Aviation Statistics - 2007

Table of Contents | 1 | 2 | 3

Statistical Summary Aviation Occurrences 2007

Foreword

This document provides users of Canadian aviation safety data with an annual summary of selected statistics on aviation occurrences. Information in this summary is also posted on the Transportation Safety Board of Canada (TSB) website at www.bst-tsb.gc.ca.

Users of these statistics are advised that, in a live database, the occurrence data are constantly being updated. Consequently, the statistics can change slightly over time. Further, as many occurrences are not formally investigated, information recorded on some occurrences may not have been verified. Therefore, caution should be used when utilizing these statistics. The 2007 statistics presented here reflect the TSB database updated as of 16 June 2008.

To enhance awareness and increase the safety value of the material presented in the TSB Statistical Summary, Aviation Occurrences 2007, readers are encouraged to copy or reprint the data presented, in whole or in part, for further distribution (with acknowledgements of the source).

The TSB is an independent agency operating under its own Act of Parliament. Its sole aim is the advancement of transportation safety.

Comments on this document can be forwarded to the following address:

Transportation Safety Board of Canada
Communications Division
Place du Centre
200 Promenade du Portage
4th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 1K8

Telephone: 819-994-3741
Facsimile: 819-997-2239
E-mail: communications@bst-tsb.gc.ca

© Minister of Public Works and Government Services Canada 2008
Cat. No. TU1-3/2007
ISBN 978-0-662-05709-3

Aviation Occurences in 2007

Accidents

Overview of Accidents and Fatalities (Tables 1, 2, 3 and 8)

In 2007, a total of 324 aviation accidents were reported to the TSB. Of this number, 284 involved Canadian-registered aircraft (excluding ultralights), an 8.4% increase from 2006 (Figure 1).

Although flying activity increased from last year, the accident rate also increased to 6.5 accidents per 100 000 flying hours from the 2006 accident rate of 6.3 accidents per 100 000 flying hours. Nevertheless, statistical analysis using linear regression indicates a significant downward trend (p<0.001)1 in accident rates over the past 10 years.

The 287 accident-involved Canadian-registered aircraft (excluding ultralights) included 237 aeroplanes2 (59 of which were commercially operated) and 46 helicopters. The remaining 4 were balloons, gliders or gyrocopters.

Figure 1-Accidents and Accident Rates,3 1998-2007 [D]
Figure 1-Accidents and Accident Rates, 1998-2007

Of the 59 commercial aeroplanes (5 airliners, 4 commuter aircraft, 39 air taxi and 11 aerial work) involved in accidents in 2007 (Figure 2), 5 air taxi aircraft, 1 commuter aircraft and 1 aerial work aircraft were involved in fatal accidents. One corporate aircraft was involved in a fatal accident. There were no fatal accidents involving airliners or state aircraft.

A total of 177 private/corporate/other aeroplanes were involved in accidents, 17% higher than the five-year average of 151. In 2007, 18 such accidents resulted in fatalities, up from 16 in 2006 and up from the five-year average of 15.

Figure 2-Canadian-Registered Aircraft Involved in Accidents by Aircraft Type, 2007 [D]
Figure 2-Canadian-Registered Aircraft Involved in Accidents by Aircraft Type, 2007

In 2007, Canadian-registered aircraft, excluding ultralights, were involved in 33 fatal accidents (Figure 3), 6% higher than last year's total of 31 and 9% higher than the 2002-2006 average of 30. The number of fatalities (49) decreased from the five-year average (50), but the number of serious injuries (56) increased from the five-year average (38). Passenger fatalities accounted for 33% of aeroplane fatalities in 2007, and crew member fatalities accounted for 67% (excluding fatalities from ultralight accidents).

Figure 3-Fatalities and Fatal Accidents, 1998-2007 [D]
Figure 3-Fatalities and Fatal Accidents, 1998-2007

Aeroplanes operated by the state (that is, operated by federal or provincial governments) were involved in 1 accident in 2007 with no fatalities.

In 2007, there were 46 helicopter accidents, a 7% decrease from the five-year average of 49. Of the 46 helicopter accidents, 7 were fatal, resulting in 7 fatalities. Over the past 10 years, the highest proportion of helicopter accidents occurred during air transport operations (31%) and training (12%).

In 2007, 30 ultralight aircraft were involved in accidents in Canada, with 5 accidents resulting in 6 fatalities. Ten foreign-registered ultralight aircraft were involved in accidents in Canada, with no fatalities.

Accidents by Selected Categories

Province (Table 3): In 2007, Ontario accounted for 25% of Canadian-registered aircraft accidents, while Quebec and British Columbia accounted for 21% and 13% respectively. Canadian-registered aircraft accidents were lower than the five-year average in Alberta, Manitoba and British Columbia, and higher than the five-year average in the Atlantic provinces, Quebec, Ontario and the Territories (Figure 4).

Figure 4-Canadian-Registered Aircraft Involved in Accidents by Province, 2007 [D]
Figure 4-Canadian-Registered Aircraft Involved in Accidents by Province, 2007

Events and Phases (Tables 4 to 7): Accidents are frequently classified according to the first event (or abnormal condition) in the sequence of events that led to the occurrence. This classification serves to demonstrate the nature and distribution of safety-significant events, and how these events shift over time. However, the first event should not be construed to be the cause of the accident.

In 2007, the most common first event in aeroplane accidents was a take-off/landing event (27%). Collision with object (11%) and collision with terrain (11%) were the next most common first events. In helicopter accidents, power loss (17%), collision with terrain (15%), collision with object (13%), and control loss (11%) were the most common first events.

The 1998-2007 statistics show that the first event leading to an accident varies substantially according to the flight phase of the aircraft involved. For aeroplanes, accidents during the landing phase account for about 37% of total accidents. The most common first events in such accidents were landing (such as nose over, tire blow-out, etc.) and control loss. Approximately 22% of aeroplane accidents occur during the take-off phase; in these accidents, power loss and control loss were the most common first events. The en-route phase accounted for about 14% of aeroplane accidents, with power loss being the most common first event in that flight phase.

The approach/landing phase accounted for 31% of helicopter accidents, with the most common first events being collision with object, power loss and control loss. The en-route phase (17%) had power loss and collision with terrain as the most common first events. The manoeuvring phase (16%) had collision with object and power loss as the most common first events. About 13% of helicopter accidents occurred in the take-off phase, with collision with object being a common first event.

Operation Type (Table 8): In 2007, aeroplane accidents occurred mainly on recreational flights (51%), followed by air transport (17%) and training flights (14%). Helicopter accidents occurred mainly on air transport flights (35%).

Incidents

Overview of Incidents (Tables 1, 9 and 10)

Pursuant to TSB mandatory incident reporting requirements, 895 incidents were reported in 2007, 691 of which involved Canadian-registered aircraft.

In 2007, the most frequent incident types were declared emergency (27%), risk of collision or loss of separation (22%), engine failure (16%), and smoke/fire incidents (15%), as shown in Figure 5.

Figure 5-Reportable Incidents by Type, 2007 [D]
Figure 5-Reportable Incidents by Type, 2007

Over the past five years, the first event in declared emergency incidents on Canadian-registered aircraft usually involved component failures, the most common of which were landing gear or hydraulic system failures.

The majority of risk of collision incidents involving Canadian-registered aircraft had air traffic services (ATS)-related or air proximity events4 as their first event.

Previous | Next


  1. It is agreed by convention that, for a result to be considered statistically significant, its probability must be lower than 1 in 20 (that is, p<0.05). 
  2. As some occurrences involve more than one aircraft, users are cautioned to note differences between the number of occurrences and the number of aircraft involved in occurrences. All tables except Table 1 exclude ultralight aircraft; all tables except tables 1 and 4 also exclude balloons, gliders and gyrocopters. 
  3. Canadian-registered aircraft (excluding ultralights) 
  4. Refer to the definitions in Appendix B for explanations for ATS-related and air proximity events.

Statistiques aviation - 2007

Table des matières | 1 | 2 | 3

Sommaire statistique des événements aéronautiques 2007

Avant-propos

Ce document a pour objet de fournir un résumé des statistiques annuelles sur les événements aéronautiques aux personnes qui s'intéressent à la sécurité aérienne au Canada. L'information contenue dans ce sommaire est également publiée sur le site Web du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST), à l'adresse www.bst-tsb.gc.ca.

Ces statistiques sont contenues dans une base de données qui est constamment mise à jour. Par conséquent, elles peuvent évoluer quelque peu avec le temps. En outre, comme de nombreux événements ne font pas l'objet d'enquêtes officielles, les renseignements consignés sur certains événements n'ont pas nécessairement été vérifiés. Par conséquent, il faut utiliser ces statistiques avec prudence. Les statistiques de 2007 présentées ici sont telles qu'elles étaient dans notre base de données le 16 juin 2008.

Pour permettre à un plus vaste public de prendre connaissance des données présentées dans le Sommaire statistique des événements aéronautiques 2007 et de leur intérêt pour la sécurité, les lecteurs sont encouragés à reproduire ce document en entier ou en partie (avec mention de l'origine).

Le BST est un organisme indépendant régi par une loi du Parlement. Son seul but est de promouvoir la sécurité des transports.

Nous invitons les lecteurs à nous faire parvenir leurs observations sur le présent document à l'adresse suivante :

Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada
Division des communications
Place du Centre
200, promenade du Portage
4e étage
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 1K8

Téléphone : (819) 994-3741
Télécopieur : (819) 997-2239
Courrier électronique : communications@bst-tsb.gc.ca

© Ministre des Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux du Canada 2008
No de catalogue TU1-3/2007
ISBN 978-0-662-05709-3

Événements aéronautiques survenus en 2007

Accidents

Aperçu des accidents et des victimes d'accidents mortels (voir les tableaux 1, 2, 3 et 8)

Au total, 324 accidents d'aviation ont été signalés au BST en 2007. Sur ce nombre, 284 accidents sont survenus à des aéronefs immatriculés au Canada (à l'exception des avions ultra-légers), ce qui représente une augmentation de 8,4 % par rapport à 2006 (figure 1).

Le nombre d'heures de vol en 2007 a augmenté par rapport à celui de 2006 ainsi que le taux d'accident, passant de 6,3 accidents par 100 000 heures de vol en 2006 à 6,5 accidents par 100 000 heures de vol en 2007. Quoi qu'il en soit, l'analyse statistique au moyen de la régression linéaire indique une tendance à la baisse significative (p<0,001)1 du taux d'accident au cours des 10 dernières années.

Les 287 accidents survenus à des aéronefs immatriculés au Canada (à l'exception des avions ultra-légers) mettent en cause 237 avions2 (dont 59 avions commerciaux) et 46 hélicoptères. Les 4 autres aéronefs en cause sont des ballons, des planeurs et des autogires.

Figure 1 - Nombre d'accidents et taux d'accident3 de 1998 à 2007 [D]
Figure 1 - Nombre d'accidents et taux d'accident de 1998 à 2007

En 2007, 59 avions commerciaux (5 avions de ligne, 4 avions de transport régional, 39 taxis aériens et 11 aéronefs en travail aérien) ont eu des accidents (figure 2). De ce nombre, 5 taxis aériens, 1 avion de transport régional et 1'aéronef en travail aérien ont été impliqués dans des accidents mortels. Un avion d'affaires a eu un accident mortel. Aucun accident mortel d'avion de ligne ou d'aéronef d'État n'a été enregistré.

En 2007, 177 avions dans la catégorie avions privés/avions d'affaires/autres types ont eu des accidents, soit 17 % de plus que la moyenne quinquennale (151). En 2007, on dénombre 18 accidents mortels d'avions entrant dans cette catégorie, en hausse par rapport à 2006 (16) et à la moyenne quinquennale (15).

Figure 2 - Répartition des aéronefs immatriculés au Canada impliqués dans des accidents en 2007 par type d'aéronef [D]
Figure 2 - Répartition des aéronefs immatriculés au Canada impliqués dans des accidents en 2007 par type d'aéronef

En 2007, on a enregistré 33 accidents mortels (figure 3) d'aéronefs immatriculés au Canada, à l'exception des avions ultra légers, une hausse de 6 % par rapport à l'an dernier (31) et une hausse de 9 % par rapport à la moyenne annuelle entre 2002 et 2006 (30). Les accidents ont fait 49 morts, une légère baisse par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale (50), et 56 blessés graves, une hausse par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale (38). Les passagers représentent 33 % de l'ensemble des tués dans des accidents d'avion en 2007, et les membres d'équipage représentent 67 % (ces chiffres ne comprennent pas les tués dans des accidents d'avion ultra-léger).

Figure 3 - Nombre de morts et nombre d'accidents mortels de 1998 à 2007 [D]
Figure 3 - Nombre de morts et nombre d'accidents mortels de 1998 à 2007

En 2007, on a enregistré 1 accident d'avion exploité par l'État (un avion d'État est un avion exploité par le gouvernement fédéral ou le gouvernement d'une province); l'accident n'a fait aucun mort.

En 2007, il y a eu 46 accidents d'hélicoptère, une baisse de 7 % par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale (49). Sept des 46 accidents ont fait des morts (7). Depuis 10 ans, la plus forte proportion d'accident d'hélicoptère survient en transport aérien (31 %) et en vol d'entraînement (12 %).

En 2007, 30 avions ultra-légers ont eu des accidents au Canada. Cinq de ces accidents ont fait des morts (6). Dix avions ultra-légers immatriculés à l'étranger ont eu des accidents au Canada; ces accidents n'ont fait aucun mort.

Répartition des accidents par catégorie

Province (tableau 3) : En 2007, l'Ontario a enregistré 25 % de l'ensemble des accidents d'aéronefs immatriculés au Canada. Le Québec a enregistré 21 % de ces accidents, et la Colombie Britannique, 13 %. Le nombre total de ces accidents est inférieur à la moyenne quinquennale des provinces de l'Alberta, du Manitoba et de la Colombie-Britannique, mais en hausse par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale des provinces de l'Atlantique, du Québec, de l'Ontario et des territoires.

Figure 4 - Nombre d'accidents survenus à des aéronefs immatriculés au Canada en 2007 par province [D]
Figure 4 - Nombre d'accidents survenus à des aéronefs immatriculés au Canada en 2007 par province

Répartition par événement et par phase de vol (tableaux 4 à 7) : Les accidents sont souvent classés selon l'événement ou la condition anormale qui survient en premier lieu dans la chronologie des événements ayant mené à l'accident. Cette classification démontre la nature et la répartition des situations importantes pour la sécurité ainsi que la façon dont ces situations changent avec le temps. Cependant, il ne faut pas conclure que l'événement primaire a nécessairement causé l'accident.

Pour 2007, on observe que les événements primaires les plus fréquents dans les accidents d'avion sont les ennuis au décollage ou à l'atterrissage (27 %), suivis des collisions avec un obstacle (11 %) et des collisions avec le relief (11 %). Pour les accidents d'hélicoptère, on note que les événements primaires les plus fréquents sont les pertes de puissance (17 %), les collisions avec le relief (15 %), les collisions avec un obstacle (13 %) et les pertes de maîtrise (11 %).

Les statistiques pour les années 1998 à 2007 révèlent que les événements primaires varient considérablement selon la phase de vol. On observe qu'environ 37 % des accidents d'avion surviennent à l'atterrissage et que les ennuis à l'atterrissage (capotage, éclatement d'un pneu, etc.) et les pertes de maîtrise sont les événements primaires les plus fréquents. Environ 22 % des accidents d'avion surviennent au décollage; les pertes de puissance et les pertes de maîtrise étant les événements primaires les plus fréquents. Quelque 14 % des accidents d'avion surviennent en croisière; la perte de puissance étant l'événement primaire le plus fréquent.

On observe que 31 % des accidents d'hélicoptère surviennent en approche ou à l'atterrissage; les événements primaires les plus fréquents sont les collisions avec un obstacle, les pertes de puissance et les pertes de maîtrise. On remarque que 17 % des accidents d'hélicoptère surviennent en croisière; les pertes de puissance et les collisions avec le relief étant les événements primaires les plus fréquents. On note que 16 % des accidents d'hélicoptère surviennent lors des manœuvres; les événements primaires les plus fréquents étant les collisions avec un obstacle et les pertes de maîtrise. Environ 13 % des accidents d'hélicoptère surviennent au décollage; les collisions avec un obstacle étant un événement primaire fréquent.

Répartition par type de vol (tableau 8: Pour 2007, on observe que les accidents d'avion surviennent surtout en vol récréatif (51 %), en transport aérien (17 %) et en vol d'entraînement (14 %). Les accidents d'hélicoptère surviennent principalement en vol de transport (35 %).

Incidents

Aperçu (tableaux 1, 9 et 10)

En 2007, 895 incidents ont été signalés conformément aux exigences de déclaration des événements du BST; 691 de ces incidents sont survenus à des aéronefs immatriculés au Canada.

Les incidents les plus fréquents en 2007 sont les déclarations d'une situation d'urgence (27 %), les risques de collision et les pertes d'espacement (22 %), les pannes moteur (16 %) et les cas où de la fumée ou un incendie a été signalé (15 %) (figure 5).

Figure 5 - Répartition des incidents en 2007 par type [D]
Figure 5 - Répartition des incidents en 2007 par type

Depuis cinq ans, pour les aéronefs immatriculés au Canada ayant déclaré une situation d'urgence, l'événement primaire est le plus souvent la défaillance d'un composant. Les défaillances les plus fréquentes sont les défaillances du train d'atterrissage et celles du circuit hydraulique.

Les événements primaires dans la majorité des risques de collision à des aéronefs immatriculés au Canada sont des événements liés aux services de contrôle de la circulation aérienne (ATS) ou des proximités d'aéronefs4.

Précédent | Suivant


  1. On considère une tendance comme étant statistiquement significative lorsque la probabilité est inférieure à 1 sur 20 (soit p < 0,05). 
  2. Dans certains cas, plus d'un aéronef est en cause dans l'événement. Il est donc possible que le nombre d'événements et le nombre d'aéronefs ne concordent pas. Tous les tableaux excluent les ultra-légers, à l'exception du tableau 1; de plus, tous les tableaux excluent les ballons, les planeurs et les autogires, à l'exception des tableaux 1 et 4.
  3. Aéronefs immatriculés au Canada (à l'exception des ultra-légers
  4. Voir l'annexe B pour la signification des expressions Événement lié aux services ATS et Proximité d'aéronefs