Recommendation A04-04

RESPONSE FROM THE FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION TO AVIATION SAFETY RECOMMENDATION A04-03

May 25 2005

Chairman Charles Simpson
Transportation Safety Board of Canada
200 Promenade du Portage, PROM
4th Floor Hull, PQ J8X 4B7
Canada

Dear Mr. Simpson:

The Office of Accident Investigation convened a Safety Recommendation Review Board to review the enclosed response to FAA Safety Recommendation 05.010 (A04-03). As a result, the Review Board classified this recommendation as "Closed-Acceptable Action."

If you have any questions, please contact Mr. Jeff Gorney, AAI-210, at
(202) 267-8748.

Sincerely,

[Original letter signed by Frank Del Gandio, Manager, Recommendation and Analysis Division]

Enclosures

cc: ANE-100 (M.J. Bruner)

Memorandum

U.S. Department
of Transportation
Federal Aviation
Administration


Subject: Safety Recommendation 05.010 Date : 5/15/05
From: Manager, Engine & Propeller Directorate Reply To:
Refer To:
James Rosa
(781) 238-7152
(781) 238-7199
To: Manager, Recommendation and
Analysis Division, AAI-200
   

This memo is in response to FAA AAI Safety Recommendation 05.010. The subject recommendation asks for an evaluation of the Canadian Transportation Safety Board Safety Recommendation A06/2004 which requested the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) to publish an Airworthiness Directive (AD) requiring C.3.J software incorporation for the CFM56-5C engine. The software will prevent engine shutdown in the event of an alternator failure.

C.3.J. version software has been incorporated by over 90% of the affected worldwide operators, the remaining CFM56-5C operators are complying voluntarily. The software has been provided to all operators. All other engine models with the same alternator design have similar software logic in place.

The single engine in-flight shut down rate for this alternator bearing failure is .0003 (events per 1,000 flight hours). The CFM56-5C is currently used on four engine airplanes, exclusively.

There has not been an alternator failure due to the identified cause (bearing failure) in over twenty (20) months. In total, there have been twenty-nine (29) alternator failures due to this cause. CFM International is currently pursuing root cause and corrective action for this failure and will report progress to the FAA.

Transport Canada also inquired if the FAA published an issue paper for compliance to FAR 33.28. RTCA/DO-178A and JAA NPA-E-10 (FAA and DGAC joint certification, regulations respectively) were effective at the time of original engine application, to which CFM was in full compliance. FAR 33 Amendment 15, which includes paragraph 33.28 (Electrical and electronic control systems) was not in affect at the time of application (December 15, 1988) for CFM56-5C engine. There would be no record of an issue paper on this subject.

This office has determined that an AD is not necessary due to the absence of an unsafe condition.

[Original memorandum signed by Robert E. Guyotte, for Jay Pardee, Manager, Engine and Propeller Directorate, Aircraft Certification Service]

Aviation

RÉPONSE DE LA FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION À LA RECOMMANDATION EN MATIÈRE DE SÉCURITÉ AÉRIENNE A04-03

Le 25 mai 2005

Charles Simpson, président
Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
200, promenade du Portage
4e étage
Hull (Québec) J8X 4B7
Canada

Monsieur,

Le bureau d'enquête sur les accidents a constitué une commission d'examen des recommandations de sécurité afin d'analyser la réponse ci-jointe à la recommandation de sécurité 05.010 (A04-03) de la FAA. Après discussion, la commission a classé la recommandation comme étant une « Mesure finale acceptable. »

Si vous avez des questions, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec M. Jeff Gorney, AAI-210, au numéro (202) 267-8748.

Veuillez agréer, monsieur, mes salutations distinguées.

[Original de la lettre signé par Frank Del Gandio, Gestionnaire, Division des recommandations et des analyses]

Pièces jointes

cc : ANE-100 (M.J. Bruner)

Note de service

U.S. Department
of Transportation
Federal Aviation
Administration


Objet : Recommendation de sécurité 05.010 Date : 5/15/05
 
Expéditeur : Gestionnaire, Direction générale des moteurs
et des hélices
Répondre à :
Personne-ressource :
James Rosa
(781) 238-7152
(781) 238-7199
 
Destinataire : Gestionnaire, Division des recommandations
et des analyses,
AAI-200
   

La présente note de service fait suite à la recommandation de sécurité 05.010 de la FAA émise à la suite d'une enquête sur un accident d'aéronef et qui demande qu'une évaluation de la recommandation de sécurité A06/2004 du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada soit effectuée. Cette dernière recommandation demande que la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) publie une consigne de navigabilité exigeant l'installation du logiciel C.3.J sur tous les aéronefs dotés de moteurs CFM56-5C. Le logiciel empêchera l'arrêt moteur en cas de panne de l'alternateur.

Plus de 90 % des exploitants visés à travers le monde ont déjà installé le logiciel C.3.J. Ceux qui ne l'ont pas encore fait s'apprêtent à le faire volontairement. Le logiciel a été fourni à tous les exploitants. Tous les autres modèles de moteurs comportant le même type d'alternateur font appel à un logiciel semblable.

Le taux d'arrêt moteur en vol causé par une défaillance du roulement de l'alternateur est de 0,0003 (incidents par 1000 heures de vol). Le moteur CFM56-5C n'est installé que sur des quadrimoteurs.

Il n'y a eu aucune panne d'alternateur causée par une défaillance de roulement depuis plus de vingt (20) mois. Au total, vingt-neuf (29) pannes d'alternateur ont été causées par une défaillance de roulement. CFM International recherche actuellement la cause des défaillances afin d'établir des mesures correctives. Elle fera part du résultat de ses travaux à la FAA.

Transports Canada a aussi demandé si la FAA avait publié un document de discussion sur la conformité au FAR 33.28. Le RTCA/DO-178A et le NPA-E-10 des JAA (certifiés conjointement par la FAA et la DGAC et intégrés à leur réglementation respective) étaient en vigueur au moment de l'installation initiale du moteur, et CFM s'y conformait. Le modificatif 15 des FAR 33, qui comprend le paragraphe 33.28 (systèmes de commande électrique et électronique) n'était pas en vigueur au moment de l'installation (15 décembre 1988) du moteur CFM56-5C. Aucun document de discussion n'a donc été publié sur la question.

Le bureau a déterminé qu'il n'était pas nécessaire d'émettre une consigne de navigabilité en raison de l'absence d'une condition dangereuse.

[Original de la note de service signé par Robert E. Guyotte, pour Jay Pardee, Gestionnaire, Direction générale des moteurs et des hélices, Service de certification des aéronefs]