente. Tout juste avant le branchement S/ML, les mouvements vers le sud doivent négocier une courbe vers la droite. La voie d’évitement était composée de rails de 100 livres. Les rails reposaient sur des selles de 10 pouces à simple épaulement et étaient fixés aux traverses par 2 crampons. Des anticheminants encadraient chaque 3e traverse, et le ballast était composé de pierre concassée de ½ à 2 pouces.

Branchement S/ML

Le branchement S/ML est inspecté à pied, sur une base mensuelle, en conformité avec le RSV. Lors de cette inspection, l’employé doit vérifier l’état de plusieurs composantes et consigner les résultats dans un formulaire d’inspection. La dernière inspection de ce branchement avait été effectuée le 6 juillet 2015. Lors de cette inspection, 3 éléments nécessitant des mesures correctives avaient été relevés :

  • des goupilles étaient manquantes;
  • la pointe droite nécessitait un remplacement;
  • la traverse gauche de l’appareil de manœuvre était défectueuse.

L’aiguillage S/ML devait être cadenassé et laissé en position normale (c.-à-d., orienté pour la voie d’évitement). Dans cette position, l’aiguille gauche est appuyée contre le contre-rail courbé et l’aiguille droite est décollée d’environ 5 pouces du rail droit.

Wagon WCTR 866845

Le wagon WCTR 866845 est un wagon plat à parois de bout construit en 1980. L’examen détaillé du wagon déraillé a révélé les anomalies suivantes :

  • Les 4 frottoirs de traverse danseuse du bogie au bout A (bogie déraillé) étaient élevés (entre ¾ pouce et 1516 pouce). Ces mesures étaient au-delà des limites permises selon le Field Manual of the AAR Interchange Rules de 2014 (¾ pouce ou plus).
  • L’usure des 4 glissoirs à contact permanent (CCSB) du wagon dépassait les limites permises selon le Field Manual of the AAR Interchange Rules de 2014.

Selon l’historique d’entretien du wagon, sa dernière inspection détaillée datait de mai 2014. Lors de cette inspection, ni les CCSB ni les frottoirs de traverse danseuse de bogie n’avaient été signalés comme nécessitant des mesures correctives. D’autre part, l’inspection avant départ de ce wagon n’a révélé aucune anomalie, car l’usure des frottoirs de traverse danseuse de bogie et des CCSB est difficile à repérer à l’œil nu, surtout la nuit.

Activités d’inspection au triage Farnham

Vers 14 h, un inspecteur de matériel roulant (l’inspecteur) a commencé son quart de travail au triage Farnham. Sa première tâche était d’inspecter les wagons destinés au train. Les wagons à inspecter étaient garés sur les voies 1, 3 et 4. L’inspecteur s’est déplacé en camionnette de service vers la voie 1 pour commencer l’inspection. Une fois l’inspection des wagons sur cette voie terminée, il s’est rendu au nord du triage pour effectuer l’inspection des wagons garés sur les voies 3 et 4. Pendant cette inspection, l’inspecteur a été appelé à effectuer d’autres tâches et il s’est servi de la camionnette pour se déplacer.

Camionnette de service

À la suite du déraillement, un examen de la camionnette de service a révélé des dommages au pare-chocs arrière. Ces dommages n’étaient pas présents lorsque l’inspecteur a commencé son quart de travail.

Lors d’une reconstitution, les dommages au pare-chocs de la camionnette de service ont été comparés à l’appareil de manœuvre du branchement S/ML. La forme des dommages au pare-chocs correspondait à celle de l’appareil de manœuvre du branchement (photo 5, photo 6 et photo 7).

Photo 5. Camionnette de service utilisée pendant l’inspection du train
 
Photo 6. Dommages au pare-chocs de la camionnette
 
Photo 7. Arrière de la camionnette rapproché de l’appareil de manœuvre du branchement S/ML

Consignateur d’événements de la locomotive de tête

L’examen des données du consignateur d’événements de la locomotive de tête (CITX 3091) a révélé que, dans les instants qui ont précédé l’arrêt du train (soit environ 3 secondes) :

  • La charge du moteur de traction de la locomotive avait diminué rapidement.
  • La pression dans la conduite générale avait chuté de 89 lb/po² à 0 lb/po2.
  • La pression dans le cylindre de frein de la locomotive avait commencé à augmenter.
  • Le manipulateur de la locomotive était passé au ralenti.
  • L’interrupteur coupe-puissance était demeuré fermé.

Le consignateur d’événements de locomotive (CEL) a aussi indiqué que l’interrupteur coupe-puissance était demeuré fermé alors que, normalement, il devrait se mettre en position ouverte lorsque les freins d’urgence sont serrés. Conséquemment, des essais ont été effectués sur la locomotive CITX 3091 afin de déterminer la cause de cette anomalie. Les essais ont montré que chaque fois qu’un freinage d’urgence était déclenché, l’interrupteur coupe-puissance de la locomotive se mettait en position ouverte (comme prévu), alors que le CEL indiquait que l’interrupteur coupe-puissance était resté fermé (ne s’était pas déclenché). Les essais ont aussi révélé que des connecteurs étaient mal positionnés.

Analyse

Aucun défaut de la voie n’est considéré comme ayant contribué à l’accident. L’examen du consignateur d’événements de locomotive (CEL) n’a révélé aucune condition dans la conduite du train qui aurait pu causer le déraillement. Par conséquent, l’analyse se concentrera sur le branchement de liaison de la voie d’évitement (S/ML), le wagon WCTR 866845 et l’interrupteur coupe-puissance.

L’accident

Les marques sur les selles, les crampons et les butées d’aiguille correspondaient à des dommages causés par le passage de plusieurs boudins de roue. L’absence de dommage au nord de l’aiguillage, les sillons menant du branchement S/ML au wagon WCTR 866845 et les anomalies relevées sur ce wagon indiquent que ce wagon a été le premier à dérailler et qu’il a déraillé lors de son passage sur le branchement S/ML, qui était désajusté.

Comme le bogie arrière du wagon WCTR 866845 avait des glissoirs à contact permanent (CCSB) et des frottoirs de traverse danseuse de bogie usés au-delà des normes permises, sa capacité à négocier les courbes était compromise. En sortant de la courbe juste avant le branchement, le bogie arrière a perdu sa symétrie, forçant le boudin de la roue menante (roue R3) à s’appuyer contre l’intérieur du rail est du branchement. De ce fait, le boudin de la roue R3 s’est coincé entre la pointe d’aiguille gauche et le contre-rail courbé, augmentant l’écart entre la pointe d’aiguille et son contre-rail, et entraînant le déraillement du wagon et des 14 wagons suivants.

Une ouverture entre la pointe d’aiguille d’un aiguillage et son contre-rail indique que l’aiguillage est soit endommagé ou mal ajusté. L’absence de dommage aux pointes d’aiguille et aux tringles exclut la possibilité que l’aiguillage ait été talonné par du matériel roulant. Les longues traverses supportant l’appareil de manœuvre du branchement S/ML étaient déplacées vers le sud, et les boulons servant à fixer l’appareil de manœuvre aux traverses étaient pliés dans le même sens. De plus, il y avait des marques de frottement sur le côté nord de l’appareil de manœuvre. Ces dommages indiquent qu’il y a eu un impact d’une force suffisante pour le désajuster et créer une ouverture entre la pointe d’aiguille gauche et la contre-aiguille courbée. Le fait que les dommages au pare-chocs de la camionnette de service correspondent à ceux observés sur l’appareil de manœuvre du branchement indique que le désajustement des pointes d’aiguille du branchement a été causé par l’impact de cette camionnette.

Malgré leur ampleur, les dommages occasionnés à l’appareil de manœuvre et à la camionnette n’ont pas été signalés. Par conséquent, aucune évaluation de leur impact sur la sécurité du trafic ferroviaire n’a été effectuée. Si des incidents touchant les aiguillages ne sont pas signalés, des aiguillages endommagés pourraient rester en service, augmentant ainsi le risque de déraillement.

Interrupteur coupe-puissance

Les essais effectués sur le CEL ont montré que la chute de la charge du moteur de traction, la chute de la pression dans la conduite générale et le passage au ralenti du manipulateur de la locomotive pouvaient s’expliquer par un freinage d’urgence. Cependant, il a été relevé que chaque fois qu’un freinage d’urgence était déclenché, l’interrupteur coupe-puissance de la locomotive se mettait en position ouverte (comme prévu), alors que le CEL indiquait que l’interrupteur coupe-puissance était resté fermé (ne s’était pas déclenché). Cette anomalie étant liée à des connecteurs mal positionnés, tout porte à croire que cette situation est unique à cette locomotive. Comme les données du CEL sont utilisées lors de la reconstitution d’un accident, leur exactitude est primordiale pour mener à bien une enquête. Lorsqu’un CEL n’enregistre pas correctement les paramètres requis du fonctionnement d’un train, l’exactitude et la validité de toute analyse fondée sur des renseignements incorrects peuvent être compromises.

Faits établis

Faits établis quant aux causes et aux facteurs contributifs

  1. Le train a déraillé lors de son passage sur le branchement de liaison de la voie d’évitement, qui était désajusté.
  2. Le boudin de la roue R3 du wagon WCTR 866845 s’est coincé entre la pointe d’aiguille gauche et le contre-rail courbé, entraînant le déraillement du wagon et des 14 wagons suivants.
  3. Le désajustement des pointes d’aiguille du branchement a été causé par l’impact de la camionnette de service contre l’appareil de manœuvre.

Faits établis quant aux risques

  1. Si des incidents touchant les aiguillages ne sont pas signalés, des aiguillages endommagés pourraient rester en service, augmentant ainsi le risque de déraillement.

Autres faits établis

  1. Lorsqu’un consignateur d’événements de locomotive n’enregistre pas correctement les paramètres requis du fonctionnement d’un train, l’exactitude et la validité de toute analyse fondée sur des renseignements incorrects peuvent être compromises.

Mesures de sécurité

Mesures de sécurité prises

Lettre d’information sur la sécurité

Le 12 novembre 2015, le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a envoyé la Lettre d’information sur la sécurité 14/15 à Transports Canada (TC) au sujet de l’enregistrement de données incorrectes par le consignateur d’événements de locomotive (CEL). Dans cette lettre, le BST indique que la position de l’interrupteur coupe-puissance telle que consignée par le CEL (c.-à-d., étant demeuré fermé) ne correspondait pas à un serrage des freins d’urgence. Lorsque les freins d’urgence sont serrés, l’interrupteur coupe-puissance s’ouvre pour interrompre le courant électrique généré par l’alternateur principal de la locomotive vers les moteurs de traction. Après des essais, le BST a confirmé que le CEL ne consignait pas correctement la position de l’interrupteur coupe-puissance.

Comme les données du CEL sont utilisées lors de la reconstitution d’un accident, leur exactitude est primordiale pour mener à bien une enquête. Lorsqu’un CEL n’enregistre pas correctement les paramètres requis du fonctionnement d’un train, l’exactitude et la validité de toute analyse fondée sur des renseignements incorrects peuvent être compromises.

Le 9 février 2016, TC a répondu que les compagnies de chemin de fer sont tenues d’inspecter les CEL et le module de mémoire du consignateur d’événements et de tester leur exactitude tous les ans. De plus, le 26 janvier 2016, le bureau régional de Québec de TC a vérifié les données du CEL de la locomotive CITX 3091; le CEL avait enregistré que le coupe-puissance était ouvert lors du serrage d’urgence des freins.

Le présent rapport conclut l’enquête du Bureau de la sécurité des transports sur cet événement. Le Bureau a autorisé la publication de ce rapport le 8 juin 2016. Le rapport a été officiellement publié le 13 juin 2016.

Note en bas de page

Note 1

Les heures sont exprimées en heure avancée de l'Est.

Retour à la note 1 référent

Note 2

« Voie reliant entre elles deux voies principales adjacentes, ou une voie principale et une autre voie. » (Transports Canada, Règlement d'exploitation ferroviaire du Canada, Définitions).

Retour à la note 2 référent

Note 3

Un branchement en « prise en pointe » survient lorsqu'il y a franchissement d'un branchement par les pointes d'aiguille.

Retour à la note 3 référent

Note 4

Permettant une vitesse jusqu'à 25 mi/h pour les trains de marchandises et jusqu'à 30 mi/h pour les trains de voyageurs.

Retour à la note 4 référent

Note 5

À l'exclusion d'une zone de marche prudente entre les points milliaires 4 et 10 (vis-à-vis du triage Farnham).

Retour à la note 5 référent