Recommendation A93-13

Reassessment of the response to Aviation Safety Recommendation A93-13

Staffing, opening and closing of ATC sectors

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Background

On 17 February 1992, Air Atlantic Flight 1898, C-GAAM, was inbound to runway 24 Left at the Montreal International (Dorval) Airport, Quebec, from the west while Inter-Canadian Flight 664, C-FLCP, was inbound from the north to runway 24 Right. Both aircraft were operating in accordance with instrument flight rules and were being provided with radar vectors for their respective approaches. The aircraft, while on their assigned headings, conflicted one mile southeast of the final approach path of runway 24 Left.

The Transportation Safety Board of Canada determined that the cause of the risk of collision was the untimely takeover of communications at the arrival position by the instructor and the untimely opening of the low-arrival position to relieve the arrival position of excess workload. The absence of procedures, general guidelines, and supervisor training concerning the opening/closing of control positions and the management of control staff likely contributed to this occurrence.

The Board concluded its investigation and released Aviation Investigation Report A92H0003 on 21 July 1993.

Board Recommendation A93-13 (July 1993)

This risk-of-collision incident was caused in part by the untimely opening of an air traffic control (ATC) sector.

In the Canadian Aviation Safety Board's Report on the Special Investigation into Air Traffic Control Services in Canada (March 1990), problems were noted with respect to, inter alia, timely decisions regarding the opening of sectors. Considerable judgement is required with respect to the timing of sector opening and closing. It was recommended in the report that the Department of Transport prescribe operating guidelines for the timing, staffing, and transfer of responsibilities for opening and closing sectors. In response, Transport Canada (TC) indicated that, due to changing operational conditions, it was impractical to develop fixed guidelines, with respect to timing, for the opening and closing of sectors.

Since 1990, the TSB has investigated two other occurrences in addition to this one in which the delayed opening or staffing of a sector was a factor (A90H0008 and A90P0347). In its final report on the latter incident, the Board expressed concern that occurrences resulting from the untimely opening of sectors were continuing. Furthermore, three recent TC Fact Finding Boards (FFB) on loss-of-separation incidents have identified factors related to the delayed opening of a sector (5400-42-38A-9203, 5400-42-48A-9207, and 5400-42-33A-9203).

The Board appreciates that there could be difficulties associated with the implementation of fixed guidelines for timing the opening and closing of sectors. The Board is also aware that Air Traffic Services agencies in other countries have experienced problems caused by the late opening of sectors and apparently have not been able to develop a formula fix either. TC has procedures regarding how sectors are to be opened and how controllers are to assume or relinquish control responsibilities. Evidently, knowing how to open a sector is not the issue; deciding when it is time to do so apparently is.

In view of the continuance of incidents in which the delayed opening of an ATC sector has been a contributing factor, operational supervisors require some form of assistance to ensure timely decisions on sector management.

Therefore the Board recommends that:

The Department of Transport provide operational supervisors with general criteria and practical training for making timely decisions on the staffing, opening, and closing of sectors.
TSB Recommendation A93-13

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A93-13 (November 1993)

Transport Canada agrees with this recommendation. The following activities have been initiated in order to ensure that supervisory personnel are adequately trained:

  1. general criteria for the opening and closing of sectors are being developed and will be published for the guidance of all supervisors. Supervisors will be briefed on these criteria, once they are promulgated;
  2. these criteria will be reviewed on an annual basis during controller/supervisor refresher training;
  3. a formal training course is being developed for supervisory personnel. Staffing and the opening/closing of sectors will be included as a part of this training program;
  4. the required staffing levels for the specialties/sectors in each Area Control Centre have been reviewed, and adjustments to these staff levels have been approved. The approved levels are considered adequate to provide supervisors with the flexibility to staff sectors with sufficient controllers to meet normal traffic demands; and
  5. an ATS Safety Bulletin (known as SQUAWK 7700) will be published to provide all staff with information on the criteria for staffing and opening/closing sectors.

Board assessment of the response to Recommendation A93-13 (January 1994)

In the report on the Special Investigation into Air Traffic Control Services in Canada (March 1990), problems were noted with respect to, inter alia, timely decisions regarding the opening of sectors. It was recommended that TC prescribe operating guidelines for the timing, staffing, and transfer of responsibilities for opening and closing sectors. In response, TC indicated that, due to changing operational conditions, it was impractical to develop fixed guidelines, with respect to timing, for the opening and closing of sectors.

The intent of Recommendation A93-13 was to have TC readdress this deficiency from another perspective, that being, to develop general guidelines instead of fixed ones and to provide training for the supervisors. TC agrees with Recommendation A93-13 and has indicated intent to initiate activities that will address this safety deficiency. Specifically, TC plans to publish general criteria for opening and closing sectors, to provide controller and supervisory training on a recurrent basis on these criteria, and to promote knowledge of these criteria through the ATS Safety Bulletin.

Therefore, the response to Recommendation A93-13 is assessed as Satisfactory Intent.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A93-13 (November 1996)

Transport Canada is in the process of developing training and guidelines.

Therefore the assessment remains Satisfactory Intent.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A93-13 (November 1997)

Transport Canada is in the process of developing training and guidelines. Units have been directed in Air Traffic Services Administration and Management Manual (ATSAMM) to develop site specific guidelines for the opening and closing of control sectors. The topic is to be covered in annual refresher training.

Therefore, the response to Recommendation A93-13 is assessed as Satisfactory in Part.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A93-13 (January 2004)

Apparently, guidelines and training have been developed since the last re-assessment. While the issue of timely opening of sectors, etc., is probably still present, there is nothing to indicate that it is more than a minimal safety risk at this time.

Therefore the assessment remains Satisfactory in Part.

As such, “Further Action is Unwarranted” with respect to Recommendation A93-13 and the status is set to Inactive.

Board review of Recommendation A93-13 deficiency file status (April 2014)

The Board requested that Recommendation A93-13 be reviewed to determine if the Deficiency File Status was appropriate. After an initial evaluation, it was determined that the safety deficiency addressed by Recommendation A93-13 needed to be reassessed.

A request for further information was sent to Transport Canada and a reassessment will be conducted upon receipt of Transport Canada's response.

Therefore, the assessment remains Satisfactory in Part.

Consequently, the status of Recommendation A93-13 is changed to Active.

Transport Canada's response to Recommendation A93-13 (July 2015)

The NAV CANADA Air Traffic Services Safety Bulletin (known as Squawk 7700) and supervisor training package have been issued.

Transport Canada believes the objectives of the recommendation have been met and suggests closing this item.

NAV CANADA's response to Recommendation A93-13 (May 2016)

With the transfer of responsibility for the provision of air navigation services to NAV CANADA in November 1996, an update was requested from NAV CANADA.

The recommendations in the Air Traffic Services Safety Bulletin, Squawk 7700, have been incorporated into both our supervisory training and into each unit's Unit Operations Manual (UOM). As each unit has very different criteria for how sectors are opened and closed, this was the way it was best actioned, and proves to be very effective.

Board reassessment of the response to Recommendation A93-13 (May 2016)

In its May 2016 response, NAV CANADA indicates that the opening and closing of sectors, with specific criteria for each unit, have been incorporated in its training and unit operations manuals. These changes should substantially reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency identified in Recommendation A93-13.

Therefore, the response to Recommendation A93-13 is assessed as Fully Satisfactory.

Next TSB action

No further action is required.

This deficiency file is Closed.

Recommandation A93-13

Réévaluation de la réponse à la recommandation en matière de sécurité aérienne A93-13

Effectifs, ouverture et fermeture des secteurs ATC

Consulter le document en PDF

Il faut un lecteur de PDF pour lire cette version. Détails dans notre page d'aide.

Contexte

Le 17 février 1992, l'avion C-GAAM du vol 1898 d'Air Atlantic arrivait de l'ouest et se dirigeait vers la piste 24 gauche de l'aéroport international de Montréal/Dorval (Québec), tandis que l'appareil C-FLCP du vol 664 d'Inter-Canadien arrivait du nord, et se dirigeait vers la piste 24 droite. Les deux avions volaient selon les règles de vol aux instruments, et étaient guidés au radar en vue de leur approche respective. Les appareils, qui volaient aux caps qui leur avaient été assignés, sont entrés en conflit à un mille au sud-est de la trajectoire d'approche finale de la piste 24 gauche.

Le Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST) a déterminé que l'instructeur a pris en charge les communications du poste des arrivées à un mauvais moment et que l'ouverture du poste des arrivées basse altitude, destinée à réduire la charge de travail excessive du poste des arrivées, a eu lieu à un moment inopportun. L'absence de procédures, de lignes directrices et de formation des surveillants portant sur l'ouverture et la fermeture des postes de contrôle et sur la gestion des effectifs de contrôle a probablement contribué à l'incident.

Le Bureau a conclu son enquête et publié le Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A92H0003 le 21 juillet 1993.

Recommandation A93-13 du Bureau (juillet 1993)

Le risque de collision traité dans le Rapport d'enquête aéronautique A92H0003 a été causé en partie par l'ouverture d'un secteur de contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATC) à un moment inopportun.

Dans son Rapport sur l'enquête spéciale portant sur les services de la circulation aérienne au Canada (mars 1990), le Bureau canadien de la sécurité aérienne a noté des problèmes portant, entre autres, sur le choix du moment où il convient d'ouvrir des secteurs. L'ouverture ou la fermeture d'un secteur au bon moment demande de faire preuve d'un jugement à toute épreuve. Il a été recommandé dans ce rapport que le ministère des Transports donne des directives d'exploitation portant sur le moment où il convient d'ouvrir ou de fermer un secteur, sur le personnel requis et sur le transfert des responsabilités. Dans sa réponse, Transports Canada (TC) a indiqué que, compte tenu des conditions opérationnelles variables, il était impossible de mettre au point des lignes de conduite fixes traitant du moment opportun d'ouvrir ou de fermer un secteur.

Depuis 1990, le BST a enquêté sur deux autres incidents (en plus de celui-ci) dans lesquels le retard mis à ouvrir un secteur ou à le doter des effectifs avait fait partie des facteurs contributifs (A90H0008 et A90P0347). Dans le rapport final de ce dernier incident, le Bureau a constaté avec inquiétude que des incidents liés à l'ouverture de secteurs à un mauvais moment continuaient de se produire. De plus, trois récentes commissions d'enquête de Transports Canada s'intéressant à des pertes d'espacement ont identifié des facteurs liés à l'ouverture tardive d'un secteur (5400-42-38A-9203, 5400-42-48A-9207 et 5400-42-33A-9203).

Le Bureau reconnaît que la mise au point de lignes de conduite fixes sur le moment opportun d'ouvrir et de fermer un secteur peut présenter des difficultés. Le Bureau sait également que les organismes chargés de la circulation aérienne dans d'autres pays ont éprouvé des ennuis liés à l'ouverture tardive de secteurs et n'ont pas été eux aussi en mesure de trouver un remède miracle. Transports Canada dispose de procédures traitant de la façon d'ouvrir les secteurs et de la façon dont les contrôleurs doivent assumer leurs responsabilités de contrôle ou y renoncer. À l'évidence, la question n'est pas de savoir comment ouvrir un secteur, mais plutôt de savoir décider à quel moment le faire.

Puisqu'il se produit encore des incidents dans lesquels l'ouverture tardive d'un secteur ATC fait partie des facteurs contributifs, les surveillants d'exploitation ont besoin d'une certaine forme d'aide garantissant la prise de décisions au moment opportun dans les opérations de gestion des secteurs.

Donc, le Bureau recommande que :

Le ministère des Transports fournisse aux surveillants d’exploitation des critères généraux et un entraînement pratique portant sur la prise de décisions au moment opportun quant aux effectifs, à l’ouverture et à la fermeture des secteurs.
Recommandation A93-13 du BST

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A93-13 (novembre 1993)

Transports Canada est d'accord avec cette recommandation. Les initiatives suivantes ont été entreprises afin d'assurer un entraînement adéquat pour les surveillants d'exploitation :

  1. des critères généraux relatifs à l'ouverture et à la fermeture des secteurs sont en voie d'élaboration et seront publiés à titre d'information pour orienter tous les surveillants. Ceux-ci recevront un briefing sur ces critères, dès qu'ils seront promulgués;
  2. ces critères feront aussi partie de la formation de recyclage annuelle des contrôleurs et des surveillants;
  3. un cours officiel de formation du surveillant est en voie d'élaboration. Ce cours comprendra la dotation de personnel, l'ouverture et la fermeture des secteurs;
  4. l'exigence relative aux niveaux de dotation en personnel des spécialités/secteurs dans chaque Centre de contrôle régional a fait l'objet d'une revue, et des ajustements aux niveaux approuvés sont jugés satisfaisants pour donner au surveillant la flexibilité de doter les secteurs de suffisamment de contrôleurs pour satisfaire à la demande d'un trafic normal; et,
  5. un Bulletin de sécurité ATS (appelé SQUAWK 7700) sera publié, pour fournir de l'information à tout le personnel sur les critères de dotation en personnel, sur l'ouverture et sur la fermeture des secteurs.

Évaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A93-13 (janvier 1994)

Dans le Rapport sur l'enquête spéciale portant sur les services de la circulation aérienne au Canada (mars 1990), on a noté des problèmes en ce qui a trait, notamment, au moment choisi pour l'ouverture ou la fermeture d'un secteur. On a recommandé que TC donne des directives d'exploitation sur le moment où il convient d'ouvrir ou de fermer un secteur, sur le personnel requis et sur le transfert des responsabilités. Dans sa réponse, TC a indiqué que, compte tenu des conditions opérationnelles variables, il était impossible d'établir des lignes de conduite fixes traitant du moment opportun d'ouvrir ou de fermer un secteur.

La recommandation A93-13 avait pour but d'amener TC à remédier à cette lacune sous un autre angle, c'est-à-dire en mettant au point des lignes de conduite générales plutôt que fixes et en fournissant une formation aux surveillants. TC est d'accord avec la recommandation A93-13, et a indiqué avoir l'intention de prendre des mesures afin de remédier à cette lacune de sécurité. Plus précisément, TC entend publier des critères généraux sur l'ouverture et à la fermeture des secteurs, les intégrer à la formation périodique des contrôleurs et des surveillants, et les expliquer plus en détail dans un Bulletin de sécurité ATS.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation dénote une intention satisfaisante.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A93-13 (novembre 1996)

Transports Canada met actuellement au point la formation et les lignes de conduite.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime que la réponse démontre toujours une intention satisfaisante.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A93-13 (novembre 1997)

Transports Canada met actuellement au point la formation et les lignes de conduite. On a affecté des unités, dans le Manuel de gestion et d'administration des services de la circulation aérienne (ATSAMM), à l'établissement de lignes de conduite locales sur l'ouverture et à la fermeture des secteurs. Le sujet sera abordé lors de la formation de recyclage annuelle.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation A93-13 est en partie satisfaisante.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A93-13 (janvier 2004)

Il semble qu'on a mis au point une formation et des lignes de conduite depuis la dernière réévaluation. Bien que la question du moment choisi pour l'ouverture d'un secteur, entre autres, est probablement toujours irrésolue, rien n'indique qu'elle pose actuellement un risque plus que minimal.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation demeure en partie satisfaisante.

Ainsi, aucune autre mesure n'est nécessaire relativement à la recommandation A93-13, et le dossier est maintenant inactif.

Examen par le Bureau de l'état du dossier relatif à la recommandation A93-13 (avril 2014)

Le Bureau a demandé que la recommandation A93-13 soit évaluée pour déterminer si l'état du dossier de lacune était approprié. Après une évaluation initiale, il a été décidé que la lacune de sécurité soulevée dans la recommandation A93-13 devait être réévaluée.

Une demande de renseignements supplémentaires a été transmise à Transports Canada, dont la réponse donnera lieu à une réévaluation du dossier.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation demeure en partie satisfaisante.

En conséquence, la recommandation A93-13 passe de nouveau à l'état actif.

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A93-13 (juillet 2015)

Un Bulletin de sécurité des services de la circulation aérienne (le Squawk 7700) de NAV CANADA et une formation des surveillants ont été produits.

Transports Canada croit que les objectifs de la recommandation ont été atteints, et suggère que le dossier soit fermé.

Réponse de NAV CANADA à la recommandation A93-13 (mai 2016)

Étant donné que NAV CANADA a hérité de la responsabilité des services de navigation aérienne en novembre 1996, on lui a demandé de faire le point.

Les recommandations du Bulletin de sécurité des services de la circulation aérienne (Squawk 7700) ont été intégrées à notre formation pour les surveillants, ainsi qu'à chacun des manuels d'exploitation d'unité (UOM). Comme les critères pour l'ouverture et la fermeture des secteurs varient grandement d'une unité à l'autre, cette façon de faire était la plus pratique, et elle s'avère très efficace.

Réévaluation par le Bureau de la réponse à la recommandation A93-13 (mai 2016)

Dans sa réponse de mai 2016, NAV CANADA indique qu'elle a incorporé l'ouverture et la fermeture de secteurs, avec des critères propres à chaque unité, à sa formation et aux manuels d'exploitation d'unité. Ces modifications devraient considérablement réduire ou éliminer la lacune de sécurité soulevée dans la recommandation A93-13.

Par conséquent, le Bureau estime que la réponse à la recommandation A93-13 est entièrement satisfaisante.

Suivi exercé par le BST

Aucune autre mesure n'est requise.

Le présent dossier est fermé.