Aviation Recommendation A13-03

Assessment of the Transport Canada response to Aviation Safety Recommendation A13-03

Pasenger shoulder harnesses

View document in PDF

You need a PDF reader to access this file. Find out more on our help page.

Background

On 25 May 2012, the Cochrane Air Service de Havilland DHC-2 Mk.1 Beaver floatplane (registration C-FGBF, serial number 168) departed Edgar Lake, Ontario, with 2 passengers and 300 pounds of cargo on board. The aircraft was destined for the company's main base located on Lillabelle Lake, Ontario, approximately 77 miles to the south. On arrival, a southwest-bound landing was attempted across the narrow width of the lake, as the winds favoured this direction. The pilot was unable to land the aircraft in the distance available and executed a go-around. At 1408, Eastern Daylight Time, shortly after full power application, the aircraft rolled quickly to the left and struck the water in a partially inverted attitude. The aircraft came to rest on the muddy lake bottom, partially suspended by the undamaged floats. The passenger in the front seat was able to exit the aircraft and was subsequently rescued. The pilot and rear-seat passenger were not able to exit and drowned.

The Board concluded its investigation and released report A12C0071 on 23 October 2013.

Board Recommendation A13-03 (23 October 2013)

The TSB has found that the risk of serious injury or death is increased for occupants of light aircraft who are not wearing upper-torso restraints or shoulder harnesses. The results of previous safety studies completed by the TSB (SA 9401, TP 8655E) have been more recently supported by a Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) study into fatal and serious injury accidents in Alaska.

A significant portion of the commercial floatplane fleet in Canada was manufactured before shoulder harnesses were required for passenger seats, and remain in this configuration today.

In the event of a seaplane accident, the occupants of the aircraft may drown if they are unconscious; loss of consciousness is normally caused by head trauma. If restrained and protected during the impact sequence, occupants may maintain consciousness and stand a better chance of successfully exiting a sinking aircraft. The use of a three-point safety restraint (safety belt and shoulder harness) is known to reduce the severity of upper body and head injuries and more evenly distribute impact forces.

The TSB has previously recommended (A94-08, A92-01) that small commercial aircraft be fitted with seatbelts and shoulder harnesses in all seating positions. Following these recommendations, changes to regulations were made to require shoulder harnesses in all commercial cockpits and on all seats in aircraft with 9 or fewer passengers manufactured after 1986.Footnote 1 This regulatory change did not address the vast majority of the commercial floatplane fleet, which was manufactured prior to 1986.

The TSB considers that, given the additional hazards associated with accidents on water, shoulder harnesses for all seaplane passengers will reduce the risk of incapacitating injury, thereby improving their ability to exit the aircraft.

Therefore, the Board recommends that:

The Department of Transport require that all seaplanes in commercial service certificated for 9 or fewer passengers be fitted with seatbelts that include shoulder harnesses on all passenger seats.
 A13-03

Transport Canada's Response to A13-03 (22 January 2014)

Transport Canada has devoted significant effort to seaplane safety. In 2006 a risk assessment team met to analyze the risks associated with egress from submerged aircraft and identify potential risk reduction measures. The team considered the option of making shoulder restraints available to all occupants. The team's analysis showed that this option would not reduce the risks by any significant factor.

On August 22-25, 2011 - TC inspectors, floatplane industry representatives, and aircraft manufacturers formed a Focus Group which undertook a risk assessment and discussed TSB recommendations to determine what would be the best mitigation strategy to improve levels of safety for commercial sea plane operations in an effective and sustainable way. The group discussed the use of shoulder harnesses but concluded other measures offered more promise than mandating shoulder harnesses.

Most commercially-operated seaplanes in Canada are in the normal/utility category. The cabin designs and configurations of most of these likely do not readily lend themselves to installation of shoulder restraints for all passengers without substantial aeroplane redesign and/or structural modification. Most of the aircraft structures are not robust enough to support shoulder restraints in a crash and may hinder egress. Mandating the retrofitting of shoulder restraints for all occupants is not feasible. Each application to install shoulder harnesses would need to be assessed on a case by case basis.

Since fleet-wide installation of shoulder harnesses is not feasible, Transport Canada will continue its efforts at safety education and promotion.

In December 2013, Transport Canada published a Civil Aviation Safety Alert (CASA) on Safety Belts, and an article in the Aviation Safety Letter (ASL) Issue 4/2013 titled “Shoulder Harnesses and Seat Belts- Double Click for Safety”. Transport Canada will also be revising Advisory Circular (AC) 605-004 Use of Safety Belts by Passengers and Crew Members, to align with Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) AC No.21-34.

Board Assessment of Transport Canada's Response to A13-03 (05 March 2014)

The benefits of wearing shoulder harnesses to reduce the risk of incapacitation have been proven. The TSB's recommendation is supported by the results from the study completed by the FAA in Alaska in 2010.

In its response, TC indicated that the cabin designs and configurations of most of the commercially operated float planes in Canada likely do not readily lend themselves to installation of shoulder restraints for all passengers without substantial aeroplane redesign and/or structural modification.

There are approximately 600 aircraft on the Canadian commercial aircraft registry that are potentially operated on floats, certificated for 9 or fewer passengers and manufactured before 1986. Of these aircraft approximately 200 are DHC-2's and 300 are Cessna's. There are already shoulder harness installation kits available for the Cessna's as described in Cessna Single Engine Service Bulletin SEB92-28. Additionally, Transport Canada approved a Limited Supplementary Type Certificate (O-LSA09-360/D) for the installation of rear shoulder harnesses in several DHC-2's in 2009. These facts support the feasibility of retrofitting many floatplane designs with shoulder harnesses.

TC further stated that most of the aircraft structures are not robust enough to support shoulder restraints in a crash and may hinder egress.

TC has not demonstrated that the risk of hindering egress outweighs the benefits of rear-seat shoulder harnesses. Shoulder harnesses in all seating positions for normal/utility category of aircraft have been required by regulation since 1986, and have been installed since that time in similar albeit newer aircraft to the ones previously described. The availability of these installations, the existing kits, and TC issued STC's show that the aircraft structures are robust enough to support these restraints.

Transport Canada has not provided any objective information to demonstrate that it is not feasible to install rear-seat shoulder harnesses. Nor has TC demonstrated that the risk would not be reduced significantly if rear-seat shoulder harnesses were installed.

Because TC's response does not contain details of any action which has been taken or proposed that will reduce or eliminate the safety deficiency, the deficiency will continue to put persons at risk.

Therefore, the response to Recommendation A13-03 is assessed as Unsatisfactory.

Next TSB action

The TSB will follow-up with Transport Canada and await further information about the regulator's planned actions to address the safety deficiency underlying this recommendation.

This deficiency file is assigned an Active status.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Canadian Aviation Regulations (CARs), 605.24, “Shoulder Harness Requirements”.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Recommandation aérienne A13-03

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.

Évaluation des réponses à la recommandation en matière de sécurité aérienne A13-03

Ceintures-baudriers pour passagers

Contexte

Le 25 mai 2012, l'hydravion à flotteurs de Havilland DHC-2 Mk.1 Beaver exploité par Cochrane Air Service (immatriculé C-FGBF et portant le numéro de série 168) décolle d'Edgar Lake (Ontario), avec deux passagers et 300 livres de fret. L'aéronef se dirige vers la base principale de la société située à lac Lillabelle (Ontario), à environ 77 milles au sud. À l'arrivée, le pilote tente d'effectuer un amerrissage en direction sud-ouest, selon une trajectoire traversant le lac sur sa partie étroite, étant donné que les vents sont favorables dans cette direction. Lorsqu'il se rend compte que la distance est insuffisante pour poser l'appareil, le pilote remet les gaz. À 14 h 8, heure avancée de l'Est, peu de temps après la remise des gaz à pleine puissance, l'avion s'incline rapidement vers la gauche et frappe l'eau selon une assiette de vol partiellement inversée. L'avion s'immobilise sur le fond boueux du lac, en partie suspendu par les flotteurs qui sont toujours en bon état. Le passager occupant le siège avant réussit à sortir de l'avion et est secouru. Le pilote et le passager occupant le siège arrière sont incapables de sortir et se noient.

Le Bureau a conclu son enquête et a publié le rapport A12C0071 le 23 octobre 2013.

Recommandation A13-03 du Bureau (23 octobre 2013)

Le BST a constaté que le risque de blessures graves ou de décès est plus élevé chez les occupants d’avions légers ne portant pas de dispositif de retenue du torse ou de ceinture-baudrier. Les résultats des études de sécurité réalisées antérieurement par le BST (SA 9401, TP 8655E) ont été appuyés, plus récemment, par une étude effectuée par la Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) sur les accidents ayant causé des blessures graves ou mortelles en Alaska.

Un nombre important d’hydravions commerciaux utilisés au Canada ont été fabriqués avant que l’installation de ceintures-baudriers soit exigée sur les sièges des passagers, et sont, encore aujourd’hui, dans cette configuration.

Advenant un accident d’hydravion sur l’eau, les occupants inconscients risquent de se noyer, car la perte de connaissance résulte normalement d’un traumatisme crânien. Les passagers retenus et protégés, qui demeurent conscients après l’impact, ont de meilleures chances de sortir d’un hydravion qui coule. On sait que l’utilisation d’un dispositif de retenue à trois points d’ancrage (ceinture et baudrier) permet une meilleure répartition de la force d’impact et diminue la gravité des blessures à la partie supérieure du corps et à la tête.

Le BST a déjà recommandé (A94-08, A92-01) de doter tous les sièges des petits avions commerciaux de ceintures et de baudriers de sécurité. À la suite de ces recommandations, des modifications ont été apportées aux règlements afin d’exiger l’installation de ceintures-baudriers sur tous les sièges du poste de pilotage des aéronefs commerciaux et tous les sièges des aéronefs d’une capacité de neuf passagers ou moins fabriqués après 1986 Note 1. Cette modification à la réglementation ne concernait pas la vaste majorité des hydravions commerciaux exploités au Canada, qui ont été fabriqués avant 1986.

Le BST estime que, compte tenu des risques supplémentaires liés aux accidents sur l’eau, l’installation de ceintures-baudriers pour tous les passagers d’hydravions permettrait de réduire les risques de blessures entraînant une incapacité physique, et améliorerait ainsi les chances d’évacuation des occupants.

En conséquence, le Bureau recommande que :

Le ministère des Transports exige l’installation de ceintures-baudriers sur tous les sièges des hydravions en service commercial homologués pour le transport de neuf passagers ou moins.

 A13-03

Réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A13-03 (22 janvier 2014)

Transports Canada (TC) a fait de grands efforts pour assurer la sécurité des hydravions. En 2006, une équipe d’évaluation des risques s’est réunie afin d’analyser les risques liés à l’évacuation d’un aéronef immergé et d’établir des mesures permettant d’atténuer ces risques. L’équipe s’est penchée sur la possibilité de mettre des ceintures-baudriers à la disposition de tous les occupants. L’analyse faite par l’équipe a révélé que cette solution ne réduirait pas les risques de façon appréciable.

Des inspecteurs de TC, des représentants de l’industrie des hydravions et des fabricants d’aéronefs ont formé un groupe de discussion et ont entrepris, du 22 au 25 août 2011, d’évaluer les risques et d’étudier les recommandations du BST afin d’établir la stratégie d’atténuation la plus susceptible d’accroître les niveaux de sécurité pour l’exploitation efficace et durable des hydravions commerciaux. Après avoir étudié l’utilisation des ceintures-baudriers, le groupe a conclu que d’autres mesures étaient plus prometteuses qu’imposer les ceintures-baudriers.

La plupart des hydravions exploités à des fins commerciales au Canada font partie des catégories normale ou utilitaire. La conception et la configuration de l’habitacle de la majorité de ces aéronefs ne se prêtent guère à l’installation de ceintures-baudriers pour tous les passagers sans exiger un réaménagement important ou une modification de la structure, ou les deux, des aéronefs. La structure de la majorité des aéronefs n’est pas assez robuste pour retenir les ceintures-baudriers en cas d’écrasement et peut gêner l’évacuation. Imposer l’installation de ceintures-baudriers pour tous les occupants n’est pas possible. Chaque demande d’installation de ceintures-baudriers devrait être évaluée de façon individuelle.

Comme l’installation des ceintures-baudriers dans tous les aéronefs est impossible, Transports Canada poursuivra ses efforts d’éducation et de promotion de la sécurité.

En décembre 2013, Transports Canada a publié une Alerte à la sécurité de l’aviation civile (ASAC) relative aux ceintures de sécurité, ainsi qu’un article intitulé « Ceintures-baudriers et ceintures de sécurité – Cliquez deux fois pour sécurité » dans le bulletin Sécurité aérienne – Nouvelles 4-2013. Transports Canada révisera également la Circulaire d’information (CI) 605-004 L’utilisation des ceintures de sécurité – Passagers et membres d’équipage, afin qu’elle corresponde à la CI n° 248 de la FAA.

Évaluation par le Bureau de la réponse de Transports Canada à la recommandation A13-03 (5 mars 2014)

Les avantages du port de la ceinture-baudrier afin de réduire les risques d’incapacité physique ont été démontrés. La recommandation du BST se fonde sur les résultats de l’étude faite par la FAA en Alaska en 2010.

Dans sa réponse, TC indique que la conception et la configuration de l'habitacle de la plupart des hydravions exploités à des fins commerciales au Canada ne se prêtent guère à l'installation de ceintures-baudriers pour tous les passagers sans exiger un réaménagement important de la structure des aéronefs, une modification de cette structure, ou les deux.

On dénombre dans le registre des aéronefs commerciaux au Canada environ 600 aéronefs pouvant être exploités avec des flotteurs, qui sont certifiés pour neuf passagers ou moins et qui ont été fabriqués avant 1986. Ce nombre comprend environ 200 DHC-2 et 300 Cessna. Des trousses d’installation de ceintures-baudriers existent déjà pour les Cessna, comme le montre le bulletin d’entretien des aéronefs monomoteurs (Cessna Single Engine Service Bulletin) SEB92-28. De plus, Transports Canada a approuvé un certificat de type supplémentaire restreint (O-LSA09-360/D) relatif à l’installation de ceintures-baudriers aux sièges arrière dans plusieurs aéronefs DHC-2 en 2009. Ces données montrent qu’il est possible de remanier la conception de nombreux hydravions afin d’y installer des ceintures-baudriers.

TC ajoute que la structure de la majorité des aéronefs n’est pas assez robuste pour retenir les ceintures-baudriers en cas d’écrasement et peut gêner l’évacuation.

TC n'a pas démontré que le risque de gêner l'évacuation l'emporte sur les avantages des ceintures-baudriers aux sièges arrière. Le règlement exige l'installation de ceintures-baudriers à tous les sièges des aéronefs des catégories normale et utilitaire depuis 1986, et ces dispositifs de retenue ont été installés depuis dans des aéronefs semblables, mais plus récents que les aéronefs mentionnés ci-dessus. La disponibilité de ces aménagements, l'existence des trousses d'installation et les certificats de type supplémentaire émis par TC montrent bien que les structures des aéronefs sont assez robustes pour résister à ces dispositifs de retenue.

Transports Canada n'a pas fourni de renseignements objectifs démontrant l'impossibilité d'installer des ceintures-baudriers aux sièges arrière. Le ministère n'a pas établi, non plus, que le risque ne diminuerait pas de façon appréciable si des ceintures-baudriers étaient installées aux sièges arrière.

Comme la réponse de TC ne renferme aucune précision sur des mesures prises ou proposées afin de réduire ou d'éliminer ce manquement à la sécurité, celui-ci continuera de mettre en péril la sécurité des gens.

En conséquence, la réponse à la recommandation A13-03 est jugée attention non satisfaisante.

Prochaine mesure du BST (5 mars 2014)

Le BST fera un suivi auprès de Transports Canada et attendra de recevoir d’autres renseignements sur les mesures prévues par l’organisme de réglementation afin de corriger le manquement à la sécurité à l’origine de la présente recommandation.

Le présent dossier est classé actif.

Note en bas de page

Note 1

Règlement de l’aviation canadien (RAC), article 605.24, « Exigences relatives à la ceinture-baudrier ».

Retour à la note 1 référent